See All Reviews
Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner
Keystone KSTAP14A 14,000-BTU Room Portable Air Conditioner
$388.92
List Price: $499.99
You Save: $111.07 (22%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 22 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by comfy living This will cool my living room great! It takes an hour or two to cool the living room with the bathroom & bedroom doors closed. I live in approximately 950sq ft. home and if I leave the bedroom doors open at night with a ceiling fan on in the kitchen (connected to the living room, there's no door to shut between the living room & kitchen) and 3 ceiling fans on in the 3 bedrooms. It will cool the entire home but it takes several hours to reach the bedrooms. After all it's only designed to cool 700sq ft. And once it's cool it really gets cool! Sometimes I have to turn up the temperature! So the fact that it can make the bedrooms comfortable enough at night is nice! In fact I usually end up waking up cold by morning/mid night! So it does eventually get cold in the rooms. The best part is the programmable timer! I set it to start 2 hours before I get home from work so it's cool when I walk in the door! Then I open the bedroom doors after I'm done cooking dinner so it's comfy enough to sleep! If you're going to use this unit in an area bigger than it's designed for, you have to have fans or you'll over work the unit and it won't cool and even worse it'll malfunction! For the price and size it's definitely worth a shot! 06/04/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by i would only recommend this to someone desparate I HATE this stupid AC! The hose is inflexible, so even once you have it in place, if it gets bumped, the stupid exhaust hose falls out of the window. If you have more than a LIGHT running on the same circuit, it will trip your breakers. It works for MAYBE a small kid's bedroom. But even though it's "rated" for 700sqft, it does not even cool down my entire living room after running for 3-4hrs. Save your 400$. It's not worth it. 06/22/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great ac for the money Very quiet unit. Remote seems to work from far away. Very nice for the price 06/16/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this Air Conditioner I bought this to cool the living room in my apartment and it works great. It is quiet and I love the follow me feature on the remote. The unit automatically adjusts fan speeds when the room temperature reaches the desired level so it's energy efficient. I don't know if it would keep my entire apartment cool because of the way its laid out but if you're looking for something to keep a large room cool buy it. I love it so much I'm thinking about naming it. :) 06/17/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what we needed! We have 2 outdoor cats. We tried to get them used to a window a/c unit in one of our out-buildings during the really hot days in Texas, but they didn't like the noise. We tried putting them in our attached garage, but it was too hot and we were concerned for their health. After a bit of searching on- line we came across the Keystone Portable A/C. We are very pleased this product. It does a perfect job and is not at all noisy. Now our babies/pets can come in and out of the garage using a pet-door and we don't have to worry about them! Also, the unit was pretty easy to install. We highly recommend this product 06/14/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by works great Have a small apartment with side sliding Windows. It cools the place down great. It's not any more noisy than any other indoor a.c. unit. We are very happy with it 06/08/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Giod unit acceptable for one closed room I have a 15x15 ft room, cools down fairly quickly Took me a bit to figure out how to install the hose which does not lock in place and easily falls off. have not tried all of the features on the remote but it does work for on off and changing temperature. I would recommend it as I installed it on a day when the temperature hit 105f and it worked fine cooling down the room. 06/17/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just as expected This unit is and performs exactly the way the manufacturer explains it to be. It cools down the square footage it is suppose to cool. As long as one's expectations are reasonable and one follows the manufacturer instructions you should be pleased with this purchase. The units noise level is one that I did expect considering the BTU's. I don't consider it to be that noisy whereas it is terribly distracting, however there is some noise as one would expect. If you intend to use it in your bedroom (as I do ) I suggest that you test it before installing to verify that you could tolerate the sound. The exhaust hose is a bit large and not that easy to work with but doable. And for that reason the 4 star rating. The unit arrived sooner than Walmart predicted and in good condition. 06/10/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heaven sent I love this air conditioner it is by far the best I could of purchased. My apartment is usually hot with two previous window ones that I have they could not compare to this one. Now I dont use the two window ones I only use this and boy am I in heaven. Could not have invested in any thing different. I love love love it 07/07/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by works great Quieter than a window unit but if you're a light sleeper the fan noise will bother you. Powerful and effective. Same design flaw as all other brands: vent hose doesn't stay in at either end without duct tape. I have another portable a/c for 10 years; different brand but same problem with hose. Use white duct tape to hold. 07/13/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by As good as I expected I read the reviews for this model and went with Walmart because of the best price. It cools my 600 sq ft living room without having to remain on high fan for a long time. And it sits close to my TV but doesn't hamper the sound very much. I just slightly turn up the volume of my surround system only when it's on high cool. Set up just took 15 minutes even with my needing to saw the window exhaust slider for the narrow window I decided to use. I get comments that it looks like a nice appliance fitting in with my decor. 07/13/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for the price Easy to install, quiet,performs as advertised. When operated in the dry mode, collecting the water is a problem. The drain port is too close to the floor making it difficult to collect the water except a very shallow pan. I am working on drilling a small hole in the floor and running a hose to the basement to collect the water. 07/08/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by portable ac Great product...I would buy another. 07/06/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really Big It took some time to install needed a saw to cut the window seal down to fit standard window. I have a large studio apartment and it been on 15 minutes and already started to cool down room. 06/29/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 the best fot the money.hands down Keeps our whole upstairs cool.love everything about this product even the window adapter. Great deal.also ordered and recieved in 24 hrs. Amazing. 06/28/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a good product. The exhaust hose falls out if you even touch the unit, and puts hot air into the room...it runs non-stop. We have it set on 72 and our room temp never gets below 78. We used 2 window units that were 5000 btu's and kept our home comfortably cool. When our landlord put new windows in our home, they no longer fit, so we decided to buy this product and are very displeased. Dread seeing our next electric bill while we sit here and sweat. 06/11/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible 1st off my electric bill was $150 higher 2nd off you have 2 drain it several times a day 3rd off it only cools the direct space jot the entire room 07/16/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by recommended with advice I found directions hard to understand and pictures not so clear in manual. I had better time reading quick guide taped on the front of the machine. It is barely cooling my oddly shaped rooms of 550 square feet. I believe it would do better in a one room square area with four wall of 500 square feet and under. I was just hoping for Artic Tundra, but I get just plain comfortable. It keeps house about 5 -7 degrees cooler than swamp on humid days. I would recommend this machine with some guideline instructions is all. 07/12/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by I do not know at this time Still waiting for the weather to warm up to use it so I cannot give a fair rating. The assembly of the parts was very easy. When I get a chance to give a better review I will 06/25/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by I made a mistake It looks good but it only cools so much. my friend said it draws air from anywhere it can and blows it outside.It keeps kicking off my breaker.If you can get a window one. 07/20/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great air conditioner if you have the room Only con: My setup is in the vertical position and required me to fabricate a spacer so the Air Discharger could be connected to the Window Sealing Board without interference from the window frame. Pros: I live in a two story house (1560 sq ft) and put the unit in an empty bed room on the second floor. I was hoping this unit would make the upstairs (~600 sq ft) livable for sleeping <74 degrees. With the help of a vertical oscillating fan at the doorway of the empty bed room not only was the upstairs livable but when I checked the temperature downstairs the next morning it was 69 degrees. We left the unit running and the warmest it got downstairs was 75 degrees when it was 89 degrees outside. This air conditioner has exceeded our expectations. 07/20/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 Good Unit So far, I have no complaints about this air conditioner. Works well and is fairly quiet. 07/03/2014
1-22 of 22 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew303
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp