Hyponex by Scotts Potting Soil, 2 cu ft

Q&A
By: Hyponex
Walmart #: 550098762
Hyponex by Scotts Potting Soil, 2 cu ft
Shipping Shipping not available
Pickup Store pickup not available
Consider these popular products

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
Good for most types of potted plants, including indoor and outdoor container flowers, plants, herbs and vegetables. Available in the following sizes: 8 qt., one cubic foot., two cubic foot.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

Good for most types of potted plants, including indoor and outdoor container flowers, plants, herbs and vegetables. Available in the following sizes: 8 qt., one cubic foot., two cubic foot.


Hyponex by Scotts Potting Soil, 2 cu ft:

  • Overview and Benefits:
    • Available sizes: 8 qt., 1 cu ft., 2 cu ft
  • How to Use:
    • Remove the plant by tapping the pot in 2 or 3 places against the table or countertop and turning it upside down into your hand
    • If the roots are tightly wound, gently loosen their ends so they spread out slightly when replanted
    • Add a layer of Hyponex All-Purpose Potting Soil and insert the plant stem or root ball
    • Fill with more Hyponex All-Purpose Potting Soil and press lightly around plant
    • The plant should be at the same soil level as it was originally growing and there should be 1/2 to 3/4" of space from the top of the soil to the lip of the pot
    • Water to thoroughly soak the potting soil, then allow to drain
  • When to Apply:
    • Potting and repotting plants
  • Where to Use:
    • Containers
  • Benefits:
    • Good for most types of potted plants, including indoor and outdoor container flowers, plants, herbs and vegetables
  • Packaging:
    • Bag
  • This is not the product label, always read and follow the product label before use

Specifications

Model No.: 72452470
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 38.2
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 35.0 x 18.0 x 5.0
Walmart No.: 550098762
Show

Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews | 13 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

13 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

13 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

38%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
6
1-5 of 12 total reviews
38%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

NOT your father's Hyponex Potting Soil!!!!!!!
6/5/2012

Customer review by AntJazz

5.0 stars 6/5/2012 by AntJazz
by AntJazz

When I first saw this at my local WalMart I passed on purchase because of the "Hyponex" name on the bag. We all remember the very poor quality Hyponex soil in the black plastic bags. Well I needed a few bags for some "I don't care" planters and went back to get a few bags. The price was spot on at $8 for 2cuft. Nothing else at WM or any other garden department was less than $12 for 2cuft. I was TOTALLY suprised and pleased when I dumped the first bag into the container -- THIS STUFF IS TOP NOTCH!!!!! The first thing you notice is the refreshing smell of pine -- real pine wood NOT perfume. The next thing you notice is the abundance of pine bark fines. If you make your own potting soil/mix then you know that pine bark fines are required for a premium potting medium. There is also perlite and sphagnum peat moss -- NOT sedge peat. After several waterings and rain showers I can say it drains very well. You will be pleased with this product. I went back to WM and got 6 more bags. I did compare this product to Scotts Miracle Grow and HANDS DOWN the "Hyponex" is a better product. I do not know if this product will be the same in all locations but here in Virginia it is TOP NOTCH!! (June 2012) If you go for this soil BE SURE TO READ THE LABEL -- MAKE SURE YOU ARE GETTING ""SCOTTS HYPONEX" NOT NOT NOT Hyponex in the black bag!!!

Was this review helpful? (50) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AntJazz
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Disappointed - too much wood
3/29/2014

Customer review by RJS202

2.0 stars 3/29/2014 by RJS202
by RJS202
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Previously I purchased Miracle Grow potting soil but didn't like how much wood was mixed in with the soil. My hope was that Hyponex would have less wood filler, but it didn't. At least Hyponex was significantly cheaper.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RJS202
Laramie, WY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product for new gardens or improving old ones
3/27/2013

Customer review by gardenblogger

5.0 stars 3/27/2013 by gardenblogger
by gardenblogger
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice consistency and does contain some vermiculite and peat moss which will help hold moisture in the soil.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gardenblogger
Little Falls, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sticks and eggs
9/15/2015

Customer review by Priscilla

2.0 stars 9/15/2015 by Priscilla
by Priscilla

Thought I'd step up from the awful Earthgro. Almost as bad but does have a few more pieces of perlite. Way too much wood and had a bunch of dried up insect eggs in it. Would not buy again. Where is a product with good soil without fertilizer or moisture control?

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 9/17/2015

We are sorry to hear of your experience with Hyponex Potting Soil. The soil you purchased is a natural product. While we do not sterilize the soil it is composted to kill any harmful insects and microbes. Regarding the wood that you found in your Hyponex Potting Soil, while large pieces of bark should be filtered out during processing, small pieces of bark are added to our media to improve drainage and prevent the soil from compacting. The addition of this coarser material to our potting mix allows oxygen to reach the roots and improves plant performance. Please rest assured that I will forward your comments on to our Quality Assurance Department so they can investigate this matter and look for ways to make sure our Potting Soil meets our consumers expectations. <br /><br />We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your convenience, please contact us to see what we can do for you. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n

Priscilla
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product for $
5/8/2013

Customer review by Christine99

5.0 stars 5/8/2013 by Christine99
by Christine99

I bought this because of the price compared to the MG. I was pleasantly surprised...very dark rich soil...you can smell the "organics" in it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Christine99
NorthJersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
1-5 of 12 total reviews See all
1-5 of 12 reviews

Customer Reviews | 13 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Was this review helpful?
Was this review helpful?

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 4 questions
1-3 of 4 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

1-3 of 4 questions See all
1-3 of 4 questions

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.

Returns

Returns are easy at Walmart
Not happy with a purchase? No problem. We've made returning items as easy as possible. And, most purchases can be returned for free. Learn more about our Returns Policy.