See All Reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 30 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Put High-Dollar rental unit to shame! I was Leary of this unit at first due to the hit and miss reviews but I took a chance anyways due to all of the included extras. First, it comes boxed with 2X concentrates for hard floor and carpet, the stair tool, power hand tool and about 12' of hose. It has a 3 year warranty and you can add 2 more at the register. Second, it does hard floors also. Just snap on the squeege and wash away, or even rinse. I was amazed at how clean it got my tile. If you are expecting it to do grout, sorry but there isn't a cleaner out there that will do a good job on grout. You have to do that the old fashioned way-elbow grease. Third, I was amazed at the job it did on my carpet. I rented the Rug Doctor Wide Track just 4 weeks earlier and went over my carpet about 8 times. I just went over the carpet again with this unit and I was disgusted at what the Rug Doctor left. All in all, the carpet looks and feels new. Fourth, I cleaned the stairs with the powered hand tool and was pleased at the job it did. The only complaint is that because it runs on vacuum you have to hold the tool just right to keep the brushes going. My guess is that if the hose connection gets in a bind the vacuum is lost temporarily. Finally, it operates more like a standard home vacuum cleaner so it moves easily, is comfortable and the tank system is easy to use. Will it last? Time will tell, but if I get another few uses, it will still have paid for itself compared to rental fees. 04/16/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by High expectations Very happy with the product, on the first use but when tried to use it again after the holiday weekend found the brushes would not work. Checked the book for troubleshooting and was directed to make sure the screen was clean, it was and the problem persisted. Turned the unit over to see if something was jammed in the brushes but found it had developed an air leak and that the brushes are powered by air pressure and will not work when a leak occurs. Returned it for a new one and going to give the product a second chance just in case this was a fluke. 11/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Good Product I just bought the Hoover Max Extract Multi Surface carpet cleaner. It was easy to assemble and easy to use. Now my carpeting looks great. No complaints. 12/25/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Quality, Brushes wont spin I will have to say that the quality control on this unit is very poor. I bought one brand new in the box from my local Wal-Mart, took it home and the brushes would not spin. I read the instruction manual over and over, checked the internet for people having this same problem and the brushes would not turn on. The suction and the spray part worked fine on the first unit. It made no difference if you were going forward or backward, handle up or handle down, still no brush spin.I adjusted the side lever back and forth that controls the brush speed and still no brush spin. I boxed this unit up and took back to the store and got a replacement exact same unit. Un-boxed it and same problem, brushes would not spin and the plastic housing where the vacuum motor mounted to the vacuum was warped and blowing out air, so there was a loss of suction power on the second unit. I took 2nd unit back to the store and gave up on trying another Hoover Maxextract 77 and purchased a Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Carpet Cleaner, 9200. Pulled it out of the box and immediately noticed how much better built the Bissell was versus the Hoover Maxextract 77. The Bissell worked like a charm. In short the Hoover Maxextract 77 sucks and that's all it would do. Save your money and buy a Bissell. 01/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paid for itself after first use! I'm a Teacher and teach 1st grade. We have area rugs in our classrooms that had not been cleaned in 3 years. I decided I was going to bring mine home over the summer and get them cleaned because as you can imagine they were in "desperate" need of cleaning. Another teacher found out what I was doing and asked if I would do hers also. I figured we had several area rugs at home plus the 3 rugs from school so I would have the Carpet Cleaner we normally use clean them. I called the carpet cleaner out and they wanted $300 to clean everything I had plus extra to remove the spots. They estimated app. $50 to remove the spots. My husband and myself decided it was time to invest in a quality cleaning machine and see if they worked like they claimed. This would be the perfect test. We purchased this unit and brought it home. I went online and watched all of the videos at Hoover.com and also read the manual. I was a little leary because people had talked about the plastic parts, suction, etc. I could see where if the unit was "Man Handled" that one could break the unit. It is not a commercial unit but is very well built and easy to use and clean. Additionally, Hoover backs it out of the box with a Full 2 Year Parts and Labor Warranty. I found the unit very easy to assemble. It took app. 1 minute. I took some before and after pics of one of the rugs. I proceeded to clean all of my rugs one saturday and was pleasantly surprised when the carpets looked like brand new when I was finished. They only took less than 2 hours to dry. They were not wet underneath after cleaning like I thought they would be. The suction is excellent and gets the water out. The water was blacker than coffee that came out of these carpets. After 1st use, the unit has paid for itself and saved me a few extra dollars. Anything I do with it in the future will be money in my pocket. Now I can keep my rugs cleaned more frequently. Since doing so, my allergies have been much better. I feel better now having my students sitting and working on a clean rug vs. what they were before. The only regret that I have is not doing it sooner! I would highly recommend this unit to anyone with 100% confidence. The worse that happens is that it breaks and you take it to Hoover and get it fixed under their warranty. I don't see that happening as long as you take care of it and follow the recommendations. 08/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wife says:"Best thing we ever bought!" We have had this for about 3 months and have cleaned 5 full rooms of carpet and tile throughout the house numerous times due to a large breed 6 mo. puppy...This Hoover absoutely ROCKS!!! Light tan/off white color carpet with numerous puppy urine stains, throwup, doghair and all over Dirt, and grime. This hoover brought all the carpets back to better condition than when we first moved into the house. Be prepeared to spend some time at it though. If you want great results you need to move slow and really let the carpet get soaked and then spend 2xs the time letting it extract. I have been using the walmart generic pet solution at 1/2 the price of the hoover solution and it works fantastic. Only thing I would change...This same model has an upgrade with an additional trigger on the handle to release extra carpet cleaner solution....I wish I had gotten that one. I have not used the furiture/stair attachment yet. I did our tile 2 days ago...with the free tile floor solution it comes with in the box...I was shocked at how much dirt it pulled off the tile...I'll never mop again. 08/06/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by JUNK! I have always loved the Hoover products and have owned them all my life but I will not own another one as long as I live. I bought one of these cleaners took it home and the spin brushes would not work took it back and got another one and it does not suck very much water out of the carpet. You would be better to take a bucket of water dump it on the carpet and dry it up with a towel. It is a horrible product DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY! 03/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Product! I LOVE this machine! i have shampooed my carpets AND all my furniture! it works GREAT! I almost put this product back after reading the reviews however i have not had ANY problems with it. it removed alot of stains from my furniture and made the carpet thats at least 6 years old look brand new! 04/10/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by hoover max extract 77 :( I bought the machine because I have 2 dogs and 2 kids and light colored carpet. I am constantly trying to find some way to keep my home fresh and clean under the circumstances. I bought this machine and immediately used it on my living room carpet and fell in love. I then used it in the upstairs hallway and half of my stair case. I woke on day 2 of ownership with the intention of finishing the stairs from the previous night only to find that the clean water is maniacally dumping into the dirty water tank as soon as it turns on. I called hoover and they said I should take it back to where I bought it from since I have had it less than 48 hours and they never heard of this problem. I ended up getting a refund. To be honest, i liked the ease of use of the machine and when it worked. it worked REALLY well....im sad that it didnt keep up the good work... 04/12/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Did a lot of research I was finally able to use this machine this week. It worked great. Got all of the stains out of the carpet. I only used it on a few places, but it left the carpet clean and soft. You have to make sure that you go over several times "dry" in order for it to dry faster. I'm on a learning curve. 04/05/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Hoover max is horrible! I just bought it yesterday and tried it out last night. I have 4 boys so I like to keep my light colored carpets looking nice. They are not allowed to drink or eat in any of the rooms so the only soil I have on my floors are from shoes. This thing cleans about as good as me dumping water and soap in the carpet and scrubbing with a rag. Then my carpets are still wet the next morning because it leaves so much water on the floor. I would think for 260 bucks that it would do the job. I think that this thing is a waste of money. I returned it. 07/16/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by overpriced but cleans well I bought this Hoover to clean up water & musty smell after leaks from Hurricane Irene. I originally wanted a less expensive model, but my Walmart didn't carry it in store. I knew I didn't want a Bissell because on my 2 previous ones the motors burned out. I've only used this Hoover 1 time in 2 rooms and it did a good job cleaning. It pulled lots of dirt from the carpets. You do have to go over it in "dry" mode a few extra times, but it does work. The 2 things that I don't like about it are the: The wash/ rinse knob. It hurt my fingers switching it back & forth so much. I also think it's over priced. Like I said if I could, I would've went for the less expensive model. Sorry, I don't know about the upholstry tool or hard surface cleaning, I haven't used it. 08/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I had used a family friends Hoover steam cleaner and was fairly happy with it, but wanted one of my own. We had had a rug scrubber (the kind with just whirling brushes) that we used for years. But it didn't extract the dirty water so I had to wait until the carpet was dry to vacuum what dirt was still close to the top and hope for the best. Not with this Hoover Multi surface cleaner/steamer/extracter. I have tried the Rug Dr. before, but it's so darn heavy and hard to manuever, I was amazed with now easy the Hoover was to use, and the best part was, I could rinse the carpet with fresh clean water after I had shampooed it, to make sure there was no sticky residue left on the carpet for fresh dirt to cling too. The only minor complaint that I have is that the directions left out a few minor details, that had I used common sense I would have seen, but I rinsed my floors first (not even noticing the switch that said "Rug Shampoo") but it made my carpets just that much cleaner, I am sure. Totally please with my new Hoover Extracter!!! 07/01/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by a very bad product Don't waste your money on this!!!! You will have to take it back and buy a different kind!!! The brushes wouldn't spin, found out it is the lever under the tank. The plastic peice keeps going behind the lever and u have to keep removing the tank to fix it!!! All i can say is peice of junk!!!!!!!!!!!! I will say the hand held part works great!! To bad it would take all day to clean your carpet! 02/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best carpet cleaner I've ever owned This cleaner works better and is easier to use than any I've owned before. It really gets the carpets clean, and cleaning up the machine after use is easy because it's simple to remove the brushes and nozzle. A unique feature is the two-piece dirty water tank. It's much easier to clean out because it comes apart. It's the most expensive cleaner I've ever bought, but you get what you pay for. 11/02/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Quality VERY CHEAP ASSEMBLY!!! Save your money!!!!!!! I have had a Floormate for over 4-years, so I thought this product would work well....boy was I wrong. Bought one and started cleaning the carpets. On the third water change the brush speed selector on the base of the unit broke. I called Hoover to see if they would send me a replacement part to avoid taking the unit back to the store. They said I would have to get a whole new base b/c they don't just sell the knob. So I took the unit back to Wal-Mart and swapped it out for another unit. I purchased the extended warranty b/c I’m skeptical of the durability of this unit over the next 2-year. I take it out of the box, assemble and start cleaning. Will not suck any water off the carpet. The base is broken in another location (it’s broken out of the box this time). SOOO I have a wet carpet, a second broken Hoover (NEW) in 24-hours and my third trip to Wal-Mart. They took no time in designing these units. 07/21/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by great for the price This product works great for the price. Removed stains on the carpet that had been there for years. Only problem is that it is very heavy and a little hard to use. Also, it isn't magic lol. Some stains remain that will not come out of the rugs. Overall, I would definately recommend. 08/28/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Keep your receipt!!! I bought this cleaner 2 days ago. I used it for about an hour the day that I bought it, cleaned it and put it in the closet. I got it back out today, to finish what I had started and it will not spray water. The suction still works, and the soap will dispense, but no water. I'm still trying to get ahold of Hoover to take advantage of my 90 day return policy. 08/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent carpet cleaner that is very durable and does a professional job. Very easy to clean carpeting. 01/29/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Find another Received this for my birthday 3 months ago, just now using it, or I would take it back. Very cheaply made. Does not pick up water from carpet well. 10/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE - LOVE - LOVE I would buy another one but I have another one for my lower level of my house and this one is for the upper level. My husband wants me to buy another one like this one because how well it works and how its set up and how easy it is to use. 09/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a really great product and cleans our carpet really well. 08/12/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product Doesn't work miracles but it comes close. For the price of one professional cleaning it's ok to have to shampoo twice to get the tough stuff out. Can't answer for durability but it's worked on the 4 occasions we used it. Glad I paid a little more for the model with twice as many brushes. 08/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hoover Max Extract Multi-Surface Deep Cleaner, FH5 This machine is incredible, I had doubts, I thought, if it works well i`ll buy it, otherwise i will return it. This Machine does a superb cleaning, i can compare the job done with an Industrial machine I WILL NEVER RETURN IT..THIS MACHINE IS IN MY HOME TO STAY. 07/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by More than I expected After having a Bissel pro heat carpet cleaner, I expected the usual difficulty trying to clean the machine after use. What a surprise! Not only did the machine do a great job, the machine was made with the consumer in mind. All of the components were easy to take apart and clean. I actual look forward to doing this otherwise tedious job. This is a great machine. 06/18/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Broke within 6 months I haven't even had it for 6 months and it's already broken :-( 05/29/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Quit working within 30 days I really, really wanted this shampooer. I was absolutely determined to buy a Hoover. I bought it at the local store and brought it home. I used it a couple times and it was great. However, I started to use it the for the THIRD time and it made a horrible noise!! I had only used it twice!! My husband checked it out that weekend while he was home from work and he thinks it is DONE!!!! I am astonished because Hoover has always been a favorite with me and I have NEVER been dissatisfied with their products. I will be posting the outcome of this situation. 05/14/2012
1-28 of 28 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew117
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp