See All Reviews
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 307 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hoover All-Terrain Carpet/Floor Cleaner This carpet/floor cleaner is just excellent. For the price of one or two professional carpet cleanings, we got professional results with no headaches! The only caveat is to be sure to change the 'buckets' in the kitchen, as it is a slightly drippy exercise. And if the carpet has not been cleaned for awhile, we would recommend a second pass with a plain water rinse after the first cleaning. We are both in our late 50s and this marvelous machine made it possible for us to do our own cleaning - we would recommend it to anyone. 09/28/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome work horse I had the first hoover upright then it finally dead. i got the all terrain and it is awesome i have dogs cats parrots and always a mess somewhere, its quick easy to move from room to room, carpets are dry in like an hour, and very durable i even use it to clean houses, apartments and businesses, (a little side job i do) and they are amazed how clean the carpets are. you can't really go wrong with it. 09/12/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Garbage I wish I would of read some of these reviews before I bought this expensive Hoover cleaner. We have only had it about 8 months. It cleans well, when it is working! Twice now the brushes have stopped turning. The repair guy in our town said that is a big complaint of these cleaners the bearing freezes up on them and you have to replace the whole piece and that cost 60.00. Well the bearing froze again. The guy at the repair shop said the older model of Hoover was better then this new one. Do not buy this or you will be wasting your money, buy a different brand or the older version of the Hoover if it still around, also the attachment works terrible don't waste your time with that. I will email Hoover but I do not expect a reply from what I have read in the reviews. The repair shop has a cleaner he said that works better then Hoovers does and it is half the price. This hoover is truly a piece of garbage, most of the reviewers that gave it 5 stars have only had it 2-7 weeks, give it time it will break on you too. 12/11/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 Brushes stopped rotating after only 2 uses!!! After reading lots of reviews I chose the Hoover All-Terrain as my new carpet/hard floor cleaner. I liked all the fact that it had lots of extra attachments also that came with it; an upholstry attachment and spin brushes for tile and hard floor. Oh, by the way, on the description and pictures on here it shows a circular pad handheld rotating brush attachment with the cleaner, it does NOT come with that. When I got it home I assembled the handle and went to work. I had a grape jelly stain on my white carpet (compliments of my 2 year old son) that I was anxious to try my new carpet cleaner out on. I used it and it worked perfect; no more grape jelly stain on my white carpet!!! I then tried it out on the tile and hardwood in my house and was satisfied. I probably wouldn't have used it so much on my hard floors as I didn't think it did as good on those as it did on my carpet. The next day I went to clean the carpet in my daughters room and the machine started sound just a tad bit louder, so I looked down and noticed that the spin brushes were NOT spinning anymore! I went and emptied the dirty water container, checked the settings (which were set right; to carpet), and checked to see that the filter wasn't dirty as the owners mannual said under trouble shooting (it was not dirty). So I don't know what happened to it, but I am very dissapointed! $205.00 for something that worked only twice!!! I will be returning for a refund!!! It did do an excellent job on my carpet while it was working, but it should have lasted WAY longer than 2 uses! Very dissapointed! :( 12/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Carpet & floor cleaner I had a Hoover Steam vac - carpet shampooer before this one. We replaced it with this one a step up and love it. It does an awesome job cleaning kitchen floors to. The Hoover Steam/vac is easy to use and I am very satisifed with its entire preformance. Carpets after their cleaned makes the whole house smell much cleaner. 06/28/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works well; concerned about durability After reading positive reviews on Consumer Reports and other sites, I bought this item with foreknowledge of possible drawbacks but in expectation of good results. After a number of uses, here are my first findings: Function -- works well as a carpet cleaner, less so for stairs, using hand tool (no rinse, little water pickup); durability -- suspect, at this time, as many working parts are made of plastic and make me nervous in their particular applications; use and storage -- leaks a bit in most situations, usually place it on a spare towel when not actually using the shampooer, as there are MANY gasketed seals which drip; haven't used it for hard surfaces or upholstery yet, so can't speak to those uses. I've 'discovered' that if you just move the unit back and forth over an area you've cleaned without depressing the trigger, you can remove more water than the instruction manual indicates; also, when cleaning carpet, pushing the machine forward without depressing the trigger, then depressing it on the backstroke, allows you to rinse an area more completely. Doing these two things together (extra rinse + extra vacuum water removal) seems to produce better results than the recommended method. I can generally walk on the carpet without getting wet socks in a couple of hours. Altogether, I'm pretty well pleased with the unit as it produces results comparable to the last professional cleaning service we used, at much lower cost per use and with the additional benefits that accrue from owning your own tools. I just hope it holds up, as many user reviews mention breakage and difficulty of obtaining either service or parts from Hoover. 12/24/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worthless I bought this machine because I have 4 kids and 4 dogs enough said. This is the worse cleaner. I bought this thinking that I would love it because it was built up to be more than what it was. My cleaner also broke at the brushes and the cleaner tank broke just like other have said. To the people who have only had the machine for a little while, give it time and you will see what I mean. I would not advise anyone to buy this machine. I bought a warranty and there is not a repair place around so it had to be mailed to a company in Savannah some 400 miles away! 03/13/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible quality complete waste of money After moving into a new house I purchases this carpet shampooer brought it home took it out of the box and it didnt work. It would not suck up the water and it would not spray water out of the attactment hose. I boxed it back up and returned it to the store and bought another one thinking I had gotten a bad model. I purchased the same product. I took it home and ran it 4 times over the last 2 years. I went to use it for the 5th time and it just like the first model i bought would not suck up water or spray it. So my husband tore it apart to see if he could fix it. He is an engineer. He was unsuccessfull. He called the customer support line only for them to say that it was only garuanteed for 1 year regardless how many times the product was used. When I spend close to $200 on a product i expect it to work more than 4 times of moderate to light uses. The customer support was particular unhelpful and did not care that their product was flawed and essentially junk. Do NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY ON THIS PRODUCT! 01/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by a great cleaner This is the 2nd Hoover cleaner I have bought. The first finally gave out after years of use. This one was just as good as the first. I look forward to many more years of use from this cleaner. I HIGHLY recommend this product to others. 11/01/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent machine for the price - easy to use! This machine is awesome and easy to use! I love it! Although most of the machine is a heavy plastic material, it seems very well made. There are two large wheels and it is easy to move around. The power cord could be a few feet longer, but it is not so short that it is a problem. The suction is great! I could see all of the dirty soap suds and water being sucked up through the machine! The rugs were left damp and dried within a few hours (using a fan). I was impressed! The clean rinse water and separate solution compartments are in one plastic container, with separate caps. The solution is automatically mixed with the water when the trigger is applied, moving in the forward motion. There is a separate container for the dirty water and it sits on the machine just underneath the clean water container. I really like how the dirty water is in its own container because I can dump the dirty water without having to carry any remaining clean water. If I need to add clean water, then I don’t have to deal with lugging around the dirty water too. Each type of water (clean vs. dirty) is maintained separately and is easier to empty, fill and clean. I borrowed a rug cleaner last year that had the clean and dirty water in the same container, with a rubber liner separating the two waters. This was more of a nuisance to handle, harder to clean and just plain messy. The hose is to hook up to the machine for the upholstery cleaning brushes. There are two upholstery accessories included, one with a spinning brush and one with just a line of bristles. I did not use the upholstery pieces, so I can’t comment. I had a slight mishap with the accessory / upholstery hose, so I contacted Hoover Customer Service. They were very polite, helpful and addressed my mishap promptly. If I ever have to use the warranty (hopefully I won’t), I think Hoover will be right there with support! This machine cleaned my rugs much better than I expected! I’m so glad I bought it!!! 07/12/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Machine Great at first, but falls apart!!!! The tanks seperate. I had to get my husband to rig it up just so I could use the machine. Leaks from every orfice. HARD to clean the machine. EXTREMELY LOUD!!!! Don't waste your $$$ on this one... buy the regular Floormate for half price. 01/01/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Broken out of the box! After doing some research on performance and reading about this cleaner in Consumer Reports I decided to make the investment on this machine instead of paying a professional to come clean my carpets several times a year. After assembling the machine and attempting to use if FOR THE FIRST TIME I noticed the brushes weren't spinning. I consulted the troubleshooting section of the manual and when all else failed called Hoover. After more troubleshooting with the CS Rep it was established that the motor for the brushes was in fact, broken. BROKEN! Right out of the box, never been used B R O K E N. I was given the addresss of a local repair shop and informed that I would need to take my brand new, never been used carpet cleaner in for repairs.... say wha?!? The repair shop told me it would take 4-6 weeks to repair it.................. Needless to say I returned what was effectively a very fancy, expensive wet/dry vac to the store and I will NEVER buy another Hoover product. So much for QC/QA. Caveat Emptor! 06/22/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Hoover "SteamVac" is mis-named because it doesn't have the ability to turn water into steam. You simply fill the water tank with hot water. We followed the instructions to the letter and upon using the machine we noticed it only picked up half the water it put into the carpet. It could do better extracting water as this is how carpet cleaners clean. By extracting the dirt with the water. I have a Rainbow vacuum with a carpet cleaner attachment. I used it's water extracter and was able to pick up more water and dirt. Another con about this machine is it's weight. There is no power assist in the wheels. After pushing and pulling this machine over a 30' by 25' carpet area I was beat. 07/26/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Carpet Cleaning Made Easy I finally decided not to keep spending $100+ each time I wanted our carpet cleaned then schedule a time we could be home. I researched quite a bit before purchasing this machine about a month ago. Because I have a dog that sheds and a wife with long hair, I like the fact it has the multiple round brushes that spin as opposed to a sweeper type brush that rolls. Of course I vacuum very good before cleaning but you'll always miss some hair and it doesn't get wrapped around the roller for me to cut off. I decided not to add the hose carrier to add extra weight or bulk. If I need the attachments, I'll carry them to where I need them. You want to see some really dirty water? Wait until you see how strong the vacuum is and what it sucks up. You'll most likely be amazed as I was. Now that I have my own cleaner and the vacuum leaves the carpet almost dry, I will not wait as long between cleanings. The brush setting has 3 levels. I'm not sure I'll ever use this cleaner on my laminate floor but it's good to know that I have the option since it came with a different set of brushes and equipment for the floor. Pros: 1. easy cleaning solution mixing. There's a separate tank for the solution and it mixes itself. 2. vacuum really dries carpet so it's only damp when finished. I was impressed! 3. easy brush removal for cleaning/changing Cons: 1. Heavy to push while cleaning. I wouldn't want my wife to have to do the entire house (even though she's strong enough to handle it) 2. The front vacuum cover is difficult to remove/replace when cleaning out 3. Didn't do as good of a job as I thought it would in really soiled areas even after pretreatment. 4. Because my carpet is newer it's difficult to clean the carpet fluff/lint from the brushes after the job 02/19/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Carpet Cleaner Definitely does a better job than RugDoctor. You have to go slowly to do a good job on a dirty carpet with this or any carpet cleaner for that matter. I cleaned a basement carpet that is a playroom with LOTS of various stains from spilled drinks etc. It got most of them. Had tried the rental units before and they weren't as good. Wish it had bigger tanks because you stop every fifteen minutes or so to empty and refill. I did commercial carpet cleaning years ago and this is the next best thing. As carpet cleaners go it's about as good as it gets. You would have to hire a very good commercial cleaner to beat it. 10/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great! This product works great and exactly as advertised. I definitely recommend this product. The only downside is that you need to empty the waste water often and refill the clean water often, but that is a small price to pay. If you think using a vacuum gets your carpets clean, you need to try this. You will be amazed at the dirt it extracts from the carpets. A good friend tried the Bissel first and was unsatisfied with it. Then he bought this Hoover and told me it was superior. He was right! 07/13/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Garbage Don't Buy A Hoover!!! This is the second Hoover Steam Vac we purchased...I know, fool me once shame on you, fool me twice , shame on me! Cheaply constructed, the shaft that drives the brushes is made of plastic and is always breaking. I just had a wash-cycle pump replaced...it cost me 50% of the purchase price...it is only a year old!! The motor gets hot and bogs-down to the point you think it is going to burn up or shut down. Oh, and steam, there is no steam, that is a scam! The only steam you get is from the hot tap water you put into the tank. This is the worst cleaning machine on the market. 07/31/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't waste your money on this While it cleans good, the QUALITY IS VERY POOR. The water tank has a poor design around the water exit point on the bottom and will crack causing water leaks. I have had to buy 2 new water tanks and need to get another one. With the cost of the water tank you will end up spending 2/3 the cost of the cleaner over a year to year and a half. 11/10/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME PRODUCT I would absolutly say if you are looking for a new steam machine this IS your product.. It cleans very very good and deep. It has seperate water/soap viles... comes with a bottle of carpet and bare floor soap and all attatchments. I have used this on small spills and large jobs. It takes out deep set in stains. I thought I'd have to replace carpeting on the upper floor of my house thanks to renters that left spills to soak in and set.. THEY CAME OUT! I no longer have to rip it up and replace. This machine is a life and carpet saver. THANK YOU WALMART for having this available and THANK YOU HOOVER for a SUPREME MACHINE! I'm Sticking with Hoover from now on. BISSELL broke on me and was not made to stand up to heavy use. Just my humble opinion. 06/07/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful product when you have kids or pets. The carpet I had was starting to get stains, I did the steamvac twice in those stain area and now my rug looks like new when I first got it. Great product when you have little ones and pets running around. The price is great for the steamvac that does the job just like professional that charge a couple of hundreds of dollars every time you have to get the carpet clean. The only thing is to be careful is when removing the bucket make sure your are in a place with tile or hardwood floor like a kitchen because the bucket drips. Other than that is a great. 10/14/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have 5 dogs and this cleaner is efficient and easy to use. Did my whole house in 1 1/2 hrs. I would recommend this to anyone for home use. 06/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This steam cleaner is excellent. Perfect shampooer,works great , easy to use, and really cleans deep down stains. Great buy. I love the hoover steam rug and hardwood floor cleaner. 02/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Steam Cleaner! So I bought this because I rent out rooms on a month to month basis and have a high turn over rate due to all the student interns that infiltrate the area I live in. I was renting out the Master Suite & Bath to a guy who had 2 dogs. He fed them cheap food so the poor things had problems keeping the food down and he allowed them to dedicate and urinate in the room because he was to lazy to get up and take them outside during the night. He also (unknown to me) did not give them a bath for 7months and they were predominately outdoor dogs except at night when they slept with this roommate. Needless to say the end result was a stained with spots of clean (where he used spot remover) in an over all dingy filthy rung. I went to Consumer Reports and research the steam cleaners they had tested. this model was ranked a best buy. So I figured I'd give it a try. I got it about 1 wk before I needed to rent the room out again. I first used the "rinse" (this setting only dispenses the water and does not suck the water up) setting and soaked the whole carpet and using the edge tool I got as close to the walls as possible. I let that is for about 2hrs giving the cleaning solution (Febreez pet odder eliminator) a chance to work on all the stains and dirt. at the end of the 2 hours I went back over the rug with the hand tool and vacuum to scrub some of the dirt out. Then I sucked all the water/cleaning solution and dirt up with added "squirts" of solution on the really tough stains (I rust stain from a piece of furniture and one black ink?? mark). On the 1st pass/cleaning over the rug I got 90% of the dirt and stains lifted out of my cream colored Berber style rug. There was probably a collective 2-4" of Dirt and debris covering the bottom of the waste water bin after just the first pass over the room. Took over night (finished cleaning @8:30p and dry @ 6a) to dry. That next evening I had 2 faint stains left (and because of the "found" condition of the rug) I went over the entire room again (same way as before). I got a little more dirt out and bleached (I used ~10% bleach solution, dabbed it on the 2 stains waited till the stains had faded to the point where they matched the surrounding carpet and rinsed/cleaned using the vacuum). The carpet looks and smells brand new. At the end once the rug was all dry I took my Dyson house vacuum to the room to fluff the carpet and remove any excess dried soap from the rug. End results were beautiful "new" carpet, highly recommend this to any one who has TOUGH stains and general dirt to remove. 02/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worked great !! I did the hall carpet first and was shocked how dirty the water was! The carpet was only damp when I was done and dryed completly in an hour. The cleaner provided with the machine left a nice clean scent . I am so glad we picked this machine. It is easy to follow the directions and the job was done in no time. 08/11/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY Quit working after the first use. Only attempted cleaning one room. Brush stopped turning and it smelled like it was burning up. It did not clean and had poor suction. Needless to say this was returned! 09/04/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hoover SteamVac All Terrain, Dual V I would not recommend a Hoover steam cleaner. I have had nothing but problems with parts going bad and it is made of a very cheap plastic. Very Unhappy with product 06/12/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hoover Steam VAC All-Terrain F7452900 This product was rated excellent by comsumer reports and is the main reason why I had purchased this model. So far the vac works great. I had purchased the 3 year service plan since some of the customer reviews on this site had some poor ratings just in case there is a problem in the future. Walmart also offered the best deal for this product online and had the fastest delivery I have ever received without paying extra for express service. 03/05/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does good job on both carpet and tile floor My only problem is that this machine is VERY LOUD. You need to wear ear protectors while it is in use. I like the large water tanks. And I thought it did a great job on my tile floors and the carpet. I used hot water only, no soap. And still floors were clean. And carpet was great too. Other than the extreme whining sound it is great. I bought the extended waranty. So will see if I need it. 10/29/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dirty Water Tank Handle Fell Off The dirty water tank handle fell of the first time I used the machine. The springs on either side of the handle fell out of their slots. 10/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by WONDERFUL PRODUCT!!! This is the second Hooover carpet cleaner I've owned and my first one worked for over 10 years! I would not buy another brand carpet cleaner. I've had this one for over a year now and it works great! The only complaint I have is that the spin brush attachment for your furniture doesn't work very well. I use the other attachment with the flat brush. I would buy this carpet cleaner again. 09/30/2011
1-30 of 271 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw351
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp