Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 79 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for betta but 1 problem. I attached 2 photos to show with flash, and without flash to show the tank's lighting. I got this to move my betta fish to a bigger tank from his 2 gallon tank. In every way I love it, but there is one problem. There is NO hole and no way to put an airtube in without leaving the hood opened. I took a dremmel to the hood and just opened up a small place for the tube to go through so that I could actually close the hood (I drilled where the hood is meant to accomodate the filter... so it does not look like a make-shift hole) The filter is fine for a betta fish. It actually aerates the water pretty well, so an airstone really isn't necessary in this size of tank unless it's for an action decoration or the betta's entertainment (my betta likes to ride the airbubbles to the surface). If you do use an airpump for something, I suggest having a control valve attached so you don't put too much current in the tank. Also note that this filter can NOT be moved from one side of the tank to another. It is made to fit exactly in the center with no ifs ands or buts. Other than that I love it. It looks wonderful and I love how I can see my fish clearly all the time (when he's not hiding in his castle) because there are no edges in the front that seem to distort how well I can see him. It is also very lightweight next to the glass tanks and other acrylic tanks. 08/07/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great aquarium for the price!! I got this item site to store while it was on sale for $29. I feel that for the price it is a great deal. The lid does has perforations to allow you to add a heater or airline tubing on one side and the bigger one for if you would like to slide the original filter over a little or change to another brand. You will have a hard time finding replacement filters, however this company made it easy by including a little plastic hanger so that you can easily use another brand. I tried the whisper small replacement cartridges which I use for another aquarium and they fight fine. They are also sold at walmart for like $3 for a pack of 2. The filter is great, however I feel that it is a little strong for that size of tank, again the company solved this issue by including a plastic piece that snaps onto the front of the filter to divert the flow towards the bottom. The only downfall with this aquarium is the curved sides, they tend to give a fun house mirror effect when you are walking past the tank. This was why I didn't rate this tank 5 stars, however the 3 different led light settings are awesome. 09/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by good betta tank Bought this tank originally for my daughter a shrimp tank. She has placed this on hold until we find a decent stand for her. Because of this i decided to use it for my night stand buddy. I love the different lights though it would be better to have the blu on a different switch so a timer could be used. The full hood enclosed perfect for jumpers like betta fish. Plenty of room for the fish to stretch his fins. I suggest you buy a sponge filter instead of using the enclosed one as its a bit strong for a betta. Overall a good size for a betta or even some shrimp. 07/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm very happy with this little aquarium. Set up was easy. The lighting is excellent and the filter has so far worked great (I've only had the aquarium about a month.) The size of the aquarium is perfect for a desk or for that matter, just about anywhere! 5 gallon capacity is just right for smaller fish. 08/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great starter aquarium. I bought this because it is not glass. A lot lighter to move, clean, etc. than glass and won't break easy. Small, but great as a starter. 08/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by SIMPLE BEAUTY!!!! I love this wish I had bought it sooner!!! Easy to set up, so classy looking you will think that it is more than 5 gallons!!!! My fish love it, the lights really set it off perfectly!!! Heavy duty arylic makes it lighter than glass and safe for kids and pets to be around with no sharp edges!!!! The pump keeps the water constanly moving and crystal clear at all times!!!! Worth the money!!!! 11/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent tank I bought this tank for my 8 year old son's room. He wanted a bigger tank (he had a beta tank) but I wasn't ready to put a glass 10 gallon in there. This was the perfect tank! Made of plastic not glass and it's small enough that it doesn't take up a ton of room, but large enough for a decent amount of fish. Just by looking at it size wise, it does not look half the size of my 10 gallon tank, which is how I expected it to look since it is half the gallons. This tank looks almost the same size as my 10 gallon! The 3 LED light settings are Amazing & the filter is better than mine. The top also fits on very securely so if you are looking to get a tank where the security of the top matters this is a great tank. Of course once you cut out for the filter there will be space but that is the same with all tank hoods. Overall I am more than pleased with this tank! 01/12/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Get 2 at a time = Free Shipping and a Great Tank I now have 6 of these tanks, and I get 2 at a time, they are Great. Cold water Starter tank, BUT, they are Great Betta tanks. I use a divider for one male on one side and a bunch of females on the other just before picking a breed pair. Using 3 dividers gives you 4 tanks at 1 1/5 Gal. each for 4 Betta males. The tank looks nice and the lid has LED lights in it. Day light, Blue Moon light, and Soft Moon light on 1 button. To add a heater or air lines or a bigger filter system than the included one (It works just fine as is), there are 2 punch outs in the back of the lid, making it a snap to do. There is nothing that in not Great about these tanks. I use them for Betta homes and Breed Tank, for plant growth and de-snailing, and even live bearer Fry tanks. As quick as you get 2 you are going to want 2 more. 11/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect size for glow fish Love this aquarium got it for my son he filled it with glowfish.. They are beautiful with the changing light option.. 09/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I have had this tank for a couple of weeks, my betta seems very happy in his large home. I do agree the pump is a little strong for him during feeding time. So I unplug it since he likes to eat off the top of the water. Love the top and their are areas to cut out for heaters and other extras, I really like it and the price was great. 09/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Betta fish loves it I am very happy with this tank. My male betta fish seems to enjoy it too, blissfully swimming around all day long. I flip the lights on occasionally, and they look beautiful. The filter is good, but a little loud (the tank is in my bedroom), so I don't keep it on 24/7. My betta fish doesn't seem to mind it though. In fact, he swims right under it! I am very happy with this tank overall! 06/24/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great starter tank This is our 2nd one. We liked the 1st so much, a 2nd was needed. They are the perfect size for a bedroom nightstand, and are easy to care for. Just add a couple of goldfish and a plant or two and you're set. To be noted, there were some minor surface scratches/scrapes from the plastic tank contacting the packaging directly, but they are difficult to see. 12/31/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great fish tank for a beginner. I bought this for my boys room. Beautiful lighting and we like it. Very easy to manage and simple. I must say that it is plastic so, you may want to think twice before putting it in a room with very playful children. I placed this tank on their bookshelf. It is only within my reach. 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for hermit crabs! My grand daughter who is 6 has been purchasing hermit crabs over the summer with every trip to the Jersey shore. I didn't like the wire cages they sell with them. This is perfect because it has the 3 color light settings (morning, afternoon, and evening) & they are mainly active at night & the lights emit some heat that keeps the inside of the tank warm & moist for them (I spray a mist of water everyday inside it). They love it :) 09/23/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great buy!! I bought my young male Betta last week after this amazing aquarium was shipped to me. I liked everything, has cool lighting and filter. I don't always keep the filter on because it's little too strong for my Betta. Except for the filter I can give everything 10/10, though I must agree if you buy other fishes than Betta then this filter is perfect! I turn on the filter like 5-10 mins/day so that the water gets a little bit clearer. Though not sure how efficient that will be but until now everything works fine!! And my Betta seems to love this huge space and he's thriving like a king! :) PS. you have plenty of space to put a heater etc. , just follow the instructions in manual book!! 10/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice size tank I ordered this tank as a step up from the 2 gallon, and its really nice! The filter does not make a horrible noise like my last tank, and the whole filter does not sit in the water....not taking up room from the tank. It has a nice top/cover that does not allow my cats to get their paws in. I was hesitant to buy the same type tank because I didn't like the 2 gallon version, but I have no complaints and my fish really enjoy all the extra space! 03/16/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by pretty and excellent value An excellent value. I bought this for my baby guppies. They were about three weeks old when I moved them into this tank and it works great. I added a Tetra submersible heater which fit into the opening with the filter. Excellent water aeration and filtration but a little bit of waterfall noise. Not sure it would be quiet enough for a bedroom unless you like the sound. I would consider buying another one if my population increases. I use only the white lights which are plenty bright enough. Only additional purchases needed were the heater and some aquarium plants to make it pretty. 10/29/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not for Plants; Doesn't Show Betta Colors I bought two of these for my Bettas. The tank size is great as Bettas do best in 5 gallons or more. Unfortunately, the LED hood leave a lot to be desired if you prefer black/dark gravel since it is impossible to see Si and Willie's gorgeous colors. Both look as if they're swimming in shadows. The light is extremely weak if you want to grow anything but plants needing almost no light. Also, the hood is not hinged (which I knew) so you have to lift the whole thing to feed or you can move the filter so you can use the feeding hole (see paragraph below). The filter on one went out after two weeks so I had to replace it Plus, the flow, even with the baffle, is a bit too strong for the Bettas but with a 5 gallon tank they can avoid it. However, if you leave the filter where it's intended, using the feeding hole is impossible since it is right in front of the strongest "current" and so it whirls the floating food in all sorts of directions. Added to that, because of the dimensions/shape of this aquarium, it is impossible to replace the hood. All in all, I wouldn't buy it again for Bettas had I realized any of the above. However, there are plus sides if you prefer light gravel and silk plants, community fish and never have the need to replace the hood. The filters kept them sparkling (until the one quit); partial water changes are a breeze since the hood opens all the way. It is a great first step toward larger aquariums and the "moonlight" setting makes a beautiful nightlight. Plus, that setting lets you enjoy any nocturnal or shy species as a completly dark tank cannot. 04/20/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by while this is a great tank for my betta fish because it has a small hole in the top for him to get fresh air as well as for feeding...the filter is a little too strong for him....therefore, i still use it just without the filter. 08/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great aquarium for beginners, everything you need I love this aquarium, the different light selection is great. 11/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for the Price I am very happy with this product. I am new to owning fish so I am starting with guppies and a frog. This tank is attractive and basic enough to have a few fish without having to spend alot of money or shop for different pieces. All you need to do is add water and fish to this. 11/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Aquarium We bought this to house our Betta. It was a great price and it was delivered in a timely manner. It looks beautiful with the three phase lighting and our Betta loves it. 01/21/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this tank and so do the fish! Got rid of my glass tank, and got this one, it is outstanding and easy to handle. The filter system is so quiet and compact but keeps the water so clear!!! 01/20/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great 1st. time fish tank Great gift! 12/31/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We only have one goldfish in this aquarium. She is a little over 2" long and she loves all the space. I love not having to clean the old fish bowl once a week. 07/08/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by good good filter 02/07/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great I use it for a saltwater quarantine tank. Works great. 01/21/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great for size, and for my first beta fish best value 12/30/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for beginner tank My son LOVES this tank! 12/28/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great tank for kids like everything about this tank. it really is a good buy, i especially like the order form it comes with for replacement parts, and their fairly cheap priced. i wouldve given it 5 stars except for ive only had it a month, and its kinda blurry in the corners where its rounded on the front especially if you are close to the tank. still a awesome tank for kids or a first tank 09/13/2012
1-30 of 70 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw313
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp