See All Reviews
Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 33 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice product, really works i learned of this product from a magazine I receive monthly. I rarely wear mascara because no matter how hard I try, or what type of eye make-up remover I use when I wear mascara I wake up the next day like a raccoon. The decription that this lasts four days and no black circles under your eyes, well, I simply could not pass that up. Before I purchased this item I did read the only review that was posted. It was very negative, but Walmart has a great return policy so I figured what the heck, I will give it a go. First, I was very impresssed with my package. It arrived quickly and there was no shipping fees. In my packaging was several beauty supply samples included and even a sample Hard Candy eye liner. It is great! The mascara itself comes in an interesting tube. The brush applicator is small, but more than adequate. The color is a rich black. The mascara went on easily with no clumping. It is thick, so I did not attempt to put on more than one layer. If you like to gob on the mascara then this is not the mascara for you. I think it would clump if you were to try that. That night before bed I washed my face as usual and went to bed. The next morning no racoon eyes. The mascara was still visible and I was good to go. My husband and I had fun seeing how long it would last. It did not make it the full four days, but I think that was more me and my washing my face morning and night. I really like this product and I have already recommend it to my friends. 05/29/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cruelty free, good product w/learning curve There is a real learning curve when using this mascara. I think the people that don’t like it really expect perfection and are un-realistic. I mean come on, we are talking about a product that claims to last 4 days, and of course it’s not going to be perfect. All in all I really like this mascara, sure it doesn’t pump up my lashes to nearly their full potential, but I went into using this mascara with the attitude that I was looking for something that would last at the beach and give me some sort of definition. This does in fact last around 3 to 4 days so be ready to commit to somewhat skimpy lashes (compared to traditional mascara). Also, know that your lashes will be about half the size they are with regular mascara and that you won’t have success adding fresh mascara to the top of the ink. My biggest tip to anyone using this mascara is something that I thought of on my own: use a different brush! The brush that comes with this mascara is half the problem why it does not work well, the bristles are way to far apart and it’s hard to get any sort of definition from it. I took an old mascara brush that’s nice and fluffy, washed it and stuck it in the ink and it improved the end result dramatically. I was actually able to get some definition and a bit more volume. All and all a great product and of course, LOVE that they are animal friendly ! 07/11/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Messy Glop that flakes off The mascara goes on lashes in big globs and flakes. It made my lashes so straight, I had to use an eyelash curler for the first time in years. After combing out the globs and curling the lashes - it looked pretty good. I thought I could live with this if I only had to do it every 3 - 4 days. WRONG!! The next two mornings, I woke up with raccoon eyes! Threw the whole tube away!!! 04/29/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by lash tint They discontinued a lash tint that I used before so I decided to give this one a try. Went on easily and a little clumpy. I was more curious if it was truly going to stay on for at least 3 days. By day 2 I noticed that I did not have much lash tint on and could of used mascara. By day 3 I had raccoon eyes from the black wearing off. I wasn't that impressed with this product. 05/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Breathtaking This mascara is one of the best I have ever used. It goes on gorgeously and does not flake or smudge. This has lasted 2 full days for me before I decided to take it off just for hygiene reasons. If you know how to apply it correctly it will look amazing and last. I combine this with Lancome's Hypnose Drama and my lashes look amazing. I have recommended this to alot of people who have said they loved it. Great mascara. 05/22/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs improvement. I was really excited to try a lash stain as I have fairly blonde eyelashes. This mascara worked great the first couple of times and did not clump and looks awesome. After a few uses however, for some reason it began to clump and just did not look as nice. I am unsure if it is user error or a flaw in the brush design. Regarding length of time it lasts, I would say 2-3 days. I would say this is extreme waterproof mascara rather than a lash stain though. 06/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The stain is just that. It should not be used with expectations of a regular mascara. I have very dark hair being of Mexican decent and I can see the stain make a difference. I wore it to the beach to have definition with out the feel of make up. The stain was perfect for that. I imagine if one with lighter hair were to use this as a stain they would love it!!! I am impressed with the product will purchase again and would recommend it to others. 08/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Summer Makeup! This is part of my perfect summer makeup regimen. This dyes y our lashes black and it lasts about three days. It doesn't melt off in the heat and doesn't run down your face in the pool or at the beach! Lashes can be dyed at a salon for around $25. But why, when you can't do it your self all summer long for $7 total????!!!!!!! Love it! 06/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love, love, love it! Although I like to wear makeup I hate taking the time to put it on so I really like that this lasts up to 4 days. Usually by the third day I can see it starting to diminish, but it stays on and looks great. I bought one for myself and one for my 20-year-old daughter and we both really like it. I think it's a very innovative product and I would definitely buy it again. The only downside: Remember that it's liquid! I accidentally turned it over and some spilled out. 01/31/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Although I did not find this product to last 4 days, I was not dissapointed because I did not expect 4 days of use from one application. I use a strong oil eye makeup remover, which may have taken it off as well. I bought this to wear during sports and swimming because I wanted something beyond waterproof. THIS DID THE TRICK!!! The whole time swimming, and no smears, with beautifull lashes! volleyball practice, and I had the same result! Now I can play my sports while looking my best. I was impressed! The one thing, though, was the acual mascara wand, which I thought was a little cheap (and small). But.. considering this is not my everyday mascara, it was more than enough. I cant say weather or not this lasts 4 days, but It lasts through swimming and sports, and for me, thats more than enough! And at a great price.. thanks Hard Candy!!! 02/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for blondes!!!!! For those who have not used a temporary lash tint, PLEASE REMEMBER- THIS IS NOT MASCARA!!!! This is a lash TINT - it helps tint your lashes so that you don't have to do mascara every day to avoid the "Death Warmed Over Look", one that blondes and red heads experience frequently. This is not a product you "swipe and go". Take a good 5-10 minutes to work with it, along with basic "prep work". What "prep work", you ask? 1 - Ensure all eye make up is off- shadow, liner, excess mascara, etc 2 - Wash your face & eyes, be sure to use an oil free moisturizer If you have no other choice than to use oil-based facial care products, be sure that your face and eye areas are dry. Pat lightly with tissue or oil-absorbing sheet if needed. Oils *WILL* affect the end-result of this product. Oil based make up removers can also aid in removing Hard Candy's Lash Tint, so take care of your prep work to have your final result look smooth and as the product intends. Do not think that the Lash Tint is going to boost your lashes and make them longer and give a full on mascara effect. You need mascara to do this - use your favorite mascara of choice, and apply after all make up is done (applying mascara before all other make up is done can lighten the affect from powder sticking to the product itself). While using the Lash Tint, go slow, cover each lash, going from bottom-top, and even coating the top parts of your lashes, creating a "sandwich effect" and covering them 360-degrees. If it starts becoming "clumpy", use the comb side of a lash brush and separate and use the brush side to separate and define. Don't be afraid to do a coat or two, as long as you work moderately and patiently. If you do, you will find that clumps do not easily occur, and the product lives up to it's promises. Remember, if a product isn't living up to claim-to-fame expectations, you may be using it wrong. And when it comes to make up, "wrong" can be simply a matter of the order you used the product in, or how quickly. 01/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by hard candy lash 4 day stain I really like this product. My skimpy lashes were visible once I put this stain on them, and I did not end up with raccoon eyes afterwards. In fact, there was absolutely no stain or smudges under my eyes over the next few days. 07/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall, good product. Stayed on as promised. A bit clumpy at application, but did a good job. Would buy again. 06/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love it for my fair lashes A lifesaver for blondes who always need to use mascara so we are not so pale faced. You need to take time to apply, not for on the go, apply when you have some time that's why I rated it a 4 on ease of use, any mistakes which is most likely being its more of a thin liquid, remove with eye makeup remover, this is a lash ink dye, I still use some mascara over it when I'm stepping out! 07/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This stuff is bananas!!! They really aren’t joking when they say its waterproof, sweat proof, smudge proof, etc. I applied the mascara yesterday morning at 7 am, went to work, went to the gym, washed my face, went to sleep and got up to do it all over again and this stuff STILL hasn’t budged!!! I am super impressed. The color is good, it’s a true black. There aren’t a lot of volumizing properties but it applied evenly and grabbed every lash. Couldn’t be happier with the product!! 06/22/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what I expected, but OK anyhow. I was surprised that this is essentially mascara instead of a liquid tint like I have used in the past. But I really wanted to try it, as I hate putting on makeup, and finally was able to find it in my local store. The first review for this product made it sound awful, so when I first applied it I made an effort to put on a very light single coat (to avoid the clumping described by that reviewer). I have had a little smudging under my eyes (I forgot I had it on last night and rubbed my eye!), but nothing major, and this wipes off easily with a Q-tip or tissue. I'm on my second day and my lashes still look darker and longer. So far, so good. 07/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by EYELASH DYE Goes on easily. It covers the lashes and makes them look darker and a little longer. After waking up in the morning, it was still on the eye lashes. No panda eyes! 07/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1st Lash Stain I've used-better than mascara!!! Having oily skin & also SENSITIVE, it's hard 2 find mascara I can use. I'm a licensed Cosmetologist & enjoy making & experimenting with cosmetics:) Mascara is a challenge though! 1 day is all I can get from ANY mascara, & my baby fine lashes NEED help... It doesn't help that I'm Amer-Asian & my lashes always rub when I blink. Although I can't say if it is a true ink/stain as some reviewers disagree about because my dark lashes are dark, it does seem 2 stain the skin around my eyes?... Whatever class it falls in, I LUV it:D FINALLY lashes that don't smudge if I go 2 sleep w/out removing my make-up!!! 4 girls like me, I recommend using a good waterproof mascara as a base... THEN apply the lash ink... The mascara gives my fine lashes the fullness & length, while the ink has staying power! Also, I rub the brush @ the base of my lashes (gently) & can skip eyeliner... It doesn't last as long on my skin, but it works better than a pencil... Hope this review helps others... I agree with another reviewer that often the way something is applied, is the cause of a bad result. Don't be afraid 2 experiment, as long as u are using clean applicators & common sense. (^.^) 07/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product This really works just as it's advertised! I recommend it and will be buying it again! 07/19/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Needs to be pulled by maker Nasty stuff. Didn't stain, just smeared and ran. A horrible product that left me feeling a little ignorant for wasting my money. Tossed it. 08/19/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stain isn't what it is Stain is what it is touted to do to your eyelashes. The mascara glumps on like any other. The only positive is it doesn't flake off quickly and will last 2 or 3 days. But it's not stain. 07/22/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't waste your money I had high hopes for this product but it smeared when it went on, then I noticed that after a few hours I had dark stains under my eyes. And it wasn't even on my lashes any more the next morning. 08/28/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The stain concept is there This is not a mascara..... The product does tint, but leaves the lashes very "crunch" like. I am dissappointed. 08/20/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by good, but not great It does last for days, however, it does nothing for my lashes. It is very hard when it dries. ok product. 10/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does last, doesn't lengthen or expand This is more "waterproof" than regular waterproof mascara; but it doesn't lengthen, widen, or anything. Literally just "paints" my wimpy lashes...though the paint lasts!!!! 10/11/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by I bought this because I liked the idea of a lash stain that would last for days with no flaking or smudging. To get good color you have to use a lot and it CLUMPS and it FLAKES. Not what I expected. Not worth the money... 07/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I was really excited to try this product as I have blond eyelashes and am always looking for a "durable" mascara. I was impressed with the 4 day claim, however, I found that after about day two, it gets flakey and smudges in the shower. Contact lense wearers may want to avoid this product. Overall, however, I feel that as long as you're aware of these things for the money it's a worthwhile product to have on hand. 07/18/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by do not buy this mascara This mascara is terrible. It is like putting concrete on your lashes and it doesn't tint them at all. I expected it to dye the lashes and instead it was like putting tar on them. I will be taking this back for a refund. 07/14/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible! was clumpy going on. was like a thick hard to use mascara. only lasted a day!! i would NOT recommend this product. 07/18/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice but not long lasting This product is easy to put on and lasts good for two days, but for me it caked and fell off after just the two days. I just used make-up remover and reapplied and it works fine if you only want it for a little while. 06/27/2011
1-30 of 33 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw173
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp