Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 92 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by 3 Mixers, all dead I was given this mixer as a gift, noticed a weird smell the first time I tried it, thought it was just a new motor. Three months later the motor died enough that the beaters hit each other while mixing. Second died just like the first within one month. Third did the same in just a few weeks. All the thing ever mixed was pancake batter, cake batter and frosting. NOTHING HEAVY. It's "slow" speed was also too fast, combined with the fact that the air vent was located on the bottom next to the beaters, causing all dry ingredient to take to the air. So no worth the $20.00. And the customer service at Hamilton Beech is a joke. Better to spend $100 on a Sunbeam standing mixer. I've had the Sunbeam for a month and its been WONDERFUL! 07/15/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by not worth it! I got this as a gift last x mas. and I only used this item maybe a handfull of times threw out the year. I was in the middle of making cookies and it started to smoke. so I turned it off cleaned it up and put it away. brought it back out about 2 weeks latter and was making another batch of cookies and it started to smoke again! and then just would not turn on. don't waste your money on this! 01/22/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 Burnout This product was purchased within the last 18 months and used only 2 or 3 times. While mixing cake batter today (on the lowest speed) the mixer stopped dead and started to smoke. Looks like other reviewers have had the same experience. 03/02/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sturdy beaters & helpful snap-on case I was particularly concerned about whether or not the beaters would be of good enough quality. Fortunately, they are strong and sturdy enough for beating a large pot of mashed potatoes for Thanksgiving Day. Some mixers' beaters are really small and flimsy; on one occasion, the bottom of the beaters actually broke. While these beaters are not quite as thick and heavy as those used on non-hand mixer models, these beaters are indeed strong and sturdy enough for tackling big jobs. For people who have had multiple hand mixers with different size beaters, the snap-on case is particularly helpful for keeping the correct set of beaters with its mixer. This model also includes a small French whisk that connects to the mixer. Nice! While I've only had this Hamilton Beach hand mixer for a week, it seems to be a durable product. The mixer itself is a little larger than other models, so it takes more room in a drawer, especially with the snap-on case. I'm therefore storing it on a pantry shelf, in its upright position, instead of in a kitchen drawer. Overall, when considering the price and the product, it's definitely a good buy. 11/23/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Piece of Junk! I hope this review will prevent you from making the same mistake I did! I received this item as a gift last xmas and the first time I used it I noticed the smell of burning plastic but thought it may just be because it is a new item. WRONG. This mixer can't even handle mixing runny cake batter without smoking! The SLOWEST speed is so fast that it could whip cream; it sends all your dry ingredients flying across the kitchen as soon as you start the mixer. Completely not functional! I tried to make cookie batter with it and the mixer could barely turn the beaters once I put the dry ingredients in. Definetly do not get this mixer if you want a functional piece of equiptment in your kitchen. The "snap on" lid defintely does not snap on or stay attached to the mixer at all either. It is a wonderfully practical idea to have storage for the beaters attached to the mixer and a way to stow away the cord but it isn't big enough. Great idea, poor execution. 05/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product This product is everything it promises to be.I have been using it on a regular basis and i am very satisfied. 10/20/2007
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't waste your time or money!! If you are reading these reviews, and still buy this product, you will find out which reviews are correct after 4 to 8 months! After 7 months of using this mixer, the beaters started hitting one another right in the middle of mixing a cake. I thought the beaters weren't locked in the mixer, and come to find out, they weren't. They won't lock! The reviews that mention the smell...true! The reviews that mention the air vent blowing the mixture all over the kitchen...true! I used my mixer a lot, but not enough for it to die after 7 months. Move on to another one...that's my advise! 08/08/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by beaters rusted the mixer worked ok for what i use it for (mostly frosting) as i have a kitchen aid stand mixer (best appliance ever!) unfortunately the beaters have rusted! i wash them in the dishwasher just like i do w/my kitchen aid beater but the hamilton beach rusted. now, i can spend $14 to buy replacement beaters from hamilton beach or just get a new cheap hand mixer...neither is a great solution. before this i had a black and decker hand mixer that lasted for years back when i used it for everything (pre stand mixer) i won't buy HB again 07/16/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by A very lousy investment. I brought this to make two cakes with frosting. Both cakes were easy for this mixer to handle. While starting to make the frosting for the first cake (cake was in the oven), the mixer quit. One of the spinners would not work at all. I smelled burning and stopped using it. I let it cool down thinking it over heated but still to no avail. I would not work. I had to handle mix the rest of the frosting for the first cake, the cake mix and frosting for the second cake. This was the worst I have ever brought. I will not buy this again. 12/30/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Product This has to be the worst mixer I have ever used. I have had it for almost 2 years and used it minimally. I was using the mixer today when smoke started to come from it and sparks. Needless to say, it no longer works and I am stuck with dough that will have to be thrown out because this product stopped working while I was using it. I never imagined that this product would have such a short life, but I think I will stay away from the Hamilton Beach brand at this point. 12/18/2008
Rated 2 out of 5 by great for mixing batters I killed 3 of these in less than 6 months good for the price but cannot stand up to cake icing....one of the 3 had the flaky beater problem others have mentioned. 11/27/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product Hamilton Beach has always produces very god products. My wife is very pleased wit it. 09/18/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hand mixer Great little machine, lots of power, handy storage for the beaters. Would recommend to any one! 05/20/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dead Used around 10 times and just like the other reviewers its now dead. 12/31/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beaters rusted after 1 use I used this once and put the beaters in my dishwater, only to have them come out obviously rusted. What a piece of garbage. 11/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by very useful. would recommend. I got this for my mom for Christmas. She loved the extra whisk it came for. Says it works just fine for what she does (dinners/cakes/mashed potatoes, etc) Nothing MAJOR. She loves it. 01/09/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by grr I've given this mixer many chances and always ended up with a wooden spoon giving me blisters. I did chocolate chip cookie dough and burned the motor up quick. The cord is very difficult to get into the case if you don't memorize the layout before you take it out. I just threw mine in the trash and never felt better. I'm buying one that is worth my money, not this brand... 12/09/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by I've had this for a month and used it about twice a week for mixing homemade cake mixes and meringues, so far it's held up so I cant complain. I mean, for the price you cant expect the quality of a stand mixer, and if you want a better product youre going to have to shell out the money to match the money the manufacturer is putting into making a good quality product. I'm pretty sure this will last me long enough for what I'm doing, I wouldnt use a hand mixer for something as thick as a cookie batter anyway. 09/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Powerful! 01/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great price for a great product. I love this mixer. I was a little worried about the product because the price seemed to good to be true, but this mixer is great. I love that it has 6 speeds so it can adjust to whatever I'm cooking/baking. Love this product! 12/07/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Packs just a small bunch! Great value, but if you are looking for a work horse hand mixer, this is not the one for you. Just light, compact duty only. 01/14/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Okay for the "social baker" I bake. A lot. This mixer worked well for about a year, then the motor burned up while mixing buttercream icing (which I make frequently). I'm the kind of person who needs but can't afford a stand mixer. This hand mixer is great for someone who is a "social baker" but not for someone who puts their mixer through a lot. People like me should buy a more sturdy hand mixer or a stand mixer. 07/03/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Durable, but too powerful I read a bunch of reviews & mine seems to contradict the terrible ones. I've had this mixer for 3 years now, and never had a motor problem & I use it at least twice a week, if not more. (I'm big on baking & cooking!) I even use it to mix up mashed potatoes & cauliflower! Anyway, this mixer has too much power. Not even sure why they added a turbo button. I turn it on the lowest setting & my cake batter is all over my kitchen. I'm going to be getting a new mixer soon because of this fact. I've put it up it for 3 years, but am tired of cleaning up various batters from my kitchen walls & microwave. Durability? You bet! 3 years & still kicking! No rust on my beaters (I don't have a dishwasher) and my whisk (which i use frequently) has not broken. Great deal if you want a monster truck of a mixer! 03/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Performance and Value all in one The Hamilton Beach mixer is a small compact appliance with plenty of power to meet all of our baking needs. The range of speeds goes from very slow to very fast and it is powerful enough to work in thick batters. The self storage feature is really neat and saves space when storing the appliance in our kitchen closet. The beaters go in and are ejected from the mixer with very little difficulty. 04/08/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by hamilton bech hand mixer I loved that it came in a case for storage. It also has a wisk thingy that comes in handy. It's great for mixing everything to cake batter to brownie mix. I love it 03/12/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is good way to get the product i98 like it this way 02/09/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy to use Have not had it long enough to rate durability and expectation yet. 07/05/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixer works great I like this mixer it works great and I love the snap on case that way you don't have to look for the for attachment. 07/09/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hand mixer is execellant This hand mixer is an execellent machine around the house while making small cakes and even making cookies 05/13/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice and also inexpensive Excellent buy. 04/18/2014
1-30 of 73 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw369
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp