Haier 6,000-BTU Energy Star Window Air Conditioner with Remote ESA406K-L

This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
  • 3 cool settings/3 fan settings
  • 4-way air direction
  • Digital time and temperature display
  • About this item

    Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

  • 3 cool settings/3 fan settings
  • 4-way air direction
  • Digital time and temperature display

    Haier 6,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner with Remote Control:

    • 6,000 BTU
    • Window air conditioner is Energy Star compliant
    • RoHS compliant: free of lead and mercury
    • 420 kilowatt hours per year
    • Filter type: permanent mesh
    • Cooling amps: 5.5
    • Volts/wattage: 115-560
    • Cord length: 6'
    • 3 cool settings/3 fan settings
    • 4-way air direction
    • Remote control included
    • 24-hour on/off timer
    • Installation requires tools (not included)
    • Min/max dimensions of window: 25" - 36"W x 13-3/8"H (min)
    • Eco-friendly refrigerant
    • Quick-snap curtain installation kit
    • MagnaClik remote control with Braille text
    • Digital time and temperature display
    • Warranty: 1 year parts and labor - 5 years sealed system parts only
    • Haier 6,000-BTU window air conditioner model #ESA406K-L

  • Specifications

    Energy Star: Y
    Manufacturer Part Number: ESA406K-L
    Model: ESA406K-L
    Brand: Haier
    Show

    Customer Reviews

    Customer Reviews | 49 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

    3.5 stars

    49 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

    3.5 stars

    49 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

    64%
    Would recommend to a friend
    5 stars
    20
    4 stars
    10
    3 stars
    3
    2 stars
    3
    1 stars
    13
    1-5 of 41 total reviews
    64%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    Horrible do NOT waste your time!!
    6/7/2011

    Customer review by Irked1990

    1.0 stars 6/7/2011 by Irked1990
    by Irked1990

    This product is such a waste! 2 Summers ago my father purchased a GE 5000 btu for my attic room that is 7 by 10 and It worked excellent for 2 summers. So this year he picked a new one up Just my luck it's even worse than my old one that hardly works anymore. The unit is loud, and only pushes the air around. I had success the first night with it but since then it's awful. Since my dad purchased this he refuses to return it claiming that my room is just too big for it and since the unit reads 15 degrees lower than outside it's working...NOT! The unit only blows air out of the top panel, and then it's not even the top (It's the top of the top....see pictures below!) And I've also recently found out that the whole thing ices over, (Which is probably why it says its 62 in my room when it's more of 85) I made this discovery after trying to clean the filter but my parents insist that it's nothing to be concerned about. I have to wait 2 hours to defrost the ice before the unit spits out cold air, then it only blows cold for 2-3 hours before having to defrost it again PLEASE! Do NOT buy!!!

    Was this review helpful? (9) (8)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Irked1990
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Age:18 - 24
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Never
    Love this A/C :)
    8/1/2011

    Customer review by ItalianSoxGirl77

    5.0 stars 8/1/2011 by ItalianSoxGirl77
    by ItalianSoxGirl77

    I have owned this ac now for several weeks and found it to be great! I have a rather large 1 bedroom second floor apartment and this ac does the entire house! Except an enclosed porch which I have closed off. It runs fairly quiet and I must say it can get chilly :) I love the Energy Star mode. When I'm at work and I need to leave this running all day for my cat at home and on hot days when I want to walk into my house with the humidity gone,I set it to Energy Star Mode;low setting and it does the job very well. I used to have an 8,000 btu ac and it didnt do half the job. I am actually very impressed with this ac and did not ecpect it to do the job it does for only 6,000 btu's. I have ran this ac for several days non stop during a month and my electric bill went up maybe $13.00. I couldnt believe how little it cost! Also, it is quiet. I don't find myself blasting the TV to hear it. It is not in the livingroom, It's in the next room several feet from the tv. I highly recommend this ac.

    Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    ItalianSoxGirl77
    Boston, MA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    Gets the job done well
    6/20/2011

    Customer review by jswalmart

    5.0 stars 6/20/2011 by jswalmart
    by jswalmart

    I've heard a lot of bad reviews on this A/C but for the price I tried it out. This A/C keeps a room cold I didn't even install it in my window to where the outside heat can't come in and my room is always cold. Instillation your gonna need a power drill not a screw driver to install the curtain holder on top of the A/C though. Other than that this is a good unit it's very quiet no need to blast your TV due to a loud A/C and I don't even see much water drain out of the A/C from my window. Don't be scared to try the unit because of bad reviews if you don't like it just return it the A/C isn't as heavy or as big as it looks in the pictures. Also the remote has a magnetic feature so it does attach itself to some remotes or other items that you posses not a big deal since the remote is about the size of an IPod Nano.

    Was this review helpful? (65) (3)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    jswalmart
    new york
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:18 - 24
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    My Second Season With It...
    6/17/2011

    Customer review by DontLikeNewStuff

    3.0 stars 6/17/2011 by DontLikeNewStuff
    by DontLikeNewStuff

    Got a 1000 sq ft house laid out with a definite front and back. One unit of higher BTU won't work. Got an older Haier, 5200 BTU, in the front. It's awesome. So I thought I was upgrading on one for the back with a 6000 BTU. My problem? I forgot nothing new is as good as something old. This one is much noisier than my older unit. I can live with it in the back of the house where I don't care as much. But I wouldn't want this thing in my living room and certainly not my bedroom. At the unit it cools great and all functions work. The dehumidifier function is great for me because my house is very damp. I don't have to freeze to keep the humidity down. But the fan is really weak on it. If you were trying to cool a larger area I think sitting a fan in front of it would help tremendously. So I'd say, hey, for the value it was worth it to me. Just got to remember to keep those old things going as long as possible. ;-)

    Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    DontLikeNewStuff
    Central IL
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:Longer than one year
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    Horrible Waste of Money
    6/20/2012

    Customer review by MarthaNMac

    1.0 stars 6/20/2012 by MarthaNMac
    by MarthaNMac

    Do Not Buy This Air Conditioner! It is the only brand carried in my local Walmart so I purchased one the day before a heat wave started. I got home, put all the accessories on it and got it in the window, turned it on and....BamBamBamBam! It cooled but the whole time it was on it sounded like someone was hitting the inside of it with a hammer. I took it out, looked it over (as best I could without taking it all the way apart), and tightened all of the screws, some of which never tightened down at all, they would just spin and spin as you tried to tighten them. The bar that holds the unit in place with the window was so loose I thought it would snap off within a few weeks even if it hadn't been banging. I packed it up, took it back and went to another store and got a WAY better brand (LG) for the same price. I had an old Haier that worked for over 5 years, but his one wasn't worth a quarter of the cost of it (or even free because even if I could handle the banging it would have made my neighbors INSANE!). DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!

    Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    MarthaNMac
    Providence, RI
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    1-5 of 41 total reviews See all
    1-5 of 41 reviews

    Customer Reviews | 49 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

    Customer Reviews

    Was this review helpful?
    Was this review helpful?

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers 7 questions
    1-3 of 7 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    Back
    Haier 6,000 BTU Energy Star Window Air Conditioner with Remote ESA406K-L
    by Gumps96 5/1/2011
    7 answers
    • A. 61 F. Whether you can do it will depend on the temperature outside, the size of your room, insulation, etc.
      by bokemono9/22/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. 61 degrees, yes it will
      by aradam29786/22/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. it goes down to 61 degrees, the lowest i have had mine is 66.
      by rthurman398/21/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. unit says it will go to 61 degrees but the lowest i can get to is 73 degrees
      by boots19997/26/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. You can set to it's lowest temp 61 degrees but my thermostat displayed it as low as 59 degrees so it can cool down to the remodeled displayed but that probably varies to the size of the room.
      by jswalmart6/20/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. The lowest setting is 61 degrees F. As far as how cool it can actually get, it depends on the heat load and outside air temperature. Typically most residential A/C units cannot cool a room past 20 degrees below the outside temperature.
      by Becomeanotherperson6/17/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. That will depend on the size of the room and also the temp and humidity level Gumps. But I own the 5000 BTU unit and i would say that it cools a 20 foot by 15 foot living room from 80 to 70 in about 10-20 min
      by FlashSnow6/10/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    Back
    by valerie83 5/11/2011
    7 answers
    • A. yes
      by bokemono9/22/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. In energy save mode---yes in cool mode-no but the compressor cycles on and off once a set temp is reached. have never used dehumidify mode so i can't say.
      by kawicon7/2/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. only the compressor will, fan will still run
      by aradam29785/21/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. if you have it set on economy it will turn off at set temp. on other settings it switches to fan, then back to cool to regulate temp settings.
      by rthurman395/20/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes. The temperaturen you see on the unit shows what the temperature actually is in your home. Hit the temperature up or down and that temp is what it will stop running once it hits and then automatically turn on once it goes above that temp.
      by ItalianSoxGirl778/1/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes this unit does turn off at the temp you set it to
      by FlashSnow6/10/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. If the A/C has an energy saver function, most do, then it will turn off when it has reached the set point. Hope this helps, Derek
      by Derekmmna5/29/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    Back
    by an anonymous customer 6/18/2011
    5 answers
    • A. I would suggest a pump from a shampoo or soap dispenser, you might need to put a longer tube over the end to reach the bottom. this one is just long enough at 10.5 inches for the small 5000 btu Haier. I used layers of tape to fit the straw to the pump. It takes a lot of pumping with a small hand soap dispenser so find one that pumps a large volume.
      by OldoldSchool8/26/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Do not get rid of the water! It crates water, catches it in the trap pan and uses it to cool off the fan motor. No water results in burning out your fan motor = no more air conditioning. Leave it alone.
      by MaleHumanoid7/6/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. drill small hole bottom outside corner, manual says not to but i did it 3 years ago and mine works just fine still
      by aradam29786/3/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Open the window and tilt the unit down. The water should drain.
      by tommyboy226/3/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. when you instill AC unit you need to make sure back / outside is tilting down use level. You DON'T want it level. so the water will run outside not inside.
      by tybirdtybird7/16/2012
      Was this answer helpful? (4) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    1-3 of 7 questions See all
    1-3 of 7 questions

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.