Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 134 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Buy It! I used various charcoal smokers for 20 years. I will never go back to charcoal. Tons of smoke flavor, easy to control and maintain heat, easy to access meat. No hassle of tending the fire; sleep through the night while the smoker does the work. And propane is soooo much cheaper than charcoal. I paid 150 when Wal-Mart first starting carrying it, and I thought that was a good deal. This has to be the best BBQ value on the market. It could use a fifth rack (available from manufacturer). 10/01/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Smoker/Cooker I've owned I've had this for 4 years. This is the ABSOLUTE best smoker I've used. I've used charcoal and I've tried electric. This smoker is EASY to use and doubles as an outdoor oven. During a power outage, I used it to make X-mas ham. Turned out PERFECT. Cooked the last two Thanksgiving turkeys in this unit. Temperature stays more constant than in my home oven. Racks are easy to access. I purchased the 4th grate and use it to smoke thicker meats on the bottom while thinner ones go on top. Can't go wrong...!! 10/19/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Smoker Works as advertised. I was very pleased that it holds temperature at a fairly constant rate throughout the day to allow carefree BBQ/Smoking. Though this is my first smoker and I am a newbie, I have done a few full briskets, pork butts, sausage, ribs and turkey breasts. It holds the 200-250F temperature in both summer and late fall day/night diurnal temperature swings. I have also roasted peppers (bell) and jalapeños at higher temps (400 F), which seems to be about the maximum temperature it can achieve. Cons/wishes: A full brisket and full rack of pork ribs don't fit well. The ribs I had to cut; the brisket has enough shrinkage that it fit by the time it was fully cooked. High fat meats (e.g. pork shoulder and brisket) done at the same time make a mess with the drippings coming out the bottom and down the legs. (I used an automotive drip pan to catch the drippings. The water/drip pan does catch some, but by no means all of the drippings.) Does not come with a cover, rib racks, or bars/sausage hooks. (Some Aluminum bar stock cut to length was a quick fix for the later and others can be purchased separately.) Pros: Great food and easy to use with the mostly fuss-free temperature stability and propane fuel. No getting up in the middle of the night to load in more briquettes. The propone lasted for more than two 18-24 hour cycles. The three sturdy racks that come with it allow you to put a lot of food into the smoker for a single cooking. Though the wood chip box is a bit small for the bigger chucks of wood it didn't deter from the performance. As more of the friends and family taste the final product, they ask "How much did you pay for that smoker?" So maybe the proof is in the pudding on this one, and I do recommend this to those that care to give BBQ/Smoking a try. 11/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everyone should have one I have had this smoker for over 4 years and have had hours of smoking for fun and profit. I absolutely recommend it especially for someone just starting out. This year we all chipped in and got our Boss one as a company Christmas present. He was speechless! He has it hooked up to a 1000 gallon Binford Propane tank and couldn't wait to start smoking! 12/30/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good, but not great. The poor stuff: 1-Directions could be lots better. Diagrams don't always match product and no recipes or cooking times are given. 2- Welds on two grill holding brackets were broken. 3- Temperature guage not accurate. The good part: 1- Excellent value! 2- Does a good job of smoking (and that's the most important thing). 3- Helpful customer service easy to reach. Suggestions: 1- Always use a meat thermometer. One with a wireless remote saves lots of running in and out of the house. 2- Put a good oven thermometer inside the smoker and compare ts readings with the manufacturer's. Then recalibrate which is an easy job. 10/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great This smoker exceeded my expectations. I've cooked beef & pork roasts, salmon, ribs, sausages, and lots of other meats. Just tossing in a pack of Johnsonville brats and slow smoking with mesquite & maple chips produces the best sausages! I've used those chips, also apple, alder and hickory. Just use the chips you like, and mix them for more flavor. I use my BBQ much less now, and this smoker is so easy to use. 11/26/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by test the thermometer We thought that this unit was a great value. It was easy to put together. It felt sturdy enough to do the job and light enough to move around the deck. Our first attempt was not stellar. We were smoking 2 small briskets (total of ~5#) and my husband was having a difficulty maintaining the temperature with the cheap regulator that came on the unit. Moving the temp knob slightly would drive the temperature from 200 to 325 in a few minutes. We will likely replace the regulator ourselves. The bigger issue, as it turns out, was that the thermometer on the unit was reading 40degrees higher than what was actually in the cabinet. So after 5 hours of cooking at "220 degrees"-- the meat was barely 150degrees-- far from expected temperature. We ended up cooking them for 7 hours and then having to finish then in the oven so we could eat before bed time. I will likely contact the company about the thermometer issue. But word to the wise- Do a simple accuracy test before installing! 02/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Smoker Great smoker! used it to smoke fish for fish dip, smoked a 19lb turkey at Thanskgiving and heated a spiral ham. All were excellent. My only regret was purchasing this online. I found it in a Walmart store onsale 1 week after I purchased it for $30.00 less than online. I would highly recommend looking in the stores before making a online purchase. 12/03/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome unit Instructions were adequately enough to put together in about 1hr. After seasoning the smoker 1 hr, next day I smoked a beef brisket, pork roast, and pork ribs. I used apple and cherry wood from Lowes and the flavor was great. I dry rubbed BBQ seasoning then applied sauce in the last few hours. In all I cooked the meats for 8hrs at 225deg. It was perfect pull pork and meat just falling off bones ribs. Sliced brisket was so tender you can cut it with a fork. I only wish the thermometer on the door was a little more accurate. FYI: It may run much hotter in the center and colder at the top. Thermometer was about 10deg colder, which is good. The gas tank lasted 8hrs and still felt heavy, hardly used. A few more BBQ will tell me how long a tank will last. I only turned in on slow and low... just enough for 225deg. I've had wood and electric smoker, but this is the best way to go with gas. It's well built and good quality, and a good buy for the money. Enjoy!!! 06/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall, very good Pros: Price, works well, easy to put together, size, gas operated: cons: Starter did not work from beginning and I end up using matches. Only comes w/ two grates/shelves and really would like 3. Cannot keep temperature below 190 or 200, some recipes call for 175 and you cannot get this smoker to maintain such a low temp. 09/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding I really like this smoker and used it yesterday to smoke a 15 lb. brisket, 6 lb. pork butt shoulder roast, 3lb of baby back ribs and five brats. It all fit but it was tight! This smoker delivered an outstanding result and it was so easy to keep regulated. As others have said, I do wish they gave you the fourth rack and the wood chip box is way too small (had to constantly put in new wood chips to keep the smoke going - about every hour) but the ease and convenience of this unit makes me want to never go back to charcoal smokers. You might lose a little flavor but for what the convenience brings it is not worth the small difference. I did find that I put a old cookie sheet underneath the unit when smoking to catch the drippings because the water pan will not catch all of them and to protect your deck I would highly recommend this. 09/03/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I am blown away!!! Assembling this smoker was a snap. The temperate ranged from 185 degrees to 350 degree---you can actually control the temp as opposed to a charcol smoker.....the smoke flavor it produces is INCREDIBLE!!!!! my ignitor doesnt work but I use a long stemmed lighter instead....it could use a drip pan though but I am extemely happy with this product. 09/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Smoker for the price! I wanted to upgrade from an electric smoker to a gas smoker. I did quite a bit reading about this unit and all the reviews. I was a little skeptical about this unit for $108. I have to say I was WRONG! This unit is well worth the money! I am a once every couple weeks meat smoker and I love it. This unit came double boxed from Walmart's warehouse. I guess they do that to protect the product. It arrived in perfect condition. Took less than 30 minutes to assemble. Besides being a nice little smoker, it can be used as an outdoor oven. I took my assembled unit and mounted it on a wooden movers dollie. It fits perfect and even has room for the propane tank to sit on the dollie. I put a screw in each leg of the smoker into the wooden dollie so now I can move it around freely and store it in my shed without having to lift it. I already did beef brisket on it and it came out great. I used wireless thermometer to monitor the meat temperature. Yesterday I tried making beef jerky in the unit. I used wooden skewers and hung the meat on the racks. I hung 4 pounds of strips on 2 racks. I had only one problem. To smoke jerky you should run a temperature around 150 degrees. To get this temperature I had to almost close the valve completly on the gas tank to restrict the gas flow. It ran about 160 to 170 by doing this. The only problem I had was due to the low temperature it was almost impossible to get a decent smoke from my hickory chips. To get a smoke you need around 200 degrees. So I would suggest you put some liquid smoke in your jerky marinate. With the lower temperature it was hard for it to smoke. BUT overall the jerky came out good. Took about 7 hours in the unit to get it just right. If you are thinking about this smoker, I would suggest you purchase it. Nowadays $100 does not buy you too much. This unit is well worth that price. 08/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by i love this smoker, took about an hour to put together, and is so easy to use, i would highly recommend using gas, i was skeptical at first, but everything i have tried has turn out great! i am doing my thanksgiving day turkey in it hats off 11/24/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Smoker Got this last week. Put it together in about half hour. Seasoned it on Friday. Smoked with it on Saturday. Smoked a brisket and slab of spare ribs. Had to cut the ribs in half. I didn't want the ribs dripping on the brisket. There is enough room you could cook alot of meat. Maintained the temperature at 225 to 250 no problem. Kept the burner set at just below medium. Had the damper open half way. After opening the door, turned the heat up to high to get back to temperature. This was done only when I turned the meat, added water or wood chips. Had the propane valve open about 1/4 turn. This helped keep the flame low. Saw this somewhere online and it worked great. Took 5 hours for the ribs and 6 for the brisket. Should have gone 6 and 7. Went through one bag of chips. I wanted smoke. Soaked the chips, mesquite, for 1 hr. Smoke lasted about 1 hr each time. No big deal. You don't need smoke all the time. Like I said I wanted smoke. Meat came out great. 07/07/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good but not Great I will say this is a great little smoker for a beginner, which I am. Works great with chicken, ham, ribs, pork butts ..etc Definitely can brew up some amazing tasting meat. Although as I move on with this smoking hobby, I have concluded this smoker is average at best. My biggest issue is the temperature, without a needle valve or physical modification to the smoker it is difficult to achieve temperatures below 190-200. My initial goal was to make snack sticks and jerky but this unit cannot hold temperatures around 130-140 degrees like I need. The treats end up cooking too fast, which really hurts the flavor and they do not absorb enough smoke. Also I have had 3 welds on the inside randomly break. One that holds the water pan and two which hold the racks. Throw the temperature gauge right out, dont bother installing it, it is off by an average of 40 degrees. Buy a wireless thermometer instead. In order to get the best out of the smoker do the following 1. Buy the a-maze-n smoker 2. Either install 2 additional BBQ Air dampers or install a need valve off your propane tank 3. Buy a wireless thermometer 01/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Believe It The good reviews on this product are completely accurate. A great product for the price. Maintains constant level of heat. Buy a larger smoker box, use chunks and leave it as I have for 4-5 hours without attention. Even using chips last smoked a brisket; to bed at 10pm, up at 2:30am to start smoking, back to bed in 10 minutes, added chips at 6am and 9am, meat was perfectly done at noon. Don't bother with charcoal, too much attention required and propane is cheaper. 11/01/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by damaged parts The weld was broken on the wire track that holds up the racks. I contacted manufacture and they sent me another one. The one they sent me has 2 wire pieces that the welds are broken loose on. Now I have to contact the manufacturer again. 04/03/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good smoker for the money Recieved the smoker three weeks ago, assembly was pretty simple. It took about 1/2 hour and instruction were very good. The manual does not have any recipes or helpful tips for using the smoker. Trying to figure out temps and burner settings, has taken three times. I bought it to smoke some steelhead and I am not sure if I can get the smoker to smoke at the 160 to 180 degree temp. Wish the unit had an adjustable vent on the bottom. Smoking at 225 to 275 degrees is not a problem. Just got done smoking a whole chicken and it turned out great. I am pretty happy with the unit, and would recommend it for the price. 11/21/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Get the 25" wide Smoker!!!!! I have both the 21" wide gasser and the 25" wide gasser from Walmart. They work great, I like the brass burner feature. It should last for a while. I added thermometers at different levels because temps vary if you use water pan or not. For back yard use the propane is much nicer than charcoal or wood smokers. Cleaner, cheaper and reliable. I advise getting this model in the 25" width because the 21" width doesn't allow a full rack of ribs..you need to cut the rack in half...annoying. Oops, I don't see the 25" wide model listed anymore here. Oh, well, they both work great. 01/09/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Smoker! The smoker had been damaged during shipping, but I was able to straighten the cabinet enough to use it. I have only owned the cooker for a short time now, but i love using the smoker. I have not had a bad peice of meat come off the smoker yet. I do wish I would have ordered the bigger smoker that is available. I look forward too cooking my Thanksgiving turkey in the smoker. 11/24/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Smoker This smoker is great. I have used this almost every weekend since I purchased this. I am not disappointed with this at all. 09/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by for the price, a good value my only real complaint with this unit is they dont give you and method for removing and refilling the wood chip box. Needs a removable handle so you can grab the chip box ( directly under the water pan) and get it out and re-fill it. I burned my self twice re-filling it. The directions say to use heavy duty oven mitts, but a handle would work much better. 07/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great smoker for the family Bought this smoker for my husband for fathers day. Took less then 30 minutes to put together and is pretty light weight. We have been smoking ever since. The food is delicious and juicy always. Still experimenting with different meats but so far so good. Easy to clean. Only problem is we have a hard time getting the temperature below 240. This is not a big problem but some recipes we have looked at recommend cooking at 220 for a longer period of time for better results. All in all we love it and would buy another if needed. 07/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Large enough to smoke 2 butts and a rack of ribs at the same time. We love our new smoker. Just the right size and the price was GREAT. 06/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by very easy to use We knew nothing about smoking ,but my husband always wanted a smoker.Based on the reviews,I chose this smoker.It was even better than we expected . Despite the missing screws and lock washers....[we happened to have some] ,it was well worth the money. Our first endeavor was great! I would recommend this product to anyone !With a little practice I think my husband will be "King of the grill"! 12/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by One great smoker For the money this might be the best value for a novice smoker. Easy to use and the food comes out fantastic. These days it doesn't seem like you get much for your money but this time I feel like I did. 09/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the second unit I have from this company, the first being a charcoal unit. Don't let the price fool you, this is a quality smoker for the average household. Also, this is a Great Co. to deal with if you have any problems. Try It! You'll like it!!! 09/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Must Buy If you are looking for an entry level smoker, this unit can't be beat. Just picked up from Walmart Site to Store an set up this weekend. Check your box for damage! Minor sheetmetal dents from shipping, 2minutes, block of wood and a hammer fixed that. Surprisingly well made, although thinner sheet metal, had no problem with assembly, all holes lined up, and all parts, including needed bolts & nuts, were individually packed which was nice. This unit holds temperatures well, from below 200 to above 350, but is affected very much by the wind, so set up in a calm area or make a portable wind break, it will definitely help in maintaining temps that you want. BUY A DRIP PAN! A metal one from the auto parts store set me back $10, but catches all the grease that WILL run out. This is not a giant smoker, it has 4 supplied racks, 12" x 14" with room for 5 total, but you should be able to cook just about anything with some creative stacking. All in all, very pleased with this unit, especially since it is under $100!. 08/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good value I have owned both charcoal and electric smokers. When the element burned out on my electric smoker, I began looking for a new one, and found this gas smoker. I was very happy with how easy it was to buy and pick up at my local store via the Internet. Assembly was simple and quick, and I like the way the parts bags are labeled with a letter that corresponds to the step in the instructions. I really like having the ability to regulate the heat so easily and not worry about having to add charcoal. This unit has plenty of room for cooking plenty of items. If I had any problem, it would be that there is space for 4 racks, but you only get 3 with the unit. They should add a fourth rack. Overall, I would definitely recommend this item, and I feel it was a great value. 01/25/2010
1-30 of 121 total reviews
2 3 4 5 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw358
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp