See All Reviews
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 42 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A racing experience like no other After playing all of the titles in this series, I was amped up for Gran Turismo 5. It was well worth the wait. The only bad thing about the game is the install of game data. It takes a long time, but it really cuts down on the load times. There are a ton of things to do in this game. From the Nascar school, rally school, and kart racing, to TRUE 24 hour races. There is enough content here to keep you busy for a while. The gran turismo online community is very good as well, mostly mature, clean drivers. This is a must have for all auto enthusiasts and fans of the race genre alike. Please not, this is a simulator, if you are looking for something like need for speed or Burnout, keep looking, this title is not for you. If you are looking for a title that can be mentally draining during some of the events...pick it up, you will not regret it. 03/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 amazing game this game is an amazing action packed game. if you played the gran turismo a-spec you will love this one. it is 10 times better. 06/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Favorite game! I am a racing game fan, probably my favorite genre. Many titles to pick from, but somehow Gran Turismo always ranks the best for me. Even on earlier Sony platforms, GT was the standard others were measured against. Graphics are breathtaking, the countless options, endless enjoyment...real bang for your buck. No game gets played more than this one. 11/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It worth buying GT5 XL Edition. I honestly had owned the previous version of this game, GT5. But I did wanted to get the extra content included in this version/edition. Thankfully Walmart had it on a big discounted sale from Black Friday to Cyber Monday, no other retailer was offering at such comfortable price and I jumped all over it. I do recommend the game to anyone interested in the great cars included as bonus Download. Thank you Walmart. 12/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GT5 is one of the best driving sims out there This is my second copy of the game, my first is stuck in my old PS3 that died and hasnt been fixed yet. I couldnt wait for them to mail it back to me so I bought another copy of GT5 and this one has all the downloadable content already on it and that alone is worth the price of the game. If you like racing games or driving sims you cant do better that Gran Turismo. 12/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Racing for Two The split screen option allows two players to compete against each other. Also, there's the online experience available. The game is inexpensive and worth it! Fun racing adventure. 11/28/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The poor mans Porsche. Nothing really new about this game. Race cars, buy cars, tune cars. And what a fun list of cars. Here you can pretend to be wealthy and buy any car you want. What I find fun is the used car lot. There are classics from the other turismos and some rare treats that you can add to your garage. RUF can also be found in the used section, only in the used section, and are rare. The used cars rotate as you play the game so check often and have a nice bank saved up for rare treats. Jeers for the price of the tuned Ford GT40 when prologue offered it at a fraction of the price. If you don't like simulators and enjoy getting chased by cops then go play the kids series NFS. There are plenty of races online and off with seasonal events as well. The rim selection was a little thin. This is a fun game. 09/25/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by If you like cars, and racing, this game is for you I happened upon this game at Wal Mart online at half the price at other retailers. It takes about an hour and a half to load up the tracks on the PS3 HDD but once it's loaded the cars, tracks all load quickly. Gran Turismo has been the best racing game and this one does not disappoint. 12/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GT5 Game is most realistic ever. Doesn't work so well with my older steering wheel, but it does still work. Great value on Cyber Monday for 10$. 12/10/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hard to get the knack, but quite realistic. I've shared it with my friends , and they enjoy it as we'll. 12/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well worth the $$$!!! Great sim game. I totally enjoy the HD graphics. 12/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The BEST SIMULATOR on the market I be came a major racing fan after a friend gave me gran turism 3. I imediatly fell in love with this series. I missed 4 and gt5 prologue. But when my library had five and I got a ps3. I fell back in love with the mother of all simulators. If you want kiddy racong games. Stop. Leave this page. If you want the best true to life racing SIMULATOR. Buy this game. The only thing this need to make it better is a full motion simulator simlar to what pilots use.but if you want to drive the most expensive cars in the world including concept, NASCAR, and karts. YOU. WILL. LOVE. THIS. 11/10/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Racing I have played Gran Turismo from it's beginning on the first Playstation. What people need to understand is that this is "not" a game, it's a "driving simulator" as the cars react as if they are real. I would only recommend this for serious gamer's who enjoy competitive racing. 07/26/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best Racer Available Okay, I normally don't do reviews but this game is the most fun I've ever had in a driving sim or game in a long time. For starters, this is a collective review as I believe these accessories are required to fully enjoy what this game has to offer: Logitech G27 wheel (or any force feedback wheel) and a 3D HDTV. Now I realize this may not be Forza 4, may not have the amount of cars or the damage model and physics, or AI up to par with that game, etc. I haven't played it either. In fact, I haven't been much into racing for a while. Last I played was Forza 2 on X360, and I loved it. But I will say with GT5 in 3D and Logitech G27 force feedback wheel, I've never played a racing sim that is so immersive. You just aren't going to get these effects with Forza. The key here is 3D and force feedback wheel. My setup is an LG 65" 3DTV, and when I first played in 2D, I was thinking.. eh, this is okay. So next I selected 3D and thought hey... the perspective is pretty good. But then, I found the 3D depth settings and convergence settings and cranked em all the way up. That's when the WOW factor kicked in... virtual sim racing at its finest. Feels like a high profile simulation machine, or like you're at an expensive virtual arcade station. Cars really look large in front of you, and the distance in the horizon is really noticeable. May be too much depth for front menu screens, but you can adjust to your liking. To discuss the Logitech G27 racing wheel, it's got dual motors for strong feedback, a clutch, gas and brake (w/ stiffer brake feel) and 6 speed shifter. You get powerful feedback from the wheel, and it definitely adds to the realism. You must also use the clutch in this game to properly shift gears which is great. Full 900 degree rotation also adds to the experience as you will use it here. You also won't get these features on any X360 wheel. The other thing to mention here is that night driving and weather effects are unique to this game. Playing in rain, dirt and snow is an added WOW in this game. The feedback you get on the steering wheel is really different in each environment. On dirt, you feel the bumps and really feel the wheel fight with you. You're counter steering constantly as your tires are sliding on the track. Similar with snow, but has it's own feel also. On the negative side... good lordy, the install time. Atrocious! Takes likes a few hrs with all the updates. Once it's done, all is grand. It also probably doesn't have the library of cars I know I'd be able to get in Forza, but I'm okay with it. Aside from this, it's been pure enjoyment. In conclusion, it's a racing title that is a must for any PS3 owner and car lover. Best car game to date! 3D is the future, I don't think I could possibly enjoy a 2D racing title ever again. 12/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My son plays PS3. He is learning from this game. My son is 14 and plays a lot of games. He was disappointed when he unwrapped the game and saw it was a race game. Wanting to send it back for another. I told him keep it, and try it. He muttered and went off with it. He ended up loving it after trying it and told me it was also educational. I had to ask , How's that? He said it turned out to be lots of fun and INSURANCE HE FOUND OUT WAS VERY EXPENSIVE. I think depending on the car you race depends on the insurance cost. Not + about that but I know he pays insurance. ha ha I was disappointed he wasn't happy at first but very happy he loves the game now and started asking about insurance which gave me a chance to explain how wrecks in real life can effect insurance also. Ok kinda goofy just glad I had a chance to put my 2 cents in here. . The lower price is kinda why I got it. Not rich around here but really wanted to get him another games since he likes to play PS3 so much. My son is 14 and a half years old. 01/04/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Game Love the Gran Turismo games. Great game, fun to play. 01/27/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by enjoyable Lots of fun 01/24/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Game Everyone loves it. You have to customize yours cars or it is very frustrating. Don't give up. Get good tires, and pick the right car for the race. 01/05/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Simulation=great...Fun=not so great Its a great game if you like simulators, but if you just want a fun game you can put on every now and then its not very good. As a simulator it gets a 8.5 out of ten, as a 'pop it in fun' type game, it gets a 2. 09/22/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed I was disappointed with this. It didn’t seem that much different than GT4, other than there’s more tracks, but that’s offset by time wasted waiting for tracks to load (unless you want to wait 40 minutes to have the data loaded onto the drive). The menus are overly confusing and it also seems like it takes longer to open up circuits in career mode, so I found myself having to repeat races too much to gain experience points. 02/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great game ive been playing GT since the first one and this one is the best. 12/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My 13 year old grandson loves it! 08/09/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great game Love it, all be it a little slow loading(great graphics though). Very realistic vehichle reavtions. Currently saving to get a srteering wheel, because steering is very realistic i have issues steering high speeds(200+mph). Downloadable contwnt is awesome, even if it is rather a really big jump start. Great user interface, great selection of cars; odd that there are certain cars/trucks that you can only get either just in the dealerships/used/online dealers, but not the other two. I mean, like when i went to buy a pickup and the dealership had none; used dealerships had none, only online dealership had a truck, and only had one dodge. All together a good game for a great price. 02/17/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Awesome I haven't really played any Gran Turismo games since maybe the first one. I really wanted a racing sim that had some depth. I have played Need for Speed Shift 2, and I liked it, but it simply does not have as much content compared to this. I was shocked at how amazing this game truly is. Great car detail, many different play modes, fun multiplayer, and 3D capable. Full customization, licenses, and a new auto-body shop where you can change your oil for a few extra HP, rehaul the engines, or fix frame rigidity. Go Karts, Rally, NASCAR, all in one game. Simply Amazing, a must have for any racing fan. 02/11/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it!! I love cars. This game is great for that reason. So real which makes it fun. Just wish it would load quicker..the new ps3 has long load/wait times!! 01/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by grand turismo 5 i would like acade mode to have more camera views and way more cars please cars in acade mode are very limited 06/03/2012
1-27 of 27 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew478
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp