See All Reviews
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 52 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 Great Cheap Tires! Very good tires, aggressive look, good in mud and sand when aired down, fairly loud on road, equivalent to Wrangler MTR without the big price tag! 07/16/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2500HD Duramax 4X4 this is tire set number 4 on my truck. have 24000 on these tires and ready for new set. this is very good compared to all the other tires I have run. very deep tread caused a strange feeling at first but quickly eigther went away or I got use to it. wet traction and dry traction was great. looked good on my truck. I think they are good tires and would recomend them to anyone. I drive - I really drive. spirited is not the word. I run close to 100 highway miles per day, and these tires have never failed to perform. 09/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 Great Value! I wouldn't choose these for an ultimate rock crawler or mud bogging, but these are very quiet and smooth on my daily driver. I couldn't beat the price. I like the looks and they give me the confidence that I won't get stuck. 05/25/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A fine tire for your truck I have had these tires for 4 days now and have put about 100 hwy miles and 50 city miles on them, Part of the time it was in heavy rain. I looked up reviews on this tire and they were mixed so let me put this to bed for you. For the miles I have driven I have not thought once that I made a bad purchace, I had BGF TA/KO ATs on before this and these drive just as good. not too much sound comes from the oversized tread, and you get very tight handeling from them. In the rain they handle like it was dry and I mean we had some heavy rain the second day I had them and I was driving 80 on the interstate. The tread does seem soft to the touch and that concearns me because they came with no milage warrenty. I pulled a BobCat and trailer for about 12 miles and reached speads of around 65 with no wobble or chattering. I drive a 2002 Chevy Avalanche 4WD it is always loaded down and these tires seem to handle the weight well. I will give more feedback in a few weeks and so on to let you know how the tread holds up to the road and off-road. The price was about $200 less than any thing else that was "E" rated with agressive tread, and this big of a size. 06/02/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 keeper I shoped around and decided to give them a try . The first week we had a big snow storm and i tried to get them to slip and couldnt even in 2wd . Then in a couple of days there was some good mud puddles around and pulled right through it , In 2wd ! I own a 2001 pathfinder 4wd and it works great offroad . 05/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by very good tire I've owned these tires for nearly two years now, and they have about 16k miles on them. Very little tread wear shows, and I had my first flat just a few days ago when a sharp rock found its way between the large lugs on the tread. These offer great traction off road, especially in the snow. Twice, I have pulled a buddy with a similar truck but different tires out of the snow, and I have never gotten stuck with these. I must say that they also look very macho! 05/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Goodyear Wrangler Authority Bought these almost a year ago, about 5000 mileson them and very little tread wear. No road noise and great both on and off road. They are realy at home in the dirt and mud, also no lose of traction on the ice and snow. Overall i would say they are a great tire and nice aggressive looks. 06/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you Wal-Mart for a good 4x4 tire!! Great tire...I am soo happy that walmart finally came out with a tire for the 4x4, truck, and off road crowd. The tires are readily available in many sizes, look good, and have good on and off-road handling. I used to run BFG All-Terrain tires, but these are much better. No need to have to order them or go to a special tire dealer. Also, in off road conditions, these tires self-clean better than the BFG in the mud and snow. The price is decent, and they are made in the USA!! Thanks 11/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2004 Chevy Silverado Z71 4x4 (This review is for the 6-ply tire, Walmart # 001008269. It also comes in a 10-ply version, Walmart # 001008276. The 10-ply tire can be found on the following webpage: http://www.walmart.com/ip/Wrangler-Authority/11983161 ) I was shopping for a set of tires this fall to replace the BF Goodrich All-Terrain T/A KO tires I usually purchase and have always used on my Chevy 1/2 ton pickups when I was informed that the manufacturer no longer made an 8-ply tire in my size (LT265/75R16). The only other snow & ice rated tire I could find was the Wrangler DuraTrac, but at the time was out of stock at my local tire dealer (and at other major online retailers - incuding Walmart.com) with no certainty as to when it would become available. With winter fast approaching, I brought my wife's car into our local Walmart TLE to have her snow tires mounted, and while we were shopping in the store, I found these tires on display. They are essentially the Walmart-exclusive version of the Goodyear Wrangler DuraTrac. Wow! I sure liked the look of the tire - even more rugged than my BFG's! While I was checking them out in the store, a customer walked by and commented that he has purchased a set for his pickup the prior year. He said they wore excellently and still looked new, while handling well in ice and snow. With his positive review, the rugged look of the tire, the snow & ice service rating, and the price (around $40 cheaper PER TIRE than the DuraTrac# I decided to give them a try. They are great! I've had them mounted for about two months now. They are slightly louder than my former BFG's, but I expected that with the rugged tread pattern. It's really not THAT loud - and after all, it IS a pickup truck - and it's really only noticeable at highway speeds, say, 45 mph and higher. We've had a late start to winter snow here in western New York, but they have performed well in snow and ice on the few days we've had inclement weather. Snow and ice grip is on par, or possibly better, than my old standby BFG's. I've played around with them a little bit in the yard #lot# where I work and found them to be extremely grippy. I must admit I was nervous to try something new, but so far I'm pleased with my purchase. These tires perform just fine and look great on my truck! The price was outstanding and your local Walmart TLE will mount tires purchased on Walmart.com for free #although they do charge a balancing fee of $6.50 per tire). If you're looking for a snow & ice service rated tire for your 1/2 ton pickup truck, give these tires a try! 01/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Tire Goodyear Makes I put these tire on my work truck and absolutly love them!! I've put these tires through everything mud, snow, ice, sand, sticks, thorns, cow lots, creek, rocks...everything imaginable. Haven't patched one yet. I bought my tires about 10 months ago put them on my 95 Chevy with IFS they now have around 12,000 miles on them and I have never rotated them. They aren't cupping or chopping. This is a big step for a Chevy with Independent Front Suspention. Also they look as good as the day I put them on. They are quiet down the road, but when it comes to ice, snow and mud.. they are the best AT money can buy. My wife even requested a set for her Tahoe. (I'm ordering them now) I would recommend these tires to anyone who wants max traction with a quiet ride. 10/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great tire! I bought these tires last winter replacing my worn out goodyear mts. They have performed very well in the snow, rain, sand, pavement , and really,really well on a medium difficulty offroading trail with rock crawling obstacles.(really grippy on Southern Utah's slick rock) 4,000 + miles with them on my jeep cherokee so far and they look almost new, have no chunking and are way more quiet than the mud terrains, but have a comparable tread. I would buy them again in a second! 10/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by very useful product good value like the tires a lot had them since June 2010 they ride good good traction over all a great tire for Off Roading snow daily driving would buy them again when time to get tires wish they had them in 33 to 35 inch 01/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I had 4 of these Wranglers installed on my 2500 Ram. Great tires, not too loud on the hard roads, super great traction in 12" of snow while plowing. Handles very well on the highway. 12/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tires Put these on my 97 F150 (265 75 R16) about 5 months ago. I have put about 5000 miles on them with no sign of wear. Started snowing and they have great traction. Quiet on the road and very solid handling. I bought these on sale so it was a very good deal compared to the money i thought i was going to spend going to a tire shop. 11/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tire! Bought these for my '99 explorer as I was tired of Discount tire screwing things up and taking so long... I was happy with the time it took to install them (about 40 minutes with no appointment) and I am happy with the tire....Good dry traction and good in the snow... a little slippy on the ice, but what tire isn't... overall verry happy with the tire for the cost!!! Would buy another set, just wish they had more sizes... impressed with the E load rating too! 12/02/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice value Pros: Inexpensive, compared to other brands I checked into. Nice aggressive tread. Great in snow. Bought for my Jeep Wrangler and they aren't nearly as loud as some other reviews posted. They ride and look nice too. Cons: None. 02/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good LT Tires-Great Price I replaced Michelin LTX A/T2 tires with the Goodyear Wrangler Authority. The Michelins are great tires, wear like iron, at $40+/tire or more. I am very pleased with the Goodyear Authority. I only have a couple of thousand miles on them, highway & loaded, they perform well. The performance in snow is yet to come. For an agressive tread tire, noise is low. The price was great with the rollback. I don't think winter driving will be an issue. Buy them again in a heartbeat! Tell you more come Spring. 10/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ignore the "Cheap Tire" thoughts So glad I got them. Yes, they are "Made for Walmart" but this time, it;s a good thing. Put them on my 2005 Wrangler Mountain Edition. The 55 MPH Wabble of Death went away, Great look, Rides soo well. Very happy with this purchase. They aired them to 35 PSI, make them take them up to 40. Gas milage went down at 35 PSI, back on spot at 40. Also, went from 30 x 9.5 to the 31 x 10.5 and fit perfect. Speedometer is on spot with GPS speed now. Best tire for the $$ 09/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Tires This review is for the Goodyear Wrangler DuraTrac and not for the Wrangler Authority. I purchased what were supposed to be the Wrangler Authority tires, but actually received Wrangler DuraTrac and let me tell you, best tires I have bought. They look awesome on my 2007 GMC Sierra Crew Cab. I have had many compliments about them. They are louder than my old tires (factory installed tires), but not too loud where you would have to raise the volume on your truck. Idefinately recommend these tires if you like going fishing/hunting which involve a little off road action. 04/01/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by very good value I have over 30,000 miles on these tires and continue to be impressed. Wear is minimal, ride on highway and dirt is good, and traction in all conditions meets and exceeds expectations. Snow, rain, dirt, gravel, mud traction are good. A bit touchy on ice, but that may be a function of the large tire size on a small truck. The tires do howl a bit going down the road. Not unpleasant, but definitely noticeable. 11/01/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good for a hunter, seasonal tire. I put these tires on a 2009 Dodge Crew cab Diesel. I chose the tire because I wanted a slightly larger tire that came with the truck, and replaced Mic 245/70/17 with 265/70/17, and I wanted a more aggressive tire. At the time BFG's were 230 each, and these were 165. Now lets break this down...I drive off road a lot, wheather Im hunting, camping or on a contruction site. I never had trouble with Mic, but they were just as pricey. I put these on my truck at about 400 miles. I currently have 29500 on my truck. There is no tire that does everything perfect. The idea is to find ballance. These tires had both ups and downs. On the Down side, these tires are loud. they humm like crazy especially at speeds over 75. The also vibrate so much you feel it in the floor. These tires feel a bit soft, and tend to sway out a bit on the highway; although it gets better with time, it never feels solid. I have 29000 on them now, and they dont wont make 32000. Seems the tires wore quick durring the summer. Also with my 245 Michilin's I was getting a solid 24 on the highway, and I tyipically will keep the speedo at 70. These tires put my mileage at 20; and I rarely go past 65 due to the noise. Did I mention they are loud? When I bought these tires, they were the most affordable E range tires I could find, now they are expensive. On the up side, they are an absoulte bear in the winter. I live in the North East, and we had 2 horrific winters, and these tires got through the heaviest of snow. I found that on roads where there is a little snow, I got through without the 4WD. In the fields, these tires grabbed the soft saturated grass, and pulled through it without spin. If you ever got spin in soft fields, you know that you are going straight down. I climbed hills in the woods, over stumps, small rocks, and stuff that would make an average tire bubble. These rocked!!!As far as looks are concerned, I think they are the coolest looking AT tire on the market. Not too crazy, not to mild. They would probably look better in a larger size, however my stock steel rims wont work with a bigger size. This year we did not have a lot of snow, but we had one huge storm in October with that heavy super slick stuff, even with little life, they worked great in snow. All in all that is my review. Will I buy again...Yes and no. I bought 5 tires, so my spare is new. I plan on putting 3 new ones on, useing the best old one for the spare, and putting on the spare. I will be using these from November to March when it seems they dont wear so fast, and my truck is in harsh conditions. I bought 4 OEM rims, and will be outfitting them with a low resistance roll Mic, using that for the rest of the year. If you cant afford to do this, and need a tire you can use for more than 2 years, dont buy this tire, or dont live where it is always cool to cold with lots of snow...Dont buy this tire. I been driving trucks in the woods, and snow plowing for 25 years. I never had a complaint with BFG KO as an all around tire. But the BFG's dont work as well as these in deep heavy snow. 02/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST Tire Goodyear Makes This tire shocks me everyday it handles great on the road and off road places i used to go in 4wd and get stuck i can walk through in 2wd i have been through 16 inches of snow with these on an 2003 Jeep Liberty Limited and never had to touch the 4wd 02/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tire This tire blew me away with the price. Way cheaper than the BFGs. Performs well in mud and sand. Self cleans and lasts a good amount of miles. Will definately be getting more when its tire time again! 03/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tire They are great tires, not to loud great grip. 12/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tire! This is a great all around 4x4 tire. It is labeled as an AT but it performs as well as most MT's. It cleans mud out of the voids very well. There is a slight highway howl, but that is expected from a tire with an agressive cut. I would definately buy this tire again. You cant go wrong with it. I have read that the fullsize truck guys have problems with them, but for a Jeep they are perfect. 10/10/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by An ok tire but not for the highway I had these installed on my dodge Ram 2500 4X4 extended cab with factory suspension (no modifications). I bought these four days ago and have put a few miles on the tires. The first day we had light rain and the tires did ok. However the first think I noticed with these tires which replaced my Dunlop AT's is that on the pavement the truck did not feel as stable. In curves the back gave the feeling of wanting to swing out. This was without a load on the truck. The wind made it feel worse. Keep in mind these are a load range E tire and should not handle like that. I came home and checked the pressure and verified the shop had installed Load Range E all around. If you have been around long enough to experience bias tires mixed with radial tires you will understand the feel. I would honestly return the tires if it were an option. I do not go play in the sand or climb but do need a tire that will get me through muddy fields and pastures. If I were to use these for off road or mostly non highway I think they would be fine. We have not had snow here in my part of KS yet so I cannot comment on how well they will do there. 11/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by 50,000+ Mile Review These tires are mounted on a 2010 Jeep Wrangler. The tires now have over 50,000 miles on them and are just starting to show tread wear. Not bad considering they have been rotated and balanced once since initial installation. As they wear they have become louder. I have driven the Jeep in 2 Maine winters and rarely used 4 wheel drive even with short wheel base. From Maine to Southern California and Arizona across to Florida, 2 back to back Blue Ridge Parkway trips and back to Maine. A great combination of varied terrains including highway, desert, mud, deep snow and rocky terrain. The tires have never let me down. I would certainly recommend these tires for anyone who likes to spend more time off the pavement and taking the trail less traveled. 04/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have yet to find a better deal in 4x4 tires!!! Would love to see them in 33"! 02/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by f350 4x4 I bought the tire's about a year and a half ago. I have put 12000 miles on them now. Carrying 2 tons plus on my truck and still half tread left my truck weights 10,000 lbs + with a load. i bought Goodyear Tracker 2 and got 7000 miles on them it was worth the extra on these. I plow snow with them last winter. some storms it 2 wheel drive and never ever got stuck great in sand snow ice mud and on dry road next set is another for my truck and the wife's explorer 11/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tires for people who Really work their truck I put these tires on my 2005 2500HD, the tires I had on there would push the 8'2" V plow ok, but had no lateral stability. These tires bite, even sideways, no more sliding sideways with the blade angled. The tires are now a year old. I recently pulled my brother in laws 16K pound box truck, stuck frame deep, about 5 truck lengths back to the roadway. I left trenches in the ground and there were 20 foot rooster tails, but these tires dragged him backwards through the ground, because it was too heavy to come back up, until we hit the roadway. I routinely haul a 10K pound trailer, and use my vehicle heavily loaded on and off road. These tires are definitely worth the money. I would buy them again in a heartbeat. 01/02/2012
1-30 of 52 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew507
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp