See All Reviews
Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 52 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Tires I saw the Goodyear Eagle Authority at my local store and discovered this model is a Walmart exclusive tire rated exactly the same as the Goodyear Eagle GT. The tread pattern is slightly different from the Eagle GT but I believe the overall performance is very similar at a much lower price. These tires handle nicely and have very little road noise. They are great in all weather conditions including rain and light snow. After 5K miles of fairly spirited driving they hardly show any signs of wear. I would recommend this tire to anyone looking for a high speed rated tire at a discount price. 04/05/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by lasted only 22k miles I was happy with my new tires' performance when i installed them last July at 95K miles. Now after 1 year and 3 month and 22K miles thread is almost flat(may be another 2-3k miles)... I have maintained 32psi pressure, done rotation around 7-8K miles and alignment and balancing was proper too... and I am not happy anymore... Although They did hold good in snow and wet condition. 50000 miles warrenty is no way near... 10/19/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Loud on highway Any speed over 60 look around for the truck.. wait.. it's you!!! These tires are very loud, and wear fast. They sounded great for about 2000 miles. 10/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not too shabby for the price We put these bad boys on our 2007 SE V6 Toyota Camry. We've put about 1500 miles on 'em so far and I don't have any complaints. The grip the road well and are quiet compared to the factory tires before. We live in northern Idaho and the tires handle just fine in heavy snow, rain or ice. I think we'll make these tires our next set as well. 02/24/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by These tires went bald after 11k miles. Junk. 11/21/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Tires I bought these tires the end of July 2010. In less than 8 months they are bald. Not good at all!! Don't waste your hard earned money!!!!! 05/04/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Tread wear quality I purchased these tire 01/03/2010 for my wifes 2006 ford fusion and she has drove on them for a total of 11 months and about 13k miles, the tread wear on the outside treadline is at 3/32nds and towards the middle to inside treadlines are 5/3nds, this vehicle DOES NOT have any alignment issues as my wife and I are very cautious not to hit obstructions/defaults in the road. All four tires are worn equally and I have rotated them once. For the $540 i spent on these goodyears I should have spent the extra $ and bought michelins 03/12/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a real value I put these tires on my 2006 Lincoln Zephyr, and have kept them properly inflated, with rotation every 5000 miles. I now have 13,000 miles on the tires and they are nearly worn out (3/32" tread depth). The original equipment tires (Michelin Energy MXV4) lasted 28,000 miles. If the Goodyears cost one half of the price of the Michelins, I would be satisfied. Unfortunately, that is not the case. If you are just looking for inexpensive replacement tires before turning in a leased vehicle, these might be okay. Otherwise, forget it. 03/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT TIRES! I was skeptical about buying all-season tires from goodyear, because i had heard they were not the best, but after going through a pair of falken tires(good for nothing) through rain and snow. I decided to go with these tires and i got to say best tires that i have gotten on my 2000 grand am gt overall A++ they performed great in the rain and snow, I live in wisconsin so we get fair amount of snow 04/25/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Goodyear Eagle Authority Tire 225/50ZR17 I got these tires on 10/03/2010 and 8,000 miles later the tires are at 3/32nds when they start out at 10/32nds All 4 tires where about $680.00 after they where installed. The more they wore out the louder they got. If you want an all season tire do not get these In the snow when they where new no traction and all over the place. I do not blame Walmart for this Goodyear is to blame for a bad tire you would think they would make a better tire for the price I payed. My rating 1 out of 10 -1 03/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Honest Review From Auto Enthusiast Installed on 2004 Acura TSX I spent a while researching tires and ended up getting these. They actually have awesome grip, look really good mounted, They stick out a little further than the rim on purpose and help prevent curb rash. Mine aren't wearing fast, or uneven, and aren't noisy to me. Although in my friends 2008 Accord EX they do seem to be louder than her Michelins that were on prior. I think it's just a matter of sound insulation/what you're used to. A lot of reviews about these tires are blaming the tires for alignment issues, and a lackadaisical approach to maintenance. I couldn't be happier for the price. 10/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by These Tires Are Worth The Money I currently drive a Ford Focus and my previous set of tires was on their last legs! After price comparing many different brands and having an off brand before, which road noise was a major factor, I decided to splurge a bit on a name brand we've all learned to trust... The Goodyear Tire Brand "Authority" Walmart carries is exclusive just to them and allows them to offer a great price. The tread warranty is astounding and the tread pattern is very unique, great for holding a strong grip in any weather condition (rain/snow/wet/dry). The road noise is minimal and the tires really allow for a smooth ride. Also, I can't forget the rim protection that is rare to find in good tires. I've bumped several curves and not a scratch has been allowed on my rims. To those who are stating the tire tread is fading at a rapid rate, it isn't the tire or the tread pattern, it's caused by your vehicle being out of line. If your having that problem with any brand of tire, you need to have your car professionally aligned before purchasing your next set of tires. Trust me, had the same problem and an alignment really made a big difference in my tire tread life. So if your looking for a great All Season tire that is affordable and reliable, look no further then the Goodyear Authority, available only at Walmart! 01/16/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Road Noise to the Extreme At first they were quiet tires, but they got loud in a hurry! At the moment I cannot stand long highway trips as the tires drone on all surfaces. Decent handling tires in the wet and dry. Average traction in the snow. If I rated these tires during the first months of ownership I would have given them 5's. I will never buy this tire again. 02/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tires I wasn't sure about these tires because of the price and I'm not that fond of Goodyear tires anyway. My opinion changed when 2 deer crossed in front of me on the highway when it was dark, raining and I was running 70mph and I had to react quickly. With a very sharp turn to the right and back to the left I thought I was going to loose control but the tires hooked and didn't slip or slide. I have NEVER had a set of tires that stuck that good in the rain and at high speed and did mention the tires have about 20K miles on them.. I hope these tires are still available in a a year or so I will buy more. 12/16/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent. They are a decent tire for the price. Tires this size get expensive very quickly but these are reasonably priced. The manufacturer estimates it as a 50,000 mile tire. I got about 35-38,000 miles out of them. 09/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by PERFORMANCE BARGAIN Finding a reasonably priced Performance tire can be a daunting experience. The unknown brands (no wear warranty). The Major brands (Pirelli,Continental,ect) cost a small fortune. Especially for daily-driving. At 5500 miles they are poised to outlast their 50K mile warranty. Authority`s have 6-ply tread,2-ply sidewalls. They handle with the best of them. Even in the wet. So for your Mustang or Focus, they are worth a look.. 08/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tire and much cheaper than tire shops This will be the 2nd set that goes on my Infiniti G35 (last set put on by the Infiniti dealership --- so what does that say about them!!). These tires drip the road very well, esp. when I take a hairpin turn at 65 mph. They are very responsive and agile. I still can't believe that these tires come from Wal-Mart. Until I started my search, I would have sworn I would have to pay over $200 per tire for these. Great tire and great value. You won't be disappointed!! 04/26/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by surprising tire I bought this tire to replace a flat Goodyear Eagle RS-A. I was skeptical because of the low price. This tire has lasted longer than the other RS-A while performing just as well for a much lower price. It does well in wet conditions and only winter tires have done a better job climbing Pittsburgh hills when it snows. I will buy this tire again. 11/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Goodyear Haven't had these tires long enough to rate them yet, but had to fill in the section (per the *). Really wanted to pass on the treadwear rating, as it doesn't appear anywhere. It's 440. My old Goodyear LS tires lasted 62000 miles (rated 360) and still had tread, but were 8 years old. Will follow up after taking a trip in a couple of weeks. Right now they seem to have a hum of their own, but that may be because they only have a few miles on them. 03/04/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor quality tire Bought a pair of tires to replace 2 bad ones. Size: 245/45ZR18 After a year and 16k miles, they were pretty much bald. Got them replaced under the 40k miles warranty, and bought another 2 to get a full set of 4 new tires. Now, a year later and another 16k miles, all 4 of the tires are pretty much bald. Got them replaced again under the 40k miles warranty. So now I am on my 2 1/2 set of tires. Don't waste your time and money on these tires. You will get what you paid for. 12/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Tires These are some awesome tires you just need to maintain them properly. Such as rotating them every 3K miles. Rotating your tires properly will make them last maybe 2-3 times more longer. 11/23/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not For WINTER but a good tire I put these (205/55R/17) on my 2009 Hyundai Sonata to replace the oem Kumho tires. I live in western Maryland and travel through the mountains of West Virginia as well. Seems as if there are more curves than straight roads!! These tires have performed very well on dry and wet conditions. They take the curves better than the oem's and overall steering is better. I have got the 50k miles out of them, so no complaint there. My only issue is that when driving in winter on snow or slush the only thing you can do is go SLOW. When superstorm Sandy blew in last October I was returning from the pittsburgh airport and I-68 was a mess!!! semis jack-knifed, cars in the median, and shoulder. I did manage to get to my exit in Maryland, but I could not navigate the littlest of hills and was stuck in the middle of the road. Not sure any tire would of have a difference that night, but subsequent driving on snow and ice was not pretty. I got great gas mileage, upwards of 33-34 mpg on long trips. They held air decent enough, checking once a month to find maybe 4-5lbs of air loss. It is time to replace these tires and not sure if I will buy another set as they are rather pricey and winter will be here soon. This seems to be an odd size tire and there are not alot choices for an all season tire including winter. 11/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent tire, great economy, terrific value I've had these tires for over 50,000 plus miles with even wear so long as the wheels are aligned properly. Tires are quiet and the ride is very smooth! I would recommend to any buyer. 11/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quite a Surprise!! I purchased my Accord as a certified used Honda and these were the tires installed when I did so. They are quiet, handle well, ride nicely, and have lasted 50,000 miles!! This is amazing to me with a 50 series V speed rated tire. They currently have 51000 on them with 5/32 tread depth still. I will not buy them again as I am choosing a low rolling resistance tire for my 400 mile a week commute. But if you don't care about fuel mileage and having to go to Walmart this is your tire. 07/11/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good solid tire I was originally apprehensive purchasing a Goodyear product because i had always heard that this wasn't a long lasting or quality brand but so far after driving pretty hard for about 10k miles they are smooth , fairly quiet and handle well in rain or dry roads. I haven't tested Winter conditions yet. When first installed my 2002 Acura RL 3.5 felt very light and squally, almost scary because i dropped to a 50 series vs. a 55 but after about 1500 miles they stick like glue and handle like a sports car. Very pleased with Walmart service , price and quality. Victor L. Kansas City 09/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent tire, trust a genuine enthusiast. I just purchased my third set of these tires today. The only reason I have gone through three sets is because I have owned my car for a very long time. It is a 2002 Ford Focus SVT and I have loved this car since the day I first took ownership. The car has certainly not been without its problems considering it is 12 years old but since discovering and using this tire the tires and their traction have not been one of them. I have also owned tires from Sumitomo, Continental and Toyo in the same size and similar performance on this car and this tire has outperformed them in every category. The Continental's were merely mediocre and rarely accelerated from a stop even under light throttle application without tire slippage and torque steer. The Toyos did great in dry and probably would have been a good clean track application but were an absolute traction nightmare in the rain. And none of those three tires lasted as long as these. These tires have given me excellent traction in dry, wet and even light snow and ice. If you live in areas with more severe winter weather than you really need a dedicated winter performance tire and no all-season (otherwise known as summer for good reason) tire will cover those needs. I am certain that so many of the other reviews are from people who have no understanding of their cars and other problems that may exist in those cars. For starters I have no noise problems from these tires and my car certainly ISN'T known for it's sound deadening, in fact some of mine has been removed because I changed factory speakers and found much of it deteriorating. Second, a high performance tire will always wear much faster than a generic passenger tire so comparing this to, say, a Goodyear Viva is a very unfair comparison but when compared against tires of similar performance its wear is actually quite impressive. It completely outclassed both my previous Toyos and Sumitomos on treadwear. If you truly don't need a performance tire then you really shouldn't buy one as the performance enhancements will be of no use and you will suffer from much quicker treadwear than you have to endure. However if you need a tire that produces impressive performance and good all-season traction with reasonable treadwear for the class then you really can't go wrong with these tires. 02/26/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 Satisfied With This Tire 225/50/17 size on a 2006 Pontiac G6 Coupe GT. Far superior to original Continental touring tires. Actually very good in snow! Got about 40,000 "good" miles. Have about 54,000 now and almost down to the wear bars. Have gotten very noisy and now have to be careful on wet highways but they still stop very well in the wet and no wheel spin when taking off from a stop. Have worn very evenly. Thinking about buying them again but am considering something with lesser "sport" performance but with a longer life and more quiet ride as I drive almost 20,000 miles per year. 09/01/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Quality I bought all 4 of these and within 2 years I have had to replace 3 before they were a year old. The last one I have removed because of this is just over a year old. Less than 15,000 miles on it. To replace it will cost a fortune I don't want to spend anymore. Going elsewhere for a better quality tire at less money. Sorry. 09/25/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by good price, bad tire good looking tire, aggressive tread pattern wears out very fast. pretty good price but my next set will not be Goodyear. 01/10/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I have approx 30,000miles on my tires and they are worn out. The last 10k have been straight highway miles and the wearing has seemed to slow but I did not get what I expected I would out of the tires. I rotated my tires every 7500miles or so but the tires still seemed to wear out too fast. I bought these tires because of the cost and the ease of servicing my car since I worked at the store. 08/21/2011
1-30 of 52 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw360
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp