See All Reviews
Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 300 Elliptical
Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 300 Elliptical
$232.40
List Price: $329.00
You Save: $96.60 (29%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 3 out of 5 by 198 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the time! My husband and I purchased this elliptical about 2 months ago, and have been more than satisfied with it since we put it together. It did take him 2 hours to put it together, but if you take your time and tighten all of the bolts correctly then it works really well. Within the first 2 weeks we noticed a squeaking sound, and realized that some of the bolts were loose from when we moved it to its new location upon putting it together. Once we tightened these bolts it was as good as new. This machine gives you a great workout! My husband was very skeptical of it b/c he didn't like the ellipticals he previously used at the gym. After he used it for the first time, he came upstairs out of breath and he only used it for 15 minutes. We both had to slowly work up the amount of time spent on it, and I am finally doing 30 minutes a day, 5 days a week. It really gives you a great workout! My husband only uses it for 15 minutes a day, 3 days a week. In less than 2 months, I have lost 8lbs...4 inches around my waist, 2 inches around my hips, and 2 inches off of each thigh. The elliptical, combined with a balanced diet has changed our lives in only a short time. My mother-in-law was so impressed with the changes it has made in our lives that she comes over a few times a week to use it. I think she might even go to Walmart to buy one. If you take the time to assemble this elliptical correctly, and make sure to tighten the bolts occasionally, you too will be very satisfied with this product. It's a great deal for a reasonable price. My husband and I are saving so much money by not going to the gym, and using this machine in the comfort of our own home! 03/02/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality machine awesome price! I purchased my employer an elliptical Trainer from Sears. It was a 700.00 model and I tried it out and decided I had to have one. I didn't want to pay that much so I checked out my local Wal-Mart and got this one. I am so glad I did. After assembling the unit (Took me around 1 and a half hours) I was amazed at the quality and stability of this unit. (It is important to follow the directions and tighten the bolts securely) I am 220 lbs. I was 250 when I started on this machine and it has held up well. It is important to understand that being a machine held together with bolts; it's important to use the wrenches they give you and tighten them every other week or so. I do this because I have worked around machinery my whole life and even $60,000 equipment needs to be maintained. That all being said if you want a machine that has great features and works well and is sturdy then I highly recommend this machine. 04/09/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product! I've had this elliptical for over 2 years and it finally bit the dust a week ago after using it 5 times a week since somehow I broke the metal while I was using it. But while it did work, it was really great! I don't see why people complain that its too tough to push on. anything below resistance 4 is like normal walking or walking on air. I started on resistance 5 for 30 minutes daily, and now i've been able to use it on the highest resistance (10) for over an hour and a half at a rate of 40-45 rotations per minute. This machine helps you tone your arms very nicely too, I managed to burn lots of fat from my forearm and my upper arm. The heart monitor was really bad though, everytime I used it it read in the low 70's during a hard workout. If you want to lose weight or burn more fat, then I really recommend this elliptical, i went from being 190lbs (all fat) -150 (hardly any fat but nice tone to my bicepts and forearms) legs are alot better too. 03/04/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good with a little extra TLC This Product is a great value, and with a little extra tweaking, can be a great machine for the money.The first thing I noticed was that the machine squeaked and creaked a lot. I traced this sound to the bolts that hold on the T frame at the base of the machine. I removed the bolts and seperated the frame and greased the thinner portion of the frame, and the bolts and put it all back together. This alleviated all the squeaking. A couple of weeks after this, the wave washers that space the handles away from the frame broke. this caused the handles to rock back and forth and make a horrible cliuunking noise. They are made of very cheap metal, and break easy. I called the manufacturer and they sent new ones right out. However these also broke a couple weeks later. I went to the hardware store and purchased some rubber O rings that were about the same thickness of the original wave washers, I greased them and inserted them in place of the washers, and I have had no problems since. Last night however, The main crank in the machine broke, and I am well under the weight limit. So I am not sure what caused this to happen. I can only assume that it is a defect in materials. I would suggest purchasing the extended service agreement since the original manufacturers warranty is only for 90 days. This is the only reason that my machine will now be fixed, and the service department at walmart is very good at helping out. Hope this info helps out. 05/13/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dont buy Worked great the first week. It creaks now. and sounds like its going to break. Anywhere in the house you can hear the loud creaking sound. It can't even be masked off earphones. Returning it today. Save yourself the time and effort of putting it together. buy a better model 09/18/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by I would not recommend this to anyone it squeeks I have to use ear plugs and the left side adustment keeps comming loose even after using locktight 04/14/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by it's ok it doesnt really seem to change resistance all levels are the same and very hard. i use an eliptical at my physical therapists so i am familiar with these machines and normally i can do resistance 4 but on this machine 4 feels like 8 and so does 1..lol...perhaps my husband assembeled it wrong?? or maybe others have had this problem too.. 06/07/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cheaply made This product seemed nice in the store because it was up on a shelf. I did not know how it would do when weight was put on it. I have tightened the bolts a million times, but every time I use it they come loose and the machine rocks back and forth really bad and makes a LOUD creaking noise. I am a small woman who does not weigh but either. It seems that every time I use it for 5 minutes, something else breaks. As you exercise, you hear new things breaking every few minutes. I have only had it for about a week but already know it was a waste of money. If you want an eliptical, just buy the expensive quality ones or dont get one at all. If you buy this, you will just waste 350 dollars. 06/02/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Who Needs a Gym Membership!! I love this machine. Very easy to assemble and the work out is like an actual workout you get at the gym!! I highly recommend this machine I use it on an average of 6x's a week. 02/19/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by piece of junk Parts immediately started falling off. The machine has continued to fall apart. One of the step paddles broke off. I went ahead and took the other off because it fit awkwardly on the machine anyway. It squeaks horribly loud. There are a lot of little parts that have broken off and are lying beneath the machine. Please don't buy. I believe they know we will not bring these back. I am a single woman that had to borrow a truck and a man to pick this up and assemble it. I could not turn around within that month and ask someone to disassemble it and lug it back to the store and then go pick out another for them to lug into my house and put together. 01/04/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by not at all worth the money i bought this a month ago and i used it everyday sometimes every other for between half an hour and an hour. it fell apart. the screws will not stay tight, i will tighten them and they will come loose 1 min. later (literally). I would definitely not recommend this product to ANYONE!!!! 06/08/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Wobbly I was looking for a flexible stride length and the 12 & 18 inch options sold me. The price was also a bargain- listed at 297, but it was priced at 200! Assembly was easy. My 15 year old son and I leisurely put it together in 45 minutes with no problems at all. Wear some old clothes because the grease is greasy, and you should use it liberally. Once assembled we gave it a go and were disappointed at it's wobbliness. He is 5'10" 140 and I am 5' 11" 180. It is not very sturdy. My wife gave it a go (for whom we purchased it) and her first comment was that it was not very stable. I haven't totally adjusted the front height pads, will retighten all of the screws and bolts, and will probably move it off my fitness mats to just a low-pile rug to see if that helps, but I don't expect it to make much of a difference. I must say though that my wife is petite and liked the 12" stride while I definitely preferred the longer 18" stride, which is what caught my attention to begin with. If I can't find another machine with that option we may muscle through the negatives and make the best of it. Can't beat the price. If you are expecting value you will surely get an OK piece of equipment for practically nothing, but beware of its instability. I haven't had it long enough to comment on the issues others have commented on but I'll be on the look-out. Good luck. 01/03/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by broke all the time I had this elliptical for less then a year I had to replace the belt twice and had to weld the peddle back on. I loved the work out but I wouldn't buy this one again very cheap workman ship I was glad that I got the 2 year warranty. 12/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by DO NOT BOTHER We purchased this trainer in March. From the first time that I used it, the screws on the wheel would not stay tight, the pedal even fell off once while I was using it! It makes so much noise it is hard to use when you want to. I called the company to see if they would be able to help me and they basically said sorry. Not worth the time and money! 10/23/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by Big/bulky & not for me. I purchased this item at my local Walmart and thought I was getting a good deal because of the price. It took me about 2 hours to assemble and when it was all put together, the machine was much bigger than I expected. The footprint is about 3' x 5' & the handles are set higher than most other elliptical machines. If you are single, you will need assistance with getting this machine into your home because it is very heavy. Once assembled, the machine can be moved around on it's two front wheels. I live in a pretty small apartment & space is of essence to me so this machine is going back. The machine also started making clanking noises which probably came from the bolts. The few times I did try the machine out I noticed that the higher the resistance used, the louder the clanking noise was. If you do purchase this machine, you will need to have 4 AA batteries on hand to operate the control panel. Hope this review was helpful. 01/01/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs a Little TLC Many have noted that this machine is very noisy. This has been my experience as well as it has aged. It eventually got so loud I had to fix the sound or quit using it. In my case, 99% of the noise was coming from one of the long bolts in the base of the machine. The bolt was moving back and forth as my weight shifted from left to right. I put some plastic washers on both sides (I think most of the noise was coming from underneath by the nut) and cinched it back up tight. It's as quiet as when I first bought it again. It's worth what you pay for it--as long as you're willing to spring for $1 worth of plastic washers to go with it. 04/15/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by unable to use I wanted this because I have used similar items at the gym. I have a hip injury and all levels are extremely intense and too hard to use. You have to use all your weight just to get the thing going and I am 6-foot tall and average build. I can not keep the thing going without hurting my hip. The ellipticals at the gym are WAY easier to use. Very upset. It is now a clothes rack! 01/13/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Broke in 2 months I weigh 150 pounds and used this every day. It made a lot of noise, like a squeaky mattress, and literally broke in month 2 of owning it. 300 bucks isn't "a little" for me to toss down! That is a lot of money! I could've had a gym membership for a year with that kind of money. But this thing literally went through 3 sets of batteries then the metal seaming snapped! It's a piece of junk. Do not buy. 05/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Equipment I just recently purchased my second Gold's Gym product and have enjoyed it ever since. It is everything that I had expected it to be. It's very easy to assembly but does take about 2 hours to complete. I recommend Gold's products to everyone. 01/11/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great value for a low priced elliptical This elliptical is definitely worth it's price. I find it to be very sturdy yet easy to move. Although it is not one that I would recommend moving room to room I can easily move it from the corner to the middle of the room without trouble. It is great for use in a small place. I am a 5 foot 6 inch 118 pound girl and I find the stride to be long enough and the resistance to be challenging. I use my elliptical about three times a week on average. It does squeak sometimes. However, the tv does a good job drowning the sound out. I gave this machine 4 stars instead of 5 because it was missing a screw and we had to wait a week to recieve it in the mail. The box was VERY battered when we picked it up from walmart and we assume it fell out of the box. We did not have to pay for the replacement piece to be sent. I recommend this machine to anyone on a budget. 07/21/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by not what i expected I did not pay a lot of money for the product and feel that I got what I paid for. There is no incline on it and it also is very hard to do. I can do the ellipiticals at the gym for 45 minutes and I struggle to get through this one for 5 minutes. Very hard to work out on. 08/26/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by AWESOME!!!! PRODUCT IS GREAT!! I WAS SHOPPING AROUND FOR AN ELLIPTICAL FOR SOME TIME AND WAS AT MY LOCAL K-MART WHERE THEY WHERE SELLING A LESSER QUALITY PRODUCT FOR ALMOST TWICE THE MONEY. I AM SO HAPPY I DECIDED TO GO OVER TO WALMART AND SEE WHAT THEY HAD TO OFFER. THIS PRODUCT IF PUT TOGETHER PROPERLY AND TIGHTEND UP EVERY SO OFTEN WILL MAKE NO NOISE AND REMAIN STURDY! WITH NO SWAYING SHAKING OR NOISES! 11/17/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by love it My son put the elliptical together in 1 and 1/2 hours. He and his wife exercise every night. The machine is quiet and easy to use. They love that there are 8 levels of exercise modes. The entire machine does not take up alot of room but it is larger and and nicer than I expected. I truly feel we got our money's worth. My son is tall and alittle over weight and he is getting a true work out. I spent a long time researching various products and I made a very good choice. We are very happy. I recommend this Elliptical to everyone. 01/14/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Resistance too tight? Assembly took a couple of hours (consistent with other reviews). I like the design of the machine which is a very comfortable fit even though I'm very short (4'11"). The only problem is that the tension for all 10 resistance levels seems to be the same. I hear the mechanism working when I press the up or down arrows, but resistance is the same. I know I'm out of shape but I have trouble getting past 5 consecutive minutes on the lowest resistance. Is anyone else having this problem? Does anyone know how to adjust the resistance? 12/05/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 Good product, but needs minor work I have read the reviews and was worried about the noise in the machine we read about. Being a handyman I thought I could figure it out and I did. So for all of you that have this machine it is a real easy fix. Take the cover off of the flywheel by removing the pedals first so you can get the cover off. Once you have it off you need a flashlight and a sharp knife. If you shine the flashlight between the two sides you will see that on the down pedal on the left side of the machine as you would be using it there is a piece of metal the plastic fins rub on. This is from the downward and natural inward pressure you put on the pedal while using the machine. Take your knife and just trim the fins about half way around on the downward pedal and it will work just fine. The whole procedure only takes about 10 minutes depending how comfortable you are with tools and such. After doing this we have been very happy so far, but have only owned it less then a month. 03/28/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still needs improvement We purchased it about a month ago and took about a good two hours to put it all together. My wife and I looked at other elliptical machines that Wal-Mart offered but ultimately bought it for the price. We use the machine about 3-4 times a week and we are sad to say that the machine did not live up to our expectations. After the 2-3 time we used it started making noises and started to wobble. I retightened the screws and it still wobbles. We also wish that the foot pedals were padded a little bit instead of being all plastic. The machine works and is OK for the price if you can ignore the noises. 01/28/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth a dime! I had this for 2 weeks, and the belt inside broke. We also purchased the warranty and called to get it fixed. We were told that we would have to pay a serive fee to get a new belt sent to us. We did not agree to the service fee, so they finally agreed to send it to us for free. We finally got the belt, without any directions on how to replace it. There is no way possible to replace the belt due to one of the internal parts. If we can't get the belt on, we are returning this item. Don't waste your time with this machine! 08/23/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by The metal bar is broken in a year. The metal bar of the left front joint is broken in less than a year, though my body weight is 220 pounds (the ellipticals should hold 250 pounds). I do not recommend this. 07/04/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely annoyed I purchased this over a year ago and hardly ever use it. I have a gym membership but I have my 2 boys Thurs-Mon and cant get to the gym 2-3 days out of the week. I thought this would be a good option for me to get some cardio in on the weekends. This machine is LOUD. I've used ellipticals that have had problems but this is so loud that I can't even hear my TV over it or even listen to my mp3 without hearing the annoying clunking sound. I have a 3 year extended warrantee on it and hopefully it's something that can be fixed but as of now I would have to say this was very disappointing. Also the bottle holder doesn't hold anything due to loose screws. If it is fixed I will write another review as to it's performance. 11/23/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by difficult to use This was a good price but is noisy and hard to use, I wish I would have gotten a treadmill instead of something that is too difficult to use:( 04/16/2010
1-30 of 186 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew263
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp