Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 294 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works so well I got a 2nd one! I got this a/c last summer for a back bedroom. It worked so well that it cooled the 14 x 16 bedroom plus a 20 ' hallway when the bigger a/c unit went out. Keep in mind, this was in July in Texas. The price, durability and ease of installation along with the fact that it saved me money on my electric bill with its energy efficiency design, prompted me to go out an buy a 2nd one for another bedroom yesterday. Not only does the remote work well.. you can also program the a/c to turn on and off when you want. I definitely recommend this product! 05/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Have had this for about a year now, its quiet and no issues so far. Remote works well doesnt have to be pointed directly at the ac (always a plus). Over all its a great piece of equipment! 05/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good product Seems well made and remote control works fine. When installing, look for the screws in the small packet wrapped in the insulation roll. I had a hard time finding these. My last GE A/C small unit, also for an office, is still going strong after 5 plus years. 05/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cold and quiet air conditioner This is a 6400 BTU air conditioner. That is what it says on the box it came in with this products serial number. I had a 5000 btu fridgidaire air conditioner for my living room and it couldn't keep up on hot days and rattled. I decided to go up for better cooling but didn't want to go to high. Those bigger are conditioners are so heavy for one person to do themselves. I would like to thank the people that left the reveiws for this. That is what I used to decide to buy this unit. This air conditioner cools my downstiars living dining combo kitchen perfectly. I have a small house but I can't say how happy I am with this air conditioner. Love it and highly recommend trying it. GE this is a winner!!! 06/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Air Conditioner Me and my husband just bought it and it works amazing!!! Comes with remote and easy to assemble. Finally our small apartment is cool. We are so happy. We replaced 2 older model AC's with this one and are extremely satisfied with the product. Air Flow is great and very little noise. Couldnt be happier. Perfect for a bedroom,, 05/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quiet, Easy to Install/Operate, Nice Features This unit is actually a 6400BTU A/C, not 6000. It has nice features and is very quiet. Simple to install and it easily cools my 11'X24' living room. I also have a 5000BTU Haier and it seemed like half of this one, that unit went in my camper. For the price, I don't think you can do better on a new unit. 05/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I researched several different brands and saw that this was rated as one of the best. Many others were noisy and didnt work right out of the box. I can attest to that cause it happened to me and went right back to the store it came from. Not this GE tho! I purchased it in early july and we have had some hot weather since. It was light and easy to install, couldnt have taken me more than 20 min from opening the box to cool air blowing. Im using it in a 180 sq ft bedroom. It cools the room quickly & easily and is very quiet, which was one of my most important criteria. Even when the compressor cycles on and off you can barely hear a thing- and its in the window about 3 feet from my head. I have not received my electric bill yet so i couldnt say about usage but im sure its far less than the 12 year old one that it replaced. One note, as with all units ive looked at- how ridiculous that if you read the fine print on yearly usage cost, they are based on 2007 utility prices.. useless. 07/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GE 6400 BTU Window AC Installed this in a 300 square foot room and it cools it witout hesitation. Really quiet unit and I would recommend this product. Took about 25 minutes to get it in place and sealed. Consider it a great product for the price. 05/25/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by i am very satisfied with this product.This product works great for what i need. What i like the best is the energy saver mode, once the room is cooled the energy saver kicks in an keeps the same temp that makes me comfortable.I would recomend it to anyone. 05/24/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth it. LIve here in St. Louis and we've had 5 straight days of 100+ degree weather. Had a 5,000 btu that was 2 years old and finally gave out. Bought this one and it cooled the room 10 degrees in 30 minutes. Worth every penny. 07/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very cool! I now own two GE window units. A great buy for the money. Have a 5050 unit in my bedroom and the 6400 BTU in my den. Very pleased and they operate rather quietly too. 06/21/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wish we'd have bought this one in the first place. This air conditioner is great so far, and cools the 12 x 14 room we put it in nicely. The remote control is easy to use. It was delivered to my home just 2 days after I ordered it, with no damage to the packaging. It was easy to install, has clear directions and is pretty quiet for a window unit. I wish we had bought this before wasting money on the Haier model we purchased last year! 06/02/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Product I purchased this window air conditioning unit for my dad as a gift. He thought that 6,400 BTU's wouldn't be enough as he previously had a 10,000 BTU unit. However, within minutes of installing it, it cooled the room down 4 degrees. It was very reasonably priced and definitely worth the price. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a window unit to cool approximately 225 sq feet. I also ordered it on line and it was shipped to the store a week earlier than expected. 06/01/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This arrived in 2 days from order date with standard shipping. Installed it the next day in my kitchen window, but it cools both the kitchen and living room. Has settings for Auto fan speed and Energy Saver mode which work great. It hardly ever runs and the temp in both rooms stays extremely comfortable ... sometimes even have to find a blanket when watching TV on the couch! I've had it for a couple of weeks so don't know yet what the effect on the electric bill is going to be, but no more than it runs I think I will be pleased. I also purchased the 10,000 btu unit for the master bedroom ( which also cools the bedroom directly across the hall) and a 5,000 btu unit for another bedroom. Same saving features and they also run very little. I live in an older 1000 sf, 3 bedroom, wood sided house with little insulation - IN TEXAS where it has been 90-100 degrees every day - and these 3 units keep my whole house pleasantly cool. Bottom line ... VERY pleased with this purchase. 07/20/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good, but not great This AC cools ok, but the air is not as cold as previous AC units. In really hot weather it might have to run a lot more to keep a room cool. Also, I HATE the remote control. Previous remotes for AC units I have owned had buttons for each function. I could push "power saver" or "fan" or "cool". But on this one I have to walk up to the AC unit and look at it because all there is on the remote for those functions is "mode". How do I know which mode it is on? I can push the button all day but will not know unless I look at the unit. Also, the power button is very large and NOT at the far or front end of the remote like ALL OTHER remotes since the remote was invented; NO, this power button is at the very bottom where people grab to pick up the remote. It is also very close to the other function buttons like fan speed, so you better be careful because you could hit the power button. So the remote is only good for changing the temp, turning it off and on, and fan speed. It cannot be properly used for the mode selection. 05/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by efficient and quiet. This unit is actually 6400 btu. I bought it for a 12x12 room with west exposure (afternoon and evening sun) It was rated well by Consumer Reports. We have had six straight days of 90 degree plus weather since I installed it. It cools the room very well and is relatively quiet. I am very happy with purchase. 07/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is one of the best air conditioners i have ever bought and its timer feature is great when your not home room and it turns on before you come home and it also shuts off when it reaches the temperature and is pretty quiet also and the remote feature is also great too. I was very surprised about how well this works! 06/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice cold window air conditioner overall this product is excellent for the money, even on my first month electricty bill it was a super saver. Blows cold, my only problem with this unit was the loudness of it. its fan liked to make a big blower noise when it kicked on but that is the only con about this 06/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good purchase Great A/C for the price....operates quietly and efficiently....very easy to install. 05/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Window AC unit under $250. I have bought 3 portable ac units in the past 2 years trying to find one that would cool the bedroom but not be too loud. There is no window to put a window unit in. After having no luck with the portable units I finally cut a hole in the wall and mounted this unit at floor level. This GE 6400 is perfect. It cools almost twice as fast and when on low fan setting is quiet enough for me to sleep. The room is 18'x 16' with 11' ceilings'. It keeps it 68 degrees even when it's in the 80's at night outside here in Houston. It seems to be very well built compared to some other small window units I've had over the years. For the little extra money over the cost of a 5,000 BTU window unit you can get a "real" air conditioner! It's a lot heavier than the 5K units which tells me it's made of good stuff! Very happy with this purchase. 07/04/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keepin' me cool! I ordered two of these units just before the big heat hit this summer. I chose the standard delivery, and they were at my doorstep approx. 36 hours after I ordered! They were easy to install, and have been working like champs through this unusual WI heat wave. I have one at each end of the house, and they're keeping our 1200 sq. ft. house nice & cool. Even in this 100 degree heat, I've been wearing sweatshirts in the house, and covering up with blankets in bed at night. Love them!! 07/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for a small space We bought this for our bonus room ( aprox 200 sq ft) which does not have enough central air going through the system to keep it comfortable, so this is a supplement. It does keep the room very comfortable. The unit is very quiet. We love the remote and use it often. We bought this unit especially for the energy star rating and I have found if you put it into auto mode, the temps do fluctuate and don't remain constant. We just adjust the temp with the remote and it gets the room to the desired temp. Installation was very easy and the direcrions were very clear. I definetely recommend this product to others. 06/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very good Air Conditioner. This Air ccoditioner is a super performer. It cools fast and was easy to install. 06/02/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this a/c is outstanding.this is the rolls royce of window air-conditioners.very quite and the elecronic controls are execellent.i own two other name brand air-conditioners that don't even come close in quitness and temperature accuracy.i will only purchase g.e. in the future.i will definitely be replacing one of my other a/c's with a similar g.e. unit. 07/05/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better than I expected I bought this ac to install in a 230sqft room, and was afraid it wouldn't be strong enough. Boy, was I wrong! It cools the room much better than I expected. I even have to turn it off in the middle of the night, cause it gets too cold, lol! 07/15/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good AC The 2 reasons this product doesn't get 5 stars is the noise and energy saver mode confusion. I have this unit in my window next to my bed and it's really loud when I sleep. The first 2 nights, I had a terrible night sleep because I wasn't used to the noise (I like it silent when I sleep). I have gotten used to it the past couple of days though. 6400 BTU is an ok size for my 12x16 ft room. I had the energy saver option on and had my room temp for 73 degrees, but it kept running and running and ran the entire night without it ever hitting 73. But when I woke up the next morning it was hot in my room (78) and the AC didn't come back on. I'm not sure why it works so sporadically in the energy saver mode. For the $$ it's a pretty good deal, I just wished it was a bit quieter and the energy saver mode was more consistent. 06/16/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! I ordered it as a replacement for an old GE in a bedroom with 10 foot ceilings. On low, it cools extremely well, is very quiet, and was super easy to install. The best part was Fed Ex delivered it and carried it up my 14 front steps and set it in the hall . Great service and a great product. 07/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great unit it was easy to install, nice remote, cools the room better than the old 8000btu we had 07/02/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by REALLY upset with this unit I installed the unit exactly like the owners manual suggests. Everything was in working order when I plugged it in. When I initially turned it on, it blew out cold air. Great! I left it running for 1/2 hour and the room (in 81 degrees ambient temp) cooled down to 78 degrees. Not great. Temp got down to about 76 and never moved passed there. I figured that it had to break in so I didn't pay any attention. Sorry to say, this wasn't the case after several uses. I made sure I had "cool" on and "High" which did nothing to help the process. My room is 11X14 which is about 165 cu. ft. A 5000 BTU unit shouldn't have ANY issues cooling that space. This is rated at 6400 BTUs!!!! It couldn't cool off a shoebox! I am thoroughly disgusted with this thing. I have GE coming to look at it on Friday. I want them to take it back and give me my money back because I refuse to waste time and energy on a BRAND NEW product that doesn't work. 06/18/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great A/C for the bedroom! I wanted an A/C for the bedroom so I didn't have to run the central air all night. This really fits the bill. It is nice looking, digital controls , and a remote so I can adjust it or turn it off from the bed. I would highly recommend it for this purpose. 06/01/2014
1-30 of 237 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw246
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp