Rated 4 out of 5 by 168 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Camera at Good Price I really like this bridge camera. Its easy to use and takes good pictures if you follow the instructions. Ive sold a few of my shots already. This is my 5th digital camera and my first GE, but it really has all the features I need. I think the lens cap is loosely fitting because the lens protrudes out of the camera when its turned on and if you forget to take the lens cap off it will push it off for you. If it was tightly fitting it may damage the camera and my cap doesnt come off unless I take it off so it isnt loose as it is stated in other reviews. You also have to manually pop up the flash if you want to use it which isnt a big deal except my other digital pops up automatically when needed and I got used to that. The camera body isnt as large as an DSLR and the cameras not too heavy to lug for a day of picture taking. All in all at this price I think you wont find a better deal. Happy Photographing! 07/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Camera This is an awesome camera, does what I want it to and much much more. Very easily comaparabe to much more expensive camera. The only problem I have had is sometimes my photos may come out a little blurry, but that was mostly me getting used to the new camera and all it's settings. This camera takes excellent crystal clear images once you get used to how the camera functions. You won't go wrong with this camera. 06/05/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent Entry Level Camera It might sound like a cliche' review statement, but it is true that this camera is worth the $120ish that you pay for it. I myself am interested in pressuring photography so I have been starting from the bottom up. I am planning on buying the Nikon D90 next ($1,000) This camera was, for me, baby steps into my dream of professional picture quality. It takes pretty astounding detailed pictures for it's price. Landscape pictures are good but not great. This camera has quite a bit of settings witch is pretty neat. It is a great learning tool, it is a camera that will grow with you as you learn more and more about photography until you eventually out grow it and need something a little more advanced. I really liked how it looks so much like a SLR camera, I have owned it for a little over a year now and have had no serious problems so far. It's perfect for day trips and documenting family outings. The 15x zoom is nice (if you know what you are doing) it can be a little tricky and make your pictures blurry, but if you take the time and learn how to use it, it will treat you right. I don't agree with a lot of the bad reviews on here, I think if you take the time to really learn this camera and take advantage of the many features then you will get some pretty decent pictures. Take my pictures as a true example of what this camera can do for you if you learn how to use it properly. To sum it all up: If your interested in some day taking pictures of a professional quality and are new to it all. This camera is a great baby step to get your feet wet. Learn what you can from it a move on to something more advanced when your ready. 09/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great camera for price agree with other reviewer, my first pictures were blurry. really great pictures once i got the hang of it. exceptional zoom, just used it on trip to the beach and was really pleased with results. my lens cap does not stay on and i do not like this because the lens does not cover up when camera is off. its the only thing i would change. 07/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love It! I have had this camera for over a month and have taken a lot of pictures. I have taken pics of spiders, flowers, trees, kids, animals, while moving in a vehicle, in the house, outside when bright and at sunset. EVERY picture has turned out great! The auto scenes makes taking pics even easier, since I just set what I need and it adjusts for me. The pics are crisp and clear, they even upload wonderful onto Facebook. I highly recommend this camera to anyone who wants a great camera and a wonderful price. I am not a professional, just a Mom taking pics of her kids and everything else but I am so pleased with it, that I have recommended it to others. The only down side is the batteries, it goes through them quick, but you can either get Lithium or rechargeable to solve that problem. 09/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing camera! From what I have seen, all its features that it offers can help taking awesome pictures. You will not be disappointed in buying this camera. Even if other places (websites) criticizes the GE company, which is really from General Imaging from what I've heard, they have made a great progress and have offered a valuable item at a low price. This camera is like your point-and-shoot camera with steroids haha. But its a very well made camera it is close to a DSLR camera with an amazing zoom. I was able to take a picture of an airplane flying so high in pretty darn clear view. Well, I am very satisfied with my purchase. I am sure you'll find the camera incredible also. 08/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Met my needs and expectations. I purchased this camera because the one I was using had a short flash range. I needed to be able to take pictures inside from a distance of at least 20 to 30 feet away. I also needed to snap pictures continuously with no lag time between snaps. This camera has all those capabilities and more. I took it to the Hot Air Balloon Festival in Albuquerque and it performed beautifully! It's zoom capabilities are phenominal. I came home with picture perfect shots from as close as two feet to as far away as miles. It is very easy to use and the the options and settings are easy to see and to understand. This camera gives results you would expect from more expensive cameras. 10/11/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Looks like a Fujitsu Looks almost identical to a similar Fujitsu camera. Most likely, it's produced bye the same manufacturer. The GE camera is much cheaper. It's a bridge camera, but it works best as a point and shoot. Indoor pictures without a flash don't turn out so well, even with manual settings. It works well with a flash, but using a flash indoors often destroys the image. As an outdoor or vacation camera, it is great. It's certainly worth what they are asking for it, but serious photographers should consider an SLR or a Canon, at least. 07/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The GE X500 is a keeper. Well the jury is in---this is a great camera. After owning and fighting with this camera and printing out a return slip, the fault on the blurry pictures was all mine. There is a focus box in the view finder that must turn green and the camera will beep then the pictures will be great. If the focus box is any other color (red-orange) and the camera does not give the "ok" beep then the pics will be probably be blurry. What I found was when the auto focus was giving a "red" box and having trouble focusing I set the Expo Metering to "Center or Spot" metering and then the camera view box was green again and the pictures were all good to excellent. The factory default seems to be AiAE so if the box seems to be redish then check the setting and reset again. Also one needs to keep their fingers out of the way of the Auto Focus Assist lens that also helps. So---If the view box is not green and is red or orange then recompose until the box is green and then you will be taking great pictures. Battery life is great also if done right. My Canon A540 owners manual states--if using the LCD screen on the back of camera it will take around 90 photos--if one turns that off and uses the view finder the camera will take around 600 photos before needing to change the batteries, big difference. On the X500 I simply use the "EVF" button leaving the big LCD screen off as much as possible. I also like the Double A batteries, as when going on a 6 day float trip in the wilderness a battery and charger do not work well. Just get some rechargeable batteries if that is a problem. Although i still am going to update to (bigger--better-more expensive) camera sometime, this one is a keeper. Steve 05/04/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great camera, but does have some limitations. This camera is pretty good. As compared to a cheaper point and shoot it is great. It is very easy to use, but also comes with a manual mode for great artistic photos. Automatic mode is okay, not as precise and great as I would like, but what Auto mode is LOL. My only issues have come from these things. 1. Sometimes the focus doesn't work too well. It focuses rather well, but not always at your subject. But I have only faced this issue with very close shots. 2. This camera is very slow on the draw. It takes a good second to take a photo. If you want faster pictures, change it to the wide screen mode, which brings it down to about 12MP. 3. Reading the manual is MANDATORY for the life of this product. It may be a bit fragile (Not in build, but in working conditions). Don't use this thing in freezing temperatures, Or in +90% humidity. By the way, the camera bag I have listed is perfect for this, and is even padded as the manual suggests. 08/23/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by great product for the price this is a great camera for travelling,sharp pictures, great range 15X,high ISO and 16 MP,all for $128,it bet some SLR Digital camera that sell for hundreds dollars more,and have so many feature like high end camera have, I use it to walk around for Vacation, instead my heavy Nikon D700,or D7000, for easy carrying,and just take fun picture, and it surprise me how good the color and sharpness this camera produce,and not to mention it use AA battery, it is the best feature, I run out of my rechargeable battery twice and I can buy the battery any where and start shooting again,I put a 16 Gb card in it,and it took over 3 thousands picture,wow overall this is a great camera for the price, it is hard to bet. 10/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best camera for the price. Just a great camera. I was snaping shots in no time. I see some people have said they do not get good indoor pictures. I found with a few small adjustments, and you have many I was getting great indoor pictures. If you can't afford a SLR this is the next best thing! 09/10/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good...when it works I am constantly taking pictures so I bought this thinking it was an upgrade from mine. It takes wonderful pictures BUT they look fine on the screen and when you upload them on the computer there is a grey bar at the bottom and you can't use them. Some of my best pictures were "error" pictures and I lost over half of my vacation pics. No matter what setting "automatic" or otherwise I have this happen. I'm not sure if it's just a lemon in the bunch or what. I am looking into buying a new camera now because I realized the defect AFTER the return period. 09/13/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good.... but for me, not usable. I wanted to love this camera, and I did at first. However, after making sure that all the functions worked I found two things that I did not like. 1 I could live with, 1 I could not. The option I could live with was the crop option. When selected it seemed to crop the picture to a very small size and then allowed you to move the cropped image to where you liked it. You did not have control of the crop size, where my other camera allowed more control of this. The option I could not live with however was the continuous shoot mode. I use my cameras a lot for family portraits at home. The time shoot option was set in the same mode as the continuous shoot mode. In this mode the flash option is disabled. One thing you need in a indoor setting is the flash. I loved the fact that it took a picture every 30 seconds, this way I did not have to get up to reset the camera at all. However, with the flash button disabled in this mode, first off as stated already you can't use the flash, second, their is no warning flash to tell you when the picture is going to be taken. Not good. The pictures turned out great as long as you make sure to follow the instructions and only press the shutter button half way down to focus in on the picture and then press all the way. The camera has a lot of options and was very user friendly. However, for me their was simply those things that I needed that this camera did not offer. 08/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't let the brand fool you, BUY IT! FANTASTIC! It has features you would pay much more for. 08/27/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by blurry pictures the camera looks nice, but takes blurry pictures. The main reason i got it was for close up shots. The quality of the pictures was unacceptable to me so i ended up returning the camera. 10/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great camera Great camera , many features of higher price camera. Wish an instruction booklet was included, only a digital version , hard to take with, when you are on a trip taking pictures. Also digital version make it difficult to copy to hard copy. Even an office supply store could not make a hard copy. Other than this the camera itself is excellent. 08/08/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Seemed good This camera is built on an older fujifilm finepix s series body with an unknown lens system from an unknown maker which is the down fall of this camera. Yes it does take nice pictures but the colors are muted and the zoom function is slow and sluggish the drive gears are noisy and just sound like the one true weak point of this camera. Overall it has nice features mainly found on higher end DSLR cameras but the complete lack of hope that the zoom function will last longer then 3 months makes this camera a pass on and look for a better built camera a Fujifilm Finepix S3200 series camera can be had for under $200 at most stores. This camera was returned within a week after testing and not feeling secure that the zoom would hold up over time so it was best to return it before i had a $$ brick. 10/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great camera even for a beginner or intermediate. Great pictures of our trip to Ireland!!! It even took some videos. Very easy to use. 08/19/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Outstanding Camera/Video Recorder The reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is because I think it should have included a good carrying case. Other than that, it gives beautiful pics and videos, and the batteries last an extremely long time compared to the Samsung and the panasonic I've owned, including sharper, more vibrant pictures, and ease of operation. My wife now enjoys taking family photos, and she never has before this camera!!! 08/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good camera but a little confusing This is a great camera and does really clear color correct pictures. The only thing about it I would do differently is make it more intuitive in where the functions are located. Once I found where everything was located I have really enjoyed using the camera. You just have to spend some time figuring out where everything is. 08/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this camera! This camera is exactly what i was hoping for! great picture qualities. You just need to know when to use your flash / simply put it on automatic and it will decide that for u! Love love love this. great deal for the price if you ask me. 08/25/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 Horrible quality photos. Who can go wrong, right? At $130, for a bridge camera that has a SLR type lens, 16 megapixel and huge optical zoom, this is a steal, right? Wrong. I've had it a few months, and I'm about ready to throw it away. The quality on any settings is just absolute garbage. I'm getting photos that aren't even of good enough quality to put up on Facebook. I've tried it on autoscene, manual, aperture priority...it doesn't matter. The photos are just garbage. I have a little Nikon point and shoot I bought for $80 at the same time that's doing better than this. Blurred photos, noise generated on the images, and it's just impossible to get decent images. Either go up in price to a high end point and shoot, or, like I'm going to do, go ahead and get a Cannon Rebel T3 or a Nikon D3100. You can't get a real DSLR for $130, and that makes this camera worse than the point and shoots, in my opinion. 11/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Camera/LowCost that makes u feel like a pro! I was browsing for a camera that had more Megapixs, my current fuji camera had 12mpx, it took pretty good photos, but i wanted something that felt more professional, so I browsed, I came across this one while it was on sale for 119.00 which was great! but I had my doubts of buying it after reading reviews, the good and the bad, I at first started to not get it, but then I figured I would go ahead and get it while it was on sale, and Iove it! you just got to know how to use it! and it may take awhile, but once you get it down, you will be taking great photos! I have not had any issues with this camera, it makes me feel like I am a professional. One thing you may want to do is buy a class 10 professional sdcard if you want to take photos a little faster and much better photo quality, I had a reg sd card and it still did great with them, its just I wanted a lil more lol. It has alot of features as well!! Great buy for the price and makes you feel like you have a Point to shoot to DSLR camera......I love mine! 01/29/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 Junk Camera After reading the reviews, I was excited about this camera. It sounded like a great value. I took over 200 photos for work the first day and thought it was going to be a good camera until I loaded the photos. First off, the photos loaded very slow into my computer, about ten times longer than my other cameras I have owned. Then, the photos were not as clear as my old Canon camera. Comparing photos to the old Canon, I noticed all of the photos from the GE camera were a little out of focus and not clear, some were not even useable. I am taking this camera back to the store and buying another Canon. This purchase was a waste of my time. 06/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Step up from the typical point and shoot We bought this camera for our Disney World trip in Oct. 2011. It was pretty good, we didn't get much time to play with hit before we went, so some of the pictures probably would have come out better if we had some practice. The firework pictures didn't come out that great, you have to hold it steady and click it fast, not hold down the button, we didn't figure that out fast enough, and missed some good shots. The motion setting didn't work that great on rides, they still came out blurry, but the rides might have been too fast for it. Overall, its a good step up from a typical point and shoot, and has some more features you can play around with, and a decent zoom lense. 11/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GE X500 Black 16MP UltraZoom Digital Camera Bought this for my Granddaughter for Christmas but had to try it out....what a shock !!! The pix look like professionally taken photos....excellent quality and price....I have several digital cameras but this one is definitely the best...wish I had bought 2 !!!!! 10/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Camera This camera is really awesome, the zoom is excellent for long distance objects, the quality of the pictures is great. It could use an automatic activation of the flash (needs to be done manually). Tip: remember to use its own software to download pictures and videos into your PC, because if you use windows it download the HTM files a well (picture information). Overall is it great for the price. 09/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome camera for the money... tons of high end camera features....i've had it about 2 weeks no problems with it at all....love the sketch mode ;) 09/08/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what I expected I have a Kodak 10MP/10X zoom and wanted a larger zoom and I thought this will be a good buy for the price and the zoom, but was dissapointed I took quite few photos with this camera and the Kodak and compare them side to side on my PC, Kodak pictures were 90% better than the GE. GE photos were blurry, dull not sharp at all, I believe that the MP and the MM of the zoom are not what the camera has, that is why I return it a couple of days after purchase. 08/08/2011
1-30 of 145 total reviews
2 3 4 5 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw391
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp