Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 64 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great window unit! Cools down our kitchen and living room nicely. And with fans blowing the air around it even cools the hallway and 3 bedrooms. This unit is well worth the money 05/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great AC My central AC broke in my apartment so I purchased this for a temporary fix. I live near Palm Springs. CA (desert) where it gets up to 125 so AC is a must. This has kept my 2 bedroom apartment cool quite well and my energy bill has dropped. The first time I ran it it took awhile to cool because my apartment had become superheated. So if you purchase this, give it a day or so to really show you what it can do. After the initial cooldown it keeps the temperature down without struggling. I would definitely buy it again. 05/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptionally quiet I purchased this unit believing that if GE can build jet airplane engines they can certainly built a good air conditioner. I mounted this unit in the wall with very little difficulty. The fan noise is very low and the cooling efficiency seems to be very high. I wish it had the feature of providing the current temperature when the unit is turned off like the unit it replaced had. 05/28/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disapointed I read the reviews and thought this air conditioner would be a good buy. I had a LE 10000 BTU and loved it's easy control and programming. This AC cools but the control panel doesn't seem to work right. The room temp gauge changes sporadically so the energy saver mode does not work properly. The room temp will jump from 75 degrees to 71 degrees then back to 75 degrees. I'm still trying to figure out how to regulate the temperature to make the energy saver mode work. I wish I had gotten the LE 10000 BTU. It is not quiet like I read in another review. It is very noisy. 06/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cools Great Ordered to replace old ac in shop. Keeping 24 by 24 room nice and cool even on 100+ days. 06/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is an excellent quiet air conditioner. I had a Sharp that was noisy and needed a good replacement . I got a 6000 BTU GE for another room and knew I was going to have GE in the entire house. The features have been really upgraded. Its a pleasure when I need comfort in 90+ temperature. 06/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great a/c this a/c on low is working as well as my old one on high 06/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent AC unit I read the review prior to deciding on an ac unit, and I have to say I'm pretty pleased with this unit. It has no trouble cooling off my 1 bedroom duplex unit (approx 700sf), and I get better airflow/cooling when I am 'creative' with the fans. This is during the TX summer when temps get around 105 too, in a house that is mostly windows (not terribly energy efficient, albeit scenic!). Bottom line, the unit is fairly heavy, although I managed to install it into a 29" window without any help (very simple installation, although I personally would buy some additional 3/4" or better weatherstripping, some L-brackets, and more screws for a more secure install). I have only had it a day now, but it cooled off the house reasonably well on a 95 degree day, brought the temp down better than the existing (but not efficient) central unit--down to 75 degrees in one room, maybe 78 or 79 in the adjacent room, and approx 81 in the room after that. Noise-wise, I really cannot comment as it is the first window unit I've ever had or experienced, and yes it's a little loud, but that's entirely subjective and depends on where it is mounted in the house. I may re-write a review after I get my first electric bill though! :-) 07/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by VERY GOOD PRODUCT PURCHASED IN TIME FOR HEAT WAVE. HAVE NOT TURNED OFF FOR DAYS COOLS KITCHEN AND REC ROOM OVER 400SQ FT VERY QUIET ENERGY STAR RATED VERY HIGH AFTER RESEARCHING UNIT 07/10/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointed I've had this unit for one year and had to replace it recently. I've always taken great care of the unit and maintained it regularly. The control panel stopped working properly and the unit would unexpectantly shut down. The unit finally would not cool at all. The GE brand used produce quality products but I've had disappointing results with their products as evident in this window unit. I will not purchase another GE product again. 07/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does a great job cooling! I was slightly skeptical at first....even though the unit is 10,000 btus. Our livingroom and kitchen area are basically one large room. The ac unit does a more than adequate job of cooling our home and our electric bill has not changed much (though we use it very often)! Great value and I would definitely recommend! 07/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Along with a ceiling fan, this air conditioner cools 4 rooms. It's pretty quiet and very efficient. We have run this air conditioner at least 30 straight days from am to pm and our bill was 144.00 which we consider excellent. Only around a $4.00 difference from the month before. Definitely would recomment. 07/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by super cool Bought this to replace a unit with about half the BTUs that wasn't doing the trick. No big surprise - this one does. It is very responsive to its controls - and cycles on and off well, weather permitting. This unit has been running almost constantly since I bought it - it is cooling about 500 sq ft in 100-103 degree weather. 07/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent. We have never owned an AC unit so this was a first for our open architecture country home. With the weather continuing to be hot day after day I decided to get an AC unit to assist with cooling the house. This unit had good reviews, a great price and fit in a small side window of our picture window nicely. Currently it cools a large area of about 650 - 700 sq ft with the assistance of a fan to help return the air from about 35 feet away. This 10000 BTU easily cools this large area to a comforatble temperature and does not really have to continually run to maintain it. Very impressed for the price and size. 08/05/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Good but no replacement parts available The side curtains broke within the first week (because of my dog) and GE does not make replacement parts for such. Basically im stuck with a unit with no sides unless i spend another $250.00 on the same unit. 08/01/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Purchased this unit and after receiving it and unpacking to install the side accordian slides were torn,called Walmart they said to ship it back.So I called GE figuring they could send me the parts well GE doesn't stock their own parts(because they are made in China) and they also told me to return it to the store.So don't plan on customer service from GE I also emailed them and they have yet to return my email.Done deal.. 07/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great A/C This unit is cooling our living room and kitchen area great!! It has nice features and a remote control. I recommend this product. It's been 105 here and this is keeping up nicely. 07/24/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by the air conditioner was in working condition, but it was damaged.. might have been in shipping. on one side of the conditioner both corners were dented . was no small dent. i bought the air conditioner for my son in fla. did not have finances to ship back. as i said it is in working condition but sitting in window the appearance of conditioner does not look good. 07/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great AC For the money Got this one week ago and it cools my 400 sq. ft. room very well..If Walmart or GE Read these reviews i do wish you would make the side accordians longer by 4 inches.. I am very pleased. 07/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT AIR CONDITIONER I BOUGHT THIS AIR CONDITIONER LAST SUMMER AND IT IS WONDERFUL. IT COOLS OFF A LARGE LIVING ROOM, DINNING ROOM AND KITCHEN PERFECTLY. THE DELAY BUTTON IS A NICE ADDED BONUS, I SET IT BEFORE I GO TO WORK AND MY APARTMENT IS NICE WHEN I GET HOME. IT IS A GREAT VALUE AND I AM GOING TO BUY ANOTHER ONE BUT LESS BTU'S FOR A BEDROOM. 07/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by patio dining set I bought the same set in the bistro set. It is great. This set was sold out. As soon as it came back I bought it. It is perfect for me. Assembly is a snap and quick. It is heavy enough that the wind doesn't blow it around. Very comfortable even without cushions in place. For the money spent, it is a great set. 07/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cools great. Good buy for the money. I have different sizes in each bedroom to match the size of the room. We run these at night. My electric bill is greatly reduced by cooling only the bedrooms at night and leaving the whole house unit off almost all the time. One unit keeps the house cool enough with the ceiling fans during the day. My elec bill is $200 to 300 less each month during the summer and we sleep great at night because we like it cold to sleep. Each unit has paid for itself and then some. These work so much more efficient than a large whole house unit. Why? The coolant doesn't have to travel 20 to 50 feet losing its efficiency and most homes have the vent duct-work in the attic where its very hot, makes it worse. They don't make your house look pretty but pay for themselves easily in a summer. 10/21/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by AC case was damaged. The window sash seal, the foam top window gasket, and all of the screws and brackets were missing. I will call GE on Sep 10, 12 to get replacement parts. If that doesn't work, I will return it to WalMart. 09/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Effective, efficient and quiet I was very pleased with the GE air conditioner. My former one made a clunking noise every time the compressor shut off or turned on. This would wake me up. While not whisper quiet, this air conditioner has a smooth transition when the compressor starts. It cools the room much more quickly than my former 10,000 BTU unit. The 97 cent home delivery made the icing on the cake. 08/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great a/c ! This unit is quiet and cools the entire large studio apartment my daughter just moved in to.... what more could I ask for? The price was right, it was delivered quickly and was easy to install. I recommend this a/c unit. 08/26/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by the only problem I have is finding a filter. I have gone to stores, looked on the internet. the filter slides through a slot (that I like) So I just can't cut one and stick it in. Be sides that I like. 08/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This a c is just awesome. This a c is just awesome. I live in a small house and the whole house is cool in a matter of about 30 minutes. Its quiet and really does a great job. 08/24/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's ok, Ive had better though. It cools nicely, but.... the "energy saver" setting is annoying and I guess it is "energy saving" if it shuts the unit down even when the room is warm, duh... It does retain the water inside the unit even when tilted on the correct angle and uses the fan inside to splash water against the compressor to help cool the compressor, so if you buy one, don't think something is wrong. My brother is a licensed HVAC mechanic over 20+ years. It's just an ok unit, easy to install I must say, but nothing fantastic either, we will see what it does for my electric bill when it gets here as I shut down my 2.5 ton central unit and use this instead as that was eating me alive !! to the tune of about 300.00 per month. We will see...... 08/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by High-Quality Air Conditioner We really love our air conditioner. I specifically got it site-to-store so we could inspect it and make sure there wasn't any shipping damage when we got it. No problems there. Installation was very simple. It's not super quiet, but it's in a large room so it's only an issue if you're sitting right under it. This unit also looks quite nice in the room. It's a very nice white and a simple design. The remote is nice to have, but I don't really use it. 08/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by What I wanted and expected. This a/c works very well and as expected. 08/18/2012
1-30 of 55 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew460
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp