Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 30 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Amazing Expirience at an Amazing Price Gears of war is one of the best games on the Xbox 360. The cover system allows you, as one of the game's key aspects, to take cover behind virtually any surface. There are certain abilities that come with the cover, such as jumping over short walls, and jumping out of cover into the fight, but I won't get into that. The game is fun for every skill level(not young children!! this game is violent, profane, and just plain too mature for any young child, please use discretion if this is for your child! If not at least 13, absolutely not!), from "Casual"(Easy) mode, to "Insane"(VERY hard). There is also play over Xbox LIVE, where players are on 2 teams: COG(Humans) and Locust(Aliens/Enemies), and they must eliminate all members of the opposing team. There is also a Co-Operative mode, where players may play the single-player story as usual, but a second player takes the role of "Dom", the main character's partner. There has been a squeal to this game, Gears of War 2. This game, while very similar to the first, has many improvements on the Gears formula. Essentially Gears 1.5, it adds many features and systems, and a longer story mode, that help make it an even better game. If you want an extremely active online community, though Gears 1's is no slouch, go for Gears 2. Try to play Gears 1 first, if only for the story, because it will make a LOT more sense if you play 1 before 2 (imagine that). If you can, get both. They are both great games deserving of a slot on every gamer's shelf. 02/13/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased Grandson had been wanting this game for some time but was very expensive in the stores ($60 or more) Found this one here online and the price was fantastic. He was thrilled---plays it constantly. Thanks Wal-Mart for another great value. 03/06/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by gears of war i bought this platinum edition for the value.this game is for fans of action shooters with online multiplayer capabilities as well. you will not be dissappointed with this game. 09/04/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by GEARS OF WAR IS AWESOME!!!!! This game is a must have if you don"t owned this game. Also If you love stroyline alot you should get this game to follow to the second gears of war. This game is Great and i have played it so many times a day. Also you can play in a 2 player local split screen campiagn to play with your brother or your friend. 11/19/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Game! This is a really, really fun game! It doesn't feel like just another generic shooter game. I've been playing the campaign on co-op and it is awesome! I can wait to play Gears 2 01/09/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Oh Man! ok i didnt get it when it first came out, but after playing this game for only 5 hours, i HAVE TO GET THE SECOND ONE! This game is awesome! way better then i thought it was going to be! and its one of the first games that has actually given me cold chills during story mode...The best part about this game, is that if you're playing two person mode, if one of you die, or "go down", the other can revive you. All he has to do is fight his way to where you died at! and press a button and you're back in the game! But if you're a lil "slow in the head" and run full speed into a fight, and you get surrounded(like i did quite a few times) your team mate will have to revive you quite a few times, and it will start to anger him! lol. but yes this is a great game! BUY THIS GAME! 12/12/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 Awsome start toa trilogy When I first started playing Gears of War I started with the second one playing at my sisters house cause I had never heard of it before, after I started playing I got into it and then I played the first one and loved it as well. I think that if you are a true hard core Gears of War fan you will love this game. 02/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing action game If you love action games Gears of War is a must play. 07/07/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Game I got my X-Box 360 Elite last year as a gift and Gears of War was my first game. I heard so much about this game and I was so anxious to play it. This game Exceeded my expectation. The graphics are amazing and the gameplay is awesome with a Good story line. Can't wait for Gears of War 2. This game is a Must Have for anyone who owns an X-Box 360. 10/26/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 a fun and helpful product this game is very fun and i highly reccomend it to every one who have an xbox 360. 07/22/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best game I've played thank you walmart 09/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Adog rock xbox live be friend this game hade great grapics and has good guns and real good bombs... 08/19/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by War To Learn I found this game very difficult to play at first, but of course, it is a War game and that's why it starts out at a very fast paced gameplay. I did enjoy the game after hours when I learned how to played it. If this is your first War Game ever, do not get this title. If you want a realistic War Game, do not get this game. If you want a game that you blow someones head off every five seconds then is not the game you want, because you get blown up faster than you can click the trigger button. Never Played it online. 06/22/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Multiplayer is fun but it's not my type of game. 12/04/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by Kinda dull Wasn't impressed with this game it really isnt all that good. It has some glitches like when you have to push this car sometimes it locks up and wont move and all you can do is restart the checkpoint I read online and others had this problem as well. The game is kinda short and the fight with the final boss is so stupid however it was interesting enough to keep me playing until the end which only took two days. If I could do it all over I would not buy this game. 02/17/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by great extras Bought new copy for son as he loves the game but he loved the bonuses! 02/22/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great game I bought this for my husband. He loves it . Says it's a great game. A lot of action. It's definitely worth the price too. I'd have bought it if it was the normal Xbox 360 price. 12/25/2013
1-18 of 18 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew371
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp