Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 101 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by NEVER BUY A REFURBISHED GPS!!! This so-called "refurbished" top-of-the-line Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT GPS had software issues that, apparently, were the reason it was returned by the original buyer. These issues were never fixed! For several days, the unit would say/show "turn left/right" when the correct direction was the opposite direction. It showed random routes that were nowhere near the input address. After a few days, the display "froze" and locked onto one specific screen that would not change. I later discovered that this unit had had ongoing issues that Garmin never resolved and dropped this model from their 2012 inventory. I returned the unit and replaced it with Garmin's Nuvi 3490LMT paying full price--and exceptional GPS unit. Buyer beware of "refurbished" products! :-) 12/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Andrew The Garmin Nuvi is an excellent product. My previous GPS was not a Garmin and now that I own this Garmin I will never own another brand again. Also, the value for the refurbished price was an excellent value. I highly recommend this product. The Voice Commands really do work!!! 12/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The refurbished 3790LMT is a fantastic deal. I purchased a refurbished 3790LMT from Walmart to replace my old Garmin 855 and I love it. The price/performance ratio is fantastic. If it didn't come in a box marked "Refurbished" I would have thought it was brand new. I haven't had any problems with it except for some difficulty installing software (not firmware) updates. This problem is not peculiar to this model and is fairly common in Garmin automotive GPS units. The updates did finally install but it can be frustrating if it's your first experience with Garmin software updates. I should mention that the software updates are optional and not critical to the operation of the GPS. Other than that the 3790LMT is great. The biggest difference between the 3790LMT and the newer 3490LMT is the guidance system. The 3790LMT uses Guidance 2.0 while the 3490LMT uses Guidance 3.0. The routing is the same in these two systems but Guidance 3.0 provides some additional features that I neither need nor want. You can check it out for yourself on the Garmin web site. 04/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Verry good GPS The gps seems to work flawlessly, Easy to program in a Ad by voice commands. Lots quicker than our old one. Garmin is a Great Company They have excelent customer service. Always quick response from them. 12/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice GPS I bought refurbished- but looks like new to me. Work great with no issues! 07/29/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Item was defective The device was defective no volume when mounted in the holder and very low volume when hand held I had to return it for a full refund. 07/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the best GPS you can buy if you ask me. Lifetime maps and traffic updates are a real plus also. You can't go wrong with your purchase of the Garmin 3790LTM. 07/29/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Doesn't meet expectations Is it good value for the money? Yes. That said there are significant areas to be aware of. 1. Since it says City Search that means you won't get topographical maps unless you kick in an extra $100. 2. Searching is unnecessarily cumbersome. If you enter a zip it will only look in the state you're in. You need to first change states(if you know it), enter zip, the full address etc. Frustrating if you just need the general area and/or don't have the extra detail. 3. Weird routes. An extra 100 miles when going to a little Mexican town Algodones. It take you all the way to Mexicali then wonders South into Mexico before heading back. Neither Algodones nor another name Vincente Guerreo show up even when the state: Baja California is placed in. put in 287 Alamo and it magically appears. Saving an extra 90 min. The first correction made change from "less fuel" to shortest route. The logic defied me but that was the suggestion. I have no clue why the map didn't recognize Ca. St Route 186 4. Garmin support is unmatched and they will walk you through anything. I've noticed that a recent mantra is due to customer demand...well in the case of topographic maps that means it's less expensive. So they see no problem adding $100 to an already expensive model. Re: zip code could never get a decent answer. Supposedly it cuts the search time. How long does it take for a computer to search the zips? Really. BTW it took less than a minute on google maps to enter each route and compare distances. Algodones popped up by "l" amazing. 5. They promote the eco feature It doesn't work even gentle acceleration and braking doesn't register green. Acceleration is how close you keep to their posted speed limit...nothing extra for coasting....just a gimmick, but interesting in a way. 6. Other mapping annoyances not recognizing the HOV turn lane from the one used by normal traffic. 07/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Loved this one!! Just like new!! 11/21/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great GPS, just few missing options I bought a Garmin Nuvi 1490 LMT couple of months ago. It was great GPS for its price. But one day while driving on GSP (NJ), I wanted to add a PizzaHut to current route. At those speeds and mad traffic, I had to pull over and do it. The 1490LMT is heavy and suction holder would fall off after every couple of hours. Let me add that I did not use the mount plate for mounting holder, just stuck it on dash. But even when I mounted it on windsheild it would still fall off. I would say that GPS needed bigger holder. 3790 does not fall off like that , probably due to its lesser weight. I decided that I wanted a GPS with Voice commands and something faster and lighter. Read the reviews about 3790LMT, and ordered one. Shipping was quick (got it in 3 business days). Picked it up and could not see anything being refurbished. It is just a new piece. Took it home and updated maps and software and started using it. It was great with its sleek profile and lightweight body and crisp display and mutlitouch features. It also has 3D terrain view. Haven't checked CityXplorer yet. When I tried bluetooth calling from GPS, other parties could not hear me. Then I realized the screen protector was pasted over the mic hole. Once I re-positioned the screen protector, bluetooth calling was perfect. For all I know, that might be the single reason for earlier owner to return this GPS. Pros: Couple of areas of improvement over 1490 are, voice and commands and split screen usage of Juntion view which stays much longer. In 1490 Junction view appears only for few seconds. Cons: 1. Gets hot, but I knew that before purchasing. 2. On NJ (Route 1,9,18) jug handles, even when going striaght, it takes me through the jug handle (if there is no waiting) to skip the signal. This sometime just annoys me. 3. Voice commands are very limited. Like discussed on gpscity forums, it does not give an option to add a poi "Along the route". You have get back to touch mode. It was the very feature I bought this GPS for. Overall this is a good GPS with its own shortcomings. For refurbished price it excellent value. 07/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good bang for the buck I really like the 3790, however it has locked on me once when I was trying to find an address in an unfamiliar city. I hope this doesn't happen, or it's going back. 08/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The 3790LMT is an amazing feature pack GPS unit packaged in an incredibly thin case. It fits nicely inside a shirt pocket. It is really designed to also be used when on foot, particularly with its dual mode display (landscape and portrait). It does everything that my larger nuvi 2460 and more. This refurbished unit was also a great value at less than 1/2 its original list price. The unit itself appears brand new and comes complete with all accessories. 07/18/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good For Cost Upgraded from my old Nuvi 350. For the refurbished price a great value. If I had paid full price I probably would not be overly thrilled. Lane assist is a great thing. Voice recognition hit and miss but helpful. I'm happy with my choice and not going with the newer version 09/02/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Happy so far I really like the voice command, it does not always pick up the commands but it is easy to restart and speak the command again. I have not had an opportunity to review & use all of the functions but to date it has been great. 08/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT great features My Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT is a great refurbished buy. I have only had it a few weeks and like its features while driving...things like the intersection or exit shows on screen what it should look like with what lane you should be in, red light camera and speed camera zones warning comes up, wish these things came with a preferred route feature vice showing you a way to go but you know that time of day will not work easily. Otherwise, this has worked well. it does warn not to keep it in car in high heat so i try to take it out. The AZ heat of 118 can be brutal and the software did lock up on me, I think, due to overheating once. Let it set a few minutes with the AC on and it came back with the route I was trying to get too still loaded. Nice! 08/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Cool GPS When it arrived it had a very small scratch on the screen, not even noticeable when it's powered on. Other than that everything else looked like new. The Refurbished Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT is very high tec. I've had it a couple months and it works great. I updated from a Tom Tom 340s to the Gramin Nuvi 3790 LMT because I was having issues updating the unit. I'm so glad I picked the Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT. With voice command, a memory card slot, lifetime updates and a much brighter screen in the day time, what's not to like? The only trouble I've had was getting the right size screen protector. I found that a 5 inch screen protector for the Garmin Nuvi 1450 works pretty well. It fits perfect side to side and is just short enough length wise that it dosen't cover the mic up. 08/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use, update, Looks like new. After a bit of research I decided on this model. Walmart had the best price. This is my first GPS unit and I'm very happy with my purchase. I was weary of buying a refurb, but it looks and operates flawlessly. Mounted my unit on the dash with the included disc. Gets me from A - B without the normal stress I endured using my Mapquest printouts. Trying to drive in traffic and understand the printout put me and drivers around at risk. Now it's like having my personal co-pilot mounted to my dash. 07/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by It is smarter than I am This is my first GPS receiver that had either speech recognition or traffic. I don't know what I expected from the speech recognition, but while it does everything it is supposed to do after some reading, it doesn't do what I THINK I wanted and expected, being able to speak favorites and have it recognize them. But after thinking, I can see where my ideas are somewhat impractical; I do not downgrade it for this. Traffic ... unusual ... coming home from Atlanta last week, it changed my route on its own to avoid a wreck ... which I ignored and the wreck was cleared. I may disable this; it is easy to do. I find that it runs HOT plugged into 12V; haven't played with it on batteries enough to have a feel. It may be the backlight that either heats it or loads the power supply. Having owned multiple Garmin units before, this is what is below expectations. 08/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Superb! I was concerned that this item was a refurb unit. I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the package...the GPS was in perfect shape. As in... Brand new. The Garmin has surpassed my expectations in every department possible...and what makes it better is that the price is literally unbeatable. I give this product 10/10. 07/19/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Defective The second time I tried to use it it just shut down. Would not work in the car with adaptor or hooked up to computer. Did map update when i first got it but now the computer won't recognize it. Say USB device defective. 11/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by paid for itself first day this was a gift for my fiancee' Kathy .. i had it wrapped ready to give to her .. on my way to her house in NJ there was an accident and traffic was redirected and i had no clue where i was or how to get back to rt 80 .. you guessed it .. i unwrapped the 3490 and within minutes it got me back on traqck with some very easy to follow intricate directions 11/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous value for money I bought 2 of these units, one for a friend and we are very happy with it. It looks really sleek, the retail price of this type (the latest is 3490) is about $350 so for $159, it cannot be beat. The refurb unit looks brand new and works great. The features that set it apart from most others are - powered mount (making it easy to remove the unit for storage), longer battery life, touch sensitive glass screen (needs very gentle touch to type), 3d view of downtown areas, realistic photo views of exits with warning bell upon key exits, ability to switch orientation from portrait to landscape and best of all, a really slim body. Best way to mount it is using an adhesion mat (like the Bracketron mat) on the dashboard and then attach the suction cup to the surface of this mat - with no adhesion disc used. That way, you can remove the mount or mat and transfer to another vehicle without any damage or glue residue. Do admit that recalculation is a tiny bit slower at times, but given all the other features, you barely notice it. 09/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice gps, great value Nice gps, looks brand new.Operates like new. Refurbished is the way to go. Half the price of a new one. Comes with all the accessories that a new one has. 09/10/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great display, voice command works well I had previously purchased a 3780LMT at full price, and ended up returning itr because the software was flakey, and the touch-screen was balky. This refurbished 3790LMT is a great deal! They've apparently worked out the software bugs, and the addition of the voice command is great. Sometimes the touch screen requires more than one try, but usually only on the initial screen. I also have a 765T, and this is a real improvement. I especially like that it slips right into my shirt pocket. I think it would be better with the non-slip surface of my 765, but you can't have everything. This does have all the bells and whistles, and at half price! I've had to re-learn how to use it, but that's just a temporary adjustment on my part. 09/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best buy for the money For $160 and at more than 60% less then a brand new unit, this could not be better. The unit is in perfect condition. This is an upgrade to the 755T I have. Feature packed and works perfectly. The lifetime maps feature is (normally $85 alone) make buying this unit a no brainer. 09/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great GPS for the money. I have been using this for the past 2 months and it is great. The traffic works very well and the Bluetooth is better than the Motorola one I was using. For less than $10 you can get a 1 year breakage warranty, how can you go wrong. 09/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Satisfied The product arrived on time and in good condition. Unpacked and set-up in minutes. Have used the GPS on a few recent trips and I am very satisfied with it. Small, thin and easy to carry yet big enough to see the screen while driving. Like all the new Garmin features, my old Garmin is about 8 years old and it still works great, just wanted to gt a larger screen and newer software and features. Would recommend this GPS to anyone who needs a GPS and likes full featured gadgets. It's way too much if you are just looking for a basic point "A" to "B" GPS. 09/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hands off GPS unit I purchased this refurbished GPS unit from Walmart about 4 weeks ago. I have been using it around town and on business trips. It is very light and has a great screen. I have owned two other Garmin units and a Tom Tom and this unit beats them all. It worked perfectly right out of the box. I am enjoying the "Voice Command" functionality especially when in traffic. It finds satellites fairly quickly and replans very quickly. I just wish it were a little less expensive. It's size is perfect for walking, slightly thicker than my iPod and around the same size otherwise. I highly recommend it. 09/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great price. Very user friendly. This is the 4th Garmin for our family. PROS: This unit is the best one yet. I love the fact it has lifetime maps (limited to 4 updates per year) and lifetime traffic. The thin/portable size is convenient. The feature where it learns your driving habits is pretty cool. This morning, it told me how long it was until I arrived at work and that their was no traffic. I checked to see if I had set the route, I hadn't. It had learned my driving habit and had already determine my most likely destination. CONS: The only downside to this is that the battery doesn't last as long as I had hoped for. I used it remotely for a short period of time, and the low battery warning showed up within 2 minutes. I would definitely by another one. 08/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent GPS. Lots of features. This GPS is loaded with features. I use it on the motorcycle. Easiest GPS to see in the bright light that I have ever owned. Very slim design. I really like it! 08/10/2012
1-30 of 81 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew364
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp