Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 112 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for the money At 34.98 I did not expect much. Since I hardly ever go anywhere that I need a GPS it has not been something I considered a priority unless I could find one dirt cheap. Definitely not a high end unit but it does seem to lock onto the satellite pretty quick. I am still getting use to how to use it and since I'm not electronics literate I figured one made for dummies was appropriate. I have only set a couple destination routes thus far. Seems to get hung up sometimes when running through the menu. This very well is due to my error and lack of knowledge. The only way I have been able to reset it is shut it down and start over. Once I finally get it on my route it works great. The speed limit warning is not accurate with posted speed limits and is just a nuisance. Just leave it off. All in all it's worth the $35.00 bucks I paid for it. 06/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 This works SWEET! I wasn't expecting ANYTHING special from this for a mere 35.00! Boy was I pleasently suprised! It's sooooo easy to use and the size is perfect. Has compass, speed. speed alerts, 2d, 3d maps, walking mode, and so much more. Really.....why pay more? 06/12/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A great navigation for a beginner, easy to read and understand. 06/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not as advertised My problem was reading the technical information and believing it. It stated that it would be easy to update, and that I could also get international maps, all which were false. I had a vacation planned to Canada, was hoping to try out the GPS but unfortuantely I was not able to update or purchase any maps, support for the product conssisted of a dead link and no tech support. 06/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It does more than I thought it would. For 35$ this is a great little GPS. The screen is smaller than most GPS, but it is clear and bright and works just fine. One of my concerns was if it had turn by turn text, and it does..which I love so you can read and check where it wants to send you. Just go to manage route It also has an 'avoid' button if you do not want to go on a certain road/street. I think it does everything I need it to do. The maps are from 2009, so I know it may not always have the newest roads, but for the basic needs I have it will work just fine. I bought my sister one also and she has enjoyed it. It did have a glich it told us to turn left on EAST when it should of said left on WEST once, but we figured it out and went on our way just fine. We also have to laugh how it pronounces some names, for example Des Moines, Iowa is pronounced with the S's which is not the correct way to say them, but does not effect the directions..just made us laugh. It is a great basic GPS, and comes with the cords, and the brackets to mount it to your window, or dash. Also you can not pick your voice, I know the Tom Tom we had we could go online and pick all kinds of fun voices..this just comes with one..so, it is does not have many bells and whistles, but it will get you where you are going. 06/18/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Product is discontinued I bought this as a present for my husband for Father's Day. We took and it out of the box and it didn't work. I called the GPS company and they stated that this product has been discontinued and that we would have to return it to Walmart for a refund. This was a complete waste of my time and it would have been nice to know that this was discontinued before I even ordered it because I would have ordered something else instead. 06/21/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't buy!!! Map is too old. I like the way the GPS works and sounds. Everything was great until I checked the date of the map. I purchased in July 2012 and the map installed is 2009. I called the toll free number and left a message--NO RESPONSE. I made contact online-- NO RESPONSE! Don't waste your time. Buy a GPS with free lifetime maps. The new GPS for Dummies is a good price but useless with old maps. 07/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by For the money-GREAT Deal! With shipping to my house I paid about $37 which is amazing considering that it works just as well as my $ 400, Magellan of 6 years ago. There are limitations, it has a small screen which gets tough to see at an angle, and the menu is a bit awkward to work with. The trick is not to take this out, plug it in and go for a cross country ride, because you'll be disappointed. Instead, go to the car, plug it in, let it charge the battery, and then plod through the menu and set your features up. The non-changeable Lithium Battery is so-so, don't bet your life on it. but plugged in it works great. While it is very potable, it's so cheap I've gotten another one for a second car. How anybody made money on this is beyond me, twice the price would still be a deal. 06/28/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works great. screen is a bit small but a great value. 06/15/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by cheaply made I see now why this GPS is so much cheaper than anything else on the market. part that plugs into car power point was broken off, ( plastic ) returned it the same day. This was the second item I had purchased from walmart.com, in a week, and had to return both. 07/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GPS Navigation for Dummies I have had the 1st version of this model and a Garmin in between, this is far better than both as it anounces the street names as the last two I had did not. For this price it is amazing. Worth Every dollar. Had it ship site to store and had it in two days!!! Good BUy! 07/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This item was purchased for my granddaughter as a graduation present. She loves it. 06/28/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible This "gps" was HORRIBLE. I got the thing online, and it didn't even work. It wasn't user friendly. I couldn't even put in an address. I tried to contact their customer service department via phone and email. Nothing. I never got a response from the customer service email/department. I'll never buy a product from this company again. I took that junk back to Walmart and got my money back. 06/12/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth the trouble. I bought two of these. They do not work. I put in several locations and the navigation took me the exact opposite of where I wanted to go. The program was old and did not show places that had been in my location for over a year. Will be returning them this week. 06/24/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 DO NOT BUY FROM MAYLONG PRODUCTS! When I received this product, the screen would turn on but nothing would happen. I am currently in a war with their customer service because they refuse to acknowledge the products warranty. The woman actually had the audacity to tell me that the warranty was only valid from the time the product was made, not from when it was purchased. She told me that Walmart had no business selling such an old product (even though Amazon carries this exact same model as well) and that Maylong will not honor any warranty on a product more than a few years old. I am being forced to use my product replacement plan through Walmart to get a refund because Maylong will not take any responsibility for the faultiness of its products. Every time I have called back I have been either hung up on or sent to voicemail. Please be aware that if you buy from Maylong products they will be as honest as a politician in doing everything they can to keep from fulfilling their legal agreements. 09/10/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Useless This was purchased for my birthday and we were so excited to use it on an upcoming road trip. Well the chargers that came with it didn't charge it, after having it plugged in for a week it wouldn't even turn on when it came time to use it! I had to use my camera charger in the van to get it to turn on. Then we had so much trouble inputting addresses because the thing interrupted you as you put in the address and began searching before you could finish. Of course it always came back with address not found because it wouldn't let you finish! Next it wouldn't stay on the dash and tipped out of any type of holder you used because it was top heavy. It was a total mess. 4 adults and we could not use it for our road trip and had to resort back to using our phone gps. It says it's for dummies, maybe we weren't dumb enough, I don't know, or maybe too dumb, but a GPS should not be this user unfriendly. It was a great gift idea but unfortunately the wrong GPS to buy. 07/24/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dont waste your money on this product. What a cheap product. I returned it the same day I bought it. The item did not recognize roads even in my hometown. It took over 2 hours to find the sattelite. Invest a few more dollars and get a different unit that actually works. 07/24/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by You'll get there.......eventually For the price you can't beat it. It works similar to other GPS units I have owned or used. I used it in the Dallas/Forth area. There is a lot of construction going on. I think this unit chose the longest possible route to each destination. Several times I had to reprogram the unit before I reached my destination. Several times I ignored the prompts from the unit when signs were pointing me in a different direction. The unit would recalculate and then guide me the rest of the way. 07/18/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by you get what you pay for.... $30 For $30 you get -a poor user interface (Always put in State, Street, THEN street number) -a bit slower response time than a "good" GPS. -And if you even breathe on the top, you will accidentally turn it off. -And it will not stick to a dash, only glass -No obvious way to update the map But....... it was just $30. 07/04/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not as easy to use as indicated...my 2006 garmin is easier to use, but I'm pretty sure just about anyone could figure it out...and for $35 it is a steal of a deal and it gets you where you need to go. 07/03/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Maps 3yrs old Beware that the maps are from 2009 and when you call tech support they say they don't know when new maps will be available and they will cost $35. Doesn't matter when you bought unit. "that's why we sell them so cheap !" 09/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by GREAT For The PRICE! works good! slow on recalculating but for the Price I can live with it! & It tells your speed is over the limit! which is a nice option but sometimes it says it on the Freeway where its 55mph but it catches on that your on the Freeway soon. GOOD Deal For the Money! 09/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Super Value From Walmart I wanted a GPS to find places. I always seem to get lost on my own or from AAA directions. It was on sale for $34.95. You can't beat that. I was surprised how easy it was to learn to use. In a short time it was operating and sending me on my way to my destination. It talked to me move by move making it very easy. It even showed me a short cut I didn't know about. I am very happy with this product. It came with all the accessories I needed for mounting and operating. I found a couple things annoying, but nothing to complain about. I also recommend buying the extended warranty against droppage & breakage etc for only $4.00 more. Once again, I'm a happy Walmart customer! 08/07/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by great price it's a great price but couldn't it to work,had to return to store... 07/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by product quality and good but I do not know whether you can install maps of Europe on this model. if it that way and how 06/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I gave this as a gift to someone and they are really enjoying it they have found it very easy to use and they just love it. 06/22/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I bought this as my first trial because it said GPS for dummies, as I am not familiar with this peice of equipment. I was so excited to use a GPS on my 4-day vaccation and camping with my family and to my dissappointment, it would not even turn on after trying all the obvious causes the instruction manual said and had to depend on the map. I had to take it back to the store where they just returned my money. It was just a waste of time. 07/07/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great GPS for what we needed Once I got the hang of how to use it, it worked great. Luckily my husband used to be a trucker driver and knew a shorter route that cut off 100 miles of travel when the GPS was gonna take us way out of the way. It being a new GPS I would have thought it would have more up to date maps. It got us there and back and the price was great. 09/12/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great gps for the money I would sugest that you do a turn by turn review before leaving on a trip, as it will take you down roads that you would not like to take. 08/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GPS is the best for those who don't like reading I brought this as a gift and my friend loves it! The shipping was extra fast and she received it on her birthday, right in the nick of time. The product and its warranty made an excellent gift. 08/08/2012
1-30 of 93 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw115
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp