See All Reviews
GE 6-Quart Digital Slow Cooker
GE 6-Quart Digital Slow Cooker
$39.92
Was: $45.88
Rollback
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 164 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love it I have had this slow cooker for a few months now, and I absolutely love it. Its light and easy to move around, the locking lid is great and the retractable cord is even a better idea. The lid when your cooking seems to seal itself, and becomes very tight fitting. It has several preset programs you can use, and of course you can program it yourself for the way you want it. The easy clean up makes it the all around slow cooker. The price is extremely reasonable for all that you get. 10/26/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Slow Cooker I've Ever Owned I currently own THREE slow cookers. The first was an inexpensive Rival that cooked MUCH to quickly at too high a heat. The second was a very expensive Hamilton Beach programmable (with probe) that I got for Christmas. It works fine about 70% of the time -- the other 30% of the time I come home from work to find that it has just stopped working in the middle of cooking. This GE slow cooker is the BEST for the following reasons: 1) the nonstick insert cleans up great and is MUCH lighter than the traditional stoneware crock; 2) it cooks everything exactly the way it should -- the heat settings are perfect (remember, a slow cooker should never even rise to a simmer) and everything that I have cooked in it has come out perfectly. I have cooked whole 7-lb chickens, chicken parts, pork shoulder, etc etc both on low or high and they have all come out fabulously. This GE 6 Quart Slow Cooker is the only one I use -- and I use it at least once a week, so if you are looking for a reliable, feature-filled, easy-to-use slow cooker, I strongly recommend it! 10/25/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by love it! I have had this slow cooker for about 2 months now, and have used it about once or twice a week. I cannot think of a bad thing to say about it. I cant really comment about it taking too long to cook something, because I have never used it for less than 8 hours, but EVERYTHING i've cooked, from pulled pork or guinness roast beef to casseroles have come out perfect. I was registered for a Crock-Pot for my wedding next spring, and was trying to hold out until then to get one, but with my busy schedule, I was getting tired of just throwing quick (unhealthy) dinners together every night. The features on this slow cooker come at a tremendous value. It's easy to set and use (as long as you take a few minutes to read the directions). It was hard to find all the features that this offers at a reasonable price. It also looks really good, its a nice large size, and the snaps on the lid make it ready for travel. It was so sturdy in my car, I didnt have to worry about it tipping over when I turned. If you follow the directions and use it with just water the 1st time, the plastic smell goes away. I gave it four stars for durability because I have only had it for 2 months, but it seems really well made, and sturdy. 10/24/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love It and worth it!! :) Bought this a few weeks back and used twice so far. Once for a pot roast dinner and second for a chicken potato dinner. Both times my food came out DELICIOUS and perfect! Its done exactly when the recipe said it would be done. Has great features like "preset" and retractable cord and so easy to clean! I have only had one small Rival brand crock pot and made potato soup and I had to scrub eat clean. This GE crock pot is so easy to wipe and clean! This crock pot is my new best friend! :) I plan to use this for a pot roast dinner on Thanksgiving in addition to our turkey dinner in the oven! 11/23/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by CERAMIC STONEWARE IS BEST I didn't even notice before ordering this crock pot that the insert was NOT ceramic. All the features and the nice looking exterior was exactly what I wanted so I was very excited to get it and put it to use. I should've noticed something was "different" about it when I carried the box to my car because it was so light. Seriously, ANYTHING "non-stick" eventually scratches and comes off where the ceramic insert will last forever. So I am returning it for one with similiar features that has a ceramic insert. They're heavy but well worth dealing with the weight to wash it, to have something that will last a very long time. Plus I see other reviews where people were having problems with the insert scratching and chipping off. Hope this helps others when deciding on a new crock pot! :-) 03/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A time saving product This product saved me alot of time Thanksgiving. I put my Lamb in it and it came out juicy and tender. I was able to leave in it in the crockpot after cooking it and the warming feature kept it nice and warm. This is a wonderful product and it is whole lot bigger than it looks. 12/03/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Some Good Features, But Overall Not for me I had a more traditional crockpot with a ceramic insert. That one had a timer, too, which also switched to warm when the cooking time ended, which was great. I work long days, so I would "undercook" the recipe and let it continue to cook while on warm for several hours. Stupidly, I put that ceramic insert in the sink when hot, and it cracked with the cold water, so I had to get another one. I picked this one out because I liked a lot of the features on this one (stainless steel outside, timer, extendable/retractable cord/lid that can be clicked in place for traveling). But when I got it, I realized that there are some downsides to shopping on line. First, the panel that had the timer thing on it was flimsy and just stuck on. Second, the insert was not ceramic. It was a non-stick aluminum. (I should have noticed that before I ordered it on-line, but I didn't.) Though lighter to lift out and stick-proof, you can't use metal utensils, and I'm not sure it works the same as the other timing wise, as I expect ceramic heats up differently/slower than aluminum. But the worst part was that the timer, which kicks over to warm once done (same as my old one, a feature I loved), inexplicably automatically TURNS OFF after 4 hours. I made turkey chili in it, but was so bummed when I got home to learn that it was cold because more than 4 hours had passed since it switched onto warm. Not a big deal to turn on high and heat up (the meal was delicious), but the 4 hours only thing just defeats the whole purpose of the crock pot in my opinion. So I returned it and bought another one (more like my old one), which I love. Hope this helps you. 01/24/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Initially Impressed For the first 2 weeks of use I really liked the features and performance of this slow cooker, it was a big improvement over the 12 year-old cooker it replaced. However, after it's latest clean-up I noticed that the teflon was chipping off the inner surface. I've cooked 3 meals in this unit, used only wooden and plastic utenstils and always hand-washed it after use. I will be returning the unit to the store. I may give a second unit a try or buy the pricier Hamilton Beach with the same type of electronic controls but with a ceramic insert. 02/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent love the timer. Just purchased this produce a week ago but have used it several times. Excellent product for the price. Love the timer and temperature controls. You do have to read the directions or it will flash! 10/21/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Big miss.... I understand it is Energy Eff. but I will be taking it back along with the other review this taking too LONG!!! I soaked navy beans overnight and put them in my new crockpot this morning at 10am. Used the preset on low for 8 hours, which with my old crock would cook in that time. Well after 6 hours I went to check and they were still VERY hard. I put the crock on for 2 more hours on HIGH yep still hard. Just put them on 2 more hours and that will make dinner after 8 pm, not acceptable with two kids in the house. Will be taking this back and researching new crocks. 11/17/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it. I have been reading the reviews about this slow cooker. I received mine for Christmas 2009 and have had no issues with it. (This is Nov. 4, 2010) The non-stick coating is not peeling. (I noticed several people said it was peeling in theirs) I only use utensils in it that are made for non stick cookware. I have a large family and I use this cooker on a weekly basis. I love it. it has been a great help to me in the kitchen having this cooker. I recommend it to anyone who wants a large slow cooker. It's a great product. 11/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only one flaw I love this product so much that I hate to say anything bad about it. I just got off the phone with a GE rep and I did not do anything wrong. Here it is I have had my slow cooker since the end of October and maybe use it once every other week, (on the adverage) and the teflon is peeling up on the botom. I thought maybe I use it to much he said no, I thought that maybe it was that I put it in the dishwasher and he said no. I do not know why because I cook on low and slow and there is no reason. I will admit I am taking it back to walmart and getting another one, that is how much I really do love this slowcooker. I figure that if it has a two year warranty then in two years they will either recall it or make it better I am shooting for better, I love this crock pot and I have 4 other crock pots from other companys And always use this one since I have gotten it. 01/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful & durable! I was skeptical about this GE slow cooker because it wasn't like my original ceramic Crock Pot. This slow cooker has met & exceeded my expectations. The insert is lightweight, easy to clean. It has a feature to keep the food inside warm without overcooking/drying. It has a timer and automatically switches to warming mode when the food has cooked for the predetermined amount of time. The lid creates a tight seal to prevent any spillage. ONE THING to be aware of; The cooker emits a strange odor the first couple uses. I believe it has something to do with the rubber-like seal around the rim of the lid. It has no effect on the food, just a bizarre smell that goes away after further usage. 05/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite slow cooker I bought this slow cooker about a year ago. I had read many bad reviews and was a little hesitant at first. This is my go-to slow cooker now. It's light weight so it's easy to get in and out of my cabinet. I do use the slow cooker bags (mainly because I LOATHE scrubbing food out of any container). Yes, I will admit it does emit an unusual smell but using the bags, I don't taste anything in my food except my food! My other favorite feature is that I'm not stuck using the mfg's temperature settings. If I want to cook my food on SLOW for 10 hrs, I can do that. Or if I just want to cook something in there for 1 1/2 hrs on high heat b/c I don't feel like heating up my stove top, I can do that too. I do have 2 other Crock Pots which are the Crock Pot brand but I still prefer this one. I'm considering buying another one. 08/07/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by scratches easy Using the wooden spoon, like it said, it still scratches...I would not recommend this product. 03/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I highly recommend! I've had this slow cooker for several months now, and after making a bunch of different meals in it, it's safe to say that I officially love it! I would highly recommend it to anyone. My two favorite things about it are how light-weight the inner "crock" is. It's not ceramic, like most slow cookers. Instead, it's very thin, almost comparable to a cookie sheet weight and thickness. I was worried at first that that might cause food to burn or stick to the bottom, but it doesn't at all. The second thing I love is that the outside of the slow cooker doesn't get hot at all. I actually bought this slow cooker after buying and immediately returning a Hamilton Beach model, because the entire outer back of the slow cooker became too hot to touch within a half hour or so. I didn't feel safe leaving it on in the house all day while we were at work, especially since we have cats, and you never know what they might knock over onto it, etc. I'm very happy to say that the outside of this slow cooker never gets hotter than warm to the touch. Overall, I highly recommend it! 02/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by GE slow cooker, a good product This is my first slow cooker, but I have been going to stores and looking at the quality and features of many in the recent weeks. The GE one has a retractable cord so you can't loose it. It turns out delicious meals. I wanted to return comment on the person whos lid didn't fit, and I suspect someone may have switched lids in the store. The proper lid is easily identifiable as it has the GE logo etched in and has vent in the lid to relieve pressure in case you didn't read the manual and latched down the lid while cooking. This lid has a rubber seal that simply rests/sits on the lip of the aluminum insert(crock). There is a gap around the rim of the crock and lid, this lid does not fit tight to the crock. The tight cooking seal is provided simply by the weight of the lid and silicon rubber gasket on the lid. The display is very easy to read, and simple to operate. The displays on the Crock Pot models were flimsy and subject to allowing food drippings or water from a wet sponge to enter. I was also turned off by the displays on the Hamiltons. This GE was easy to operate. Has 8 built in programs that you can modify before cooking. I like the lightness of the non-stick aluminum crock, its easy to hold and clean. Seeing how it cooked meat I have no doubt that it will cook pinto beans, which someone else complained about, which I'm going to try this week. 01/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by My First Slow Cooker This is my first slow cooker ever purchased/ever used and I must say that it was very easy to use and my stew turned out perfectly. I didn't want to leave it unattended the first time I used it so I stayed home to watch it as it cooked all day. The temps were perfect, the settings were prefect, it was a textbook stew. It came out delightful. I was tempted to peak and pry the lid off but I left it alone to do what it needed to do and after the timer went off we enjoyed a really great meal. This is a wonderful product and I am glad that I made the purchase after seeing the commercial. The price was a little high compared to some of the other models I saw, but I have no regrets. It does everything it says it does and I have had no problems whatsoever. This slow cooker is a GEM!!! 11/29/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ultimately disappointed Because I read reviews before I purchase, I wanted to pass this along for consideration before you purchase this slow cooker. While I like this model and used it frequently, once the lid broke I found there were no replacement parts available for this. Perhaps it would cost as much to buy a new lid and have it shipped as it would to purchase a new slow cooker, but that's not even an option I am given to consider. Consequently, I will probably purchase Crock Pot brand to replace it, which does have replacement parts. 02/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent value My 35 year old 6 qt Hamilton Beach slow cooker broke recently. HB no longer makes a simple model with autoshift and neither does any other manufacturer. I bought several other brands that cost two and three times more than this GE and returned them because they heat way to high for a slow cooker. I stumbled on this GE at WalMart and found it has built in programs one of which shifts from high to low like my old HB. I purchased the GE from my local WalMart and am very pleased with it. The programs are excellent for all types of recipes and it cooks low and slow as slow cookers should. Price was very reasonable. 01/20/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Really stinky! I loved almost all the features of this slow cooker - the cord that rewinds, the lid clips for traveling, the programmable flexibility, even the way it cooked, low and slow. What I didn't like was a feature not mentioned on the box - the gasket on the cover absorbs the cooking odors of onion, garlic, and whatever else you have placed in the pot and will not let the odors go. Ever. Even after soaking overnight, even after trying baking soda, denture cleaner, enzyme products, the odor remains and flavors the next meal (oatmeal - flavored with onion and garlic - ugh!). Not to mention the cupboard where I stored the slow cooker - just filled with that nauseating odor from the gasket. I had to return mine, I just couldn't take the stink any longer. 03/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by The only true slow cooker! I have ourchased MANY "slow cookers" and they NEVER work as advertised. This is truely an amazing slow cooker. Low means low on this slow cooker. I cook my meat for 8-10 hours in this and the meat has turned out so tender everytime. I also cook my sauces in here for 10+ hours and this slow cooker has never burned my sauces. I also really like the fact that after the cooking time, it automatically turns on the warming setting. That way, I do not have to rush home and turn it off. 01/27/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Purchased this product a couple of months ago, have used it 3-4 times and the non-stick coating is, already, peeling off. Would not recommend this product. 12/21/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by We got this cooker because it said cool outside. When WE got it home I wanted to test it so I put it along side of our old slow cooker. I put two quarts of water in each and turned both to high. After 15 minutes I checked the outside and inside temperature. Inside temperature 1 degree different. Outside temperature this GE was about 20 degrees cooler. After 1 hour I checked again. Our old cooker was 192 degrees outside and the GE was 171 degrees. The small Stainless Steel front was 166 degrees. So it was slightly cooler out side but still very hot. We want a unit that does hot heat up the kitchen so we can use it in summer. The inside temperature was 2 degrees different. Temperatures measured with a heat gun. What we want is a unit that heats up quicker so it does not take 2 hours get get up to temperature then turn it down for cooking This unit has 8 preset programs you can use but you have to read the instructions to learn how to enen turn it on. We liked the lid lock for transporting but the rubber seal is a little too big so it makes it a little hard to get the lid on. It has a light weight cooking insert instesd of stone wear but noticed when unplug it cools down faster. We like the retractable cord. Conclusion is it is slightly cooler outside, Compliated to turn on, Cools down quicker if serving a party. We returned our unit as 171 degrees outside is not cool to touch to us. 07/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice We had used a simple crock pot for many years. Recently, my daughter wanted to borrow it so I just gave my old pot to her and went looking for a new one. I initially was looking for something simple but the GE caught my eye, not because of the features, but because it had a metal cooking pot. My family can be careless and I was sick and tired of having all sorts of little chips on the crock portion of the crock pot. When I got it home I discovered that this pot had many useful settings and would switch to warm after it cooked an item. That last feature sounded great to me as I thought it would help to prevent overcooked/stringy food. My first attempt at using the pot was to make a big batch of red beans and rice. The pot worked to perfection and clean up was a snap. So far I really like this gadget and the extra features do make it more useful than my old pot (although I was fine with that one too). I feel that the pot is a good value and I would recommend it. My only complaint? Why do companies put sticky labels on their appliances that are impossible to remove? 12/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT! I have went through many crockpots through the years and this is by far my favorite. The lid snaps on tight with absolutely no spills. I love the ability to set my own time or use the presets. In the product booklet it has a list of different food items to cook in the crockpot, with the suggested cooking time (for example 1 hour on high and 4 hours on low), and the preset to use when cooking that item. I have found this very, very helpful! I recommend this product 100% I feel the price is more than reasonable. This is a great product! 09/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by my wife likes the cooker, but she noticed that the inside scratches very easily. It could have a better finish in the inside of the pot. 06/22/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Takes too long! I bought and used this cooker for a week until I took it back. It would take far too long to cook in. I tried to cook 3 frozen whole legs in it and it took 11 hours on high. I know its slow cooking but thats too slow for me so back it went, otherwise it was a good product, although the display flashes constantly even when its off. It didnt over spill like most do though, but I cant wait that long to eat. Cleaning it was a breeze too. So make up your own mind on this one. 10/15/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for our needs This slow cooker is fantastic. The metal liner is light weight and very easy to keep clean. It cooks evenly and thoroughly. The programmability of outer shell is wonderful, especially for a working mom like me who is away from the house most of the day. I can put a roast or chicken into the pot first thing in the morning, and have a dinner ready when I walk into the house in the late afternoon without burning or drying out the meat. The locking lid is perfect! And even while cooking and not locked, the seal on the lid is very secure and holds the heat with ease. The retractable cord is a stroke of genius! It makes storage effortless and I never have to search for the correct cord for the appliance I want. I've had this cooker for over a year now and most of my friends and family wish to steal it from me. I just recommend them to Walmart to buy their own. If/when the one I have ever dies, I will definitely go back to get another without hesitation. 09/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything you need in a slow cooker! My first slow cooker. i've had it over a year. 8 presets are nice. I've never needed them. I plunk stuff in there, and look in every once in a while. Temps can be set manually for 10+ hrs. After that it will go to warm, eventually to off. I'm looking for the same one in a smaller model. It says 6 qts- I can put an 11 lb pork shoulder, 11 1bs of ribs. Really like it! 01/16/2012
1-30 of 153 total reviews
2 3 4 5 6 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw87
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp