Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 230 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great except for flawed humidity control Many people use a dehumidifier in a basement, but I use it to prevent mildew in a Florida home. The humidity is nearly always high here, and mildew can form indoors in the winter when the A/C is not on. A dehumidifier this size does a pretty good job for the whole house if the central A/C fan is turned on to circulate air. NOISE: I have read various opinions about the noise level. It is quite a bit louder with high fan speed than with low. The capacity and efficiency (see below) are about the same with either speed, so low speed is a good choice for occupied rooms. My impression is that I definitely notice the noise, even on low fan speed, but it is not loud enough to disrupt conversation. The noise is mostly just from the flow of air, which is less annoying that the buzzing or rattling noises some dehumidifiers make. CONTINUOUS DRAIN: Some people have reported problems with using a garden hose for continuous draining. I think the problem is that the narrow fittings in some hoses create a “dam” that makes the water back up and spill over into the bucket. I put a garden hose “Y” adapter on the back of the dehumidifier and connected the hose to the side pointing downward. It drains perfectly into the hose with this arrangement. I did not need the manufacturer’s drain modification kit. The drain hose should have a continuous downward or horizontal slope. Otherwise bubbles can form in the hose and block the flow. AUTO-RESTART: This model will restart automatically after a power failure, so it is suitable for use in an unoccupied home. EFFICIENCY: Dehumidifiers use a lot of electricity. This model uses about 700 watts while it is running. In the continuous run mode, it will use 500 kilowatt-hours (kWh) of electricity per month, which typically costs around $55.00. Electricity use will be less in the normal mode with the unit cycling on and off as needed. The Energy Star “Energy factor” rating for this model (from energystar.gov) is 1.8 liters per kWh. That means it will remove 1.8 liters of water from the air for each kilowatt-hour of electricity used. Higher numbers mean lower electricity costs. 1.8 is the lowest energy factor that will qualify for Energy Star approval and is fairly typical. As an engineer, I have the necessary equipment to test the energy factor myself. I was able to confirm the published Energy factor. At 80 degrees F and 60% relative humidity, I measured these energy factors: Low fan speed: Energy factor = 1.81 High fan speed: Energy factor = 1.88 CAPACITY: Capacity is a measure of how much moisture the dehumidifier can remove from the air per day. My measurements came close to the manufacturer’s rating. This model has about the same capacity on either low or high speed. At 80 degrees F and 60% relative humidity, I measured: Low fan speed: Capacity = 65 pints per day High fan speed: Capacity = 68 pints per day HUMIDITY CONTROL: I think this is the weakest feature and the reason I did not give this model 5 stars. You can set the unit to maintain a relative humidity anywhere between 35% and 85%. 60% is usually adequate to prevent mildew. Setting it lower will just use more electricity. Unfortunately, this model’s humidity sensor is apparently inside the case where it is affected by the wet cooling coils. This causes it to cycle on and off about every 10 minutes, even when the humidity in the room is lower than the point you set. After the fan shuts off, the dampness inside the case causes the unit to start again after 1 or 2 minutes. It then runs a few minutes, shuts off, and the cycle repeats. The constant on-off cycling wastes electricity and probably shortens the life of the dehumidifier, although these effects are hard to quantify. My solution is to set the dehumidifier in the continuous run mode and use an external dehumidistat (Honeywell H46C from Home Depot) to turn its AC power on or off as required. This prevents the constant on-off cycling and allows the dehumidifier to run only when it is actually needed. HEAT: Dehumidifiers put out a lot of heat. I definitely notice that it warms up the room. 10/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product As with my 30pt dehuminifier I bought this just in time for 14days in a row of rain , 20 plus ins. This one I keep in my front room right next to one of my floor speakers. Not only is this machine effecient but also VERY QUIET. It is within 4 ft. of my chair and I still have to mute my sound system in able to hear it running. During the rainy days it would fill up 2 times each day set at 45%. running on low and handling a 12 X 30 ft area. The heat factor is minimal. Plus it's Energy Star rated. 05/14/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good unit except Auto Shut-off is a problem This unit is quiet, has a slim profile, and works extremely well (that is the good news). I live in a humid environment so the unit extracts a full bucket of water each day. This unit would rate five stars if the auto-shut off was designed correctly. If you wait until the light comes on indicating the bucket is full, it is impossible to remove without spilling a significant amount of water on the floor. Since I have to remove it daily, this is a problem. My carpet and hardwood is taking a beating even though I wipe the spill up promptly. When I called the manufacturer, I was told that this is the way the product is designed. I have resorted to finding a fix on my own and have added Styrofoam to the bottom of the water indicator lever. This causes the indicator to rise faster than before, tripping the cut-off switch early enough to prevent the overfilling problem. You shouldn't have to re-engineer a brand new product. 06/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works well in 1200 sq ft daylight basement I owned an earlier model and it worked for 18 months before the sealed unit went out. The seal unit does have a 5 year warrantee but I found that it would still cost me up to $100 just get the seal unit checked out. I purchased the earlier model with my AMEX card which doubled the year warrantee to 2 years and AMEX credited my account for the full purchase price. THIS time I purchased the extended warrantee for $38 so I’m good for 5 years – mfg 1 year – extended 3 additional years – AMEX 1 additional year on the extended. The new unit is quieter. I use continuous drain to a condensate pump and have found that you have to have an air break in the tube or the back pressure will divert the water to the internal tank – easy to correct with some duct tape. This is important to me because the unit is at a second home and I need it to run unattended. 06/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works well and Very Quiet The 70 pint Fridgidaire dehumidifier has worked well from the start. It is quiet and easy to operate. The only problem is the continuous drain feature. The unit must be tipped back slightly for the water to drain out of the hose and not into the internal bucket. Other than this small inconvenience, I highly recommend this unit. 06/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really Works! I have never used a dehumidifier before. But, my husband and I were having trouble with our sinuses and his sister recommended a dehumidifier and she uses Frigidaire. So, I ordered this unit. It really works to lower the humidity fast. It does add a little heat to the room, but the lower humidity is really worth it. Our sinus problems are greatly improved and we are sleeping a lot better, too. I have only had this dehumidifier for several weeks, but haven't had any problems with it so far. I haven't tried attaching a drain hose to it, but I already ordered the little kit from Frigidaire. It's free and they send it right out to you. One of the problems I noticed in the customer reviews was that when the tank is full, it is very difficult to empty without spilling over. I have not had this problem and I will tell you why. When you get your new dehumidifier and get it out of the box, you will probably have to get the little float mechanism out of the bottom of the collection tank and attach it at the top of the collection tank yourself. The little square part of this will/should have a piece of styrofoam stuffed inside it. Do not remove this little block of styrofoam. It will activate the automatic cut-off before the tank can get too full. But do remove any tape. That's it. I am very happy with this product so far. 10/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is THE BEST dehumidifier on the market today Long story short: I bought and returned no less than THREE different dehumidifiers from various sources. They all had problems of one sort or another - one was INCREDIBLY loud, another didn't automatically restart after a power outage (important if it's to be left unattended). Finally I found this one. It's effective, automatically restarts following a power interruption, and it's surprisingly QUIET. Your search is over! 09/13/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by compact, sturdy, quiet, easy to use & empty The first unit had lost refrteigerant along the way here. WALMART was proactive & very hepful in replacing the unit and paid all shipping charges even before I shipped the faulty one back . Kudos to WALMART. Second unit works well, the fan runs much longer than the compressor, but apparently that is normal for this unit. Works as well as the unit we bought about 6 years ago and was our only prior knowledge. Quiet, easy to empty, it pulls a lot of water out of the air & keeps the cellar dry and comfortable. 08/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by SO DRY!!! :) I had the unfortunate event of going into my new basement and finding MOLD... I saw no leaks anywhere and couldn't figure out where all the humidity was coming from... well I apparently live in a former wetland area and my basement used to have a stream running through it and with a concrete basement... you have WATER. my basement SMELLED moldy even when I turned the heat on the air smelled MOLDY. well after just 2 days of running this with the constant drain option and my basement was DRY>>>> SO DRY IT NO LONGER SMELLED MOLDY!! the floors were always damp but NO MORE! the walls used to drip but NOTHING! We just had major flooding in this area of the state and NO HUMIDITY IN MY BASEMENT!!! I LOVE IT!!!! 09/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Dehumidifier I purchased this unit to replace an older unit. The 70-pint Frigidare unit runs relatively quiet and does a great job of moisture removal. At first I was slightly hesitant to purchase this unit because I read a few reviews that complained that the bypass hose connection drain did not work & that the water reservoir would fill up and the unit would shut off. I'm thrilled I decided to purchase this unit because the drain hose connection works perfectly. If the end of the drain hose is elevated too high, the hose drain will not work properly and the reservoir "will" fill up and shut the unit off, BUT as long as the end of the drain hose is lower that the entire unit it works perfectly. Hope this helps. 06/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Machine The dehumidifier was purchased as a replacement unit. The basement of our home has been very warm and humid this summer. Since installation, we have dropped humidity levels in basement from in excess of 60% to area of 50%. We have been removing approximately 6.5 gallons of water a day. The unit also runs much cooler then the previous unit, so it quite comfortable walking into the basement. 08/29/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by To much heat This unit does a great job drying the air, but put's out too much heat. In Florida that not good 05/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Exactly as advertised!! Earlier this year I moved into a bsmt. apt. By the time I realized what was happening I needed to get rid of a few items that were covered in mildew. This caused me to do some research so I’m currently something of a moldologist lol... This unit was said to be the most quiet, it sounds comparable to an ac unit, after a while you wouldn't notice it. It is very efficient at it's primary function the humidity lvl in my bedroom was above 85% before, within hours it was at 45%. I didn't attach the hose although I might. The container needs to be emptied twice daily. No more smell from the closet, so the air filter seems to be working as well. I didn't really notice the dampness before but now the room actually feels dryer. Although it does put out a bit of heat, If it continues to function at the current level than, I’m quite satisfied with my purchase. 09/12/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by ONE YEAR This is my FOURTH year purchasing a dehumidifier. My third purchasing a Frigidaire (different models). These units ONLY work ONE year and then they quit working. So basically I'm spending over $200 to have a dry basement for one year. Not so sure that's worth it. To me it seems that if I never unplug these, they will continue to function properly, but as soon as you unplug them (for the winter) they will not work come summer. VERY dissappointing. 05/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by just what I needed! This unit works well in my 1000 sq/ft lake front cottage...maintains humidity level at about 40%; large reservoir needs to be emptied twice a day..before work in the morning and at bedtime. Easily moves with wheels, doesn't scratch the floor, quiet operation. 08/08/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what I expected from Frigidaire I did a lot of research & have had Frigidaire products before.Ordered this & it wouldn't work at all. Called Frigidaire & they even said they would call us back & take care of replacing it after 2 times we finally just returned it to Wal-Mart. 04/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product! i purchased this for my parents and they are so pleased with this product. it does everything that they wanted it to do, and the price was well worth the money! Thanks, Happy Customer 07/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love It!! When we moved to southeast TX 2 yrs ago it was obvious we needed a dehumidifier. I bought another brand because it was less expensive. Thank goodness that one died recently. I purchased this Frigidaire about 3 weeks ago and couldn't be happier with it. It is SOOO much quieter... we hardly even realize it's running (with the other one TV, phone, etc had to be turned up loud in order to hear them, not so with this unit). Also, the tank is easier to get in and out to empty. I have no complaints at all. Love it. 02/07/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Didn't live up to my hopes. Was looking for a dehumidifier to remove the moisture and improve the air quality in a basement apartment. The moisture level is down, but the musty smell still remains. The clean filter light is on but after cleaning the filter it still remains on. It also is much louder than I thought it would be. It's just average in my opinion. 11/12/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really quiet dehumidifier! I am quite satisfied with my decision to purchase this model & size dehumidifier. It is so quiet while it removes the water from my basement. The bucket is easy to remove when full. The only downfall is that it releases hot air that makes the basement quite warm. Not good during the summer. 08/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great feature I love the fact this has a built in handle that lets you transport it to empty it easily. 08/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great humidifier This dehumidifier is so much better than the goldstar one I bought. It has an indicator to show the water level in the front and it is so much easier to set up and use. 08/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by We like the size and seems to be running smoothly and quietly in the basement. It's also pretty easy to empty when full. It arrived more quickly than expected and was at a good price. 05/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product I did A LOT of research before buying this dehumidifier because I have never needed one before. We live in humid Galveston, and are across the street from the ocean, so to say that we have a lot of moisture in the air is an understatement. We bought this dehumidifier to help us fight of the Spring mold that is so abundant here. And in the month or so that we've had this, our mold has disappeared. What's even more amazing about this product is that it worked so well, that our round Morton Salt container (which had gotten moist and caused all of our salt to form into one big ball inside) has completely dried out and the salt turned back into pourable granules. We live in a huge, two-story concrete home, and one of these dehumidifiers handles the entire downstairs. Even on low, this unit will easily pull 70 pints of moisture per day. We used the convenient drain hose, so we never have to empty a bucket. 04/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really great Every night when I turn it on--always have 3/4 to full container of water--Really does its job 10/01/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad bucket design This dehumidifier does pull the water out of the air but my problem is....when the bucket fills, it fills ALL THE WAY TO THE TOP so when you go to pull it out to empty it you spill a good amount of water all over the floor trying to get to a place to empty it. BAD design! The machine should shut off BEFORE the water gets to the very top of the bucket. :( 05/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product. Purchased this for our old farmhouse basement since it is so damp in the summer months. It is hard to believe how much moisture was down there. I empty it 2-3 times a day. The musty smell is gone, wish I had purchased a dehumidifier yrs. ago. 07/03/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by The dehumidifier never worked,it ran but never took a drop of water out of the air for 1 full week.I returned it to Walmart,then drove to Lowe's and bought another Fridgidaire off the shelf.This one is pulling water out of the air but still doesn't work correctly either.I supposed my next move is to go to Home Depot to buy an LG! 05/18/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent duhumidifier First off let me say that this dehumidifier is the best of humidifier of any I've owned. It has useful features like the ability to run a low temps (my basement gets very cold, 50 degrees or so, in the winter), easily cleanable filter, easy to hook up hose to connect directly to a drain, etc. It also seems to be very well designed and engineered. Also, this is my second Fridigaire dehumidifier. The first one lasted four years, and just stopped removing water from the basement - everything else seemed to work well. When I called the manufacturer and told them the symptoms over the phone, they said it sounded like the sealed system wasn't working correctly. Without hesitation, the representative said that they do not repair this item, so they would be happy to offer me a refund of my original purchase price or another dehumidifier as the sealed system is guaranteed for five years. So... even though I might hope to buy one of these things and be done with that for the rest of my days, yeah right, this one seems to be the next best option. Way to go Frigidaire (Electrolux Corp.) and Walmart (for the great price and fast shipping - the unit arrived the day after I ordered it)! 09/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, so far This was a replacement for a 70 pint LG dehumidifier. The LG broke after 2- 3 years of use. The LG was MUCH MUCH louder than the Frigidaire. We use it in the basement and used to hear the LG up on the first floor. The Frigidaire is so quiet that we cannot hear it at all upstairs. Very easy to hook up a hose and drain it into the sink. Overall, this product is much superior than the LG. The real question is how long will it last, however, so far, we are very happy with this purchase. 05/08/2012
1-30 of 192 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw368
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp