See All Reviews
Everest Mummy +5F/-15C Degree Sleeping Bag
Everest Mummy +5F/-15C Degree Sleeping Bag
$23.66
List Price: $30.00
You Save: $6.34 (21%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 578 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for the price, temp, but zipper can be prob I bought this bag over a year ago for hiking in Nebraska and Colorado. I have used it several times, and each time has been tested in below 35 degree weather. It kept me warm each time. Now, I was curious to see if it could handle 0 degrees like it said when I bought it. Last night it was going to get down to zero, which it did, so I camped out on our non insulated porch where the temp got down to zero. I just wore off brand underarmor and that was it. I stayed warm the whole time except for my toes. I'm 6'2" and my toes always get cold, so I wrapped a shirt around my feet. I was fine the rest of the time that night. My only complaint is the zipper is very cheap. It has come apart from wiggling around, but I'm always able to get it back together. Not as big of problem at 35 degrees compared to zero degrees. Love the bag. Never would have thought putting $25 into this to avoid a $200 bag would work out, but it did. Great bag for price. To keep this bag working it needs taken care of though. 1. Hang it up when not using, even while setting up camp 2. Wear skivvies or tights and not heavy clothing (this will work against you) 3. Cinch the shoulder and head drawstrings tight and stop all the wiggling to get comfortable (you'll lose all your heat by puffing up past your chest) 4. I wouldn't wash it. Ruins the fibers. 5. Be patient with the zipper, it will work, but don't force it. 6. If it gets really cold, put something over your face, such as a ski mask or t-shirt, this will increase the feeling of being warm because you're breathing warmer air 01/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everest Sleeping Bag I ordered the 2-pack of this bag for my kids who are 11 and 10. They love to camp and had outgrown their junior-size rectangular sleeping bags. For the money, you can't beat these bags. No, they are not North Face or Marmot quality, but they more than do the job. I have been an avid camper and backpacker for many years, and am a self-proclaimed gear head, and I love these bags! They are warm, comfortable, and stuff down to almost the size of my North Face Cat's Meow synthetic bag. Some reviews say they can't get the bag back into the stuff sack. I suspect these folks are trying to roll the bag back to it's initial packing state, then attempting to put it in the sack. Stuff sacks don't work that way. There is more than enough room in the sack, just literally start "stuffing" the sleeping bag (foot first) into the sack and you will have plenty of room! Highly recommend this product for the price! 01/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Camping Gear I bought 3 for our family camping trip. They were perfect. I am 5'7" and Husband is 6'3". The sleeping bag provided comfortable coverage for his height. The nights dropped to 40 degrees and the bags provided perfect warmth. 09/10/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 Good Price I have slept in this bag about eight times and have slept warm at 10,000 feet with a temperature in the 40's. I would be cautious really taking it into a 0-5 degree weather. I would recommend to sleep in layers in case the bag does not hold up to the temperature rating. The stuff stack is a piece of junk and fell apart right a way. So it will need a new sack that can be purchased at any camping store. For the price of the bag it has worked well with backpacking and car camping. 08/10/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING BARGIN!! So I was 3 days away from our scouting weekend. I had thought of bringing just blankets...... Yah not so much. I had gone into the store, and all sleeping bags were $40-60+ each. Well These bags were listed 2 for $40. I had them overnight shipped so I basically paid for 2 what I would have paid for 1 in the store. We went camping!! My 7yo tiger cub son was super warm in the 28 degree weather, and me @ 6ft talll 250 lbs had only one chilly spot in the entire bag...... the hole where your face is.. lol. BUY THESE BAG'S!! WELL WORTH THE $$!! 04/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bag for the money! I bought two sleeping bags from the store in case the Everest bag(s) didn't arrive before my son's backpacking trip to Mount Rogers in November. After receiving the Everest bags, I was impressed and returned the $35 bags that I had purchased that were rated for zero. When we arrived the first night it was sleeting and snowing. Being my son's first time really "roughing" it I was concerned about him being cold. Never heard a whimper from him. We both braved a cold night near the peak of Mount Rogers in Grayson Highlands Park on the Appalachian Trail. How cold was it? At 5:30pm the thermometer on my jacket read about 25 deg F and the wind was blowing 15mph. At 7pm the zipper on the tent was freezing stuck with the dew. Slept Great! 11/23/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not bad for the price I bought two of these for my kids. Pros: They are a pretty decent sleeping bag for the price. Cons: The zippers are prone to getting stuck and the compression bag on one ripped. 08/15/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not for serious hikers If you like the toxic chemical smell of new tires, you're going to love this! I wouldn't say the texture is exactly greasy but you will have trouble getting the odor off your hands for hours. I would recommend letting it air for a few weeks in the sun. Having trekked with $300 bags above 14,000 feet many times, I was intrigued with the stats and thought I would be happy if it would do 30F even at this weight. Don't let the picture fool you, it does not loft at all after 24 hours and lies pancake flat like your Coleman bag from Boy Scouts. To be quite honest, I can't speak to the performance although I doubt I will take that chance given my observations thus far. It is quite comfortable in a 70F house (my other bags are not). Is it worth twenty dollars? Absolutely. Could make a great gift for that special person who thinks they want to go hiking with you. 03/19/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nothing worse than a cold night camping I've owned several brands and styles of sleeping bags over the years. When my son and daughter were in scouts we camped every other weekend and I use to guide hunting and fishing trips so a warm good nights sleep is very appreciated. That said I do not think you can come within $75.00 of the price of this bag for its quality and hikeability. It's relatively small yet when your in cold temps it provides warmth like no other. In fact the price for 2 is so low that I purchased 2 and I have 2 other new bags that are rated 30 degrees warmer that are the same size and not nearly as warm. All in all these are the best for the money bare none that I have ever used and again I had them shipped to the store and picked the up there....it doesn't get any easier than that (or cheaper either). 02/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Warm!! Just purchased two of the sleeping bags and headed off to MO for a camping and fishing trip. We stayed up pretty late the first night and i had to sit right next to the fire because of how much the temperature dropped. It was freezing! I laid one out for my dad who is above 6'0 and snuggled in one myself. I did not use any extra blankets, but i felt perfectly warm and fell asleep. Middle of the night I wake up to my tossing and turning Aunt who was wearing layered clothing and about two blankets and was still shivering! I unzipped my bag and threw it over her like a blanket instead and laughed so hard when she freaked out like, OMG i cant believe this is so warm!! My dad never even woke up to us lol :) 11/01/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by You get what you pay for... ... and $25 gets you this. I'd only rate it a 25 degree bag. No way will it work at 5*. It held up for 600 miles on the Pacific Crest Trail, used daily for 2 months and abused thoroughly. No tears or zipper breaks for me, so good deal. For all the people that had trouble with the stuff sack.... the sack is plenty big. Bigger than need be actually. Although it comes rolled up in the stuff sack, it's nearly impossible to get it back in that way. But that's why they call it a STUFF sack. Forget rolling it. Simply keep stuffing it and it goes right in. Then when it's time to use it, simply shake it out a few times and all the baffled inner material will settle right out. 01/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 great bag used this bag on a hike into the high cascades. I packed light with no tent. The sleeping bag was great. stayed very warm and dry. Great value. 08/03/2007
Rated 3 out of 5 by size and weight I just got my Everest bag the size in the compression sack is a little bigger than I was told it is about 10.5" by 13.5"but thats not bad for the money I was told it was 8" by 10" it dont sound like much but when you want to pack lite and small it is a good bit. the weight of it in the compression sack is 4 pounds 15 oz .The bag is big enough for me 5feet 9 195lb .But for the money its not a bad deal at all. 06/06/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by I literally live in these bags I use these bags as my bed when away from home 2 nights every week. Pros; - They are comfortable & warm - They have held up to constant use for close to 2 years, and don't show any signs of wear and tear. - The nicest thing about them is how roomy they are, they don't give you the claustrophobic feeling a lot of mummy bags give you. - Top Zipper (the one you use to get in and out) rarely snags, and is very durable. The only negatives are; - Like almost all newer bags, they have an annoying string around the area my shoulders lay, so I have to make sure to lay that flat before I can go to sleep. - The bottom zipper by the feet tends to get jammed, but a safety pin will lock it in the closed position, and it's never a worry again. - I don't think they would be warm enough in below freezing temps, but they work fine in the 30-40 degree range with the hood on. 03/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Tried these bags out for the first time this weekend while camping in mid 30 degree weather. Stayed warm and toasty. I was very pleasantly surprised with these bags for the price and plan to get some more. To help with warmth, open bag and allow it to sit for a few hours to regain its air pockets and fluff the bag like you would a pillow before getting in for the night. 11/15/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by cold night camp outs i bought this great deal because my son and i are in boy scouts. the camp outs last year around this were very cold for what little we had so,this year we are doing it right and boy we've done it nice and warm not freezing. this product i have tried to influence the troops leaders to buy for the entire troop but no votes have been taken on this. i am sure their are 2 votes yes. 11/12/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice This product is well worth the money. I have not tried it in 0 degree temperatures, but I am sure it is suitable for 30 and above. This bag is toasty, light weight, and built like many name brand bags. It is not rip stop material, but it has a nice stuff sack to protect it. When compressing the stuff sack, I would recommend sitting the bag vertically and pressing it down with a knee before pulling the straps tight. I pulled one of the straps too hard and broke the threads holding it on to the bag, but it still compress well with the remaining straps. Also, I am six foot two and this bag is is just right in length and width, with enough room for a small camp pillow. Not really built for a smaller sized person. The hood is adjustable from a relaxed open position to an eyeball sized peek hole. 09/09/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not too shabby My son and I just used these on a Boy Scout campout last weekend with night time temps dropping to around 30 degrees. The bags were plenty warm, however we both stayed warmly dressed while we were in them. I am 6' 1" and about 180 pounds. There is plenty of room, height-wise, but if you are more than a 36" waist, you probably won't have much room to move around in it, especially if you're wearing a fleece jacket or equivilent. The biggest downfall to this bag is the zipper. It gets caught on the bag material as you zip it up. Not a huge deal if you are careful and pull it up slowly moving away the excess material as you go. 01/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great value Bought four bags for a week of winter night temps in the low 30s. These bags were great. The plastic pull cord parts break easily, but the value is unbeatable. I'd recommend these bags for similar temps and light usage. 08/16/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by good, but larger than stated I bought this for backpacking in the rocky mountains. Definitely will be warm enough if I can find a way to carry this huge thing in. It is the normal size of a sleeping bag...not compact and not ideal for light backpacking as stated. I am 5 ft2in and I probably have two feet of extra room at the feet so its good for very tall people. Optimal leg room and stuffs back in the sack easily. 03/21/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Everest Mummy 0 to 5-Degree Sleeping Bag Rocky Mountains staying nice and warm. For the price this sleeping bag is a great value, especially if you use the Site-to-Store method of distribution. 08/27/2007
Rated 3 out of 5 by For the big guys. 250+ Hello all, this is for all the big guys out there. I have not tried this out for the temperature rating as I just recieved it today which is why I have only rated it 3 stars, I will update accordingly after I use it in the field. My big concern was wether or not I would fit into it. I read all the reviews and only saw one regarding someone my size so I was a bit concerned but figured I could return it if it was too small in time to get another for a trip in three weeks. I am 5'10" and 277# with a 53.5 inch chest and 44 inch waist measurement. I fit into this bag just fine, I am very happy, it is snug when trying to wiggle around inside but not immposible to move and when the temps are down to the 20-30's your gonna be curling up tight. We'll see how it performs in a few weeks when I go on a pack trip and will be in a tent in the high 20's or low 30's I'll be bringing a bunch of Hot Hands to help out if necessary and will report back on how it does. 11/11/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by I wouldn't want to be in this bag at 5 degrees Used this bag just a week ago in Stokes State Forest NJ. First night got cold enough for frost. The bags failed to keep me, or my partner warm. We used the draft collars, and the hoods appropriately. We don't move around much while we sleep, so we weren't puffing heat out of the bags. I do how ever think this is a great bag for temps around 45 or above. The bag simply shouldn't be rated for 5 degrees. Unfortunately, Companies are not regulated by one system claiming temp ratings. If you think you'll be in colder weather then spend a little more money. If you know you won't be in incredibly cold climates then this bag will work for you. 04/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by for 9,000' mountain camping What a buy, 2 bags for $40! As a scout leader, this bag is perfect for Summit County CO. This morning, we woke to ice on the edge of the lake. We girls were toasty inside this bag with a summer weight bag on the outside. Yes Summit is definately 2 bag camping. We did just as another reviewer wrote, pulling the chin line in, as well as the mummy hood line in. Zippers seem fine to me. We pulled the zipper up to the stop, then attached the velcro tab so that it wouldn't be stressed with tossing and turning in the night. The enclosed stuff bag worked well to contain the bag, and has handles. I encourage all Summit parents to save their camping trips with a set of these bags. Why be cold, and why spend $100 for expensive bags, if you aren't true backpackers. 06/26/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by froze all night i bought two of these sleeping bags for a camping trip with boyscouts that my son and i went to it got down to 25 degrees at night and i have 4 layers of clothes on and was still cold and didnt sleep plus my zipper tore i will be taking them back to get my money once i defrost 10/18/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not made well I ordered 2 bags for $36-. We unpacked them and on one bag the zipper wasn't even sewn into the bag for about 6 inches. On both bags the filling was coming thru the liner in a few places. We didn't even use the bags - returned them and bought others. 10/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bag! This is a GREAT bag for the price. I was very suprised when it came in the mail about how nice it looked. Very warm...a must buy! 01/18/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by 'Wally-Head'-does it again! The WWII Army-surplus mummy bag I've used since I was a kid-'over 50 years'-finally fell apart.I wasn't sure how this bag would measure-up,but was I surprised-!!!.Hard to believe that at this price it could be SOOO good!--I've used it in the NC mountains 6 times with temps from 50,down to the low 20s and it is great!!!---BUY IT-!!! 11/05/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Happy Camper I was suprised at how light it is. I think it is about 3.5lbs. It comes with a nice compression sack but it is still bulky 10x18 compressed. For the price I will be purchasing again if anything should happen to mine. 07/28/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Value I bought two of these for my sons for when I hike with them in the mountains. They have used them down to 10-15 degress and are always toasty warm (they are 8 and 9, so I check on their comfort frequently...or they let me know). The biggest complaint I have is that they are pretty bulky even in a compression sack...as big as my -20 bag and they are not what I would call light. The value for what they cost is excellent though. I take survival gear pretty seriously and these bags have held up for serious cold weather backpacking/camping. 04/22/2010
1-30 of 468 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew411
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp