See All Reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 146 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Prepaid Unlimited Service for AT&T Towers Straight Talk 6 Months Unlimited comes out to $41.67 a month for all the service you could ever want for your smartphone. I use it with our own smartphones and Straight Talk sim cards. It picks up the same exact service towers as AT&T customers including their 4G coverage. The refills are simple using walmart.com for email pin delivery. Just take the pin they send you and enter it into your account reserve at straighttalk.com. No more contracts, no more overage charges, no more ridiculous $2 data charges when you accidently hit the browser button on your AT&T phone. We are saving at least $60 a month from what AT&T was charging during our cell contract and we now enjoy a boatload of data as well. This is a no brainer especially with the "bring your own phone" sim program they now have. I only had one problem with the service so far. After my first month of service the data speeds on my phone slowed down to a trickle. I read online that Straight Talk throttles back the speed after a certain amount of monthly data used (2-5Gb) so I thought I had gone over the data limit of "unlimited". The Straight Talk representative assured me that my account was in good standing and not flagged for excessive data use. The fix took a few phone calls but here is how the service was restored to full speed: the representative removed my "rate plan" from their system and reentered it again. The data was back up in the 5-7Mbs range in less than 30 seconds. Perhaps this fix will work for you. It has been good ever since (9 months and counting). Our family has three lines on Straight Talk with all grins and no regrets. 11/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Straight Talk 180 Day Service I think this is fantastic! Straight Talk beats all other cell companies hands down. Being able to buy my plan for 6 months at a time online is wonderful too. I get notification my plan is running out and can go ahead and purchase my new minutes and have it scheduled to begin when my current plan runs out...what's not to like? I am saving HUNDREDS of dollars over the cost of cell phone companies plans and there are NO additional fees for exceeding my minutes! I have recommended this to several friends who are stuck in a plan and waiting for that plan to run out. Walmart beats the competition and I have noticed they are coming up with similar plans but not as feature rich as this one. Kudos to Walmart! 09/29/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by cant get a response from straighttalk email i have had straighttalk for several years now. it has been fine until now. i just bought this card (have ALREADY bought one of these no problem 6 months ago), and added it to 'reserve'. it kicked in no problem, but on the day it activated, i stopped receiving cellular data. everything else works exactly the same. i contacted straighttalk email support, and they said "everything looks fine". i have contacted them several more times with no response. 11/12/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by DO NOT PAY FOR STRAIGHT TALKS YEARLY PLAN. DO NOT PAY FOR STRAIGHT TALKS YEARLY PLAN. I bought this and I had had them for over two years. Since I never had a problem with them, I opted to go with their yearly paid plan. Well 5 months into that plan, I no longer get service in the vicinity of my house, my calls drop in and out. I get service everywhere other than in my local vicinity. They insist it is my phone and I need to replace my phone. It is not my phone. My phone works perfectly fine; it is the connection in the lines. Straight Talk refuses to work with me, nor will they refund me the 180 days I have left on this yearly plan. My phone is useless. They got close to 600 dollars of my money but they refuse me customer service. We have talked to 3-4 of their customer service agents/managers and they have been nothing but nasty. I would advise staying far away and going with a different company. 09/07/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 staight talk refill card 6 months If you are purchasing as a refill make sure you buy at least 72 hours ahead of your end date 10/29/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Be aware First, understand that even though this is a digital order, it took 12 hours for the code to be sent by email. Do not wait until the day your plan expires to do this or you will run into problems. Second, do not use the Straight Talk website to enter the code. They are a mess there. When I finally got everything straightened out (after 3 hours on the phone) they third representative I spoke with very clearly told me to not use the website in the future that I should call and have them do it. In other words, they know they have issues. Third, understand I am very computer savvy and do all of my banking and other activities online, when it is available to me. I have learned their online system does not work. I will continue using them because of the value of their service, but you have to know what you have gotten yourself into. 02/18/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by READ THE FINE PRINT!!!!! There is not unlimited DATA usage, and according to the terms and conditions you are only supposed to view YouTube, Facebook, online gaming, video chat, movie streaming, and anything else that might use data ONLY when you are connected to WI-FI so what is the point of having Supposed unlimited DATA. If I wanted to do all that while connected to my home WI-FI then I would use my computer the screen is much bigger. 03/15/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I see no change I moved over from ATT to Straight Talk. I see no difference between the two except for price! I am paying a lot less now than I was with ATT but the service has not changed. I still get a strong signal and can do what I used to do with ATT but at a lot lesser price. The service seems to take just a wee bit longer - in other words sometimes I seem to get a delay, but other than that, it is fine. So far, so good. 03/31/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best wireless service I've ever had This is an excellent product. I was very, very hesitant to switch to Straight Talk from Verizon. I bought an unlocked GSM phone thinking that I would get decent service with T-mobile. The service is horrendous where I live. The more i learned about Straight Talk I, i got both optimistic and pessimistic. It seems that my un-locked phone would pull service from both AT&T towers and T-mobile towers, but the customer service would leave anyone licking their wounds. I took the plunge and did EVERYTHING to initiate service online - got the sim card and starting month card from Straight Talk's website, and then bought my 6 month card from Walmart.com. I am truly amazed at how well things have turned out. My phone number was ported from Verizon in less than 2 hours. NOTE: if you decide to port your phone number never do it on a weekend! With a few exceptions, a weekend port won't be resolved before the business week starts. I ported mine on a Tuesday. I would recommend any day except Saturday, Sunday, Monday, or a holiday. I can't say enough about the high quality of the coverage area. I live in a relatively rural area. My friends and family and I have grown up simply understanding that Verizon coverage exists in certain areas. It was a fact of life. But, the veil has been lifted. I get better coverage now than anyone I know. It's not even close. I can't say you will have the same results, due to tower locationing in your area. But, If you are a customer who is at least somewhat tech savvy (and DOES NOT require customer service assistance much), then you are shooting yourself in the foot if you do not get Straight Talk. So, what you need to do is educate yourself about the difference between GSM phones and CDMA phones, determine who provides the best coverage in your area Verizon/Sprint or A&T/T-Mobile, buy an UN-LOCKED phone from a reputable dealer, and then buy the starter kit from Straight Talk. By saving on my plan alone, my LG G2 will be paid for in 1 year (actually about 10 months). After 1 year on a contract plan, I would still be paying twice as much or more for the same plan, with the same or less coverage, and my phone would be compatible only with my contract carrier's network (unless I were educated enough to un-lock it myself, which I'm not). There are no disappointments here. 03/14/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Get this if you know for a fact that you are going to use the phone for 6 months. If not, just buy the 45 dollar a month prepaid card instead. In case something happens, you can not activate your card for next month. 03/30/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Internet does NOT work, never has. Calling works. Texting works. Internet has NEVER worked except for wireless and I am not looking forward to calling the overseas customer service people and being on the phone too long. Also after reading the fine print I will switch to Verizon when the 6 month card expires because this is NOT unlimited data. I wish I had only bought one month. I feel like switching immediately. I am very angry and disappointed. 03/12/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Think you know what UNLIMITED means? Just be aware that at Straight Talk, UNLIMITED = 1.5gb Wait...What??? Yes you read that right... UNLIMITED = 1.5gb 06/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best prepaid plan out there Running my iphone on the AT&T network through straight talk for less than $ 45/month. Insane! I am saving over 80 bucks a month! 05/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product-Poor Service Love the savings I get from Straight Talk and the coverage is excellent. Walmart's policies, however, need review. I have never purchased an online product where I had to wait up to 3-4 days to receive it. Walmart can certainly take money from my account in an instant, but it took several days to get the "code" e-mailed to me so that I could add minutes to my plan. That being said, Walmart's price for this product is better than anywhere else. By buying 6 months worth of UNLIMITED time and data access, I saved a bundle. It works out to be only $41.66/mo for unlimited everything. No other fees! I don't think you can do better anywhere else! 05/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best VALUE It is less expensive to buy the 6-month card. I was with Verizon for about 30 years. It used to be another company and Verizon bought them out. They kept going up and I just got tired of it. I purchased the Straight Talk phone at Walmart store and got the 30-day card. After checking thing out I now buy the 6 month card and no hassles and cheaper by the month to. Great phone too. 11/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ignore the title Ignore the T-Mobile title. This is the same Straight Talk cards as all the rest just 6 months worth. 02/26/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stick with the phone that uses Verizon towers you'll get better service. 01/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent I am very pleased with Straight Talk. After I ordered the 180 day card, Walmart called me first before they emailed the PIN to ensure it was not a fraudulent transaction. It does take a day or two to receive the PIN by email, so don't wait until you are out. 01/05/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I got rid of my over priced AT&T service and over rated iphone that cost about $100 bucks per month. I picked up a cheap Android phone and unlimited everything Straight Talk service that is about $42 bucks per month and it's still AT&T service. I got the 6 month plan so I only get the bill twice a year. Straight Talk is a much better value. I wish I would have made the change years ago. 11/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy payment option I had set up a automatic payment through Straight Talk's website, but had canceled it because it actually cost more to make payments that way instead of buying the monthly service cards through Walmart. Then I saw the savings I could get if I purchased this 180 day card. It is like getting an entire month free. I love it! 10/11/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good This is just like the 45 dollar a month unlimited plan but in a 6 month card. I think the deal is alright. Still a good deal but i recommend just buying the card monthly or the 3 month one just in case that you are not going to use the phone for the month. 03/30/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hard to buy Everytime I try to buy one of these cards they cancel the order saying they can not verify payment. I can order anything else on walmart.com and the order goes through just fine. I started using gift cards and now walmart customer service says the system is down and to buy in store. The cards cost more in store and they do not carry the 6 month card in the stores around here. The value is good but it is very very hard to order a card. 04/12/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love It! Great service, and Straight Talk sure has saved me a lot of money. I have recommended to a lot of friends and family. My phone bill went from $1356.00 year to I don't have a bill. I purchace a 6 month card twice a year. Thanks Straight Talk, you saved about $800.00 a year. 12/20/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by STRAIGHT TALK! This is a good offer, but I prefer to do every thirty days so I don't have to come off with the payment all at once every six months. 04/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great deal as many have previously stated. I use my iPhone 3GS with Straight Talk and it runs off of AT&T's network. You can't beat the savings for using the exact same network at a much lower cost. I will be buying my next iPhone full price and continue to use Straight Talk & Walmart for my service. 07/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best purchase I've ever made Only 2 purchases a year for the best service ever! I hear friends complaining about their $80.00+ per month bills and lousy reception, lack of internet connection and lost signals. The 180 day option is great, paying less than $42.00 a month for total service and being able to purchase online and activate myself or call a number and have a customer service person so kindly do the activation is a plus! I've had Straight Talk for just under 180 days and purchased another 180 days, this time online. The purchase was flawless, directions sent to my email was a bit unclear, view gift or send gift was confusing. Better choice of words would be view my purchase or send gift. I viewed gift and got the info to add 180 days to my existing days. Great thing is I can add any of the packages at any time and it will be added to what your remaking available time. I'm impressed and brag about how easy the purchase was and how easy it was to activate! 07/21/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Don't buy if you need it quickly Save money on your Straight Talk airtime when you buy from Walmart. A word of caution, though. If your service end date is within a day or two, go to Straight Talk and pay the extra few dollars. The Walmart website says your airtime will "usually" be delivered within an hour or so. I have purchased airtime twice from Walmart recently. The first time took approximately 12 minutes to get my PIN. The second time took 54 hours. Good deal as long as you don't need it now. 03/20/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quick and Easy, but beware of day shortage! This is a very easy and smooth purchase for time on my Galaxy S2. But beware! 6 months does not mean that literally - it means 180 days. That means that 2 six-month cards does NOT give you one year of service. Only a 1-year card can do that -but I can't find the one year card online. 11/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best deal so far This is by far the best deal on the market. I use it with my iPhone. The only reason it doesn't get 100% positive is it was a weekend when I bought it and wanted to immediately apply the minutes to my phone. However, the order wouldn't process until my credit card cleared the bank, which was closed. So I ended up being without a phone for a few days. It was a bummer, but I'll just be more aware next time. I would buy it again. 06/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Adding six months of service to any phone is a good thing. 01/14/2012
1-30 of 122 total reviews
2 3 4 5 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw296
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp