See All Reviews
Element 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , ELGFW551
Element 55" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV , ELGFW551
$699.98
List Price: $999.00
You Save: $299.02 (30%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 650 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice HDTV for the money After reading the mixed reviews from others on this product I decided to buy it anyhow. I found that this 55" HDTV is very nice. The problem I had was not the 55" HDTV but that I did not have a proper HD digital box from my cable company.( My box was about 10 years old) Once I hooked up the proper new digital cable box to it WOW. I hooked up my kids PS3 to it again, WOW. Plays Blue Ray movies and games perfect though PS3. I ran the optical cable from the PS3 to the RCA surround sound system that was included in the bundle and could not be any happier with this than I am. The RCA surround sound and DVD player was above what I expected. It took me a couple of days to figure things out,but we got it under control. Make sure you read the directions or find someone that has hooked up HDTV before. I would tell you to make sure you have the proper HDMI cable and a up to date digital cable box. I had to use 2 HDMI cables( 1 from PS3 to HDTV + 1 from HD cable box to HDTV) plus 1 Optical cable from PS3 to the RCA home theater to get my results. You will get the great results with just a regular DVD player as well. You will not be sorry with this 55"HDTV. I ordered this online. It took about 8 business days to get to my Walmart store. I was able to track it every day via Walmart where my order option.I also bought the 3 year extended warranty from Walmart. That is a deal. 02/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 55' LCD Element HDTV I didn't know what to expect from this TV due to the price. It seemed too good to be true. Once it arrived, I immediately found that I absolutely love this TV. It doesn't make sence to buy a more expensive HDTV, I am extremely satisfied with this product. I would HIGHLY recommend this HDTV for anyone who is looking to purchase this HDTV....AWSOME! 12/19/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Element 55' Was not happy with this TV. Several issues right from the start. First, the set would power off after about 5 minutes. Called the manufacturer and was told to unplug it and wait 30 minutes to allow factory reset. Second issue was a color problem. When going from a 1080i/p channel to a non HD channel the color would be pink/green. Third issue was the remote, had to stand in front of the unit to power it on. Fourth and final issue was sound, anything above 15 on volume the speakers would distort. The reviews before I purchased it were good and the price was great however I did not have a good experience with this TV. Maybe I just had a bad unit. I just boxed it up and took it back and got a 47" Visio 120hz (and some cash back)which I'm very happy with. The good thing about Wal-Mart is they make it easy to return a defective product! 09/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I can see you This TV is unbelievable, to good to be true for that price, I was like really? but OMG I love it!!! it is a great buy. The picture is so clear and nice. the only problem I have is the sound is not loud, you will for sure need surround sound. It like the speakers are on the side which make it hard to hear. But with surround sound, you will love it!!! Iam very happy with this purchase. Oh and one more thing it was hard trying to get that thing on the stand. you will need at least two ppl to help. I just wall mounted mine. That stand was to crazy. I ended up breaking it, trying to complete it with my kids and no man. So independent ladies you will need a man for this one lol over all a very great purchase. 11/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by My thoughts! I did a lot of research on TV's prior to buying this one, and the reviews on this site really helped me in my decision so I thought I'd give feedback of my experience. Just picked up my element the other day from the shipper (it made it to my area and I didn't want to wait for the delivery which was two days out). I spent all night last night re-wiring the family room, organizing wires etc . . . and after hooking it up I ran it through a bunch of test. They packaged it very well, and it was well protected. Hooked up to the TV is an Xbox360, Direct TV HDTV receiver and a Wii. (PS the TV comes with codes so you can program the direct TV remote to work with the TV) The first thing I did was jump to CNN HD and I was very impressed. Rich colors, very sharp contrast etc. Then I jumped straight onto the xbox360 to test out the "blurring effect". My personal opinion, the TV performs perfect and nothing about my gaming experience annoyed me. (The picture attached is when my wife was playing a game this morning) TV audio, not horrible but not great. What'd you'd expect. I don't have the family room wired for surround sound so I plugged in a nice set of computer speakers into the headphone jack on the side of the TV (Cyber Acoustics 3 pc Subwoofer/Satellite System) and my sound issue was instantly solved. I bought an HDMI switcher off Amazon, so my 5 HDMI inputs go into a box and only one goes into the TV. What's nice about the speakers being plugged into the headphone jack is now the direct TV remote which is programed for the TV works with the Volume control, which in turn controls the computer speakers. Works great. . . . . Mine is a simple setup, surround sound is another alternative ; ) Compared to other TV's you would be a fool to pay $1000 more for a set. If you're concerned about the quality buy the 3 year warranty which starts after the manufacturers so it's basically 4. Hope that helps in your decision! I'm already thinking about buying another one for downstairs . . . . 12/16/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome TV - Awesome Value!!! Awesome TV! Mounted TV, turned power on, and picture is awesome. You don't have to adjust anything. The factory settings are great. The picture quality compares to my other 40" LCD that I purchased for a lot more money. I have seen Element around but this is my first Element purchase. I am really happy with it and you really can't beat the price! I will need to upgrade my bedroom TVs soon and I will definetely look at Element TVs again! 07/11/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the price! Great picture. I'm sure there are better out there, but not for less than $1K. The remote is the weak link. Not only is it a little less than easy to aim, the TV remote is not compatible with any learning remotes I've found or that I have. If you are afraid of it being a non-brand name TV, just look at the TV's on the market that weren't brand name just a few years ago. Who had ever heard of Vizio or any of the Korean TVs that have flooded the market. The picture on this TV is just as good as our two Sony LCDs that cost a bunch more. 07/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Buy this and an expensive TV. Buy this TV and an expensive TV with same specks. Lay the money you saved on this TV vs the more expensive one. Hook them up side by side and watch them for a week. If you feel the more expensive one is worth paying more for, take this TV back. I am sure you will keep this Element. I did this with my friends 55in Sony LED ($1498) and we noticed NO difference in picture. We did notice pixelation appeared on BOTH units based on the channel we were watching, nothing else. If you think it won't last, buy the warranty. You are still up hundreds. PS. Turn off DNR and 120Hz off in advanced settings to take the ghosting effect off. I would rate this TV a ONE star if I didn't know this! 01/13/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 Great Value I read the reviews on this TV before I bought it. I was very pleased to see that the reviews where correct. This product is a Great Value. The picture quality and features are just as good or better than some of those other well know brands at a very good price. The sound quality is about average but I ran the sound through the entertainment system so all is good. 09/02/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by C'mon Man!! I have seen the higher priced HDTV's and have to say I don't believe they have any better picture than this Element. I am not an HD Expert, but I know a good picture when I see one. All I can say is that the proof is in the picture. I love it. I have not found another HDTV like it for what I paid for this one. A 55" LCD HDTV for $750.00? C'mon Man! That is hard to beat. I hope you like yours as much as I do mine. 01/20/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Occasional stuttering of picture. A very nice tv for the price. This is a value purchase and should be considered so when buying the unit. It has a low contrast ratio (4,000:1) if you're comparing it to higher end tvs (LEDs are 1,000,000:1 and higher) but the color is fine and picture quality is sharp at 1080p. During high speed motion sequences there is occasional blurring of the picture which I don't find extremely bothersome. There is however the occasional stuttering of the picture when there is motion. One example is when I am watching ESPN and the ticker should scroll smoothly across the bottom of the screen I notice the words will often stutter. If watching programs where the camera pans quickly I notice large sections of the screen will do a similar thing. This stuttering does not happen all the time and your tolerance to this is personal preference. I bought this tv for my parents and they have not noticed any of the issues I have mentioned. So if they are happy, I am very happy. Now my dad can watch Wheel of Fortune in HD on a large screen, which is a benefit because I think his eyes are going, ha ha. 01/23/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Value I did alot of shopping before I purchased a TV. This element is a great value at this price in comparison with other units of this size. It has good picture and sound. This TV has all the hook ups you could ever need. I would reccomend this unit to others looking for a big HDTV for a good price. 08/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Item This item for the money is a very good one to have. Once to tweak your PS3 or whatever to play your blu rays then you will see the tv in action. Also if you have a HD sat or HD cable you will be very happy. Yes the sound is not that great but really people…. who purchases any flat panels for sound? I have 2 Elements and a Phillips but the Elements are better overall thus far. However purchase what you like for they all are close to the others in many ways but it comes down to what you want to spend and how you will be using the item. Have a great day! 11/24/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great LCD for price! We would recommend this anyone that does NOT want to spend thousands of dollars on large LCD. Surround sound hooks up pretty easy. Remember...this is NOT a 10-thousand dollar tv and sourround sound---we knew this when we bought it......we are 100% satisfied with our purchase. 10/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome purchase This TV exceeds my expectations. I was totally shocked with the HD picture. Like most HD TV's, having HD reception and components is a must. For under a grand , this TV is probably the best deal on the market at the present time. Its every bit as good as my $3,500 HD TV. 09/07/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poorly built item OK so I bought this as a Black Friday item in 2010. Arrived timely, was a great item right out of the box. Fast forward 6 months, and it has problems. Color goes out, everything turns one color, etc. Call Element. They send a replacement part, and set up an appt with a repairman to come fix it. "Great!" I think to myself. Repairman comes, replacement part is not the issue. Now the TV wont turn on at all. So I call Element. They tell me that I can send them the old one, as it is still under warranty, and they will send me a replacement. EXCEPT, that according to the warranty, I have to pay to have it shipped. Well the shipping for a 75lb T.V. is $250 bucks. So I am not happy, but I pay to have it shipped. I drag it to the UPS store, and ship it off. Back and forth with them, and 2 weeks later they send a replacement TV. It arrives, and it is broken around the frame. Call them, and they now send me a prepaid shipping label. Repackage that TV, drag it to the UPS store, Send that one back, wait 2 more weeks, and another new TV shows up. This time the entire screen is shattered. Call them again, and complain. Same thing. prepaid shipping label, drag it to UPS, wait 2 weeks, and get another TV. Open the box, and suprise suprise, another shattered screen. Call again, and complain, and they are sending me yet another prepaid shipping label. They are now going to ship it by Fed Ex, as they think it is UPS that is the problem. Well if that was the case, then why is the actual box in perfect condition everytime it arrives? This last broken TV was actually sealed in a bag, and they taped the bag onto the tv. They actually taped to the inside of the screen! The broken screen! There is actually tape on the broken part of the screen! They actually sent it to me already broken!!! At this point it is a sad comedy. I drug this one down to the UPS store, and they have starting laughing at me/with me as well. What a joke. TV may be a good value initially, but it is not worth the price to deal with continually shipping back a defective TV. At this point I have been without a TV for going on 5 months. BAD IDEA. 11/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best deal of the year! I received my Element 55" LCD HD TV today and I am amazed at the quality! I was really expecting a lower quality for that price. I have played dvds on it and Xbox 360 games and found the experience to be very pleasurable. The detail and color is stunning. My Dad bought a Samsung 52" for 3,000 and Its really hard to tell much difference between this set and his. I would definitely recommend this set to anyone. You would have to be crazy if you didn't take advantage of this deal! 07/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good enough of a TV for almost half of any other The features of this TV are on par with any other basic HDTV. My in-laws love it. Can't beat the price. One missing feature - LED of some sort to indicate that it is turning on or off, as it takes a few seconds to warm up, and you have no idea if you turned it on or not with the remote. Do not try watching it closer than 8 feet - you will see the pixelation, as with any other big HDTV. I am going to buy another one for the game room. 01/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Tv is tight!!!!!!!!!! This a great TV for the price all you have to do is go in the advanced setting to stop the blu everybody tails about.All you have to do is READ the directions ;their is a blue light that comes on to let you know the TV is on(bottom left corner)700.00for a flat 55` Tv that looks and performs like the BIG BOYS come on now,I know you work hard for your money TRUST ME YOUR GOING TO luv THIS tv PERIOD..... 12/24/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Happy With This Set Worked great for three days. Now it displays "No Signal" and shuts down. Tried new HDMI cable...no help. System works fine with a different TV. Had a dead pixel out of the box, but it was near the edge, so didn't worry. Also could not program Dish Network remote to operate TV. Tried the USB patch on Element Web Site...no help. Called customer support and they were not helpful at all...even a bit condescending. I thought I was getting a great TV for the money...but now I have to drag it back to Walmart. Will never buy an Element product again. 11/18/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by A 55" 1080P LCD TV at this price, is worth it. I was worried I have never heard of Element, and there were no reviews. But the TV arrived in perfect order. Super easy to set up. Fantastic picture. Sound is good, not bad, but not great. For the brand and price, I was pleasently suprised, at how good it preformed. My only complaint is the remote, it has to almost be level with the remote eye for the TV to work. My TV sits in the bay window about 4 feet from the ground, so while sitting on the couch I have to raise the remote above shoulder height, for it to change the TV. A 55" 1080P LCD TV for under a grand, this TV is well worth it. 07/11/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Poor Mans Samsung I have wanted a flat panel HDTV for quite some time but never could rap my head around the cost of the newer tv's. I finally broke down and decided that my old tv needed to go so I shopped all over the place. every major chain and local discount center. Looked at hundreds of tvs and Samsung units where pretty much the best I had seen but the price tag of $1500 to $5000 was way more than I was willing to spend. However I wanted a good picture and a larger size unit. So when I found this Element 55" online I knew it was the best deal on a 55", most entry level 55" units start at $1000. Sure I was nervous buying a TV site unseen but the reviews where so good that I thought the deal was worth it at $699. Out of the box the factory settings on this Tv are good at best. To make it great you need to make some adjustments to the settings. Once you do the Picture goes from great to fantastic and the sound goes from fair to good. the adjustments for easy for anyone to make as long as you can read. The remote is a bit cheap but I have a nice universal that works with my Tivo so I wont be using the included remote anyway. Bottom line, My brother has a 55" Samsung LED LCD that he paid $1,699 for just 6 months ago, My new Element has a picture that's just as good as his for less than half the price. I am thinking about buying another for the bedroom. 01/11/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! "You get what you pay for" is not even accurate on this tv......and for $850.00 I would expect a better quality production than this thing has. Within a few hours of viewing the tv, you could see the colors in the picture flickering...the yellow or red or blue would just twinkle then the color went black and white for about 5 minutes and then came back on. We set the settings on standard and even customized them and still the people had a redish tint to their skin.......or on a night or evening scene the back ground would be a Blue color, just horrible. One show the ground was dirt with no grass and it looked like snow instead of brown dirt. You could be watching a show and the colors would look good and then then next thing you know the color would look horrible. The picture has a bit of fuzzyness to it and all the actors are squished shorter than normal and look fat. There is a blur on fast moving scenes and all the movies look like you are watching a soap opera instead of a movie. The sound does appear to be loud and clear. When we had made the decision to purchase a large LCD tv I had gone to the stores and looked at several on display and had decided to get a Vizio due to it appeard to have a good and clear picture with good colors. But while out shopping on the Blitz sale after Thanksgiving......found this Element TV on Wal-Marts sale but no one had them on display in their stores for viewing so you had to purchase it on line, which I did thinking it would be another good brand like their Vizio brand.......Big Mistake. I noticed that the tv is now $699.00, and that to me is still overpriced for the quality of the tv that we received. My husband and I are very disappointed with this tv and we will be returning it!! I was going to leave the Overall Rating Blank also but it made me put something so my 1 star is really a 0. 12/14/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great value for the size I love this flat screen, except when you put the volumn just above 10 or even less it has feedback. I am not sure if I can add speakers or what have you, this is my first flat screen. I am not happy about the sound at all, but the rest of the features are great. If you have a movie that is wide screen, you can change it to full screen among other choices from your remote. I am not willing to drag this huge item to the store or ship it with my extra warranty to have them check the sound... I will look into speakers that hook into the TV for better sound! 12/06/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a good value We purchased this as a new gift for our new home. After having it for 3 months, the screen went black every once in a while to more frequently. I called the manufacturer said it was the cable service, but I have 3 other TVs in the home and they all work perfectly. Then, they suggested a new HDMI cable, which I bought and still remained with the same problem. I still have the TV, but the screen still goes black very frequently. I will not purchase this brand again and would not recommend it. 10/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Once tuned, is awesome TV. Let me start by saying that shipping speed on this took the max estimated days and I was disappointed watching it sit at LAX for 4 days in the tracking. The item did arrive 100% in tact and the delivery guy even brought it into the house for me. So, while slow, it was delivered within Walmart's estimated delivery time, in good condition and by a courteous and helpful driver. So I can't complain. I was somewhat skeptical about this TV's quality at it's price point considering it's boast of 120hz and the first day after unpacking it my wife was certain it was going back to the store. The picture quality out of the box is TERRIBLE. There is high pixelization even around mouths of people talking and when the action speeds up it is almost unwatchable. The first thing I did was pull out the "Digital Video Essentials" (DVE) DVD and tune/adjust the settings of the TV. Just shutting off the sharpness all the way was a tremendous help. I am not sure what they were thinking at the factory but, What a difference - Once tuned this TV is simply awesome for the money. If you don't own a copy of DVE or similar tuning package, it is a must have and will step you thru tuning your HDTV to the best possible picture. Once tuned you will love the "True HD channels" (we have Dish and use a ViP922) and when you change to the standard definition channels you will wonder why they all haven't started offering HD yet! SD is watchable on this TV and much better than many others I have seen of this size (55" 60hz) but I now look for alternative programs to watch on a HD channel before resorting to a SD channel. The one thing I REALLY dislike about this TV is the remote control. While I use the Dish remote for on/off and sound, you have to use the Element remote for tuning and I find that the buttons do not like to work and at times had to press buttons from different angles and squeeze them with all the pressure I could muster to get them to work and many times the menu timed out while trying to get buttons to work. If you are going to rely on this remote as your main remote, don't. This one thing brought the meets expectations down to 4 stars. The sound is not terrible. Compared to my 36" CRT "Old Fashioned" TV is is comparable. But since I use a Dolby/DTS Home Theater system this wasn't important to me. I give the sound 3 stars for average. Different parts of the paperwork refer to the enclosed registration card, there wasn't one with my set. 01/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best tv I don't understand why some people rated this bad. We love it, it replaced a plasma and is better than a led we have. We are very happy w/this and the picture is so crisp. for the money it is such a great buy and we are very happy with it. 11/28/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 Service is non existent TV arrived in an undamaged box, but the screen has defects. After a month of calling for service, noone has called or contacted me to fix it. I guess it will go back to Walmart. It would be a nice TV if it were repaired, but apparently Element doesnt care about customer service. 01/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by For the money it can't be beat!! I have 4 high def tv's. A samsung, an auria, an apex and a polaroid led. I bought this tv with the bundle package so I ended paying just a little over 700 bucks for the tv. Everything came within the delivery date time. The products were packaged nicely. Definetely have two people put it together for I accidently let it fall foward. The picture takes quite some time to get it the way you want it. I unlike some other views, left it on med 120hz and dnr on med. You need to watch the tv about 8 feet away to truely appreciate this tv. Any closer you will see pixels. From the right distance the picture is very nice. The sound is adequate but I'm going to hook it up to surround sound so it doesn't matter. One thing I found is that the backround doesn't have the blacks that my samsung has. So this tv fits right in the middle of all the tv's I own. For the price it can't be beat. I bought the 2 year warranty just in case but so far so good. Anything happens I'll leave another feedback.So if you are real picky about the bells and whistles ,you can go spend more and get another tv but for what I'm using it for it's perfect. I'm not a rep of any kind. I just wanted to leave an honest review. Any questions just ask. Thanks 02/10/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Element 55" tv bundle Arrived only partially functional. Terrible picture and sound. Bundled with a RCA surround sound package.... also was terrible. My OEM car stereo sounds better... Returning everything to WalMart.com... was very easy to do so..no hassle whatsoever..... 05/16/2011
1-30 of 552 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew149
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp