See All Reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 103 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by plug and play--just add water very simple to use! and contrary to urban myth, this oven cooks with a heating element (not a lightbulb). both the cookies and cupcakes come out...ummm...much flatter and smaller than pictured (see my pics). cookie batter mostly just stuck to fingers; cupcakes were much simpler to make and fun to decorate. oh, and be sure not to cook them in the cupcake papers (per fine print on directions), which are 3 times larger than the cupcakes anyway. a nice feature would have been a timer on the oven, so be sure to borrow mom's. 08/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great toy for kids (and sometimes adults ;) ) I got a chance to play with this oven and it was a lot of fun. I'm glad they have updated it and it no longer uses a light bulb, which gives some more authenticity to the whole experience. It's pretty neat to see a young kid able to make some tiny cookies and cupcakes all on their own. I was impressed that they were making something as fancy as red velvet cupcakes! The one downside to the whole experience was that they don't give you that much mix, but it's easy enough to buy more. I see that you can buy a mix to make pizza which looks great! 08/25/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy as pie I've always wanted an easy bake over so I loved getting to try this out with my son. The box came with everything we needed (except water) for fun in 30min. Basically we opened the box, plugged the oven in to preheat for 20min and then mixed the batter and were ready to put the cookies in the oven when the oven was ready. The instructions were very clear with visuals and text . We did end up needing to add both more water (to the mix) and more time (3- 5min) to the cooking time. My son enjoyed the mixing portion more than the cooking because one you put the cookies in the oven you can't really watch anything (kind of uneventful). My only complaint was that each ingredient pack doesn't really come with that much batter making it hard for a younger child to use without spilling. I didn't think the actual cookies tasted that great, but my son didn't seem to mind at all. super easy and fun product to use, however it may get expensive buying all the mixes. if you think you'll use it often, look to buy in bulk. happy cooking! 08/16/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I think I enjoyed making the cookies and cupcakes as much as my 3 and 8 year old nieces. I was so excited to try it because I never had one as a kid. The girls loved being able to basically cook from start to finish. They loved pouring the water, mixing the batter, setting the dough on the baking sheets and loved that they were able to put the sheets in the oven and take them out without having to worry that they were going to burn themselves as long as they did it correctly. When we bake with a real oven they aren't allowed anywhere near it so this was a huge plus for them. This oven came with two packets one for chocolate chip cookies and one for red velvet cupcakes complete with simple direct instructions. We wished it would have come with a couple more packets like the pizza mix but it was fun anyway. The cookies and cupcakes came out pretty good. We knew we weren't expecting gourmet baked goods so for what it was it good enough for them. Their only complaint was that the mixes made too little of an amount but they sure enjoyed eating the finished product. Buying extra mixes would be great for a rainy day or for a nice evening at home. 08/24/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Brought back childhood memories My daughter was so excited when I brought her the Easy Bake oven. She had to try it immediately! The directions were very easy and by the time she prepared the cookie dough and pressed it into the pan the 20 minutes required to preheat the oven was there. It would have been nice to have a little window on the oven that allows you to watch the baking action. A cooking timer would also be a good addition. Either way my daughter was pleased and very proud to have the family try her baked goods. The baked goods are so-so and the refills are really expensive for the amount that you get, but as a child I remember using regular baking mixes and they worked just as well. 08/25/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointing toy I remember the Easy Bake oven from my childhood in the early 70's and how exciting it was to make my own mini cake. My daughter (10 years old) was just as excited even though she has made real cakes and cupcakes before. Unfortunately the oven was a disappointment to both of us. The oven itself was ok. I liked the curved design and the pink/purple colors. The baking trays are tiny and feel cheap. The cupcake tin makes cupcakes the size of two quarters stacked on top of each other. In the same amount of baking time we could have made real cupcakes. 08/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lots of fun! As a lifelong Easy Bake Oven Fan (I still have the cupcake pan from when I was seven!), I was so excited to hear that the Easy Bake Ultimate Oven had come out, especially since it has its own heating element, like a real oven, so no more light bulbs. The Easy Bake Ultimate Oven is geared for tween girls and has a purple, modern design that my pre-teen daughters loved. They don't use the real oven by themselves yet, so they really enjoyed having the chance to cook all by themselves. It comes with mixes for red velvet cupcakes (with frosting and sprinkles) and chocolate chip cookies. Those two treats are my girls' favorites, so they were a big hit here. A couple of new things that the Easy Bake Ultimate Oven has is a larger cooking area inside of the oven and larger baking pans -- a six count cupcake pan (vs. four for the older models) and bigger rectangular pan, too. My girls could pretty much handle everything themselves, with the illustrated instructions guiding them along. They mixed up the cake batter and put it in the cupcakes liners (included) and then baked them. They watched the clock so that the cupcakes would be cooked just right. They had fun frosting them and putting the sprinkles on, and really had fun eating them! Another new addition with the Easy Bake Ultimate Oven are the savory snacks, like pizza and pretzels. I really liked that they offer those mixes since it gives some extra variety, in addition to the sweets. Hasbro has also come up with some other cute ideas, like the chocolate and cinnamon sugar Dippers or the adorable Checker Cake. 11/07/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Short but Fun Experience So my 7-year old boy loved the idea of cooking cookies and cupcakes with dad. Stirring up the mixes and waiting for the results was a joy to watch him learn how to bake. However a window & timer would be two features that would be a nice features to add to create a better experience. The value could have been stronger with more mixes included. At this point I may just buy real brownie mix and cook with our real oven versus buying more of the small mixes that didn't really make much & or taste all that great. 08/23/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall, it met my expectations. It was really easy to mix the batter and begin cooking the cupcakes, but that is all it has to offer. You only get 2 samples, so once they are done in about 1 hour, the easy bake oven will just sit there. You will need to purchase more batter and since it only can cook a very small amount, you will have to purchase the easy-bake products. My daughter really enjoyed it and it is very safe to use. It does get warm on the outside of the oven but not blistering hot, so virtually safe. 08/17/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what I remember as a kid! When I was younger I had an easy-bake oven - so when I saw this I thought 'my daughter has to have this - I loved using mine as a kid' ... well, I guess with all the new safty hazards and requirements times have changed this oven from many years ago! Not only are the cookies and cupcakes the teeny-est tiny-est baked goods I had ever seen they are not so easy for a kid to make. Because the portion is so tiny you are mixing such a tiny amount of water to the mix you need every spec to put in the tinware ...such a pain - I had to do it all - it was too ackward for my child to manipulate such a tiny amount of batter into the tin. Also - I made the mistake of placing the cupcake tray into the oven without the tray and what a mess - it got stuck in the oven - I could not get it out - there was batter all over the inside but you can not open the oven! I am sorry I even got this for my daughter - better off baking with the real stuff and a real oven!!! 02/24/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Over priced for the size of the final product. My 7yr. old daughter was excited to get this oven for Christmas. After recieving it I realised that the oven does not open from the front as I expected, instead you have to enter the bakepans through a small slot on the top side of the oven and take it out through a small slot on the other side. The bake pans are smaller than the palm of my hand and the cakes and cookie that it bakes are the size of my fingernail. For the size and price of the oven one would expect treats that are much bigger than doll size, and you cannot use any other baking products other than what is made specifically for the ovens. I think it is over priced and was really disappointed. I returned it to the store and bought her something else that can bake real treats that are at least a full bite. Save your time and money folks, its really not worth the hassle. 02/01/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Granddaughter gift She loves it and of course she has to have some supervision but she likes it and hope I can get her a cooking gene from Nana going! 09/11/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by horrible the pans are too small, the oven does not cook well. the cake mix is too expensive. the oven was too expensive and it is not worth the price 06/07/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by EASY BAKE = NO BAKE "Santa" left this for my daughter on Christmas. We have tried it two times with NO success at all. It will not bake the red velvet cupcakes or brownies with any success ... even after leaving them in the oven for hours. We are so disappointed especially my daughter. I would not recommend this product AT ALL and plan to return Santa's gift to Wal-Mart. 01/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bought this for my Granddaughter. She loves it 12/23/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by It"s OK for little girls maybe between 5 to 8 years old, but for a 9 year old, she found that the cupcakes and cakes were way too small too spend the time making. My 5 and 6 year old granddaughters both like it, but the 9 year old did not. 01/10/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by The "Easy Bake Oven" is not user friendly. There is no way to clean the oven because it does not open up. This is a waste of money and I had to get a refund because it is not worth it and it does not bake as describe. One thing I will give a five to is Walmart because I was able to get a refund without a problem. 01/11/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by TERRIBLE The product is terrible. Cupcakes are the size of a dime. A child cannot work with items that small. They burnt. Oven smelled like burn. Not fun. 01/07/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Useless for 8 yr old Would work for a preschooler, but not my 2nd grader who has experience baking with a big girl oven with realistic-sized bakeware. 01/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bought as a Christmas gift for my granddaughter. Seemed to be more "kid friendly"han the old Easy Bake Oven. 12/19/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Underwhelmed My 9 yr old daughter got this for Christmas. Thank goodness I got a killer deal on it on Black Friday ($35 online) because it sure it not worth $50 in my book! It came with three mixes. The portions / baking pans are TINY. The heating lamp is so small, nothing ever "bakes" evenly or fully. It looks like a bunch of mush. We need to double the baking time on the instructions, and at times, it works better to just put it in our toaster oven to finish baking! Granted, my daughter still enjoys the "toy" and has fun baking, but I definitely think the product is overrated and overpriced. 01/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by My experience with online Walmart purchases The product was 100%, delivered in 100% condition and 100% satisfied my expectations. Would I purchase from Walmart online again, probably. I would, however, have it delivered to my home direct as the experience with the pickup of the product was anything but acceptable. 01/06/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad replacement for tried and true EASY BAKE OVEN The ultimate EB oven without the light bulb needs to go back to the drawing board . It does not cook completely with the time advised. You can not see the food while it is baking , which would at least add a little fun to the process. Gone are the round cake pans that at least allowed your little one to make a baby size little cake that you could frost or make two layers if you so desired .They have been replaced by so called cupcake pans that can only make tiny flat nickle size cake coins. I bought one for my grand daughter who is 8yrs old. Needless to say she was so disappointed with these non snacks. I have returned it and have found the older light bulb classic model which works very well . I know that the 100watt bulbs are getting very hard to find but the easy bake people need to revamp this current model . Maybe furnish the bulb with the oven and sell replacement bulbs. It is useless for a child 8 or over as it is now. As far as safety goes any plug in toy should be used only with adult supervision. 12/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought this gift for my granddaughter and she is using it and loving every minute of it. Worth the price. 12/27/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by POOR,POOR,POOR DESIGN What a disappointment. Uses a tiny tray you have to slide in a tiny slot...being sure not to overfill for tiny cookies A terrible disappointment...shameful. 12/23/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nothing beats a real oven I think this product is made for an older child to use independently. The cupcakes are the only thing we tried so far and everything is tiny that for small hands it is difficult to scoop and release cupcakes once baking is finished. Younger kids definitely are more at ease with being able to spread icing on a bigger cupcake. We haven't baked a cake in the cake pan, but I am sure that this will be an easier less disheartening treat to decorate once my 6 year old is ready to play with it again. Product seemed to work fine. 12/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great gift Excellent gift for my daughter. Wish they would sell mixtures though. 12/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My granddaughters loved their EBOs!!! 12/13/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by I was not satified with this product. I was expecting an microwave oven. I was expecting an oven with a door that open and a light in it so we could enjoy watching the items baking. What ever happen to the old "Susie Baker". 01/12/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Peanut Allergy I bought this oven for my daughters, 6 & 4. They were so excited. Until we got out the packets to cook and ALL of them say they contain peanuts. CHEESE PIZZA!! Every recipe, that was available at the 3 Wal-marts I shop at, had a peanut warning on them. This information would have been more helpful on the actual oven, because I never would have bought it. I was going to keep it for my 4 yr old to do since she is not allergic, but the chocolate dipper recipe we tried, was supposed to bake in 9 mins...after 27 minutes and lots of smoke...we gave up and returned it. :( Very disappointing!! 01/04/2012
1-30 of 90 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew388
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp