See All Reviews
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 47 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the Apple of vaccum cleaners Arrived quickly, got it out of the box and quickly sucked up plenty of dog hair. No bag changing and easy to empty. Relatively quiet. Does not leave the dirty bag smell other vacs have. This is the Apple of vacumm cleaners. 05/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by so far so good I've only had the chance to use this a few times but I have been amazed with how much "stuff" it gets! I'm especially impressed by the tools. I have had an Oreck, that I really liked that I stupidly traded with my parents for their Hoover Windtunnel. What I loved about the Oreck was the lightness and the handheld canister. What I liked about the Windtunnel was the ability to suck it all up, but the tools were terrible! So far the Animal has been great! I can use it to get the ceilings, the baseboards and of course the floor! We do have a thick carpet in the basement and I can't say that I'm in love with the Animal's abilities with that but with rest of it, so far so good! 09/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by How did I ever live without it? I have always owned a bulky upright, and now I have this incredible Dyson Animal Canister Vacuum that is the best cleaning product that I have ever bought in the fight against dust and pet hair. And now I wonder how did I ever live without it. The extensions that come with this product are better than any that I have ever used on another vacuum cleaner and they are specialized for specific tasks of vacuuming dust and animal hair and dander. I love the canister that opens up with a press of a button, and with the no loss suction, nothing gets away from this beautiful machine. 08/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by you will not be disappointed worth every penny . i have a dog that sheds terrible all year round , i thought i would never be able to have a area rug on my hard wood floors . with this machine it is possible to maintain it . the dog is even allowed to lay on it .. because clean up will be simple . the only minor down fall is that the machine needs to be cleaned out and checked for blockages often or the trigger head does not work properly !! ....... totally lives up to the name dyson !! 10/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome machine Works just as good as everyone describes a Dyson would work. 10/08/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by LIKE THIS MACHINE! This machine has great suction. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I really think it needs a better attachment for floors without carpet. I like to vacuum those type of floors with an attachment with some type of a brush on it so the dust and crumbs get picked up good. 10/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it...it's so light yet powerful At first, I was surprised. This vacuum is super light yet very powerful. I was used to my old Hoover that is so heavy and really was a workout. The thing I hated so much on my old machine was that I had to go outside and hand clean the filter even in the middle of winter. If I didn't do this, my vacuum would not have suction power. I had to do this at least 7 to 8 times before I was done vacuuming. NOT NO MORE !!! My DC39 is excellent. 09/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent my fantom canister vac wore out after 18 years so I liked the looks of the dyson and got the canister ,its great ,light weight with much more power than my fantom that i loved ,hope it lasts as long ..... 09/17/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great little machine. As an owner of two long-hair cats I decided to research this and eventually purchase the DC39 Animal. After using this vac over the past month, I offer the following positives: Incredibly easy to assemble out of the box and parts interchange easily for daily use. Lightweight machine travels easily as you clean. Suction is very good. Having rheumatoid arthritis and osteoarthritis of the thumb joint, this machine is a dream to manage. I highly recommend for anyone with autoimmune problems. The telescoping wand is perfect for my height of 5'8". The main floor attachment has a pivoting ball that awesomely allows me to get into tight and narrow spots which alleviates me having to move furniture as frequently. Only a couple of minor negatives: I would like to see the same ball design in the smaller head attachment for more flexibility. The machine on the first few weeks of use had a slight burning odor but it seems to be dissipating a bit. I was a little disappointed in the size of the crevice tool / brush combo tool in that for the price, I felt the machine should come with full size components; however, those tools must be purchased separately. Aside from my minor little issues I am really pleased with the overall functionality of the machine. Now, if I can only get Mr. Dyson to come up with a thumb joint replacement using this technology, we'd really be in business. Thanks Mr. Dyson and team! You've done good and I no longer dread the task of vacuuming because of health constraints. 08/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vaccuum Heaven The dread of vacuuming is gone! Just love my Dyson DC39 Animal canister vac. It is just EASY - and I really appreciate EASY after 50 years of housecleaning! It took me a few sessions to get used to the sweeper head that turns and swivels around chair legs and into corners, etc. but now it is a snap. Using the well designed features (wand extension, tool carrier, sweeper head removal/change, dirt canister emptying, etc. is all so EASY I feel like I died and went to cleaning heaven. It doesn't take up much space and I have grown fond of it's space age look! Thank you Dyson! 08/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is by far the best vacuum cleamer, and dog groomer I have ever used,I have 14 long hair, black and choc. labs, I own a stud service and I spend alot of time making sure my babies look there best,the DC39 Animal, cuts my time in half, love it 08/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Vacuum My kids bought this for me as a gift. I was a little reluctant at first to use it, because it seemed like it didn't weigh enough. One usage was all it took to find out how much power it has. This is the coolest light weight vacuum, especially if you have hairy pets. I would highly recommend this to anyone who has arthritis, and can't tote the heavier machines around. 07/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the Money You don't realize how dusty your home is until you vacuum with the DC39 Animal! The suction is extremely powerful, and our medium pile carpets were noticeably cleaner, smelled better, as the Dyson vacuumed tons of pet hair. I love the design of this vacuum--every part clicks and locks into place, and so easy to use. It's also quieter than other vacuums, sounds like a high-powered blender or juicer. There are numerous vacuum cleaners out there on the market that claim to have the same cleaning and suction ability as the D39 Animal, but the design and craftsmanship stands out from the rest. All I see with the other lesser priced models are bulky plastic and unwieldy vacuum cleaners. You really get what you pay for, when comparing the Dyson to the rest. We are very happy with our purchase and recommend it highly. 07/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST PURCHASE EVER! My husband bought me this vacuum a couple of weeks ago. Each time I use it I thank him! We have 2 dogs that shed extremely bad and we live in the middle of the desert. Between the dog hair and the dust I cannot keep my house clean. This vacuum has made my life so much easier. With a push of a button you go from hardwood to carpet (bedroom and office are still carpeted) and it cleans the floors so well that it actually feels like you've mopped the floor. I have always wanted a Dyson but just couldn't get myself to spend the money but believe me this is well worth the money spent! I would highly recommend to anyone! I wanted a canister and it maneuvers so easily I still cannot get over it. Thank you Dyson!!!! 07/08/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works well Overall I'm happy with the machine. It's lightweight and easy to carry but has good suction. Carpet boost works well on the area rugs I have. Pieces connect easily and are easy to remove and adjust. Couple of improvements I'd recommend: Wish the hose could extend out a little further so I don't have to bend as much (and I'm short). Would like the on off switch to be heavier duty so it could be switched on /off with your feet. 06/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great vacuum for any chore I read a lot of reviews trying to deside what type of vacuum to buy. Went to alot of stores to try them out and this is the one I chose. I must say I am not disapointed. The suction power on it is outstanding so great that when I vacuum my rugs that it would pull them along until I realized theres a trger button on the handle that will release some of the suction and still does a great job. I also use it on my tile floors still works great. Vacuumed my intake ac vent on ceiling did a great job.Only wish the wand would extend a little longer because of valted ceiling. Then I decided to vacuum out my car with it. You can detatch the handle and add an attachment and its just like the one at the car wash if not better. Gets under the bed and stands. Really I can't say enough about this vacuum. Cord also retracts very well into ball. Push the button and it goes right in. It is very easy to handle and clean with. It just follows you along wherever you go. Leaves my carpet looking brand new. Ok I really hope this helps when your reading reviews. 06/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Vacuum ever!!! I thought long and hard before starting my research for info on a new vacuum. I had wanted a Dyson for quite some time. The $$$ was the only thing standing between us. I finally gave in and bought the DC39 Animal. I've never been happier with a machine! It has surpassed my expectations! I will never have another in my lifetime. This one is so lightweight and manuvers well. The cord is a more than suffecient length. It picks up pet hair like you wouldn't believe. I can't say enough about my new Dyson. I love it and would recommend it for anyone! Thank you Dyson! 06/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by very happy so far Just started using it and very happy. Had a meile canister and this DC39 picks up more,it is a bit louder but that might be the tradeoff. The only thing so far is the handle length , it would be nice just a bit longer. 06/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!! This machine is great!! I honestly believe it would suck the paint right off the wall! It is so easy to operate. I absolutely LOVE it!! 06/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a Animal DC39 - Best Vacuum This by far the BEST Vacuum I've ever owed.!! The suction is totally amazing! Gets dirt out and even the smallest of particales embedded in carpet. I used the Allergy tool for my mattress and could NOT believe all the dirt & stuff I got out of our mattress!! It made a believer of me.. The ease of the canister & little weight is amazing. Convenience of attachments makes my vacuuming a quick & easy job, just click on & go. Vacuumed our truck and got lots of dirt..the suction is amazing.. Best Vacuum ever! Way to Go Dyson DC39 Animal Canister..!! Happy G-ma...makes my life easier!! 06/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by DC 39 Animal Great purchase to replace any standard bag-type vacuum. No annoying noises or odors emitting from the vacuum which bag-types generally incur. Ease of upkeep is a definite plus. First Dyson product and very pleased with purchase. 06/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Works Great For A Long Time This is our second Dyson. Our first, we bought in Japan 9 years ago, still works great which we still use since it's too good to let go. So you ask why we bought our second? Dyson we bought in Japan works on 100 volts 50/60 Hz. We had to get a voltage transformer when we moved back to the States as we all know it is 120 60 Hz here. Our machine can handle both 50 and 60 Hz so there was no problem when we were stationed in Stuttgart, Germany, where they have 220 volt 50 Hz, the transformer did the rest. The only problem was, we had to carry around our voltage transformer into every room we were cleaning, which sometimes become a burden. Our friend has an upright style "Animal" which is a technology not available at the time we bought our first. We do have a cat as part of our family and he travels every where we go. Our first Dyson worked for us for over 9 years (without any cost on bags or filters) and we got our money's worth PLUS the creation of the BALL lets us move more freely. We thought it was a good time to invest our money into our second Dyson when we moved back to the States. A week later we got our new Dyson and we love it. I do have one request for the company and that is for Dyson to have models available in100-220v 50/60 Hz (like most computers and some stereos have) for people like us in the military who travel around the world. 05/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Second Dyson Better Than The First About 10 years ago I bought my first Dyson & loved it!! I didn't necessarily need a new one, but I now have pets and wanted to upgrade to an Animal version of the Dyson. I chose the canister hesitantly because I remembered how difficult it was to vaccum with the old canister vacs. Guess what?! This is an amazing, light weight, and easily portable canister vac. I love it more than my upright! It is a bit difficult to get used to on a rug, but I've only had it for 3 weeks. I highly recommend Dyson to anyone looking to trade in their old vacs, it is well worth the money. 05/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love love love my new Dyson canister! Waited 2 years and saved for it. Great suction power, light, portable, easy to mover around. Only suggestion would be power switch on handle of pole instead of canister. Also a better way to have attachments with you. The conflict would be on such a great small and powerful machine where could you put them. Maybe suggest a type of bag to keep together? 05/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Home to a lab, chessie, and 1 kitty. I owned an older Dyson, and was pleased with it, but felt it was time for upgrade. After reading numerous reviews, including Comsumer Reports, i purchased this machine. I was skeptical of the smaller floor brush compared to my older Dyson, boy was I wrong. This vacuum picks up everything and easier to maneuver. Love it! thank you Dyson 05/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dyson Vacuum is EPIC ! I got my Dyson DC39 mainly to clean under the beds and behind the furniture. I have no kids, however i have 2 dogs, and this Vacuum has made my cleaning soo much easier . Florida soil is all sand, so when i moved the beds i had Mountains of sand ,spider webs, and dog hair , i turned on my Dyson and WOW , it started sucking the sand and everything else from 10 inches away . I definitely Recommend this or any DYSON vacuum as im sure they are just as Awesome as my DC39 ANIMAL..... Thank you DYSON . 05/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My 1st Dyson This is my first Dyson and I am very impressed. It is also my first canister vac. My house has two levels of carpet and one of wood flooring. I also have a shedding Chocolate Lab. The Dyson has incredible suction. At times the head can momentarily get stuck to the hardwood floor. It pulls in dog hair from a couple of inches away. It is really easy to transition between floor types by pressing the button on the top of the handle. I really like the turbine head and attachment. They spin using air, so there are not belts to stretch and replace. The head is also very slim, so it goes under furniture without the need to use attachments. I am very satisfied with the canister. The unit feels lighter than the advertised weight. It is really easy to clean stair with the telescoping handle and turbine head. I have to clean half the stairs form the bottom and the other half from the top. I have read about the ball taking a tumble down the steps. Hasn't happened, yet. It rolls so easily I could see it happening. The canister takes up more room in storage than an upright. Overall, I would highly recommend. 05/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great machine I have been waiting to buy a Dyson for a while, but preferred a canister. When I saw the DC39 Animal I took a chance. We really love this vac. It picks up a ton of dirt and is quiet, very well designed and engineered. I had read that the lack of a motor in the brush head was an issue for some, but the brush spins very well and has not been an issue. The fact that there is no motor in the brush head makes it very light and east to maneuver. Exactly what we were looking for. Everything about the vac appears to be well thought out. 05/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by DC39 Animal OK after two years of trying to decide on the upright or canister.. I am so glad I waited for this new model.. It will pull the nails out of your floor. Great product.. Love it.. 05/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great vacuum-Thanks! I LOVE my new DC39! The suction is the strongest of any vacuum I've ever used .I especially like the weight of the vacuum-my 84 year old mother uses it also, and it is so easy to bring up and down the stairs because of the low weight. It would be even better if the cord was longer. Thank you, Dyson, for this great vacuum!! 05/23/2012
1-30 of 45 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw267
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp