Dreamgirls Soundtrack

  • Share this:
Share with a friend
Sign into your email account to send this page to a friend:
Outlook or Apple Mail
or other default program
Walmart Gift Card
Put the fun of shopping in their hands with Walmart Gift Cards! Ship to Home or Send via email.

Dreamgirls Soundtrack

Buy from Walmart

Shipping & Pickup
List Price: $10.98
You Save: $1.98 (18%)

In stock for:

  • Also in stores
  • Store information not available.

 Buy from Marketplace

Shipping & Additional Information

Track Listings

1. Listen Move - Jennifer Hudson/Beyonce Knowles/Anika Noni Rose
2. Listen Fake Your Way To The Top - Jennifer Hudson/Beyonce Knowles/Eddie Murphy/Rory O'Malley/Anika Noni Rose/Anne Warren
3. Listen Cadillac Car - Laura Bell Bundy/Jennifer Hudson/Beyonce Knowles/Eddie Murphy/Rory O'Malley/Anika Noni Rose/Anne Warren
4. Listen Steppin' To The Bad Side - Hinton Battle/Jamie Foxx/Jennifer Hudson/Beyonce Knowles/Eddie Murphy/Keith Robinson/Anika Noni Rose
5. Listen Love You I Do - Jennifer Hudson
6. Listen I Want You Baby - Jennifer Hudson/Beyonce Knowles/Eddie Murphy/Anika Noni Rose
7. Listen Family - Jamie Foxx/Jennifer Hudson/Beyonce Knowles/Keith Robinson/Anika Noni Rose
8. Listen Dreamgirls - Jennifer Hudson/Beyonce Knowles/Anika Noni Rose
9. Listen It's All Over - Jamie Foxx/Jennifer Hudson/Beyonce Knowles/Sharon Leal/Keith Robinson/Anika Noni Rose
10. Listen And I Am Telling You I'm Not Going - Jennifer Hudson
11. Listen When I First Saw You - Jamie Foxx
12. Listen Patience - Eddie Murphy/Keith Robinson/Anika Noni Rose
13. Listen I Am Changing - Jennifer Hudson
14. Listen I Meant You No Harm/Jimmy's Rap - Eddie Murphy
15. Listen One Night Only - Jennifer Hudson
16. Listen One Night Only (Disco) - Beyonce Knowles/Sharon Leal/Anika Noni Rose
17. Listen Listen - Beyonce Knowles
18. Listen Hard To Say Goodbye - Beyonce Knowles/Sharon Leal/Anika Noni Rose
19. Listen Dreamgirls (Finale) - Jennifer Hudson/Beyonce Knowles/Sharon Leal/Anika Noni Rose
20. Listen When I First Saw You (Duet) - Jamie Foxx/Beyonce Knowles

About the Album

When Dreamgirls became the most successful musical of the 1981-1982 Broadway season, composer Henry Krieger and lyricist Tom Eyen's score was not the primary reason most observers pointed to, opting instead first for director/choreographer Michael Bennett's imaginative, non-stop staging and second for the talented cast, led by Jennifer Hudson in the role of Effie Melody White. (In the plot's fictionalized retelling of the story of Motown Records and the rise of the Supremes, Effie is the Florence Ballard character, shunted aside by manipulative record company president Curtis Taylor, Jr. (read: Berry Gordy, Jr.) in favor of the bland Deena Jones (read: Diana Ross), who he thinks is more likely to reach a crossover audience.) Krieger and Eyen did succeed in providing a showcase for Holliday in the volcanic torch song "And I Am Telling You I'm Not Going," which topped the R&B charts and made the original Broadway cast album a gold record (a rarity for show music LPs by 1982), but on the whole their score struggled to achieve its twin goals of shadowing actual Motown and other pop music of the '60s and early '70s, while also expressing plot and character points. Twenty-five years later, the score has been reshaped for a movie version of Dreamgirls. On this 20-track soundtrack album (there is also a 36-track deluxe edition), even less of an attempt has been made at fidelity to the sounds of the '60s; in these new arrangements, the songs, which always had elements of early '80s Adult Contemporary styles, lean even more toward American Idol power ballad territory. Ironically, Dreamgirls, which on-stage was sort of an anti-star vehicle driven by the injustice against Effie and her subsequent revenge, has been partially transformed into a star vehicle for other characters. One of those characters is Deena, here played, even more ironically, by Beyonce Knowles who is, arguably, the Diana Ross of her times in more ways than one. (Destiny's Child, her former group, also had its share of controversy and personnel changes, with attendant lawsuits.) Not surprisingly, Deena Jones is softened in the movie and given a new solo song, "Listen," co-written by Knowles. That the song is out of character for Deena and defies the logic of the plot doesn't seem to matter; Knowles must have a showcase, and this is it. Similarly, Eddie Murphy, as James Thunder Early, a James Brown-like singer unable to smooth his rough edges sufficiently to cross over, also gets an out-of-character number, "Patience," which improbably bids to transform Early into a kind of Marvin Gaye figure. Again, the plot suffers, but a star is accommodated. (The one other major star in the film, Jamie Foxx, having already won an Academy Award for Ray, doesn't seem to have felt the need to turn Curtis into a good guy with a big solo number. Instead, he revels in his villainy, all but twirling a mustache on occasion.) Neither "Listen" nor "Patience" is really a bad song, however, and both are competently sung. Both were composed by Krieger with new lyricists, along with a third new song, "Love You I Do." (Eyen has died in the interim.) The real problem is that they take some focus away from the show and film's real star, Effie, here played by Jennifer Hudson. Hudson is an American Idol runner-up, but that should not be held against her. In fact, she's a major talent, and she dominates the musical and dramatic proceedings exactly the way Effie is supposed to, not only on "And I Am Telling You
Artist: Various Artists
Studio Label: CD
Edited: No
Format: CD
Enhanced: No
Number of Discs: 1
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 0.23
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 0.39 x 4.25 x 5.25
UPC: 0082876889532

Customer Product Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5★ by 11reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5★ by Love it The music on this cd is wonderful. I listen to it all the time. 01/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5★ by Great Music This CD is a must have for every music lover. It is from beginning to end a great work. You'll sing loud in the car, and dance around in your home. You must get this CD, it is one of my most favorites ever. 10/26/2009
Rated 5 out of 5★ by loved it If yu enjoyed the movie then you will truly enjoy this soundtrack. it has every song from the movie so that is great! 02/01/2008
Rated 5 out of 5★ by Excellent Music Love the CD. Great Music!!! Everyone needs this CD in their collection. 12/05/2007
Rated 5 out of 5★ by American Dreamgirls Beautiful. Perfect. Will get the extended version. 08/24/2007
See All Reviews

Gifting Plans

Financing Offers

Make the most of your shopping experience with the Walmart® MasterCard® or Walmart Credit Card.

Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today.*

*Offer subject to credit approval

Learn More or Apply Now

Dreamgirls Soundtrack
Dreamgirls Soundtrack from  

Enter your email address below. (Don't worry, we won't
use it for anything else.)