See All Reviews
Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 49 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Typical game. Nothing special I've played Diablo 1 & 2, big fan of both. This one, ehh not so much. Although I did put in about a total of 125 hours of gameplay(so it was worth the cost of $60). Downfalls: *They turned this into an online game only. Not only do I have to have a stable connection (which shouldn't be hard in this era). The same is for the games servers, which, by all means are down or laggy a lot. Upon attempting to log in the game you have a 70% chance to get hit with a servers are full or busy message and instead of a queue to log you in. You are simply disconnected. Which can lead anywhere from 1 more attempt to 100 more attempts to log-in (no sarcasm). So, it's an online game, right? There are no incentives to playing with others. In fact, it's quite the opposite. Monsters health pools increase by 125% per extra player in your game and monster damage increased 30% per extra player in the game. Which leads to everyone being 1 shot by anything and everything. So, it's online ONLY but to actually get anywhere in the game you need to play by yourself. *Hacks, Bots, Dupes already flood this game. A day before the Real Money!!! Auction House came out some people found an exploit in which they auction house ran off your computers clock time. After someone bid on your items you were selling, you could turn back your computers system clock and cancel your auction and keep the bidder's gold. Thousands lost everything, thousands gained everything. Everything is inflated in value because Chinese gold farming bots are overrunning the game. In defense of Blizzard, they did a ban wave a couple days ago of thousands of accounts. But, alas, the damage has already been done. *Pay-to-win game. There is no end game, there is no grinding out levels or even a shred of hope to find better gear for yourself. They have tuned the drop rates so low and made the affixes on items so absurd that you are forced to use the auction house. Guess what? with all the hacks, bots, and exploits any good items are in the auction for $250 usd. Woohoo! So, if you have the cash to blow you can steamroll through the game. But once you beat the game, there is absolutely nothing to do except wonder why you just spent even more money to have nothing to do. *Blizzard dropped the ball, severely disappointed - Too many bugs, too many glitches, emergency maintenance, laggy, no class balance, no monster balance. TL;DR This game was in development for 6 years, beta for 1 year. Upon release everything is still broken and doesn't work. Yeah I played a lot of this game for 2 weeks. It's worth $60, but it IS NOT worthy of a BLIZZARD title. 06/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wait till they get their servers fixed You would think that after having an extensive Beta test, they would have their servers running for the opening day. the servers were doing good for the first 10 hours but then they came crashing down. you can not play this game without their servers. you have to be authenticated through their servers, even for solo games.. if you don't have an internet connection you should NOT buy this game. First time they were down they said 1 hour that turned into 3 hours.. but less than an hour later they were down again. If i had to do it over again, i'd wait a week or 2 or 3 before buying this game, hopefully they'll have their servers straightened out by then. 05/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Better Description of the Game The "item description" of this game is poorly written and makes little sense. Feel free to use the following instead. Diablo III is an action role-playing game set in a dark fantasy universe. It's the long-awaited sequel to Diablo II and Diablo. Players can play as one of five characters: Witch Doctor, Barbarian, Wizard, Monk, and Demon Hunter. There are male and female versions of all characters. Players will go on various quests and fight a variety of enemies in order to earn treasure and better gear. The game is both single-player and multi-player, and players can sell or buy items via an auction house. 05/11/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed The things that made D2 great and versatile were the runes, skills and attributes. The ability to adjust stats have been automated with aka runes and gear. You can no longer use a mercenary in a public game. The ability to rush a friend is no longer a option. The gathering places to level are gone. You can't just jump to a act boss and magic find. These things made the game enjoyable. The items and text have become small and hard on the eyes. Why couldn't they keep the old school interface with upgraded graphics? So disappointed. 05/27/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Same ole Same ole Have been a fan of the series since the 1st one, got this one right away. It's OK, fun enough to play and gorgeous to look at, but: The DRM/online-play-only thing SUX. Way to be paranoid, and make us paranoid cause your servers go down every 3 minutes. Also: There really is not ANYTHING new here in terms of gameplay, honestly, it is not nearly as original as #1 was. And the big one: The game on normal is SHORT. I work full time as a middle aged Dad and am beating this in my spare time with little trouble, and my 16 year old was done before the packaging hit the floor. It has replay value, the classes are cool and every single level, every single time, INCLUDING when you continue a level CAUSE THE SERVERS WENT DOWN AGAIN, regenerates fresh. But those are some big knocks, above. I'd wait a few months till this thing hits $25, which is going to be about 90 days after WOM gets out. 06/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointed I don't even know where to start. Everything that made Diablo a great game has been stripped out. People keep saying, it will get better with patches and expansions, but I don't see it. Its a non subscription human version of WOW. This game should not be allowed to have the name Diablo at all. 06/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome game This is such a fantastic franchise. If you like slash em up horde RPG's, VERY in depth item collection/development, and gore, this is a must have! The character development seems a little less involved than D2 but in many ways better as you can change around your skill points I think. The game is VERY in depth. I can see many many hours to complete, and the replay value in this franchise is like WOW. I've seen friends play WOW and D2 for several years continuously. 05/15/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Game Ever Save your money. No loot drops, no skill customization, bad storyline, and worse customer service. Development team is waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay to focused on making you buy items on the "real money auction house" that they are ignoring all game play issues if it doesn't affect it. Check out the forums for yourself before purchasing, literally thousands of players left 2 days ago when they removed all drops from vases, environment items, and made monsters drop less. It's all in the patch updates. Oh, and my favorite quote from the developers is "players will no longer get drops from monsters if they are replaying the same levels"..... where is the re-playability in that????? It's worse than Duke Nukem Forever ... yes it is possible and they did it. Save your money. 06/21/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by I waited 20 years for this I did not realize that this is only an online game. Your subjected to Servers being down. The game so far has much better graphic and similar story line. 05/31/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Doesn't deserve its title. If you're looking for an epic dungeon crawler that gives you those same great feelings that Diablo II was able to accomplish then look elsewhere. This game is a disgrace. The fun you have slaying demons is far outweighed by all the imbalances, cheesy story, linear game play, having to be online to play (even on single player), horrible lag. I could go on, but if you haven't bought it already your money would be better spent on something / anything else. I beat this game with a wizard and a barbarian. the only reason i did it twice was because i was hoping to find the fun that i expected from a game with the title of Diablo III. I can't express how terribly disappointed i was with this game. If you're a young child who has never played Diablo or Diablo II and you like epic cheesyness then you might like this game. For the love of anything save your money! 07/12/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't buy Here I sit, on a nice day off. Spend a little time playing a single player game I think to myself. No says Blizzard we can't keep our servers up. Luck me for spending $60 on a game that I can play less than half the time I try to. Such joy. Seriously though, DON'T waste your money here. Wait till the price drops to at least less than $20. Servers are so rough, even a couple months after release and several patches later, that you can hardly play. 06/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bought this as a Father's Day gift for my husband. Warning, can be very addictive, but he is extremely happy with the game. 07/02/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not up to expectations but a good game. I have owned and played the entire Diablo series. I held out buying a new gaming laptop in anticipation of this game. Quite frankly, I was a bit hesitant to buy it based on the early reviews. Diablo 1 was a great game. The follow-up, Diablo 2, now 10 years old, was an instant iconic game in it's category. Diablo 3 had mighty big shoes to fill, so, it's no wonder that many fans are so critical of the latest rendition. After buying my new laptop and then taking the leap and buying this game I can say that although it doesn't fully meet my expectations, I'm glad that I bought it. The graphics in the game are beautiful. I read some other reviews that said it wasn't as dark as Diablo 2... I don't see it that way. To me it is dark when it is appropriate to be so. The characters, which are all new except the Barbarian, are fresh and fun... but I have to admit that I miss building my character to be my own (allocating points earned to abilities and spells). This brings up a point about the gameplay in general... it has been simplified, or dummied down, from Diablo 2. There are enough hints from continuity glitches to indicate that the team that started creating this game, the team responsible for Diablo 2, is not the team that finished it... it feels a little like World of Warcraft in many instances. Blizzard has been putting out patches which do improve gameplay. Eventually it may near expectation. For someone not familiar with the series, this game will not disappoint. It is beautiful and will provide hours of fun. For fans of the series, once they get past the initial disappointment they will find that, although this game doesn't meet their expectations, it is a good game none the less. 08/23/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This game was ok. But for $60.00 it should take longer than 18 hours to beat it. The 2nd one took longer. 06/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Epic Failure i think that this game is an epic let down and was not anything like 1 or 2 they took away the freedom to pick your skills and stats so every player is vertually the same. and they destroyed runes what a let down. 05/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Old Diablo fan I am not pleased with the internet conection but the game is great, but needs a little more in the line of docs. 05/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent upgrade from Diablo II Played Diablo II for 10 years off and on. Waited to get Diablo III because of all the initial negative reviews. Finally got it a few weeks ago and really enjoy the graphics, the way the characters skills with weapons look on screen, the fact that you don't have to specify a weapon type (sword, axe, etc) but can interchange and still be successful. Like being able to switch out runes and not be locked into one playing type. Just finished Act III with Barbarian and am looking forward to playing the other characters as well. Spent $42 which was well worth the money. No trouble that the game is only online. Haven't bothered with the real money auction since it will be taken down in a few months. Buy it...you won't regret the purchase if you were a DII fanatic. 11/01/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by basically - only change is graphics It was a waste of money. The game, in essence, has not changed, so unless you are looking for an update on graphics there is no need to buy it. Got it for my 19 year old grandson and he was totally disappointed with it. He loved the last one and couldn't wait for this one to come out only to find out that basically the only change was the graphics. He was looking for a more challenging game than the last one and this one didn't deliver. 05/23/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by severe limitations are not mentioned on the box The game is a starter edition and you have to pay $40 dollars online to upgrade to a full version. I finished the entire starter version in a few hours. Nowhere on the box does it say it is a starter edition. Also, it is an online play only version. That is also not mentioned on the box either. It does say that an internet connection is required but that is common for registration purposes. I uninstalled it to never play again. 11/29/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Software Was Defective. It wasn't plain at first that the In Store pickup closed after 10pm. I tend to think of Walmart as a 24x7 operation, but in all fairness after reading the confirmation e-mail again I saw that the department closed at 10pm. (Advise: make it very clear in large fonts the hours of operation) When I did get the software the box was sealed but once trying to activate it the software key was already in use. I went to the store with a letter from the Blizzard (developers of Diablo III) and exchanged the software. I called the developers from the store to confirm the software key was not in use, it was. In the end I had to return the product for a refund. I probably won't attempt this method again for software (I likely won't buy software from Walmart again). 07/28/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by D3 a remake If you want to see and play diablo 3. Diablo 2 is virtually identical. Other then graphics upgrades. A few different spells and a different storyline. I found this game to be lame and boring. Beat the entire game in 4 hours. 06/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great game, better than the first 2 installments I bought both Diablo III and Reaper of Souls at the same time and installed it on a PC laptop. While I haven't tried the crusader yet, I have been online and enjoyed game play with friends. The game's story line flows nicely with the original 2 story lines. The game play however has been improved and is a bit easier to use. This is not a boring game by any means, you'll be fighting demons and other creatures from the start. If your a fan of the first two Diablos, then you will like this one as well. 08/18/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by diablo 3 must get If you like the diablo series then this is a must have, even if you never played before . Its easy to learn with all the tips and the quest keeps you going the correct way,just follow the map 06/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 Stars I waited a while before buying game. The negative reviews had me wondering if I was going to buy the game. I bought it a while back and have been very pleased with my purchase. I have logged alot of hours playing. 12/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Props to Blizzard Long time fan of the Diablo series. Played Diablo 2 for many many years. All I have played so far is the starter edition of Diablo 3 and from what I was able to do, which was not much, this is a great game. Would not say it's worth the $60 price tag but still, overall I think they stuck with the story line from D1/D2 very well. My only complaint is Blizzard killed Cain. Going to buy very soon. 12/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Negative review * The system requirements made Diablo 2 short and simplistic. * It had a learning curve and was less forgiving. * It had special levels, skills and stats. * The items in D3 are disappointing in comparisons. This is a Negative review in a positive section. ( Display purpose ) 08/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Even Better Description of the Game The Diablo III PC/Mac Game revolves around an interesting plot which will keep you spell bound. while you are playing. This Strategy Video Game also has some similar setting as the Diablo II like Tristram. The Witch Doctor is a new character in this game, is reminiscent of the Diablo II Necromancer, The Barbarians in this strategy video game have a variety of revamped skills at their disposal on the basis of the use of their incredible physical prowess. Bring home the PC video game to solve the mysteries of the mighty Barbarians. Diablo III PC/Mac Game: The Witch Doctor is a new character reminiscent of the Diablo II Necromancer The Barbarians will have a variety of revamped skills at their disposal based on the use of their incredible physical prowess. 1-on-1' dueling system coming into play. 05/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome game from Blizzard Solid game, action start to end. Similar to all Blizzards game. Top notch. 07/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I was hooked as soon as I started the game!! 06/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by couldn't even get it to load on my computer couldn't get it to download at all keeps saying corrupted disc 05/22/2012
1-30 of 41 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew107
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp