Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 58 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great product if you apply it differently This product has changed my life. I am a woman who has had thinning hair since my mid-20's, and I really just thought I was going to have to live with the stares and comments from strangers for the rest of my life. I discovered DermMatch, and it has honestly given me so, so, so much confidence back. However, I do not apply it the way the instructions suggest. I didn't not like the look, feel, messiness, or dullness of my hair caused by the suggested 'wet application'. If you get a good powder puff from Walmart (the kind you get in a make-up compact with the tight weave - not the big, fluffy kind. I think it was only about $1.50 for a pack of 4), you can actually do a dry application on your hair that looks and feels GREAT with no dullness, no color transfer onto your pillows or clothes, and no heavy feel on your hair. Wash and towel-dry your hair, and pat the dry powder along your scalp through parted sections of your hair. Then brush it through, dry and style as normal. I love it!!!! This is the way it works for me - so much more natural looking, cleaner, and faster to apply. It also makes your DermMatch last longer - I have been using the same container for almost 9 months and still have a good 2 months' worth left. I will say, though, that the color of the medium-brown looks a bit more auburn - it does run a little red. I will be purchasing the dark brown next time. 03/20/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great use for occasional The Dermmatch thin hair concealer does what its supposed to do, make your thinning hair areas seem fuller of hair. It's wonderful if you have a special night of pictures, or events like your high school reunion or wedding day. However, the product does stretch out the truth in some forms. Don't be going into a pool or Jacuzzi thinking it will stay on. You will look like a clown that has paint coming down his face. Its best to use this product if you don't plan on sweating or being around water. If your on a date and expect your partner to run her/his fingers through your hair, then i would advice to go natural. Might just be the deal breaker. I even tried hair drying the concealer after putting it on. This helped a bit but not to the point of it not coming off when in contact with water. So to recap, i love this product. It does well with giving you the impression of a full hair and booster your confidence and happiness. Just use it wisely and keep your head away from water. Hope this helped. 06/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Before & After Pictures I purchased Medium and Dark Browns and mixed colors to match my color treated hair. I gave this 5 stars because I think this product does an excellent job of hiding the scalp. Any better would require actual hair. I'm not convinced it would stay as dark if I went swimming. The color bled once I got it wet in the shower, though it did not come off completely. Disclaimer for the pictures: I have only used this once. I imagine with more practice, I will master the coverage. But overall, this was very easy to apply and it lasted all day without any problems. I read all the negative reviews and don't agree with any of them. 08/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredibly Grateful WOW!! I love this product! This has been literally heaven sent. I'm a 44yr. old woman with thinning hair and this product has literally changed my life. My self-confidence has increased. I'm no longer trying to hide my head from the sun and will now sit in front of the windows with the light shining through. I don't see people staring at my head anymore. It makes my hair feel and look thicker, and hides my scalp. This product does not flake off onto my clothes nor does it sweat off when I'm at the gym. It's on until I shampoo it off! DermMatch, you are literally an answer to my prayers. I also recommended your product to my friend. She loves it, too! Thank you so much. Your product has changed my life! 03/05/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dermmatch med brown This is an excellent product. It uses water for application and my hair was so flat I wasn't sure I liked it. Then I began blow drying my hair after application and dried it thoroughly. IT LOOKS GREAT! 05/31/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Now ordering for my hair stylist to evaluate I ordered this product 5 months ago when I decided to change my hair style for a very special occasion. I wanted to have bangs again but I was very nervous because I knew that whenever I had bangs, the hair on the top of my head looked thinner and my scalp showed. I color my hair med brown but the color doesn't last long on my scalp. I took a chance on this product and have been using it ever since. I wash my hair, blow it dry, apply dermmatch where my white scalp really shows and then lightly blow my scalp dry with the hair dryer. Then I apply a little extra each day when I am getting ready to go out (only if needed) before my next hair wash. I LOVE this product! After 5 months of use I don't think I have even used 1/4 of it. It might even last me over 2 years. Wow was it worth the money! PS. After demonstrating the product to my hair stylist, she asked me if I could order the dark brown for her own personal use. She has tried other products and now wants to try this one. 12/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Definitely Worth Trying!!! I LOVE this product and am so glad that I found it! I have always had fine, thinner hair, but over the last few years the hair at the top of my head has thinned out even more and is very embarrassing (especially since I'm only 31!) This product is so easy to use, and covers my scalp very well. The instructions say to coat the roots of your hair as well for extra fullness, but I found that doing so did cause my hair to look a little dull in color, so now I use a rat tail comb to go section by section and only apply the product to my scalp with the sponge applicator. I've messed around with several of the color options, and was excited to color my hair reddish again and still be able to cover my scalp. However, the red was a bit bright and didn't blend in with the hair color I had used, so I had to blend it with the medium brown. But all in all, GREAT PRODUCT!! I have used it for well over a year and will continue to use it for years to come! 05/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Concealer for Hair Loss! I like this product much better than the 'shake on' type of hair loss coverage products. Don't get me wrong, the shake-on goes on faster, but is so costly! It takes a little longer to apply Dermatch, but it doesn't move or flake off. It's so much cheaper, too, lasting about 6 months or more, whereas the shake-on is very expensive and disappears fast. You're terrified of spilling the precious small amount you get with Fusion or Toppix. AND the applicator I bought for the Fusion constantly got clogged up. It was a major pain...Thus Dermatch became my new solution. It's great with mild to moderate thinning before having to move on to a wiglet or wig--- or a toupee. Just plan on an extra 5 or 10 minutes to apply. I put it on dry with dry hair because I don't like the 'feel' of the wet application. But Try both applications and then you decide. 11/03/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by So disappointed! Having just suffered thru some major hairloss due to radiation from cancer and subsequant damage to my thyroid, I was eager to find a hair filler product that would cover my loss until my hair came back. I had tried another product, a fiber-type power, and loved the results. However, I read some positive reviews about this product and thought I'd give it a try as well. Couldn't have been more disappointed. It's a sponge on color for the scalp...it doesn't boost your existing hair, only covers the white of your scalp with its odd color. This product can not be applied properly without someone's help. I attempted to use it myself twice, only to find huge white spots I missed on the back of my head. I ultimately returned the product. Sorry, this did not work as promised. 01/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by restored my self confidence!! this product works wonders!! my thinning hair is no longer a source of embarrassment...my scalp is completely covered and it even makes my hair fuller and thicker without any additional styling products. 01/21/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not waterproof..... As soon as I started to perspire...it came off 08/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great idea but lots of work Nice idea, works good but I use caboki (powder) after for touch up. Takes long time to do it. 12/07/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed I've tried the shake-on fibers and had hoped this would be different. It claims to not clump like the fibers but it does when there is moisture such as sweating. It's embarrassing and makes it look like a person has dark scabs on their scalp. I've also tried eye shadow on my scalp which isn't as easy to apply but works better, lasts longer and is much cheaper. I don't recommend this product. 07/07/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not What I Expected This product is just OK! I expected it to dry to a point where it would not run or rub off after it dried. that has not been the case with me. i applied as directed, and the coverage is good, but it is not a good hold. it could be my body chemistry, because i have read other really good reviews about DermMatch. at least if you get it and it isn't what you expected, you can always return it. i ordered it through Walmart. 06/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by If you have thin or thinning hair, and are distressed because your scalp shows through, this is the product for you. It's better than any other remedy I have tried, and always gives good results. 02/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by works great, but DOES come off without shampoo It works great to hide thin spots, but you need to sleep with a towel or something to protect your pillowcase from a noticeable dark stain in a couple of days. It also claims to only come off with shampoo--it comes off if it gets wet...at least in the shower--I haven't tried it in a pool yet. I'm not sure I ever will. Other than these downfalls, it is a great product for what it's worth. If you can put up with the above few things, "try it...you'll like it!". 08/17/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Color Not Identified Correctly I bought this "medium brown" to use. I've never used this type of product, so didn't know what to expect. To my surprise it was easy to apply, and it stayed pretty well. I had let my roots go a little too long, and since I dye my hair medium brown, I thought this might help stretch my coloring. It seemed to do the trick, unless you looked closely. Because this color is not really medium brown. It's a reddish light-medium brown. Definitely reddish. You might even call it auburn. And it was a tad too light, although my hair is definitely medium, not dark, brown. So I didn't recommend this product, but that was because I don't think you should get it, if you need medium brown. Because this is NOT medium brown. This seems to be a good product, though, in other respects. I'm going to try the dark brown, and see how that goes. I also think it's a little pricey, for what it is (all these sorts of things seem to be pricey) (I mean, it's basically thick eye shadow that sticks, right?). But for the price, at least you DO get a lot, that I would think would last for a long while. I'll try the darker color & rate that. Other than the color, I think this would work for what I wanted it for. 02/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does exactly what it says! I found this product easy to use. The product covers my thinning scalp perfectly and makes the hair seem a little thicker. I haven't tried it swimming yet, but I have a feeling it will stay on very well. Washes out easily and does not stain my pillow. Next best thing to a hair transplant! I used the Medium Brown and my hair is a light brown but it is a perfect color for me. I would recommend this product to anyone. And although the price seemed a little high, it looks as if it will last me almost a year. You need very little to do the job. 03/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by cheaper, less messy than the expensive spray! very good price for this product. but it certainly does the trick in covering thin areas. much cheaper, much less messier than the expensive spray brand. much less cleaning to do in bathroom. i'm thrilled i found this product. 10/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this product! I just spent the last week going to the beach, swimming in the ocean and my shiny scalp didn't blind anyone! I ended up buying the light, medium and dark brown color ... The dark brown is what ended up working for me. I highlight my hair a lot so I sure didn't think that would be the color for me, I would have considered my natural color to be more of a medium brown. Regardless, I would recommend this to any woman with female pattern baldness. 08/01/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by NEEDS IMPROVEMENT IT DID ADD VOLUME AND HIDE THIN SPOTS BUT IT MADE MY HAIR LOOK DULL AND FEEL AWFUL 11/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I could never do without this product I have been using it for years and it works wonderful. It will last me a year, so it's a great value 04/14/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by DISAPPOINTED W/ DermMatch-Instant Concealer Is unfortunate to say that I am extremely disappointed by this product. Primarily because it causes immense itchiness. I stop using it and the itchiness disappeared. It can be that the produce has an ingredient which is produces an allergic reaction. In addition it takes a long time to apply. EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED WITH DermMatch - Instant Concealer for Thin Hair 12/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It completely covers gray hair It completely covers gray hair I can even part my hair without any gray or scalp showing. However like someone else commented on her review It doesn’t make your hair strands any thicker; it really just made to cover missing hair on the scalp and completely turns my grays brown. Before using this product I used a good eye shadow which isn’t much different with the exception of this product being in a big tube and having huge applicators. The trick with this product and eye shadow is to wet the applicator, I have also used baby wipes or damp paper towels successfully. If you need your hair strands thicker you can try mascara, however the mascara’s round applicator can get a little tangled in your hair, I always try to find the comb tip which is becoming impossible to find in mascara. 06/13/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product USED IT FOR ABOUT A YEAR; IT SEEMS TO BE THE BEST ON THE MARKET FOR THE PRICE WITHOUT GOING TO A PROFESSIONAL. 02/23/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product has saved my life! I would be wearing a wig or hiding in the house otherwise! 01/31/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for covering roots and scalp Great for masking thinning hair and covering roots in between coloring, and for the latter much less gunky and easier to apply than the crayons and brush-colors. My scalp is a bit sensitive to it, but my scalp is sensitive to everything, so I try not to use it too often, which is fine because it's a bit expensive. The first times I used it, I may have used too much, because it left a matte look that didn't match with the shine of the hair lower down, but it seemed fine as I learned to use it. 07/06/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by DermMatch - A Fairly Helpful Product I like DermMatch about the same as I do Joan Rivers' Great Hair Day and it seems as effective for my thinning, fine-hair situation. DermMatch may be slightly better for my cow-lick problem in the back crown area. The medium brown is a touch on the red side. In any case, it's wonderful to have reasonably priced products that address this specific problem, and Wal-Mart's price is the best of all. Thank you, Wal-Mart! 01/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have only used it 3-4 times but so far I am pleased. 09/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful product I was very skeptical of this product but I was willing to try anything to try to cover my thin spot in the front of my hair. I applied this product after washing my hair and I absoulutely could not believe the results when it dried. My hair looked full and no more thinning spot that was so noticable before. I would highly recommend this product. 07/23/2010
1-30 of 55 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw247
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp