See All Reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 by 160 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by I just bought this bike rack today. Very easy to install (however, I have a rear spoiler, but seems to be working great), It secured my bike safely to the car. I tested it out by going over bumps and making tight turns (with my bike attached) to see if it would shift. Didn't move at all. The real test is when I take it on one of my trips out of state. So far, it seems to be doing what it was made for. I hope this review helps others make their decision when thinking about buying a bike rack for themselves. 09/20/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by great for single bike, difficult with 2 I highly recommend you tie a loop behind the buckles with the straps, after installation and tightening. This is good practice with all cycle tie downs, but necessary here because the buckles are low quality. There are only 4 straps, not six like on bike-shop models. You must check for strap tightness to be safe. You must also use bungee cords or rope to secure the wheels from spinning or turning (they will wear bearings out or scuff the car by the tires. This product works, but take note. A higher quality 2 bike carrier will likely cost $59-150. If you have bikes with unusual configurations (no normal top tube), they may not work well or at all on this bike. If your bike is worth $500, you use it frequently with 2 bikes or you can not tolerate scuffs on your trunk, do not use this product, buy a hitch rack or roof rack (100-1000$) I used this product last weekend to carry a full suspension race bike and a girls frame mountain bike. It took some work and was inconvenient, but the product was satisfactory. For a single bike this product is very satisfactory for the price. You can add a 3/8 screw with eye hole to your trunk somewhere for a place to lock bikes/rack to, if you don't mind drilling a permanent hole. I am replacing the factory straps with ratchet tie-down straps around the entire deck lid, because my car is old and I don't think it will scuff the edges of deck lid any more than the factory hooks. 10/21/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little rack It took me forever to figure it out the first time but after that, I can put it on in a minute. Fast, secure, attractive, great product for great price. I'm very happy with my purchase. Just remember that the frame must be in the LOCK position on your trunk or it will scratch your car. 12/01/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by OK Although you cannot leave this mounted on your car because it can easily be stolen since the straps don't go into the hood, I payed a great price for it and it works well. 07/25/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by definitely worth the cost Although I have only used this product once, I found that it was easy to install and worked great. It held two mountain bikes on the back of my Toyota Camry securely even when driving high speeds on the interstate and taking multiple turns through rural roads. 08/15/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great value I purchased this rack to carry 2 bikes on a vacation from Ohio to South Carolina. Once I figured out the best way to situate the bikes, it kept them secure for the entire trip. It came completely assembled and is easily installed. I have 2 heavier steel frame bikes and they were held in place even through the curves and mountains of West Virginia. The straps need to be tightened when you stop at a rest area, but other than that it is a great product for a low price. It fit our small SUV with a hatchback nicely. 07/04/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not recommended The rack is very hard to get tight, secure, and stable. I feel like I constantly have to watch the bikes while I'm driving and it is quite nerve wracking. On the third use, the slot that holds the velcro straps around the bike frames broke. We are returning it and going to try the Allen brand rack. 07/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike rack We bought the 3 carrier version of this rack on Sunday after the Allen one collapsed and ruined our two bikes. I personally install this bike rack on my car in less than 5 minutes. It is also sturdy with the 2003 Taurus that we hook it up to, but of course I cannot speak for other models. Great product, would definitely buy again, and would definitely recommend this over the Allen rack 100%. 06/28/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not stable enough! This bike carrier would work fine if it had hooks, and straps running from side to side to secure it from swaying on curvy roads with two bikes, even at low speeds. These straps need to be added to the product. The carrier has been returned. 08/23/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 Good cheap carrier For the low price, it meets or exceeds my expectations. I just needed something simple to get to local parks and such, with 2 bikes. One side latch does not lock properly, but I chose to ignore this because when the carrier is open and mounted on the trunk the latch doesn't really matter. I'd buy the same model to replace this one when/if needed. 09/15/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 Easy to use bike rack! This bike rack is great! I haven't tried to mount 2 bikes yet, but it works fabulously with my 97 Camry and my ladies Schwinn. It is extremely fast and easy to mount on my car, and my bike doesn't rattle at all when I drive. The product also folds nicely and is easy to store in my trunk....I love it! 08/23/2007
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth the hassle! My husband and I purchased this bike rack about 2 years ago for our two mountain bikes, and let me tell you we ABSOLUTELY DREAD putting this bike rack on the car. The whole task takes us about a half an hour, and thats just putting the bikes on the rack. When we are finished we are to exhausted to even ride the bikes. It's put scratches on both of our cars spoilers. However, on a positive note, the bikes have never fallen off the car, nor has it broken. But I wouldn't buy this product again. 12/17/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by A piece of junk! I bought this product a couple of days ago and I installed it to my car. I tried to put 2 bikes on it and I couldn't. The 2 bikes touched and scratched each other. There is no protection. I just returned to a WalMart store. We got a full refund, no question asked! Not recommended to anyone! 07/19/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Maybe it's me but... I simply could not figure out how to put this on my car. I had 3 different people try to help me with it and after much frustration and many scratches to the trunk of my car, no one seemed to be able to figure it out. The instructions are practically useless. I returned it and got another one, thinking maybe it was defective but the second one is no different than the first. I cannot get the supports for the bike to stay up. If I'm doing something wrong, maybe someone who has had better luck with this can help me. 05/04/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bike Carrier Installs/uninstalls quick and easy. Light weight for easy handling and is easy to store in a compact car trunk. 08/18/2007
Rated 1 out of 5 by our bikes did not fit the frame, and the weight of two bikes bent the trunk so it doesn't close and open properly than it did before we put it on the car. 08/30/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Have a RAV 4 SUV (Tire on Back) This was simple to set up and I only had to carry one bike on it, but for the price it cannot be beat. It was easy to put on and take off. It says not for rear wheel SUV's... SUGGESTION: I bought rachet straps or also known as locking straps and I looped one end through bike frame and then through rear tire, so that bike was not falling off NO MATTER WHAT. GREAT BUY!!!!!! 06/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great buy and easy to use It's very easy to use. But my first time using it took a while to figure out how to use it, as the instruction and picture guide are not simple and clear. 10/10/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great bike accessory! This is my second bike rack from Bell, and is identical to my first one. The only negative thing about it and is the reason I had to buy another one, is that the rubber holders for the bike have worn out, from high usage and from exposure to the hot sun. Otherwise, I LOVE this product!! It was very easy to install, took only 5 minutes, and fits on the trunk of my little Honda Civic well. The bike easily fits onto the rack and I have transported two bikes, both with old fashioned, big handle bars, in the past. Going at high speeds on the interstate is "iffy". I have only done this twice and found that I had to slow down a little to prevent the bike from wobbling, but I carry it almost every day with me, on state highways and city streets to bike at every opportunity! I would HIGHLY recommend this product. 10/11/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great deal! annoying to take on and off every time i want to use it for fear of it getting stolen. wish it would attach inside trunk somehow. but other than that works well. took it on a 12 hour trip and had no issues. happy overall. 04/18/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Does the job. I have only used it with one bike on it at a time, but it seems sturdy enough. I have used it on both a sedan and an SUV and it was not too difficult to install (especially if you read the instructions as you do it the first time or two). 08/22/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sturdy and Dependable I've only used this carrier to transport one bike, but it's performed very well. This product may feel overwhelming at first because of all the straps, but it really becomes easy to use. The hooks are covered with plastic so that they don't damage your paint. After traveling 300 miles on the highway with this, I found no structural damage to my car and no damage to the bike either. Properly tied down, the carrier barely budges while on the road. Great product! 08/06/2007
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible excuse for a bike rack This is the worse bike rack ever we purchased this as our first bike rack the rack was so aggrevating to put on the car after getting it on u didnt even feel like putting a bike up there it was so unsturdy we quickly returned it and bought the allen 2 car bike rack for 39.99 it is 10 times easier to put on and way more sturdy dont advise this one even for one bike the bell company shouldnt even sell this !! 09/24/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by good choice Great product. Easily attached and the padding was more than adequate to protect the car. Definitely would recommend for carrying two bikes. 05/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fits the car snugly, took it for a three hour trip on the car and had no problems. I feel this was a very good purchase for the money. 01/08/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice But... I think there should be better images on the manual. Also there is no image of a bike on the rack to see what it should look like. Works great and a good price. Not too hard to setup.. Also get a 6 foot lock to secure the bike. 10/29/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Broke After First Use The "buckle" that the bike top tube is strapped down with broke after the first use. Returned item. 08/03/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very adaptable bike rack This bike rack seems very sturdy and adaptable to many vehicle types. I have made it work on the rear-mounted spare tire of our RV, a van and a small car. For the spare tire mount, I used two additional adjustable straps from the bike carrier to the bumper attachments from the RV frame to keep it centered on the spare tire. It works great and was a LOT less expensive than the racks made especially for spare tires (which also cannot be used on any other vehicles). 03/26/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by its ok for short distances its ok .... it workes fine but here are some things to think about. : the bike holder hands slide , the straps always need to be adj. , and i wouldnt feel safe taking it on another long ride with out stopping all the time, and also there is no lock on it so anyone could just un do the straps and walk off with it. .. but for 40 bucks its not bad or heavy .... if u wanna just drive to the park to use it.... also home depot sells things that can be used to lock it. 11/04/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bell's poor quality control The design is OK but I spent a half hour bending the metal slots that allow the arm that holds the bike to get the arm to lock into the frame. It got the bike home. Otherwise it's junk. 07/31/2008
1-30 of 134 total reviews
2 3 4 5 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew92
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp