Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 324 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Compact Refrigerator I spent hours researching ALL brands and features on compact refrigerators. This one is trully the best. It is quiet, very cold and energy effecient. Has all of the best features- no frost, lighted interior and energy star certfified. Lots of room for drinks and overfill from our main refrigerator and extremely stylish!! I highly recommend this unit. 10/10/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by Danby 4.4 mini fridge Bought this fridge for a kegerator. Holds 2 5 gal corney kegs just right. Looks great and so far has maintained a constant temp. Would recommend this mini fridge for anything cold. 09/16/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kegerator I converted this little guy into a kegerator for 2 5 gallon corny kegs. It didn't take much in the way of extra work, and the fridge holds a good temp, all you beer enthusiasts out there who want a good kegerator for low cost, go for broke. 07/09/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Attractive but disappointing This little fridge looks good and works well. With that said, there are some issues. The "large bottle" door pocket doesn't hold wine bottles - for that I had to remove the lower shelf, giving up storage space. Some reviewers complained of dents and surface damage. Mine had none of those. Some said the door fell off the first time they opened it; so did mine. Some complained that the light switch was broken; so was mine. I am far from any authorized service center and the switch is easy to replace, so I called Danby to get a new part. The lady on the phone seemed quite helpful, but said the part is on backorder so I might not see it for at least 3-4 weeks. That time isn't up yet, so I'm waiting to see. The Danby customer service line is odd; let it ring a million times before giving up and hanging up. The issues together with the relatively high price diminish perceived value. 04/08/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes a decent kegerator conversion Like some others, I bought this refrigerator specifically to convert to a kegerator. It works well for that. There are no coolant lines in the top, and I was able to drill a 3 inch hole straight through (you can't do it in the center of the top, though, without moving the light/thermostat unit; I drilled mine off to one side, which worked out well for my setup). I also took off the drink holders inside the door and cut out just the outer edge of that section to use to hold the door gasket on (hard to explain but you can see when you look at it what needs to be done). Two things to note. You may be able to get two corny kegs in this thing, but you cannot get two 5.16's. Just one. I have one 5.16 and a 5 pound CO2 canister in mine. The other thing, these units cycle through a fairly wide temp range. Pretty much no matter how low your turn it, it cycles back up to around 41 degrees before coming back on. I bought an external digital temp control unit (a Johnson, very common), turned the fridge to full on, and now the external unit controls the cycles. Very easy to do, and now the range is much narrower. I can get consistent pours of 38 degrees 24 hours a day. One final note -- adding a fan and tubing to blow up into the tower really does make a huge difference. A cheap mod you can easily do yourself. Now I have a really good beer tap system. Cheers! 07/13/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by broke within 3 weeks This refrigerator stopped working within 3 weeks. I did not have transportation to return it to Walmart, so I opted to have someone come out to fix it. Two months later and it's still not fixed. The contractors Danby referred me to to fix it tell me that Danby is a terrible company and they no longer fix Danby refrigerators. Finally I found a company that would come out, but they can't get the replacement part from Danby. I would advise you to pick any other manufacturer. I will never buy a Danby product again. 08/16/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Product is good for the price, used site to store for free shipping, product came in with a dent on the back corner. I keeped the product because I didn't want to wait for a new one to come in and the dent was on the back side. This one holds alot of stuff without that mini freezer, over two 30 packs and more. Great for your mancave. 05/16/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for a beverage bar I purchased this for placement in my master bathroom beverage bar...for cream for morning coffee and then for wine and beer for the hot tub in the evenings. It is perfect. With no freezer you have plenty of room and the neat built ins for canned beverages and the slot for a wine bottle in the door are a bonus for a frig this size and price. I haven't had it long enough to comment on the durability. My only small issue is that the thermostat control is hard to adjust, but once you get it where you want it you don't have to worry about hitting it and changing it! 04/02/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Frig!! Great refrigerator! I bought it to put beer in and it is perfect. It'll hold over two 30 packs and that's not including the space in the door. Love that it doesn't have the wasted space of the useless tiny freezer compartment. 08/25/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Value I've only had the refrigerator for about two weeks and so far it has worked great for me. It did take about three days to figure out the correct temperature because there is only a small nob, which froze my drinks when I placed it all the way up. It has plenty of space and the movable shelves give me plenty of room for large items. The only thing I've noticed is that there is a small amount of frist on the back side of the fridge, though it doesn't affect the food. I would deffinitely recommend this compact fridge to anyone in a dorm, small apartment, or just anyone looking for a little extra storage. 09/08/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 Great value We needed more refrigerator capacity at our summer place at the beach because we get so many visitors. So far, this item solves the problem perfectly, letting us keep plenty of liquids cold and available while leaving most of the main fridge for food. Unlike some of them, there is no tiny freezer unit, which is fine for us because we didn't need one, and not having a freezer adds to the useful capacity and keeps the noise and energy expense down. Very, very quiet and unobtrusive looking. I rated it only 3* for durability, but that is just because I have only had it for a month--it may run perfectly forever for all I know. Very reasonably priced as well. Highly recommended, although if this were your only refrigerator, you may prefer one with a freezer. 06/19/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Converted to Kegerator The lack of a "freezer" compartment in this unit makes it perfect for converting to a kegerator. And if I were just looking for a mini fridge for beverages, the lack of that compartment would bring me right back to this fridge. Really, about the only purpose of the freezer in a mini fridge is to cause freezer burn on anything you leave in it for more than a day. On the other hand, if you want to freeze things, this little guy will get the job done, and I recommend, should you purchase this, start on the warmer side of the thermostat and slowly increase it until you reach the desired temp, this one is below 32 degrees half way between warm and cold settings. It cooled down to temp very quickly and quietly. I used a temperature gauge to get it dialed in to the correct temp, and as sensitive as the thermostat seems to be to small adjustments, I highly recommend you do the same if exploded soda cans don't interest you. I've only had it for 3 weeks, so I have not rated durability, but it has so far kept my first keg of beer at around 36 degrees, perfectly. I was looking at less expensive units, I'm glad I didn't try the cheaper route, this one is worth the little bit of extra $$. I also must give kudos to Walmart on 2 points. There was no way I could go pick up the fridge, and the shipping charge to my house was VERY reasonable, and the FedEx guy brought it into my house for me. Also, I went back onto the website to show a friend what I had purchased, and noticed the price had dropped a couple weeks after delivery. Walmart refunded the difference promptly. 10/15/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 Door falls off My office purchased this fridge to hold soft drinks etc. We wanted an energy star rated fridge so this fit the bill. The first one we got the door fell off so I sent it back and got another one and the same thing happened - door fell off. We made a "washer" out of cardboard to help elevate the door. We shall see if this works. I am keeping the box in case we have to send back. Walmart is great about returns very easy to do. We will give this one a chance to work with our fix for a day or two if it doesn't work we will get a refund and try another brand. I called the manufacturer to see if there was a fix for the door since this was the second one that fell off and they said no that they weren't aware of any problems with the door. FYI 01/11/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Save energy, downsize your second fridge I bought a Danby 4.4 cu. ft. Energy Star Designer Compact Refrigerator for our second home. Reality. We don't cook there. All the two of us need is a place to keep drinks cold as well as leftover take-out. At energy cost of $34/year (or less depending on your cost/kwh) it pays for itself quickly over using a regular extra fridge (even if that extra fridge got demoted to extra from the house). I got $100 for my 'full' extra fridge, therefore the Danby only 'cost' me the difference. An under a year payback How cool is that. The critical feature of this fridge is that it takes a medium size pizza box, which is what leftovers are normally put in for us when the two of us order a large pizza and only eat half. The fridge: Nice, sturdy and compared to 'green touted' products, is VERY cost effective. Nice feature is the door can be easily changed from right to left open. 12/07/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best compact frig on the market I purchased the Danby Refirgerator to replace my original Danby that just gave up...had my original 10 years on the back patio. It got a ton of use especially during the summer months. Used for drinks mainly...can drinks and adult beverages by the pool!!!! This model is the new version of my old one. Pros - Keeps things very cold!!! It is quiet...makes a little noise but its outstide!!! Lots of shelves and door storage. Cons - None really...only thing is that my old one had a table like surface on the top and this one does not. Certainly should not keep someone from purchasing. Quality is very sound....shipping to your home is quick, inexpensive, and painless!!!! Packaging was very good. Best price anywhere!!! If looking for a compact refrigerator....this is the one!!!! 04/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought this model based on the fact it had no freezer. The extra storage is great. 03/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by After a week... Not sure how good a review can be written after one week of use. I had to get the fridge up three flights of stairs. It survived all the bumps along the way. This was the largest mini-fridge I could find without a freezer. No defrosting! It took a few hours to get everything cooled down but it is quiet and working great so far. 11/11/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great little refrigerator, did have a dent in the casing at the back corner, and had to place a spacer washer under the lower door hindge, as I did not check the door for fit on the unit until it was in operation. I had read previous reviews; and that had been mentioned, so it was my fault not to have accomplished this task. After all it is a long trip over here from China. The refrigerator was packaged very good, it appeared the dent was caused by a forklift piercing the container box. The lower door hindge had been bent down a little, probably from cargo handling to. Over all the refrigerator works very well, and it so nice to have one that has an automatic defrost. 10/28/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cool fridge I did a lot of research before buying this fridge. Danby makes the same model for Whirlpool. I actually liked the Whirlpool model better because it didnt have the can rack in the door. The can rack is what keeps me from giving 5 stars on the features and value. This one is going in the garage to hold water and sport drinks. If I were using it for a beer fridge it still wouldnt be cans so I have no use for a can rack. That kills some prime space on the door. So what I really liked is the space gained by not having a freezer compartment and the extra width. It has a ton of space and doesnt take up too much room. 03/27/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by WARRANTY ISSUES WHILE THE STYLE,FEATURES,DURABILITY AND APPEARANCE ARE GOOD, THE WARRANTY ISSUES ARE BAD. OUR FRIG WILL NOT MAINTAIN UNDER 44 DEGREES AND THIS IS AN ISSUE IN A CLINICAL SETTING, AS WITHIN THERE ARE PRODUCTS USED FOR PATIENTS. I HAVE TRIED TO HAVE THIS FIXED, BUT I CANNOT GET SERVICE TO THIS AREA AS WE ARE TOO FAR, 35 MILES AWAY, AND THAT IS TOO FAR FOR SERVICE TO DRIVE. COME ON..WHAT IS UP WITH THAT! I EVEN HAVE AN EXTENDED WARRANTY THAT I GOT WHEN I REGISTERED ON LINE. DANBY HAS NOT BEEN VERY CUSTOMER FRIENDLY WITH THEIR SERVICE. 09/22/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointed it did not work Sad to say.... the refrigerator did not cool tried all recommendations without success. Sent it back 2 days later and will try again hope next one works customer service was great 07/31/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by quality questionable Door keep falling off when opening or closing the door. Could be a manufacturing defect??? On the better side, quiet operation, great cooling, and attactive design. 11/17/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by Careful of damage This product is perfect for an office - meets everyones needs. It arrived very fast, way ahead of scheduled delivery. You have to attach the door when unpacked, however the bracket had been bent and it took a lot of adjusting to correct this. You would not have known the door bracket was bent until it was on the refrigerator so inspecting the product right out of the box would not have been noticed. 08/08/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by junk got it home it worked for 30 min and quit 06/24/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by need to exchange This was very nice, but it does not work. I need to retun it for another one 09/07/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by First Walmart Online Purchase Received damage refrigerator today. Customer service was wonderful and helping in the return of the refrigerator and with the replacement one on the way. Shipping and the price of refrigerator is excellent. I hope to have better luck with the replacement refrigerator. 08/11/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good fridge nice quiet & cheep 07/17/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Non-functional product We followed the instructions but the refrigerator does not work. Nothing happens - it sits there looking neat and black. To add insult to injury, when I called the company's 800 number, after being told my call was important or some such, there was no tone indicating that my name and phone number were being recorded and I was cut off before I had finished the phone number. When I tried the option for additional help, I was cut off almost immediately. At no point was there contact with a human. So, not only was the product defective, the company's help line was a farce, but a farce that costs me time. I wanted an energy efficient refrigerator - a lot of energy will now be wasted taking it back to the sore - from which it will, presumably, be sent back to Danby. 11/11/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Received & Returned - Big Dent in Front I can't permanently rate this product yet - as I ordered it and when we opened up the box - the front of the refrigerator had a nice sized dent in it.........we returned it. I ordered another one online yesterday (site to store). Hope the second one comes in fine (actually, would love to open it in the store, before I bring it back home and find out it has the same problem). I think that I had read that another reviewer had done that - not a bad idea. I'll post back when we have our new one. 07/28/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by My second one, Cheaper to replace than repair the old one. Newer style of door storage is more ideal. Be sure to check box for damage. Mine had big holes in it but only penatrated the metal and the white foam on the back side. It did not effect the freon lines so I covered it with the energy label. I didn't feel like taking it back to the store and waiting for a replacement. The new finish is a flat black which is easer to clean than the old one. 11/07/2012
1-30 of 280 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew511
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp