Copper River

  • Share this:
Share with a friend
Sign into your email account to send this page to a friend:
Outlook or Apple Mail
or other default program
Walmart Gift Card
Put the fun of shopping in their hands with Walmart Gift Cards! Ship to Home or Send via email.
Advertisement
  • Browse Related Products
  •  
Advertisement

Copper River

Format:  Paperback,

387 pages

Publisher: Pocket Books

Publish Date: Aug 2009

ISBN-13: 9781439157817

ISBN-10: 1439157812

Buy from Walmart

Shipping & Pickup
Online
$10.67

In stock for:

  • Store information not available.

 Buy from Marketplace

Shipping & Additional Information

Book Information

The following content was provided by the publisher.
Two-time Anthony Award-winning author William Kent Krueger has "moved to the head of the crime fiction class" ("Chicago Sun-Times") with his gripping series featuring Sheriff Cork O'Connor. In "Copper River," Cork is running for his life -- and straight into a murderous conspiracy involving teenage runaways.
Desperately avoiding the clutches of professional hit men who have already put a bullet in his leg, Cork finds sanctuary outside the small Michigan town of Bodine. But while he's hiding out in an old resort owned by his cousin Jewell DuBois, a bitter widow with a fourteen-year-old son named Ren, the body of a young girl surfaces along the banks of the Copper River -- and then another teenager vanishes. Instead of thwarting his assassins, Cork focuses on tracking a ring of killers who prey on innocent children -- before anyone else falls victim. But as his deadly followers close in, Cork realizes he's made an error any good man might make -- and it may be his last.

Specifications

Publisher: Pocket Books
Publish Date: Aug 2009
ISBN-13: 9781439157817
ISBN-10: 1439157812
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 387
Shipping Weight (in pounds): 0.74
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 5.5 x 8.25 x 1.0

About the author

Biography of Krueger, William Kent

William Kent Krueger was born in Torrington, Wyoming on November 16, 1950. He attended Stanford University for one year before losing his academic scholarship for participation in a takeover of the president's office in protest of what he saw as the University's complicity in weapons production during the Vietnam War. He wrote short stories and sketches for many years. His first novel, Iron Lake, won the Anthony Award for Best First Novel, the Barry Award for Best First Novel, the Minnesota Book Award, and the Loft-McKnight Fiction Award. He writes the Cork O'Connor series. In 2005 and 2006, he won back-to-back Anthony Awards for best novel.

Reviews

Review by Library Journal (2006-08-01)

On the run from contract killers, ex-sheriff Cork O'Connor (Mercy Falls) hides out at his cousin Jewell's place in Bodine, MI, where she treats his gunshot wound. He cannot stay hidden for long. Someone is murdering area teenagers, and then the father of his nephew's best friend is killed, and Jewell is the prime suspect. Joined by Chicago security consultant Dina Willnert, Cork races to solve these crimes before he is found by the hired killers.

Anthony Award winner Krueger never writes simple plots, instead mixing action and suspense with a thoughtfulness that highlights the underlying motivation. His style and sense of place will appeal to fans of Steve Hamilton and John Sanford. He lives in St. Paul, MN.

(c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Book description

Two-time Anthony Award-winning author William Kent Krueger has "moved to the head of the crime fiction class" ( Chicago Sun-Times) with his gripping series featuring Sheriff Cork O'Connor. In Copper River, Cork is running for his life -- and straight into a murderous conspiracy involving teenage runaways.

Desperately avoiding the clutches of professional hit men who have already put a bullet in his leg, Cork finds sanctuary outside the small Michigan town of Bodine. But while he's hiding out in an old resort owned by his cousin Jewell DuBois, a bitter widow with a fourteen-year-old son named Ren, the body of a young girl surfaces along the banks of the Copper River -- and then another teenager vanishes. Instead of thwarting his assassins, Cork focuses on tracking a ring of killers who prey on innocent children -- before anyone else falls victim. But as his deadly followers close in, Cork realizes he's made an error any good man might make -- and it may be his last.

Customer Product Reviews

 

Gifting Plans

Financing Offers

Enjoy Great Financing!

Make the most of your shopping experience with the Walmart Discover® or Walmart Credit Card.

Save $25 when you open a Walmart® Credit Card and spend $75 today.*

*Offer subject to credit approval

Learn More or Apply Now

No Payments + No Interest if Paid in Full in 6 Months!
Enjoy no payments for 6 months. You'll have 6 months with no payments, and no interest if paid in full within 6 months on orders over $250. Otherwise, interest will be charged from the original date of purchase. Bill Me Later is the quick, easy, secure way to buy online without using your credit card. Simply select Bill Me Later at checkout. Subject to credit approval.

See Terms