Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 167 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by ok if using in cooler weather I bought this for a four day camping trip, and I put things in it frozen and put 2 bags of ice in it also, by the 3rd day the food was still verrrryyyy cold but not frozen, and my ice was 1/4 melted and this was in 56-70 degree days and 36-45 at night. I can't imagine this keeping things cool for 5 days in 90 degree weather like it claims. I bought this because of owning an extreme coleman cooler in the past. But I guess anymore nothing is made like it was in the past. things are made cheap. however i do like the size and the wheels and the pull handle. But I do wish the handles on the side were hinged handles and not these plastic things on the cooler that are more like grip areas. I would and wouldn't recommend this. hot weather no, but cool weather worked for what I needed it to. Thought it would have done better because of the coleman name and it being an extreme. 10/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome cooler This cooler is great! Not only does it have a long handle, wheels and cup holders on the top, but it keeps the ice frozen for a really long time! I absolutely love this product and highly recommend it!! It's well worth the money! 04/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect height for a truck with a bedcover I drive my Silverado SS when I take the family on trips and I wanted the biggest cooler with wheels, that would fit in the back of my truck that has a fiberglass bed cover. This was the biggest and cheapest wheeled cooler that I found that wasn't too tall to interfere with closing the bed cover. I also have a Bedrug and the max height for clearance is around 17.5". If you have a fullsize truck with a bed cover, then I recommend you to look at this cooler. Also. with it being an Xtreme model, it keeps things cooler longer, which is perfect for a long road trip. 07/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Cooler Great cooler. the lid seals very tightly and keeps products cold. 11/10/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great bargain Just needed second cooler for camping. Boys all grown so i wanted something I could fill and manage on my own. Easy to control. Side handles are indented so no worry about falling off. Lid was a little hard to open at first, but then realized I liked that. Lid needs to be secured for ice not to melt. If not, then ice will not last 24 hrs. I love that it drains in the back. Overall, Very happy with this purchase. 06/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice cooler. Very nice cooler. You need to make sure the lid is completly closed in order to longest cooling period out of your ice. Also check the drain plug before buying. I found two coolers were the plugs were ripped off. 06/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Product, Good Value I used this for a holiday party for sodas and beer and as a dry run for camping. It was 75 or so inside where it was stored and it was opened quite a few times. I had a jumbo bag of ice in there and everything stayed nice and cold and got cold quickly. Three days after, there was still ice water inside, though mostly melted -- the top wasn't mindfully closed. 5 days later, the cans and bottles that were still in there were slightly warmer than refrigerator cold and the ice was all water. The lid seems a little stubborn to open but other than that, I love that it rolls and I love that the handles are molded into the body because when you get 50 quarts of anything, you're tempting fate by asking bolt-on plastic handles to help do the hauling. Bottom line about functionality: most likely, you're going to have to replace ice after 4 days unless the lid is rarely opened. I think it's a good deal for the price, mobility and cool factor. Do understand that the wheel base takes up a decent amount of room inside. You don't have the whole rectangle to work with as I thought I might. I do wish it were bigger inside without the wonky wheel hub. 12/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by COOL COOLER Excellent size and shape, holds ice for a very long time in moderate temps- Have yet to see it in action during a Phoenix, Arizona Summer. Handle is a little shaky, especially if cooler if full of ice cold, bottles of beer, which happens to be the case with mine 99% of the time it's being used! Careful not to put too much pressure on it, as it bends a tad. Overall, very happy with the purchase! 02/17/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good cooler, but doesn't do what it says! I bought this cooler to use in my tractor trailer. Being an Over the Road driver, I was compelled to purchase this cooler based on the "Keeps Ice for Five Days in 90 degrees" claim. Well, after using it my first week, I have come to the conclusion that this cooler, in fact, does NOT keep ice for 5 days! As a matter of fact, I filled two plastic cereal containers with water, froze them, and put them in the cooler with some other freezer packs, expecting to make it through the week on those! In normal weather only reaching the mid 70's in daytime and down to 50's and 60's at night here in the northeast, the ice was melted within a day and a half! And I keep my air conditioner in the truck on at all times, so the air was alot cooler than outside! It is a nice cooler, just doesn't do what it says! I am very dissapointed with it in that regard! 09/14/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful. Not many rolling luggage-style coolers available, but of those that are out there, this is the most cheaply made. I own the MaxCold, also by Coleman, which is much better made, but not very cold (ironically, there's not much "max" to that "cold"). Igloo makes one too, which is much sturdier than this one and much colder than the MaxCold. As for this one, it is plenty effective as a cooler, but the handle and the wheels are cheaply made. After the first trip out, the axle of the wheel bent on mine, and now when I pull it, it doesn't want to roll straight. Very frustrating for a cooler that cost more just because of the rolling feature. Blah. Ended up buying the Igloo to replace it, and really wished I'd have bought that one first instead. Coleman, why is half of your stuff really great while the other half is junk? Buying your products is always such a gamble, and I'm getting kinda sick of it. 08/17/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by I bought this cooler for a camping trip. I chose it becuse of this line..."The Coleman Xtreme cooler is built to keep ice for up to five days in 90 degree F weather." That is not true. We put ice in it in the morning and by the time we reached our destination it was already half water. We were gone for 3 days with temps in the low 80's and went through 2 bags of ice. Food wasnt all that cold either. Great price for a large cooler, but not worth it. I want a cooler that REALLY keeps the ice for up tp 5 days. 05/30/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lid hard to open Nice cooler and okay for the money, but it takes both hands to get the lid open--you really have to pull hard to open it. Kind of annoying! 05/16/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by DO NOT BUY....YOU WILL BE SORRY I bought two just before a trip to the mountains, replacing decent coolers that I already had...but, I was convinced that with the 5 day "holding" ice advertisement I thought I was in great shape...kept them in the shade...but in their defense it is August...took 20-30 pound of Ice between the two coolers each day...I was in the Smokey Mountains of N.C. I feel strongly enough with this opinion I have written Coleman...which I believe is or should be a trusted, I read reviews and rarely if ever have a negative response, I would prefer a middle of the road response...this cooler is thumbs down....unless everyone else got a different cooler as in production date I do not know ....but, I will be very guarded on any Coleman purchase until I learn better...if the advertisement on the cooler said fair to decent cooler...I would not taken the time to have written this...but, this says keeps ice for 5 days....maybe dry ice covered with a blanket....K 08/07/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful I was dissappointed after filling this cooler with to the top with ice, most had melted after a day and half. Another draw back is when you extend the handle and begin to pull it, the melted ice water began leaking out the back of the lid because there is no true gasket to prevent the water from leaking out. The lid itself does not seem to be insulated whats so ever which I am sure seems to be a part of why the ice melted so quickly on a 82 degree day. Lastly the drain is in an inconvient spot and is difficult to get your hand into to remove the plug. 07/02/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not quite as represented Product claimed to hold ice for 5 day in 90 degree heat. 3 days was all I could get out of it holding ice in garage in winter 12/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like this product I think that this cooler is a great option for people who use them often. We bought one for ourselves last summer and ordered the exact same one for my father this Christmas! 12/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value Perfect mid-sized cooler. Wal mart price 70% of Amazon com 12/17/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great ice chest for a low price. We already have a couple of these ice chest and they do keep the ice and items cold for days. The rear whells are a great when camping. 12/28/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by 5 day cooler no way 5 hour maybe We purchased this cooler to take on a boat trip for 8 days and returned it as soon as we got back. This cooler is no way a 5 day cooler. I have had regular coolers that keep ice longer than this one. No more Coleman anything for me. Lesson learned. 08/08/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by The WORST cooler ever I thought this was going to be an extreme cooler.. i would have had a better cooler if i would have used a cardboard box! Would not keep ice at all only for one day!! not even close to a five day cooler. and this was for a camping trip in Michigan. 09/03/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the Greatest We left on a road trip Sunday- everything I had in the cooler was previously refrigerated. We had to add ice that evening. It didn't completely melt until Wednesday. We don't have kids- so it wasn't a bunch of kids getting into it. Plus the lid was VERY difficult to open. I read the reviews- and kept seeing that- but figured it was a bunch of pansies. LoL I don't think a small kid could open it and I could barely open it. The handle grips on the front- (to pull open) and the ones on the side are lacking. I know it's a pull along cooler- but there is still some times you need to carry it and there is no real good grip hold. I would not recommend this cooler. Functionality of the cooler itself is ok- but the actual design of it sucks. I wish I would have stayed with an Igloo. 08/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for camping! Kept items ice cold for over four days with out having to add more ice. I highly recommend this ice chest. 07/12/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by I ordered this item from WalMart's website and done site to store shipping. When I got it home and took it out of the box, the handle was broke. I was very disappointed in this and it was too expensive to have a broke handle and wouldn't keep ice 5 days in 90 degree weather either. 05/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great Deal! I am shopping from Costa Rica and relying on "pack mules" (ie. guests), to get these things here! This is my first "big cooler" ever, and it was $20 cheaper than Costco. Who would not be smiling! 05/11/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by bad product i work construction so the idea of a cooler that holds ice for the week was what i wanted i purchased the cooler on tuesday evening around 10 pm i filled itwith my drinks and a large bag of ice with overnight tempsnot excedding 70 and no one opening it but still by 8 am i was opening it for thefirst time and no ice i called the mfg to find out the deal and was told this is made for walmart and walmart cheapened it up with a non insulated lid and to return it to the store they do not back this product 06/24/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great cooler for soccer tournaments and camping I love my inexpensive cooler! We bought this cooler to take along to summer travel soccer games and camping. We were drawn to the wheels and expandable handle on back side, perfect for placing an extra bag or tote on top. The cooler was great!!! The wheels are sturdy and can be used over grass. I liked the placement of the handle which is firmly retractable, not flimsy or loose. The cooler kept ice and food cold longer than any cooler I have had in the past and the water drainage spout is in an ideal location in line with the handle for easy draining. I camped for a weekend and only had to buy one bag of ice. The lid stays on tight. I even dropped the cooler in the garage from it's storage shelf and there was no wear, mark or breakage! I should have gotten two! 08/08/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Does not keep ice frozen for 3 days in lower 80 degree temps. Ok for maybe 1 or 2 day outing to store drinks, but definitely not meat. 08/07/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cooler works Great !!! I am a truck driver and the cooler comes in handy keeping my food cold on the road. It gives me about 4 solid days of coolness. It was a great deal for the money. I am enjoying my purchase. 07/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Practical and handy! Big enough to handle overnight camping, small enough to fit in my SUV trunk. 07/16/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by holds ice, sturdy handle and wheels We bought this to replace an igloo cube that was too tall to fit in the trunk of my new small car. The Coleman holds ice but it was more watered down than the igloo cube after a day at the beach in July. Wheels and handle are sturdy. Fits into small trunk. 07/11/2011
1-30 of 132 total reviews
2 3 4 5 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw191
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp