Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 75 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by These saved my son's playtent!! The poles that came with my son's Discovery Kids Adventure Play Tent were junky plastic and broke after using the tent only a couple of times. Thankfully, these replacement poles were available. Two sets were exactly what I needed to replace the broken poles. These replacement poles are made of MUCH sturdier matierals and I think will last much longer than the original poles did. The replacement poles were pretty easy to put together - the toughest part is getting the elastic string through all the poles. But for these replacement poles, the playtent would have been tossed into the garbage. I am very pleased with this purchase. 06/18/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Misleading Specifications listed as half inch in diameter. This is not true. Poles are only 3/8 diameter. 07/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by More Than Pleased! I bought a used canopy shade tent at a thrift store. When I got it home and started assembling it, I discovered the reason the tent was at the thrift store—one of the poles had broken right next to one of the silver ferrules, and another one was stressed and would probably bust in the future. My good deal wasn't looking so great until I found these replacement poles at Walmart. Compared to other sites, the price couldn't be beat! The new poles were a bit longer than my tent's, but trimmed down nicely with the use of a hacksaw. I got my tent fixed up in no time and am pleased that my used tent purchase remains a great deal! 06/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by tent Pole Kit Same as original equipment. Excellent price. Buy it! 05/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Used the Coleman poles to fix a Ozark tent that had lost poles! These poles were very easy to string and cut to length with a hacksaw. Anybody with a little common sense can figure out how to use these poles! Well worth the money to repair a $150.00 tent. AND if you have to cut them off as I did you can buy the extra ferrells in the stores OR use one of the plastic caps that are included. I even had to drill a hole in the end to accomodate the tent assembly. Very easy!!!! 08/22/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by These poles would have been a great value if they were the actual poles that were described. 0.5" in diameter is a 11mm fiberglass pole and these poles are 9.5mm poles. So if you are looking to replace 11mm poles this is not the product for you. 07/08/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tent poles helpful I got these to construct an ad-hoc tent behind my SUV (for the dogs). They work just fine, though the the instructions didn't say how to use the threading wire and I was unable to figure out how to use it and just threaded the elastic by hand. The instructions are also weak on how to set the poles up for different lengths. For example, which end should be cut, how to prep the poles for elastic threading, etc. So the instructions should be augmented by someone that has actually used the pole kit. But the poles themselves are a good buy. 07/19/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by terrible we ordered 2 of these to replace poles in my sons play tent that were exactly the same size. when we put them in we were impressed by the strength of the product compared to the poles we replaced, however, the next morning we found both the poles snapped directly in the middle. they couldn't take the pressure of being curved (like a tent...) pretty much a waste of money and a huge disappointment. no where near the experience i'd expect from buying a coleman product. 08/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by replacement pole kit Great product. FYI Only 1 pole in package, so if you need more than one, you need to buy several kits. 06/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cheap quick fix! This is wonderful product! We broke a tent pole on our last camping trip. looked at replacing our 3 yr old tent and was looking at least $75 to replace tent. I found this item and for under $10 it was great fix! we did have to cut it to the correct length but it worked wonderful! I would reccommend this to anyone who has a tent. Never know when you may need it and cheap and works! 06/20/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by MOST IMPORTANT ISSUES ADDRESSED HERE In my opinion, there is not enough poles for one whole small tent in this kit. Its like just a "tease." You may have to buy TWO or more of these kits to replace all poles on even a two-man tent. If your tent is Coleman, their customer service should be able to tell you exact pole length, but IF YOUR TENT IS NOT COLEMAN, HERES HOW YOU DETERMINE WHAT YOU'LL NEED: If you do NOT know your tent dimensions: 1. Measure the outside length and width. Using a ruler and sheet of paper, pretend that inches are feet. Count the number of feet for one side and mark the paper. Count the number for the other side and mark the paper. Use a ruler to connect the two marks. Then measure the length of that third side (hypotenuse.) This third side is the SPAN that a single-pole travels. E.G. a 7 x 10 ft tent spans 12 ft 4 in diagonally. (The 4 inches is equivalent to 1/4 inch on the ruler, etc.) 2. Take the SPAN and multiply times 3.1417, then divide by TWO. This is the MINIMUM length the poles need to be. ADD maybe one extra foot beyond that IF the poles land beyond the tent and dont go right into a catch place. YOU CAN ALWAYS TRIM DOWN IF YOU MEASURE TOO MUCH, but not if youre short, but if you use the above guides it will come real close and youll buy just what you need. Of course there are scientific ways to get measurements right on the money, but this method is simple that the average person can handle. IF YOU DO KNOW YOUR TENT DIMENSIONS, THEN SIMPLY GET YOUR CROSS-SPAN FROM STEP ONE AND FOLLOW STEP TWO. CUTTING POLES: 1. BOX-CUTTER: Score the circumfrence of the pole at the desired length with a box-cutter as hard as possible. WEAR LEATHER GLOVES FOR SAFETY. You should then be able to easily break the piece off by hand. 2. METAL-SAW: Wearing leather gloves, remove the blade from a fine-toothed metal saw or just buy a blade. Firmly Score by hand the circumfrence, continually rotating the pole until it breaks through. THE SOFTER YOU PRESS DOWN, THE MORE THE CUT WILL LOOK NICE AND CLEAN, but will take much longer. FINALLY: Tape frayed ends with a couple layers of DUCT TAPE. 12/07/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Can make it work on Ozark We broke a pole on an Ozark tent and I needed two sections and the elastic cord inside. I read the reviews and the Coleman poles are actually smaller and less sturdy than the Ozark. The Coleman elastic cord is shorter than the Ozark, but you can splice it pretty easily. I put two of the repair kits pole sections at the end of the Ozark good ones and there really wasn't a problem. I was surprised that Ozark is actually made better than the Coleman. One more note. I bought it through Site to Store for $5.70 and saw it in the store for $7.20, so you save $1.50 (no shipping cost for Site to Store). 09/30/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by doesnt say what diameter these are.... and they didnt work for my tent 07/14/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Able to use these pieces on Ozark Trail tent In combination with some connectors from the Coleman Tent Repair kit and some crimping, I was able to repair 3 poles on my son's Ozark Trail 3-person dome tent. 08/07/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by did not work with my existing coleman poles The ad said they were 0.38 in. diameter. Mine were 0.37 as measured by my micrometer. I wrote that off as a tolerance thing. Not so. These poles were not compatible with my existing 7 man Coleman tent (that i got from Walmart). So, i had to use my drill and some sand paper to shave some off before the pole would fit in the metal tip of my existing pole segment. There is another pole on Walmart's website that is 1.0xLxH. I KNOW for sure that the 1.0 is not a 1 inch diameter (that's just ridiculous). 0.38 inch is just about equal to 1 cm (actually 0.394 in. = 1.0 cm), so i'm pretty sure the 1.0 is in centimeters, which explains why it didn't work with my pole. In any event, it seems that there is only one diameter pole available and they are NOT compatible with the older (6~7 years old) tent poles. 06/06/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Need Multiple Kits These kits are not for small tents. You will need at least two kits to replace a missing pole, otherwise they can be used to repair a broken pole. I used two kits to replace the pole on a side room of my tent, and it has been holding up for several weeks of usage. They appear to be the same quality as the original poles. 06/30/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do Not Fit After being referred to Walmart by Coleman, the replacement tent poles were received (service was OK) but the poles do not fit the tent, no matter what Walmart and Coleman say on their web sites. 06/16/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by surprised how cheap it was received it very quickly, and a great price. 08/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Was a little hard to do, but my tent is fixed 07/27/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cheap These are cheap. Make sure you order an extra one as I recevied a few defective ones where I could not string the elastic through the center no matter what I did. Also I would not trust this to hold up my tent if there was even the smallest breeze blowing. 07/05/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by works, but don't waste your time with the needle I wish I would have realized the cord has enough body to it that it doesn't need the needle to be threaded through the poles. After wasting nearly an hour trying to get the needle to work, I found the cord to fit just fine without it. It's true what the directions say about scoring the poles before cutting, it does prevent the fibers from splitting. 06/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Coleman tENT REPAIR KIT The kit was exactly what i needed. Altought the shock cord is what i really needed from the kit to repair a pole. It (the cord) is only enough to repair one pole. It did do the job and I would reccomend for a quick fix. 05/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for Discovery kids tent Had to cut them down some with a hacksaw to match the length of the poles the tent came with but it was super easy and these are perfect for the discovery kids tent. The poles it came with were horrible and bent/broke immediately. This order was the same amount as buying a new tent but buying the poles fixes what would be an ongoing issue with the poles it comes with. 05/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great find! Our ice-fishing tent had a broken pole. Ordering a new fiberglass section for it was pretty costly, so we decided to take a chance and see if these would work. They are the exact same pole sections as the ice fishing tent, and now we have the section repaired AND have spares for the next time a pole breaks. We're very pleased with the quality and the price is SO much less than we expected we'd have to pay. 10/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trying to save a $300.00 tent I took a chance purchasing these but I was please with the price and the quality of the poles. I actually think they are equal if not better then the original poles that came with the tent. The assembly was a little tricky since I didn't replace all of them at once. I only replace the ones that had cracked on me. But I was still impressed. So glad I bought 2 packs, so now if I have another break while camping I can fix it on the spot. Others I was camping with have already bought them a pack or 2 just in case they have problems. Last thing you want is to ruin a perfect camping trip. 07/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Value! I am extremely pleased with this product. I replaced a broken pole in my tent with this product before enduring an extremely powerful thunderstorm with wind gusts up to 80 mph (as I later found out). The wind was so strong, the windward wall of the tent blew in but after the storm passed, the tent was erect again with NO damage whatsoever. The tent replacement pole performed as it should and saved me the need to buy a new tent. I would definitely recommend this product! 07/20/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Impossible to assemble There's supposed to be a "needle" enclosed, but there's just a bent wire. I could not get the shock cord through the tiny holes. It fit with the wire (I taped it.) (I sew and assemble things all the time.) I had to take it back. 09/05/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Advertised width size is inaccurate Poles are not the width that is advertise. These are not 1/2 inch poles instead they are smaller. No use in ordering replacement poles if they are not going to be the width you need? I wished I would have reviewed some other reviews first. Learned my lesson. 06/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by good to have replacement parts Good parts 06/28/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by good set of universal tent poles Pros , was a great set of poles and they were cheap. It did a great job. Cons, coleman website said I need two kits but I really needed 3. Does not have the metal end for both end poles. I needed it for the style I had. 05/30/2014
1-30 of 63 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw485
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp