See All Reviews
Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'
Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'
$129.00
List Price: $149.97
You Save: $20.97 (14%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 109 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 Excellent Canopy I saw this canopy in my local Walmart a month before it showed up online. Frustrating, because I wanted to read reviews of this before I bought it for an upcoming camping trip. Bought it anyway and I am so glad I did! We had a rain storm come through on the second night and it kept everything dry. I can't comment on how well it holds up in the wind because this was a mild storm, but heavy rain, and this held up great! This thing is HUGE. We had 2 woooden picnic tables sitting end-to-end and it covered the whole eating area and then some. The frame is fairly sturdy, in my opinion. A lot sturdier than a First Up canopy I used to own, but not as beefy as a commercial EZ-up that my friend owns....somewhere in the middle. The no-pinch slides are great. No more breaking your thumb to push in sticky buttons! I picked it up in the store for $129 and in that price range, NOTHING compares to it. If this is for recreational use, not using it EVERY weekend, then I strongly recommend. It also doesn't hurt that I am a fan of Coleman products. Way to go Coleman! A total home run in my book. Easy to set up. Easy to break down. What more could you ask for? 07/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Canopy Bought this Canopy for an added addition to our tent. We bought all 4 of the side walls,draped the one facing the tent over the tent as an extra rain barrier. When it rained it kept everything dry, It was like we had an extra large room added to our tent and the set up took 10 min, 07/07/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sturdy construction & easy set up I am very pleased with my Coleman instant canopy. The construction is excellent, and it is very easy to set up. I set it up by myself without help. It handles rain well without leakage, and handles mild wind. It was used for a graduation party holding two 5 foot tables with ample room to spare. I used 3 sun screens and kept one side open which worked well for accessibility. While camping in NC when a bad storm came through, my frame bent on one side making the whole canopy unstable. I was able to fix it temporarily, but no replacement parts for the actual frame is available through Coleman. This causes, much waste. I will keep my broken frame for replacement parts. I plan on buying a new canopy because it did perform well. Most canopies can't survive a major storm without damage. In comparison to other canopies, I found this one to be the best buy, due to fair price, plenty of height, strong metal legs, push button adjustable, stores well in a wheeled bag, and shades the sun well. The two vents on the top help to vent out heat. 07/12/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will break in the wind Took this canopy to the beach. The setup was ok and the size was right. However, after a few gusts of find (not too strong) the (aluminum) sides bend, folded and eventually broke making the canopy unusable. 05/06/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't buy!!! Check out the reviews at coleman.com The product says that it can handle mild winds, that's not true at all. I set it up on the beach and the "mild wind" bent some of the structure causing the canopy to collapse. I'm gonna contact both coleman and walmart to see what they are gonna do. I am not sure if this review will be censored, but all the other people say that this product is great. If you want to know checkout the reviews on colemans website. The reviews go on-and-on about how the structure was bent in the wind, those reviews gave it an overall score of 1.5??? and the only part you can buy is the top 06/11/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best Camping Canopy Out There We bought this canopy and took it on a camping trip up north. It rained the last day and this canopy kept everything nice and dry. It was relatively easy to set up, but it is easier with a few people. I strung lights on the inside of my canopy and figured out to string the lights, with the clips BEFORE raising the canopy up high. This is SO much bigger and better than those 10x10 First Ups in the stores. I now won't go camping without this canopy! 10/19/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only 1 complaint I basically like everything about this canopy. The frame construction seems very solid and the ease of raising and lowering was great. The true 12X12 shade area had many of my fellow campers with canopy envy as it completely covered the picnic table and other accessories that I take camping. My only compaint is that during a 2 1/2 hour moderately heavy rain event the canopy leaked a bit, probably at the seams. We could still sit under it and have our cocktails, but they may have been watered down a bit by the constant dripping. I wrote Coleman a couple days ago but have not yet heard back yet. If they can find a way to completely waterproof it I would give it all top grades. Even with the dripping a couple of friends who shared drinks under it are going to get one. 12/03/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid choice I have purchased several Coleman products recently. All of them are well engineered for ease of use by their target market, outdoor enthusiasts. The 12x12 canopy is easy to set up and provides a considerably larger amount of shade than a 10x10. It is well made and appears like it will last a while. On the downside, it is not suitable for strong winds and will collapse in those conditions. Unfortunately, if that happens, you cannot get replacement parts to repair the frame. That said, I consider this a good value for the money. 04/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tailgating & backyard tested, excellent product. Coleman 12x12 instant up shelter. I live in Buffalo New York and have had this unit a few months nows. My neighbors and I tailgate and do alot of BBQ on a Weber Smoker. The coleman shelter has seen winds, rain and snow and has worked well, but you have to take measures to keep it safe and intact. Here are some must have items to get the most benefit from this product. Here are some extra items I invested in before using: * Coleman (8) Ft Tent Extension pole ( Must have to hold up the center) Cost $8.00 at Walmart * Coleman tent stakes (4) the ones that come with are useless ($4.99 at Walmart) * Coleman sun/wind side panels (2) $24.00 at Walmart * (4) 5 gallon water buckets ($1.99) at Home Depot * (4) steel "S" hooks $3.00 at Home Depot I am in the middle of a 14 hr BBQ session, its 18 degrees out and we had about 3" of snow, my setup worked perfectly. I also setup the shelter myself. Everyone cannot set this shelter up by themselves. I am 6 ft tall and able bodied. I setup the frame and befor I do anything else, I attach the buckets to the frame legs using the s hooks. I fill the buckets with water and this is the stabilizer for any high winds or snow. Use can use the sand bags that attach to the legs as well. Once filled with water, the canapy is not going anywhere. Next install the top, I also used one side panel to block a strong wind. Raide the canopy and then install the tent pole in the middle of the roof. I stood mine on a 5 gallon bucket. Then installed the side stakes and guy ropes. This took me about 20 minutes by myself. The 3" of snow that aculated overnight was easily brushed off by using an old broom handle and tapping from underneath. It worked great all night for the 14 Hr smoke. Whe I take it to the stadium for Bills games, I use sand bags attached to the legs. Great product. 03/03/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Expected more; Got less I purchased this canopy 5/8/12 and did not use it until 5/26/12 for a birthday party. I attempted to open it up and one of the metal rods broke immediately. 05/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Take it down in the wind! This is a big, beautiful shade canopy when it is set up. It takes a long time to set up, be sure you have at least one helper. Once it is up, it is huge, very high, and provides a lot of shade. It will not tolerate wind though! Mine is like two weeks old, I had it set up in my back yard, anchored down. High winds came up over night by surprise, and buckled the frame in several places. I went to Coleman's site to see if spare parts are available and they do not sell anything except the fabric top. :( 05/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Held up in the wind! I went to a family gathering at a beach. We had 4 of these lashed together and they held up fine in the wind. I was so impressed with them! Most of the negative reviews have to do with them not holding up in the wind. I estimate that the wind was gusting at about 20-30 MPH and there were no problems. 07/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I really love this Canopy,the price is awesome for the amout of space that you will recieve under the canopy. 11/08/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Junk Very poor quality. Accordion frame crumples under the slightest breeze and rain, even when tied down correctly (FIRST USE). This is only good for shade (not rain) when there is no breeze. Coleman apparently didn't have an engineer design this product... Saw a review on the Coleman site that this product should have a warning "indoor use only"... Read the reviews on the Coleman site itself prior to buying this product (they all mimic this review)!!!! 08/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by DON'T WAIST YOUR MONEY WE HAD IT UP FOR 2 HOURS BEFORE FRAME BEND AND IT WAS ONLY A 5MPH 10/17/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Wouldn't hold to up rain! I'm a faithful Coleman customer since they make quality products, but this thing isn't one of them. First, it's really not easy to setup, it's work for 2 people and really needs 4 to do it easily. The worst part is that the canopy doesn't pull tightly enough to provide tention to keep rain from building up. I set this up over my truck so I could do some work on it. There was heavy rain expected so I figured I was covered (pun intended). I went inside to gather tools and get ready and came out about an hour later to find that gallons of water had gathered on top of the tapr and one whole side had collapsed. The frame broke apart like twigs, gauging my paint on the way down. 12/07/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Junk!! And Coleman does not stand behind products! I purchased this Coleman popup shelter for use in the AZ sunshine. It took about 10 minutes to set up with my wife, we staked it out pretty securely, and thought we were doing good... Until we caught a little bit of a breeze. Next thing I knew, one side had completely buckled, and the only thing holding it up were the ties. Looking at the structure, all the struts are bolted together, so I figured I could get replacement parts. No such luck. I finally got around to contacting Coleman to see about replacement struts, and the answer I got was: "We unfortunately do not offer an replacement parts for the shelter. I apologize for the inconvenience. Was there anything further I can assist with today?" and "We just do not manufacture replacement parts for it I apologize." followed up with " I apologize but acts of nature would not be considered a warranty issue. I can certainly offer a discount on a new shelter for the inconvenience." After making my dissatisfaction very clear, I got: "I apologize again for the inconvenience. Please accept this one time offer of 25% off and free shipping of any 1 regular priced product found at [...] . (Already discounted items are not included.) To take advantage of this discount, call us at 1-800-835-3278. Please mention this offer to the representative that answers." I ultimately told the rep that I would not be doing any further business with Coleman - after paying a premium for the Coleman brand and then getting this underwhelming support, I have to say 'adieu' to Coleman from now on. 06/12/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I thought this coleman canopy was so awsome I bought one last year to have a yard sale and since then it has not failed me and it was to easy to put up I put it up with my 10yr daughter and me and her had it up in like 5 mins only because we at first didnt know how to put it together. But I soon realized how and it was a breeze to put on and take down. Love It! 03/06/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by 2nd one to break in one month Needless to say, we will not be buying a Coleman brand canopy again. The quality that Coleman used to have is just not there anymore. You can't even get replacement parts. The canopy broke the third day we used it. And after 4 days, the canopy shade was starting to get little holes in it. Horrible quality! 07/14/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good and Bad Initially we loved this canopy and Coleman products in general. We used it one year for camping and, for an annual party we attend In both cases it performed great. It was easy to set up and, take down. It kept us out of the sun. The second year we used it at the party and it rained. On one end water pooled up collecting a few gallons of water that all of a sudden spilled out on one of our friends right in his lap. We all got a good laugh at it for sure. Then, this year (just yesterday)we used it again for camping. My wife and me can set it up easily with no extra help in just a few minutes which is great. But it rained again and the water pooled up again in the same place as well as, on the other side. When we came back from a short excursion we saw that the weight of the water that collected was too much for the frame and the entire structure collapsed. It ruined our entire camping trip which we had to cut short because everything under it got wet or destroyed. When it came time to dispose of the frame, it couldn't even fold up. We had to literally break it apart into little pieces which was very difficult. My suggestion to Coleman in to have an attachment made of wires or string to form a grid that prevents water from pooling up or find a way to tighten the fabric so this sort of thing can't happen. It WILL happen. Be warned if you buy one. In rain somebody needs to be there to push the water out of where it collects or it WILL continue to accumulate in a bowl until the weight is too great for the structure. Bank on it. I also bought three extra sides that I cannot use now unless I buy another of these canopies which I am now reluctant to do. Maybe I can find a way to attach them to another type of canopy. Coleman are you reading this? I still have the canopy and the sides. It would be nice if you gave us another frame for our troubles. Believe me. Your product caused us A LOT of trouble. I wish I had taken pictures. 05/23/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by RAIN :( i purchased this product in June 2012 i used it once camping and did great in the biggest pouring down thunderstorm ever....i used it again for the 4th of july picnic we had a 20 min rain and the thing fell to the floor within 5 min of the rain comoing down.....i had no time to save it and when i called coleman they said its an act of god its not covered under any warranty....ashley from coleman said "canopy is not made for rain regardless how much or how little" i sad i r u seriousand her exact response was "yes dry conditions only with no exceptions" so dont ever get caught in the rain with this cause it will fall and your done...oh she did offer me a 25% discount on a new one....so buyer beware.....if it rains your own your own...other than that its easy to put up and a very good size ....i did love it till coleman dont stand behind there products.... 07/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We have another canopy but a little smaller I wanted a 12 by 12 to take camping also. I got this to take along with us also, Huge space of shade, it fit over the huge picnic table and several lawn chairs. Since it is a straight legged one you get more shade. Bought side walls too in case it rains. really sturdy liked it a bunch!! Worked well, looks nice!! We camp often and it will be a great addition to our camping gear. 05/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great coverage for the price We bought this for shade coverage on our upper deck. It was very easy to set up and has stood up to some heavy rain and wind without any issues. It keeps the temperature much cooler and we are able to enjoy our upper deck during the day without fear of getting any damaging rays from the sun. Love it! 05/22/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Coleman 12x12 instant Canopy I had this canopy for a year.The first time I had it out during the rain the water collected on one of the ends because the canopy doesn't tighten up enough for the water to roll off.The last time we set up the canopy we stood and watched in amazement as a gust of wind caught up under it while fully secured to the ground with stakes.The wind snapped several of the accordion frame bars and snapped one of the main support bars.It all happened so fast and the wind wasn't very strong.I was disappointed because it kept the sun out nicely.We had to saw the rest of the frame in pieces in order to get it small enough to junk it. 07/09/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutey great canopy I love this canopy. My sons were playing in a Little League baseball tournament and the outside temperature was well over 100 degrees. I ordered it online, it was in stock at my local store and I picked it up the next day. Awsesome! The first time we erected it, 4 of us took maybe 5 mintutes; mostly because we had to attached the fabric to the frame. Since then, it really can be erected and taken down in the advertised 3 minutes. It seems to be very durably constructed and looks great. However, there is one qualification: when it's packed in the fabric case it's very heavy and bulky, which makes it hard to transport. It will fit in a minivan only on the floor in front of the middle seats or the entire back area if the seats are all down. Otherwise, it's great! 07/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great canopy, easy assembly and disassembly Goes up in minutes, great carrying and storage case with wheels and plastic buckles so that the zipper does not get destroyed when moving. Would recommend for others. 06/10/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good shade, ok rain protection Set up is very easy, and the large red handles that set and release the pins are so much easier to work than the older style. It seemed sturdy, but with a high wind you can see that it is not as beefy as the original EZ UP. We had 8 guys in a real downpour for 2.5 hours. There were significant drips occuring in the interior, so it is not watertight. I think you would need to seal the stitched seams for this. it did shed the rain well and did not have puddles occurring in any dips in the canopy. It is fairly lightweight and the wheels on the carry case are handy. I will probably keep this, because at this price it is worth it to me. 05/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great canopy for the price I am very pleased with this canopy--it is an excellent addition to our camping gear. It is high quality, easy to put up and looks classy. I purchased all four side walls, as well. They are well-designed and add considerably to the shade and/or rain protection. 04/29/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 GARBAGE used it a couple of times with no issues. took it out of the bag today8-17-13 to set up for a party and one of the accordion arm snapped in half at the screw hole. there was no wind issues or rain.. I went to colemans website to look for replacement parts and they either don't recognize the model number or don't have replacement parts for this product which makes no sense to me because the pieces are put together with a nut and bolt system so why wouldn't they have parts for it....go figure. I guess I will have to manufacture my own parts . I will never purchase another product from coleman again if possible 08/17/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do not buy!!!!!! If the wind blows over 15 mph frame will bend even if tied down properly. Coleman does not make replacement parts! Do not buy. Do a search on the internet and you will find hundreds of the same complaint. DO NOT BUY!!!!!!! 04/30/2013
1-30 of 99 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew344
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp