See All Reviews
Coleman Anodized Cookset
Coleman Anodized Cookset
Price varies by store.
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 31 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Look at the box When you look at the box, why do people think it can hold a 10" skillet and a couple of 2-qt. pots? This is not for a family reunion! It's for hiking and backpacking. My wife and I took it backpacking for a two night trip. This set can cook a meal for two people. We carried a couple of plastic cups to drink from. It's non-stick, so clean-up was easy. 04/11/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great solo kit This is a great kit and if you own a Svea 123 this is perfect for storing your stove. The Svea fits inside the pots minus on small pot. I did find that the handles got a bit hot so I used 1/16th surgical tubing on them and solved the problem. If you are looking for a 1-2 person cook st this is great and a great price. 02/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for my needs I bought this cookset just to get the smaller pot from it. I only need to boil 2 cups of water at a time for dehydrated food. The total weight for the entire cookset (both pots and lids) is 15.5 oz including the mesh bag. The small cook pot with lid and bag weigh only 7.5 oz. My modified Esbit stove and fuel fit inside and the whole thing fits in an outer pocket on my backpack. The pot handles swing out and the lid handles fold out and lock. Both sizes are perfect for backpacking and when it comes to cost v. weight with titanium - this is the best deal for me. I liked it the first time I used it! 05/01/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by less is more! I borrowed this little cook set on a weekend canoe trip and I love it I will be buying one for myself very soon. I have used many expensive cooksets over the years and this one preformed as well as almost all of them. It is true that it is a bit small the large pot is only about 850 ml or so. I was hoping to find a set like this with a 1L cook pot, but for the price I haven't found a thing that comes anywhere close I would, and have already recommended it to a friend. great product. I'm glad to see coleman stepping up their products. 10/03/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Coleman Mess Kit OK, read the description, people. This is a single person mess kit but if all you want to do is boil water for dehydrated meals, it will work for 2 people. This is not the $80 REI set, it is not the $125 Jetboil set, it is a $25 Coleman set. It is hard anodized aluminum and as such it is a good buy. It is well made for the price and I can certainly put it to good use. Your results may vary. 02/25/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great set I'm not an expert, but I do camp 6-8 times a year. I camp for hunting and just to be out and enjoy nature. I spend a lot of money on my equipment. This cookware blows away my expensive Snow Peak titanium set. Yes, the snow peak was a little lighter, being titanium, but it buckled and didn't hold up to the heat. IMHO, they made the items too thin thinking that the titanium would allow it to old up. It doesn't. The Coleman anodized aluminum is light enough and has more solid construction. I took it camping during a snow storm which forced us to make an emergency stop to pitch camp and get warm. This set came in handy when needing to boil snow and heat soup. I highly recommend it. It's a little pricy, but much better than the overpriced set I mentioned. 03/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Bang for the Buck! I do a lot of motorcycle camping, and I needed a pot set that nestles my SVEA 123 stove inside, therefore making a nice, neat package. This set fits the bill! The SVEA stove fits perfectly, with a bar towel cushioning it so it doesn't scratch the pots. Since the stove already has fuel in it, I'm set for a couple of days of cooking. I was pleasantly surprised at how heavy duty this set really was! No thin stuff here! I bought a Snow Peak Trek 9000 Aluminum pot set at the same time since I have 2 of these stoves. It also fits the SVEA nicely. But, of the 2, the Coleman was the better, more sturdy set. Plus, I only used 2 of the pots and have 2 extra pots for extras. A bargain for sure. For the price and for the quality, this set cannot be beat! 02/13/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great set for the money! So on the side of spending a small amount of cash and getting your money's worth, I'd have to say this little kit is worth every penny. It may be a bit heavy for UL standards, but it's unlikely you will bring all 4 pieces at the same time. Some reviews I read state that rice and eggs stick to it. It's not non-stick. It's just hard anodized aluminum. I fried a few strips of bacon in the pan(doubles as a lid for the pot) then fried up some eggs. Slid around like non-stick. I did this using my Red Bull Alcohol stove. Did up some boil in bag rice( I never use loose rice for camping) no issues. As far as clean up, it's a snap. Most of the soot even wipes off. I just used a sponge and dish soap. I wouldn't use anything abrasive as it will eventually wear off the anodizing. (I'm a machinist, I know). Overall, for what I was expecting, the quality is up there and far better than most of the Coleman products offered in past years. It cooked evenly, cleaned up easily, and stores well(I put paper towels between everything as I cannot stand rattling.) My one complaint is that the handles could have been a wee bit longer. There's room to do so. They tend to get a little hot. A pot grabber does the trick though. IMHO, one would be hard pressed to find this amount of bang for the buck. 08/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly as advertised I was looking for a small cookset that would take up less space than my MSR set. At about the same weight it is much smaller. I only eat freeze dried or dehydrated foods on a trip so my primary need is to measure and boil water. Perfect for a solo canoer or hiker. Great price too. 04/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent 1-2 Person Backpacking Cookware The Coleman Anodized Cookset is perfect for backpacking or those looking to save on space, weight and COST. I have used this set a number of times. Measuring cup aspect is critical when using MRE's, dehydrated foods, etc. The other pots can also serve as cup/mug, lid, or a for use by a companion. The non-stick anodized steel makes cleaning easy. They compact into such a small space you can pack extra food or clothing. I commend Wal-mart and Coleman for making excellent and efficient camping gear for a low price. Perfect. 12/31/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Should be... Single Person Anodized Cookset This product should be titled Coleman Max Single Person Anodized Cookset. This is indeed more than enough for one backpacker, but would not suffice if you're looking for a family cookset. 03/31/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a solo backpacking cooking set, that is to say it is fairly light, small and meant for one person preparing backpacking foods (mostly boiling water, adding the dehydrated ingredients & simmering until they are hydrated and 'cooked') and to cook over a backpacking or an alcohol stove. If that's your intended use, then by all means get it. It's a real deal--actually, you'll have two spare pots. It is easy to clean, handles are 'gripable' and the markings indicating ounces and liters are a plus. Though in a pinch it could be used for 'real' cooking, if you are contemplating cooking other than rehydrating, and for more than just yourself, I'd recommend you find something else. 04/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Compact Unit This kit is perfect for auto emergency kit and or BugOut Bag. I used it with an Esbit Stove with great results. Good to make coffee/tea; warming up MREs or boiling water for Mountain House pouches. I have paired it up with an old Boy Scout mess kit. MREs, Mountain House pouches, Ramen noodles, coffee, tea, the Esbit stove all in a small duffle bag. Don't forget the hobo kit (fork, knife, spoon) by Ozark Trails, also here at Walmart, it splits apart, very cool. 01/01/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very small & compact! It's a very small & compact set, light weight and has it's own mesh sack. Not a fan of mesh sacks, even though their light weight, everything gets caught in them. It was a deal at $20, was concerned about small size, not sure you could really cook in them. I never got the chance, as my pops was concerned about the process of anodized aluminum , said better safe now then sorry later down the road, so I returned them and got a GSI glacier stainless set. Still think it's a great budget set for solo backpackers tho! 09/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Great For Backpacking I bought these pans with my husband for the 2 of us to use backpacking. We recently went backpacking with my mom and dad, and now my mom is in love with my pans. They are easy to wash, kept the food warmer then a plate, easy to pack/stack and all four family members used the one set. I will be buying her a set or I have a feeling my set will go missing the next time she goes packing. 08/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best bang for your buck. 12/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great cookware We love this set! We have done alot of camping, as a family we need a larger set, which we have, but when the boys needed individual cookware for their scouting trips, this fit the bill perfectly. 02/20/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Should Have Looked Closer I was very excited about this set when I ordered it. When it came in, I realized I hadn't read the specifications very well. This is great for a single person camping who doesn't mind having a coffee cup to cook in. The pots are high quality, but small. Do not buy this if you're cooking for a family while cooking. Otherwise, it's a good buy! 04/16/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't beat the price. I was just at Wal Mart and I saw this cookset. I took it out of the box and I was surprised by the quality of this cookset. I looked it up on Campmor’s site and their price is $27.99. I’m planning on going back tonight and buying it to use with my alcohol backpacing stove. What do they think they’re going to get for $19, titanium? 02/13/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by good I have not used them yet but I can tell they are high quality. 12/07/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by single serving size Maybe I missed the fine print, but I was expecting pan sized pans, not coffee cup sized. This would be fine for one person, maybe two, but since we were on a 'family' camping trip, we returned the item without using it. 07/05/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Too small and too heavy I borrowed this item while traveling out-of-state when an unexpected backpacking opportunity came up. As with most Coleman equipment, it is junk. I agree with others who say this item is too small for two people and too heavy for a kit for one. I normally use a 2 quart pot for two people - and sometimes that is barely big enough. My regular kit for two (Antigravity Gear Mama's kitchen 2 quart) has a 2 quart pot with a clamping handle, a cozy, a windscreen and an alcohol stove and only weighs 9.6 ozs - the pitiful set I'm rating weighs 4 more ozs. I come in under this weight with plates and utensils! My whole set only cost about $10 more than this set - the reason I gave this kit the low value rating. 05/23/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Will be using them on my motorcycle trips this next summer 12/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice small cooking set. And the double as drinking/coffee cups. 12/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great value this is a great little cook set. i'm a backpacker and needed something small and light. i have used it on the trail 4 time now with no problems. at $27.00 this was a great choice..... most small fuel stoves will fit inside if you leave out the small inside lid... 11/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Great product! Great price! This cook set is listed as a single person cook set, but it it flexible and functional for two people. I bought it online at Walmart for $20.00...a great price! It comes with two pots with flip out handles and two pans with flip up handles. I use the smaller set (pot is 16 ounces or two cups and pan is 12 ounces) for day hikes / overnight trips. Sometimes, for day hikes, I just use the small pan. I love the flexibility of this cook set. The handles are great, sturdy and easy to hold; I use tea light alcohol stove with them and the handles do not get hot. The anodized aluminum is nice; feels light weight and heats up quickly when boiling water. The mesh bag is nice. It is a great backpacking / camping cook set! 11/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT BUY Does the same thing as the expensive ones but you get 2 sets and for only $20 10/31/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Well made product, but... These pots are designed for backpacking; lightweight, multiple uses (cooking/boiling, eating & drinking) but the smaller pot set is too small for the dehydrated foods common to backpacking. The large pot set is the perfect size to boil your water in one the larger pot, and heat your drink in the smaller pot. So for me I have a smaller pot set now that I have no use for... wasteful. 10/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great cookset for backpacking Bought this set for a backpack trip. Worked great. Mostly used to boil water for freeze dried meals. The large pot worked well as it holds enough water for 3 meals. There were 3 of us camping together and was really nice everyone could eat at the same time. Very compact set with carry bag. Plenty of room when stacked together to put a small stove in with pots. Highly recommend this set. Very light weight and very durable. Cleans easily. 09/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little cookware set! Keeping things in perspective, this is a "solo" cookware set designed for backpacking and hiking. It is not your family camping size cookset. For what I purchased it for, (backpacking), it is made just as well as the higher priced kits out there. Of course I'll go out on a limb for the 5 star rating considering I have not cooked on them yet but I think they will do just fine. I'll update this review after the 2010 Summer is over. If they perform well, it's probably the best $20 I ever spent. 01/29/2010
1-30 of 31 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew147
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp