See All Reviews
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 20 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best lantern I have used This lantern is great. It is very bright and uses little fuel. A gallon of coleman fuel would last several weeks if using this lantern nightly. The only thing negative I cn say about it is that it gets pretty hot and is a little tricky to light. However for light output and fuel economy it blows the other lanterns away. 09/06/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Old Reliable I've used these for over 30 years. Great for camping, patio lighting (I have 3 hung around the deck) and power outages. Pros:Brightest light available without a 110v outlet, and economical - 1 gallon of fuel will last a whole summer. Weatherproof (more or less). They don't wear out, although some parts occasionally need replacing (my oldest one is 40 years old). Cons: Not silent - they hiss (although I think of that as the normal camping ambience - YMMV). They get almighty hot - do not put in reach of small children and wait for them to cool down before storing in an enclosed space. They're breakable - plan on replacing the pyrex globe at least once during the life of the lantern, and the silk mantles can't take a lot of jostling. Have extra mantles around because you'll be replacing them occasionally. 03/06/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for emergencies and Camping I use regular unleaded. Works as advertised. Fuel is easy to find. Great primary light source for campsite. Will last all night on low setting. Gives off enough light so the lantern could stay outside and not pose a fire or carbon monoxide hazard to the tent. Can be hung by handle to reduce the chance of knocking over and damaging. Before you check out in the store, open package and carefully look for the nut that holds the top metal cap and glass globe together. My box had been opened and the ball nut was missing. A standard one quarter inch course thread nut worked fine. Overall rating and expectation took a hit because of the difficulty of transport. A hardshell case is need to protect the glass globe and keep upright to eliminate the risk of damage while traveling or storage. Hard-shell case not available at the time of this review at this retailer. 01/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great lantern Very bright and efficient. I've only used it with unleaded gasoline so far, but it works as well as the one I remember my dad owning 30 years ago. 08/19/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by happy camper i was excited to see this on walmarts website because i thought that coleman discontinued making these lanterns. i do a lot of camping and hunting and the 2 i have are on there last legs although they still do work but there the old style lantern with the lever to clear the carbon out of the needle valve. on these new versions the removed that feature which makes it a whole lot easier to operate the lantern. another new thing i like about the new version is that it uses unleaded gas or coleman fuel but with gas prices on the rise i just might have to change back to coleman fuel but that is also on the price rise. all in all im super happy that i was able to buy this new lantern with the dual mantles. my brother has a single one and the light isnt quite as brite as the dual mantle one. 04/30/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I have never owned a Coleman lantern before but have camped with others who have owned them. I had a little difficulty figuring out how the pump worked but once I did it worked like a champ. I would recommend that you buy several packs of mantles though if you plan on camping for several days. The same lantern sells for quite a bit more from Amazon, so Walmart's online price rocked. 08/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best all around For camping, this is the benchmark to compare the others with. And it wins. Propane is expensive in those stupid little cans. Batteries are a joke. Aladdin lamps are pretty good for home use, but obviously not for camping. Also they are finicky, and smelly if you aren't careful about the kerosene. (Hint: go to your local airport with some five-gallon gas cans and buy their "jet fuel". It is a better grade of kerosene. Just don't waste their time with only a gallon or two.) The classic Coleman lantern burned naphtha ("white gas") and this model will take ordinary unleaded gasoline too. I can say it works wonderfully on unleaded gasoline. Be sure to buy a few spare mantles, as they will break now and then. If you are paranoid, you might spray them with hair spray before going on a trip. I have used this tip successfully with the more expensive Aladdin mantles. The coating protects the mantle in transit and burns off quickly when the lantern is used. The Coleman lantern does make noise while in use and it needs some pumping from time to time. I think this is a trivial issue, and not enough to reduce its rating below five stars. Also, it really does need a match to light. I tried using a sparker device, but it just wouldn't work. Buy a box of real wooden matches and don't worry about it. 04/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by coleman laterns are the best This makes my fourth latern 10/04/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by great light, Needs better quality control lantern worked great till i went to shut it off and it wouldnt go out. hope the new one works properly. 07/22/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by came damaged The lamp came with a dented neck and recipient. Not worth the trouble packing it and shipping it back for replacement. 10/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value, great product. 10/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Coleman lantern is better than I expected purchased it for night fishing and it works great. Brighter than my Coleman butane lantern and cheaper to run. Just wish Wal-Mart would carry the lantern case for it I had to get it from another store but it's well worth the money and in time I will buy another one just like it. 07/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Coleman Lantern Bought this on impulse before a camping trip and glad I did. Very bright, burns long time about 7-9 hours, rugged design, seems well built. Looking to pick up another one to help light family camp. It also brought back memories from youth and boy scout camp, the familiar Coleman lantern hiss. 04/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what we needed Purchase was made to complement our emergency preparedness plan. Great for use of camping fuel or unleaded gasoline. 11/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by WorthEveryPenny This was my first Coleman Lantern i bought. I did some research to make sure i would buy a practicel lantern for outdoor use such as doing some yardwork, lighting the way for building a fire, etc., Compared all prices for the same item:Walmart got the cheapest price (Free shipping included). Be sure to follow the instruction, since it was tricky to light in the first few attempts. After you got the idea, you'll be a happy camper! 10/31/2011
1-16 of 16 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew261
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp