See All Reviews
Coleman 13' x 13' Back Home Instant Shelter
Coleman 13' x 13' Back Home Instant Shelter
$159.00
List Price: $179.00
You Save: $20.00 (11%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 114 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by TOTALLY AWESOME CANOPY This is an excellent canopy for both sunshine or heavy rain. Water drains very well. The vent at the top center allows airflow on very hot days. I love the huge 13' x 13' size. It provides shelter at the biggest picnic tables. It takes one very strong person or two people to set it up, but one person can easily take it down and pack it away in its awesome wheeled storage bag. I had a more expensive Quest brand canopy earlier this year, but it broke during the very first rain we had. This one is excellent in even very heavy rain. 08/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Up and Super Quality We purchased this for Washington camping, as it seems to always rain. I was very happy with the quality of the fabric and frame. It is a super simple, one person operation to put up and take down. It takes about 5 mins total. Repels water easily. This shelter is very solid when put up, especially when compared to previous shelters I have owned. My son likes to put his cot up and sleep underneath of it. The only thing that I can say negative is it amazes me that something so simple (and with very little material) can cost so much. Although I purchased mine thru this website and saved $85.00 compared to other places. 10/09/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by 13 X 13 tent top This item is a bit difficult for 1 person to set up but very easy for 2 people. When it's set up it is well worth the extra effort, it has 169 sq. ft. of shelter compared to about 100 sq. ft. on most in-store shelters. Plenty of height at the edges for tall people. The top is fairly thin (about like tent material) but as far as I can tell is waterproof. I always worry about fitting it back in the bag but it always seems to fit with a little extra room. It's a little more expensive than the run-of-the-mill EZ-up canopies but has alot more coverage. 11/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very well made and easy to put up canopy. Product comes with a nice bag with wheels to drag around if needed. I had a party recently with close to 7 different tents, sizes and manufactures. I bought two of these and were the easiest to put up and received the most comments on how nice they were. The vent opening at the top definitely made these canopies a bit cooler. The others I had that did not have that feature were a little bit hotter to sit under. 90' plus day. The coleman website has a product video which was also helpful for installation. Bottom line for me was price and high quality, which was great comparetively and shipping was free. I didn't find a better deal. 07/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well built, durable canopy We've had this for about two weeks and love it. Tonight it lasted through what was rated as a "severe" storm with no problem. There are a couple of points I think are crucial to not having this fly away in the wind. We did not feel the cords that come with the tent are adequate to secure it in the wind, so we went to the local hardware store and got some 50lb 5/32" cord to secure the frame (the design secures the awning to the ground, but not the frame). We added two extra tie downs attached to the frame at each corner at 45 degree angles (total of 3 stakes at each corner). This move will greatly stabilize the frame. We also lowered the frame down to the lowest setting for the storm so as not to push our luck with heavy winds. The vent at the top of this greatly increases it's ability to withstand wind if the frame is adequately secured. It's an attractive awning, but I am not overly crazy about the Coleman logos at the corners. Very good value for the money. 05/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Value, Maximum Shade Bought this to use at the beach with the family. The setup is beyond easy and I just love the push-button release levers (no chance of pinching!). This thing is HUGE when compared to the conventional EZ up canopies. Since I use it mostly at the beach, I also bought a set of auger anchors (the regular tent stakes do nothing in this FL sand). With 169sqft of shade, I can easily put a 6' folding table and several chairs around. It stands up to the wind very well as I've not noticed any fraying or tearing after several uses. Be advised that it is a bit heavy though #about 50## and only collapses to 4' tall by 1' square. The roller bag helps some, but I'm the one who gets stuck carrying it across the sand. Overall, I give it an A+ rating.....very satisfied. 04/22/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by DEFINITE BUY This canopy has performed above my expectations to say the least. We had a very windy weekend with rain and I was very concerned that this canopy would just eventually collapse, but like the other reviews stated, it can hold up and it did. I am very impressed. I will leave it up all summer and will not need to worry about it. The anchors and the spikes do an amazaing job of keeping it in place. The look of it is beautiful and it covers a large area - I had a large storage bench on one side, two patio chairs on one side, two patio chairs on another side and three regular chairs on othe other, plus a table in the middle, and there was plenty of room to move around. I highly recommend this product. I think it also keeps my yard cooler in general. Also, the price is right! 05/19/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Great I was a little apprehensive about the product in the rain, but after two torrential downpours it held up with no puddleing. Spraied the seams with silicone spray and it made the seam waterproof. 05/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy set up Yes this was a great buy easy set up lite and keeps off the rain... 06/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A good investment After reading reviews and searching for the best price, we decided to purchase the Coleman Canopy. It held up very well during some moderate windy evenings. It was easy to put up, we made some simple mistakes but were easily remedied. My advise; set it up first at home. Then set up at site will be a breeze. The storage bag has plenty of space to store the fabric. The wheels on bag makes carrying easy for most anyone. I'm glad we went with 13x13. 03/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product I have a new deck, 20 x 16. We used it on the deck to cover the table and chairs. The leg space is 10 x 10 and the canopy area is 13 x 13. It worked perfectly. A storm came up, so we took it down. It was down in about 5 minutes. It weights aprox 40 lbs. Easy to carry. My family loved it. 05/13/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great shelter We lost a shelter in a rain storm this summer, and this was to replace it. We like it sooooo much better! It went up in a snap, and we had wind and rain, but it stayed in place. The design of the roof makes the water drain efficiently, and the vented top allows the wind to escape, rather than billow and pull. 10/10/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by It had a few leaks at the seams It is a great size and good looking canopy BUT it did leak at the seams. It's our first one so it could just be that they all do that. The leaks are minos a drop here and there. 06/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Pleased!! We recently used this shelter for the first time while camping and were very pleased with it ... the quality, the extra large size, the appearance, and the ease of putting it up and taking it down. It exceeded our expectations compared with its reasonable cost. We did not give it an excellent durability rating because we haven't used it often enough to know how well it will hold up, but it may end up being excellent in that category, too! Highly advise this shelter for anyone wanting a large overhead covering with easy setup. 05/29/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Shelter Nice size. Legs are hight adjustable. Over all a good buy! Be Aware, Once you set up the Shelter, Be sure to tie down the corners! The way it is constructed, the only way of being sure the Bar that holds the corner will not bend or break is securing them. Once tied down the Shelter is REALLY STURDY. 08/16/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not made for the beach I bought this shelter for use at the beach. It lasted three days. On the fourth day, part of the metal frame sheared while I was putting the shelter up. It was a breezy morning, however the metal shouldn't have sheared the way it did. I went to Walmart and purchased a First-Up shelter after this one broke and put it up the same morning in the same breezy conditions with no problem at all. Over the three days of use I got out of this shelter, I had issues with the frame rubbing against the canopy and damaging it and one of the catch pins broke on the third day we used it. The shelter was put up correctly, so there is no excuse for it only lasting three days. I could have built a shelter out of tree limbs and bed sheets that would've lasted longer than this shelter did. I would absolutely NOT recommend this shelter for use at the beach. It may be ok for use in your backyard as long as you don't use it in breezy conditions. 06/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Great canopy shelter I purchased this for a week at the beach with our large extended family. It is very large compared to other shelters on the market, and I like the way the sides extend beyond the frame. Do a trial run setting it up at home before you take it on a trip. It takes a few minutes to figure out the first time as the directions are sparse. But then it was a snap to use. Two people can set it up, but it is best if you have four, one on each corner, for the final step of expanding it. I used cloth reuseable grocery bags as anchors for the 4 corner ropes. Fill them with sand and, fasten the cord to them, partially bury them and they are very secure. I used tree marking plastic tape (a couple bucks at Lowe's) to mark the 4 cords so ourkids didn't get clotheslined! Make sure you get the end of the corner poles into the nylon mesh piece; if it misses it can poke through the corner, but that is only cosmetic if you get it back where it belongs. It held up well in strong breezes but I took it down when violent thundestorms approached. I didn't want to test it to failure. 08/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Quality Awning Had a less expensive Coleman canopy and it folded in a rain storm. This one has withheld more than one major rainstorm. Very happy with it! 07/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by very well made shelter 06/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by We are delighted with the Coleman 13x13 Shelter The shelter is exactly as described. It appears quite durable, but we've had it up only four days, so I gave it 5* because I anticipate it will be durable. It rained the day we put it up, and it performed as expected, which is to say, it is roughly 98% protection. Should we need absolute rain protection, we'll seal the seams. It handles winds effectively by venting through the covered opening at the top. Note, rain did not get inside from the vent. Set up is pretty obvious. We did the job with two adults, but four people would provide maximum efficiency. I judge set up could be done in five minutes or less. Here's two helpful hints: 1. do not pull the outside corners down until the legs are half way extended, and 2. when raising the canopy, do not start from the bottom up. Raise the upper legs first so you're not pushing upward above your head with the weight of the canopy working against you. We are happy with this purchase and we plan to use the shelter A LOT. 08/01/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect for what we needed! It keeps our little pool clean and cool. 06/16/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality product; nice size This is a quality product that is larger than most portable canopies. While it is very easy to set up, it is not the "instant" process that is described. Two people can easily set this up, but there are a few details such as the extensions for the "eaves" and the center pagoda vent that seem to require a bit of trial and error. Even so, after the first setup (to learn) the setup time is probably not more than five minutes. It takes about the same amount of time to take it down. The vent at the top makes it a very pleasant shelter from the sun. If the orange color is important to you (college colors, etc.), this isn't really orange--it's probably closer to light brown. 06/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well Built-Good Buy We purchased the Coleman Shelter a few weeks back and finally had the opportunity to use it. It didn't take 3 minutes like the video shows but it took less than 10 minutes; nothing I am worried about. We only had to glance at the directions a couple of times. For the most part it was very common sense. I would rate the construction as heavy duty. All the metal is fairly high gauge and the fitting seem to be comparable. This is a nice size, well designed and well built shelter. 10/20/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Canopy Purchased this to use at the beach. Initial set up you need to put the fabric on the frame but after that set up is quick and easy. Comes with tie down stakes and string but would recommend purchasing the screw in type stakes if using where there is a lot of wind. The frame is a 10 x 10 frame with 18" extensions on the corners to make it 13 x 13. We had plenty of room for a small table, beach chairs, cooler, accessories, and still had plenty of room. Kept us shaded the whole day and stayed in place with wind gusts up to 30mph. Frame seems to be we'll put together and, if set up and tied down properly, it should last quite some time. I have had other pop up canopies that had cheaper and lighter frames but think this will hold up much better and last longer. This also has a vent in the center of the canopy to help keep the canopy from flying off in the wind, but still needs to be tied down. Would highly recommend this canopy. 07/26/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great versatile product We took this camping, very easy to assemeble! It took about 2 minutes to pop it up. The size is great 13x13 versus other ones on the market. Very attractive and seems like really nice quality for the price. This would work really well for backyard gatherings and I can see us using this for years to come. 05/31/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by DO Not buy this product! The arms of these will bend easily if a gust of wind catches them and Coleman does not manufacture any replacement arms for these so they are basically worthless if one bends. I spent $150 on one and used it three times before one bent. 09/04/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful but terrible canopy material I purchased this coleman canopy, you can not find a replacement top. Made it through the winter just fine but the material sherdded from the sun. Although it is advertised as a 50% UV protection from the sun, it was the sun and wind that ripped it apart. Too bad, the frame is superior to any other canopy I have purchased and it withheld from wind, rain and remained in perfect condition. 07/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seems to be a great product! We wanted a canopy that would keep us dry, and the sap off the furniture. Finding one that could survive wind and sun all summer has been difficult-we've already had one rip right off this year. Though we've only had this canopy up two days, I'm impressed with the design and construction. The legs are sturdy, the canopy is reinforced at joints, and the vented top promises to handle the windy days a little better than most. We also like the straight edges, thinking that they will also help keep the wind from making it a sail. I'll revisit this review in a couple of weeks and let you know how it's holding up. 06/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! Ordered this after my last cheap canopy tore apart in a wind storm. Pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to set this up. Had it about a month and so far it's survived serious winds and a few thunderstorms. It's doing a great job of keeping my patio cool and dry. Highly recommended! 05/05/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really nice product. We completely enjoy the Shelter. Would have also loved the rolling bag with the exception of the broken zipper. Did not have time to return the item as it was needed for a special function. 05/03/2013
1-30 of 105 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw272
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp