See All Reviews
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 9 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cobra Marine VHF Hand-Held Radio. My Cobra Radio tested very well. But, failed when I needed it. For a hand-held marine radio this cobra demonstrated very good transmission and receiving capabilities. She holds 5 AAA batteries and that gave me a considerable amount of air time. I was a participant in the Everglades Challenge for 2012 it is a 300 mile very small boat adventure race. Soon after the start my rudder snapped of my 15 foot boat. While I was never in any danger I did take a wave over the side. That wave splashed on my Cobra filled it with water. That was one of my deciding factors to pull out as I really needed that radio. As a matter of fact it is required equipment for this race. This Hand- held radio has enough positives that I have ordered another one and hope to write a better review in a few weeks. I will test it thoroughly before I put it in service. 03/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Long Distance Monitoring......... I live in a small town about 30 miles south of Corpus Christi, Texas and I bought this Cobra Marine radio to listen to ships coming in to the port of Corpus Christi and i was real surprise when i could listen to them calling the port and sailing in.....These are oil tankers, and cargo ships bringing in goods and the reception on the Cobra came in loud and clear...Go figure, i am 30 miles plus inland from the water and i can hear them talking to each other.....I even heard them calling the port from Aransas Pass, which is even farther away, about 3 to 4 miles out in the water before you get to the port of Corpus Christi.....Those big ships must have some powerful radios for my little cobra to hear them speak......Well i think my Cobra is well worth the money.....I never have done a radio check, so i can not comment on how far it transmits, I just like to listen to them...Great Product..... 01/09/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by IGHTWEIGHT / COMPACT / GREAT PRICE This is a great little vhf radio. Transmit / receive are good. The only thing that would make it better, was if it was a 5 watt. , vise the 1 to 3 watt it is. Would buy another one today if needed. 11/14/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 Good for the price but...... This is gonna seem a bit nit picky but this was a big issue for me. Nowhere in the item description does it tell you that the charger that comes with this product is a car charger. To me this is a big drawback. This item for me is for work, not pleasure. I don't have access to car chargers all the time. So in order for me to make this work for me I have to buy an ac to dc plug adapter to come with me. With that big disappointment being said, I do think the actual product is well worth the money. I can hear the boats well above and below me and have been able to respond to the boats calling 3 miles from me. My only recommendation for this product is to give you a wall charger 05/24/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT Waterproof This radio is sold as "waterproof" but is nothing of the sort. Splashed it with some salt water, and that was the end. Don't trust this radio to save your life. 05/02/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Value for the money. This little radio certainly represents value for the money. It is not the best marine radio, but it is an adequate alternative to the best. I have one of the best marine radios. The battery, for this best marine radio, costs more than this full functioned, low cost, radio. If your life depends on your marine radio, look elsewhere. If you can deal with an inexpensive, workable, radio; this is it. 11/08/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Genius piece of equipment, small, wireless, great inclose reception and broadcast ability. Coastal and inland, cruisers throw out your old,yellowed, cabin mounted , hard wired, corded VHFs ... For under fifty bucks this little gem is a VHF game changer. that gives you the freedom to broadcast and receive anywhere on deck. Simple easy, to use, and, hopefully long lasting (Bought mine in Aug 2013 and so far so good)..... PS.... will never buy another cabin mounted, hard wired, VHF , ever 09/17/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Replaced 15 year old cobra radio. Can not beat features for price. 07/18/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by good radio All that was missing was the instruction manual. I had to Google the radio to find out where to download the instructions. 06/12/2013
1-9 of 9 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw116
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp