Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 153 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this bed I just put this bed together yesterday. It did take about 6 hours but well worth the labor. To make it easier on yourself buy furniture sliders (2 packs of 4) because the bed is heavy and hard to move to put some the the parts together. With the sliders it was easy for me (a women) to move it all around the room :-) I kept the desk out leaving my 6 year old an "L" shaped "Cave" in which we placed his sleeping bag, a few toys and a light. I picked this color so that I could use a black marker to color in any scratches in the years to come. 03/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Buy Bought this bed to use in my boys room and was quite impressed with the look. Installation took quite a while as expected with the lots of parts. Will advice to lay out all the parts out before starting the installation to make it easy. Its also good to have someone around to assist with the installation. I was suprised with the other comments that the bed does not look strong. On the contrary, this bed looks strong with the metal frame and rails. I also bought and installed the pink loft bed which also came out nice. Another impressive things about the bed is the fact that I can also lay on it, its quite sturdy and can't wait for my son to start using it. 05/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Bed My son is in love with his room now that he has this bed! My husband spent the whole day putting it together. But he said everything was well packaged and it was easy to put together. I helped at the tail end, but that's the only time he really needed my help. It was a long day but the end result was well worth it. I would definitely recommend this to others. When I first saw this bed they didn't offer it in Espresso. The color matches the Ikea Malm dresser we bought him as well. Reading the reviews from other buyers made it easier to setup and put the bed together. Thanks for the info on the carpets. He does have an area rug, but it's placed beyond the desk, so it's able to roll out with ease. I'll check in a few days and see if the bed has settled in the rug. Thanks Walmart. :-) 03/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Love Love this bed I bought this bed back in February for my 10 year old son. This bed provides so much and takes up so little space. Time wise this bed took awhile to put together but when it is done it is awesome. I was surprise how sturdy it was ..... My son loves it too .... He thinks it is the coolest bed ever! I am glad we got the dark color also. 05/06/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Contemplating a 2nd I bought this bed several months back (maybe closer to a year) for my 10 year old daughter (now 11). I used site to store, and it came in as expected, but I couldn't fit all three boxes in my SUV, so if you decide to pick it up yourself make sure you have a pickup truck or van to load it into. Then... getting it OUT of my SUV was a pain, there was just me doing this, so those reviewers who said it wasn't that bad weren't trying to do it by themselves. But I'm smarter than your average bear, I just opened the boxes while they were still IN my car and emptied out the pieces one at a time (and stacked them in my garage#. They were in good shape, and because I read the reviews I EXPECTED the pressed wood #seriously someone thought they would get solid wood for $400???#. It took me about 5 hours to get the bed put together well enough to call it quits and let her sleep on it. Unlike SOME beds, that allow separate assembly of the shelves and drawer unit, about the only thing you can leave out #and still get the bed functional) is the desk, the door to the cubby and the individual drawers themselves. My daughter went about a week without drawers because I got busy before I could finish it, but those took me less than 10 minutes to do. My son has a solid wood captain's bed and after 7 years of use and 5 moves the sides of it have started to bow in the center so the support boards fall through and bang around has he tosses and turns in bed at night. I'm seriously considering replacing it and buying a 2nd bed like this one for him. The metal framing for the bed is VERY sturdy! And I suspect, as we move around a lot being a military family, this bed will be easy to take apart and put back together again time and time again! That is very important when you move around a lot like I do, I've put somethings together that did not move well in one piece and was very difficult to take apart to move it. I like this bed for not being too high, my daughter previously had a bunk bed that was so high we could not run the ceiling fan when it got hot. The desk is a little cheap, it would have been improved by putting a shelf or something on the inside for storing things, but it rolls well enough even on our carpet. If you're worried about it there is the option of putting one of those plastic roller mats under it to ease rolling. My biggest complaint is there is no switching it around the ladder goes on the right side and the desk on the left, if this doesn't work out for your room arrangement there is no way to switch it around, unless you're prepared to drill your own holes and jerry-rigging a few things, which I am not. My daughter also complains that things fall off her bed through the metal bars, but luckily it's not too hard to crawl under it and rescue things. My daughter is at the age now where she thinks she's too cool to play under her bed, I've put a couple storage bins under there and we store her off season clothes and bedding there. In order to access the back area it is easier if you pull the desk all the way out first, so if you put the desk up against a wall you are cutting off some additional storage space, or access to the secret clubhouse. On the whole the fact that I am considering purchasing another one after I've owned the first one long enough to judge it properly, should speak volumes to what I think of it. The one my daughter has is the white with pink accents, I am considering the darker one for my son. 03/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome loft When we decided to totally redecorate my 18 year old stepdaughter's small bedroom at home, we needed to find a bed that would allow more storage and also accommodate the low ceilings. This loft unit was the perfect solution. It is much more sturdy than I expected and lower than many other lofts I've seen in the stores. It took her and two friends a little over 4 hours to assemble, and they did a great job! They said the mainly pictorial directions were a challenge. She decided not install the front railing, but does use the short ladder. She loves how the dark expresso color contrasts with her newly painted sky blue walls, and is delighted with the long upper shelf to store her phone and iPod at night. The slide-out desk may be used as a vanity area and she has plans for shoes and bags to fill the shelves and cubby. And of course the three drawers will help the overflow from her existing dresser! We are very pleased with our purchase and anticipate this will last her a long time. 08/29/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by good for small room my 14 yo daughter wanted a loft bed that had storage and a desk connected. we looked forever for one that wasnt too childish or cheaply made. this one fit the bill perfectly for her. it is a loft but not as high as a bunk bed usually is. she loves that it is unique from her friends' beds. it is very sturdy. it has nice storage drawers and shelves for her to put her things on display. the desk is a rollout and stores nicely under the bed when not is use. it is perfect for her small room and think she will get several years of use out of it. I thinks its a very nice bed for younger kids as well as smaller sized teens. we ordered it on-line and had it shipped to store. a negative is that it took a couple of weeks as it came in 3 different boxes at different times. my husband did not enjoy putting it together tho'. it took several hours and much patience. 08/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE, LOVE,LOVE I brought thus bed for my 11 yr old daughter. She and I absolutely love this bed. Her room is small and the bed fits perfectly and she still has room. Once it arrived, I knew it was going to take a while to put together because the many pieces of furniture. It took a day to complete this bed. The room is beautiful my daughter has posted pics on facebook. Her friends are jealous and want one too. 02/23/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great but trouble We bought one in the espresso for my son and one in white for my daughter. Both kids love the bed! They are very nice and great storage! HOWEVER!!! Beware of damage! They both came in good shape, but when putting the espresso together with the provided hardware Allen wrench one of the pre-drilled holes popped right through the face of the desk... Walmart is being great about exchanging the damaged part, but it is still a pain to have to wait for the replacement and it is putting us back on plans to have the rooms all ready. Also, the thing comes in THREE boxes, two of them are very heavy, so be prepared for work. In the end I think it will all be worth it because they are good quality for a great price, but don't expect to save without some hassle. I should add that the white one came in perfect shape and we had no problem putting it together, no damage... be prepared to spend at least 2 hours on assembly, in our case more, because there are a lot of parts. 10/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing bed at an amazing price I read reviews thoroughly focusing on the negative so I really knew what I was getting myself into. Seemed like the negatives were things that could be fairly subjective, so we bought 2 (one for each kid). Shipping was free with Site to Store, and 2 of the 3 boxes arrived within 4 days. The last box took another few days, but was still well within the time frame they estimated when I checked out (& that was further conveyed in my confirmation email). I have a mini-van with the Stow-N-Go seating, and all 6 boxes (with both beds) would have fit just fine in the van at once. Got them home and made my husband bring them inside and upstairs - the boxes are heavy! Fast forward a week - my husband hates, hates, hates putting things together. I found the easiest way to do this was to unpackage everything, check all parts in all 3 boxes (everything was in tact and accounted for), and then I laid everything out items 1-10 in one pile, 11-20 in a pile, 21-30 in a pile etc. Even though the boxes contain items "out of order" to save on packaging, the instructions utilize the pieces in numerical order. Instructions were very easy to understand and I built the entire thing completely by myself in about 8 hours. The only thing I had to have my husband come up to help me with was pushing the shelf end of the bed in while I screwed the shelf section to the bed itself - just don't have 10' long arms. Other than that, it was a lengthy process, but what else would you expect? Pictures were easy to understand - words were minimal, but that's really all that was needed with the detailed diagrams. Bed is now up and together and looks AWESOME! It's extremely sturdy, doesn't shift at all when we try to wiggle the corner. My 9 year old loves being up higher - but with our ceiling height, we couldn't do a full bunk bed, so this was perfect height. And it's a space-saver! For everything you are getting in 1 package #bed, dresser, desk & shelving#, you can't beat the price. ONLY thing I would caution you on is that the espresso finish being as dark as it is - and being that it is a finish - scratches really light. When I was putting the back rail on, I had to loosen the back bed posts because the rail was starting to scratch the finish when I was sliding it down. I have Sharpies in every color, and furniture pens/markers work wonders. Would recommend #and already have# to everyone! 03/12/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this Bed!! I have bought 2 of these beds this year and we LOVE them Both! We purchased the White & Pinbk for our now 7 yr old daughter in Feb 2011 and we just purshased the Espresso bed for our 5 yr old son in Oct. 2011. The beds are AWESOME! My hubby and son built the whole thing together while I was at work it took less then 4 hrs. Some of the instructions were confusing or the pictures were wrong so just use your best judgement (otherwise your drawer sliders will be installed upside down). The bed is REALLY sturdy! holds atleast 200lbs. The Drawer & cabinet space is HUGE! It is an all around great buy!!! We have 1 of these with a 1"box spring (from a day bed) and one with out any box spring and boths ways are fine. Make sure you build it lined up with where it will be but not against the wall (since you'll need to work on the back side too but it is heavy to move). Enjoy!! 12/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great kids bed!!! Can't beat the price. My 3 year old son was ecstatic when we unveiled his new loft bed to him. He can't get enough of it and climbs up and down the ladder all day long. It gave us exactly what we were looking for, and that is storage. The three drawers, corner shelf and back shelves with a door are great. He won't use the desk for quite sometime, but it is great as he can grow with this bed. While the other reviews say it takes 6 hours to put together I did it with my dad (former carpenter) and husband in around 3. I am 39 week pregnant and was still able to do a lot of the work. The instructions were SUPER detailed and really easy to follow. You do pay the price in having to put it together yourself versus having someone do it for you at the store, but you can always hire someone from Taskrabbit.com or another site to help with that. The entire bed came WELL packed and there was not a piece damaged. There was a lot of styrafoam and card board though that was somewhat of a pain to discard, but to be expected. All in all, 5 stars for this bed and I bet my son would give it 10 if he could... looking forward to many memories of him playing on it (and jumping). :) 01/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bed for the price The bed was easy to put together. Most of the assembly time is putting the dowels and cams in the holes. Once all the hardware is in the wood, it is easy to assemble. I did the whole thing myself (except my husband helped me hold the back shelf on while I screwed the hardware together). My son is 8 1/2 and loves the bed. So much more room to move around in his bedroom. We kept the desk out so he can keep his stuff on it. Drawers are big and the shelves have lots of room to store treasurers. Great hideout/fort under the bed. Easily fits 3 kids sitting down. I didn't think it was that heavy. I had it shipped to the store. An store employee and I put it in my truck. My husband and I carried in the boxes with no problems. They are heavy but not as bad as I thought according to the reviews. 08/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best bed for saving space in a room! I love this bed! I mainly bought this bed to save space and have the space for drawers and a desk and it saved so much space in my room! It took me about 6 hours to build by myself and I'm a 16 year old and I built it. You can easily do this in less than 4 hours with 2 people helping out. The instructions are really east to read once you get the hang out of it but in the beginning I was like where do I start but I ended up getting everything done with no hassle. I really like the bed and I highly recommend it guys. 02/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My son loves it! It was time to upgrade our sons bed which was currently a toddler bed before this (he will be 5 in about 6 months). He had options between this, regular bunk beds with steps, and even cars and jeep beds but he chose this himself out of the pictures we showed him; he wanted a ladder. He absolutely loves it and aggravated my step dad for days to assemble it (he works long hours). I was thrilled he chose this bed due to the limited space in his room, this has extra storage that looks nice, and it wasn't really high up. I can still kiss him good night and tuck him in without climbing up and I am only 5'3". Assembly: My step dad worked on the bed frame and shelve/cabinet area a few hours here and there as he works very long hours. I finished it by putting the chest and desk together with no problems. Shipping was free to our home and arrived in only a couple days (all three boxes together). Everything came great and well packaged except the bag full of all the bolts/screws/ handles/etc. A lot of them were dumped out and scattered in the bag but i sorted them all out and separated them into plastic baggies for easy access to find what we needed. The handles are cheaply made but look nice and you can't tell they are plastic from a distance (easy upgrade if you want by going to Lowes and buying your own). We plan to remove the desk for now for him to have easy access under his bed to play, it's his "hiding place" and there is a fair amount of room under there. We chose not to attach the stopper that connects from the left side of bed frame to the left side of chest that keeps the desk from pulling all the way out so he could play under it when he wants. I attached some pics of his room (panorama style pics to show how small his room is). He loves showing his bed off to ppl when they come over especially his friends and my nephews that live next door loves it and they share a super expensive bunk bed set that has steps. For the price of this i find it reasonable, but i do think they have room to mark the price down a little. Oh and we got the smaller mattress at big lots (not so thick but not bunk bed mattress and its works great, we have no box spring for it as it wasn't needed, it is sturdy and I even lay in there with him playing minecraft sometimes and so does my husband and he is almost 200 lbs. I would definitely recommend this bed (Ours is espresso finish) 03/08/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice Pro- Sturdy, Versital, Lots of Storage, Great for any age. Con- Takes a while to put together, 3 separate boxes all come on different days. My daughter loves this, although the wheels on the desk are not very sturdy they are easily replaced and won't break unless being mistreated. It did take several hours to put up but was very easy to do. I am very happy with this bed! 03/16/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just what I expected. Firstly, you should know that the desk doesn't quite fit in all the way. It might if you leave the guard thing off but the person who I built it with was insistent that we put it on. It is possible to leave the outer railing off because that's what we did. If you leave it off though you will have to get another bolt for the ladder because the bolt provided is meant to go through the ladder and the railing. The bed is sturdy and there is very minimal squeeking. The shelves and cabinet are much larger and deeper than I thought they would be. However, though they aren't super small the drawers were smaller than I thought they would be. My desk was a little wobbly but that might just be the fault the builder (me). The desk however was much larger and taller than I thought it would be. I was expecting to barely be able to fit my legs under it but it I was able to sit at it comfortably and do my work. The bottoms of the drawers aren't actual wood they are just these boards which I wasn't expecting to hold up but they are doing okay. I am a very heavy person and the seems to be holding up well for me. 11/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This bed takes about six hours to put together. We bought this bed for our 8 year old and she loves it. This bed works great for small rooms, and has plenty of storage space below. I did read a review stating the drawers did not fit right and that he put those together last. The drawers are one of the first items you put together and if you don't put the bed together in order of course it won't fit properly. The actual bed part is the last part you put together. This bed is made of press board and it looks better in person and is a great deal for the money. 02/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have one happy sleeper! I searched several different sites for a loft bed and this was the best value for the money. My son was so happy when it arrived. I got it within 2 days of ordering it and was amazed once it was put together. Everything is so spacious and it opened up his room a lot. He has far more floor space now. ONce again shopping at Wal-mart hit the nail on the head. 09/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bought for 3 1/2yr old son. We moved about 6 months ago about 2hrs from our family, doing this made my son very restless at night. He wouldn't sleep in his new room at all, the only way he would sleep was if he was in our room. I ordered this bed on Feb. 6th and picked it Thursday the 21st. I assembled the bed by myself with the exception of right at last because its just so darn heavy. I am a medium build woman and It took about 4hrs I would say. As soon as I got the thing put up my son was ready for bed. He slept all night long, and woke up this morning with a smile on his face, saying " I like this bed mommy!" I am very pleased with this purchase. 02/23/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bed I love this bed as does my daughter. It took a while to build, about 4 1/2 hours, but the directions were very straight forward. The bed itself is very sturdy and the dark finish makes it easier to hide scratches. As another reviewer said the L-shaped cave is perfect, my daughter loves making it her fort. 04/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I feel this product is very well made & very strong. It took hours to put together...many parts & MANY screws!...but worth it in the end. The instructions were also very good. My 9 year old son is very happy with his new bed. :) 04/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We purchased 3 of these beds in Feb 09 and absolutely love the beds!!! They have made it through 2 moves and have held up well. Make sure to take your time taking the beds apart and they'll do great. We just purchased a 4th bed for our youngest. As others have stated, they do take some time to put together but if you turn on the ipod, it'll go by quickly. The worst part about the beds is the wait time to get them once they are ordered. So far we have received 2 of the 3 boxes. It has been 5 additional days and we're still waiting for the 3rd box. Hopefully it comes in tonight, the little guy is anxiously awaiting his new bed. 02/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought this bed for my eight year old son and he loves it. I am in a wheelchair and had no problem putting MOST of the bed together myself (I did it because my uncle said i couldn't, yes i proved him wrong!). My son and I love to build stuff together so he was eager to help. I put the dresser together and the shelfs then the head and base boards in the garage, my husband moved the heavy pieces in the bedroom and i bolted everything together. ** I asked my husband to attach the 2 rods in the back and he put the rods on backward then used the wrong screws and by the time he got it on i put together the drawers and put the door on the bed. (yay me :D) The bed is sturdy enough for my both my husband and son to lay on together. The shelves have ALOT of room and the dresser drawers are very sturdy. My son loves the roll out desk and the hide-away behind the dresser. The shelfs in the side of the bed are big enough to hold books and an alarm, although when my son fixes his bed some of the book fall off the shelf, so we mostly use the shelfs for lego creations he wants to show off. This bed has given my son SOOOO much more floor space in his room. I really like this bed!! 11/21/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad quality I purchased this bed and put it together a month ago and the desk and drawers are already broken and falling apart. The wood for the desk and drawers is very flimbsy! Do yourself a favor and keep shopping! 07/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE THIS BED My son loves his bed and I love it as well. The bed is very sturdy and I am so happy about that since both of my boys love jumping on it. This bed is worth the cost and so far so good for us. 04/10/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by $400 of fake wood I used to buy all of my furniture at WalMart when I first got married because we had no money at all, and the WalMart furniture was always pressboard and would last a couple years which was long enough for us to save money and buy something nicer. I bought an entertainment center last year because it was in the store and I noticed it was real wood, and I was very happy with it, so I have been looking at the furniture in the store every once in a while and it seemed like the pressboard furniture was a thing of the past. So it came time to buy new beds for 3 of the kids, and my daughter (who is 7) loved the way this one looked and begged for it. For $400 I assumed that it was going to be real wood, so I ordered it. No complaints with site to store, it took about a week to get to the store and I got a text on my phone to go pick it up, and everyone is happy. Until I open the boxes and find pressboard in them. I mean honestly, would you expect cheap pressboard that falls apart for the price? The other reviews were pretty accurate for how long it takes to put the bed together, it took me a little over 5 hours (and that is with the help of 4 kids ages 2-7) to get it to where my daughter could sleep on it that night, but that was not getting the drawers put in the dresser part. I didn't get the drawers in because it was past bed time and the drawers didn't go in at all after putting the rails into the pre-drilled holes for them. So I let her sleep in her new bed and I tried to finish the next day. That is when I figured out that the spacing for the drawers was different for all 3, it wasn't just the rails that were in the wrong places (although those were off as well). So I had to take off the rails and move them down about 1/4" which made the bottim drawer slide in semi-smoothly (the rails are HORRIBLE and don't roll right at all), the middle drawer I had to put the rails flush with the wood which meant I had to whack the drawer with the palm of my hand to get the wheels to pop into the track and it still doesn't close all the way, and the top drawer has almost an inch gap between it and the middle drawer but that was as low as I could get the rails. Long story short, this is a cool looking bed, my daughter loves it, and if it was real wood and the drawers weren't all jacked up it would be an awesome bed, but for $400 I really expected more. 07/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by everything you need for a bdrm, just add matress! we got 2 of these, 1 for our 16 yr old daughter & 1 for our 14yr old son, to modify for their older age we simply left off the front rail, & they wanted the ladder left off, i do have to say these are very nice, the desk was bigger than i expected, it's a good thing, the first bed took me like 5 hrs to build, the directions , at times, were a bit spotty. the second one tho went very quickly, i was done in 2 hrs !! these beds are very sturdy, they come with all kinds of things to hold everything together. the kids love them, and because of all the space we got to get rid of alot of other furniture. there is also a nice sized cubby directly under the bed you can store stuff there too, just pull the desk all the way out !! the appearance is very nice too, love the color, deff recomend these beds !!!! 03/09/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good looking & reasonablely priced We bought this bed for our 12 year old daughter & she LOVES it. Its small footprint with a large amount of storage makes her room more organized & spacious. It is pressed board so you must pay close attention to the directions - if you assemble out of order & have to disassemble parts - it will not hold up. Do not think this is an easy out of the box solution - I am pretty handy at assembling these pressed wood products (back in the day I used to contract assembly of office interiors) and it still took nearly 5.5 hours to assemble. The saving grace is the directions are fairly intuitive & easy to follow. Follw the directions & I don't think you will be sorry you purchased this bed. 11/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth Every Penny!!! I Love this bed! I purchased it for my 13 year old son who has a small room. The price, quality, looks, assembly are great! I have to admit, I was a bit nervous about the shipping, because it was coming such a long way and in three VERY heavy boxes...I thought for sure that one of the pieces would be damaged and I would have to return and wait for replacement. However, I was greatly surprised when I realized that I had NO need to worry, due to the INCREDIBLE packing of all materials. Every piece was surrounded WELL by stryro-foam and would have been very difficult to have been damaged. I was also very impressed with the labeling of all the parts. There were a lot of pieces, however, the way they had the pieces labeled and separated made assembly very easy and very uncomplicated. It only took a couple of hours and was not at all complicated IF DIRECTIONS ARE FOLLOWED. I would suggest having more that one person to help with assembly and having furniture "sliders" to move the bed where ever you want it when it is finished. Even though this bed is pressboard, it is incredibly sturdy. The support under the mattress is great. The construction was well thought out and I was very surprised and pleased. I am amazed at the storage space and the appearance of the bed. The dark wood looks beautiful and NOT at all cheap. I also love the height, not as tall as normal loft beds (we have low ceilings and a ceiling fan). The shelf on the back of the bed is GREAT! It is wide enough to put a lamp on, so now my son has nice lighting for nighttime reading. I also had free shipping to my home, which was a definite plus! I cannot think of one negative about this bed. I am very, very please with this product. Would recommend it, would buy it again, great quality for a great price! 10/25/2012
1-30 of 139 total reviews
2 3 4 5 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew235
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp