Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 691 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome bed! Not just for younger teens I bought this bed a few months ago, and it's held up very well. I'm a 17 year old girl, and I definitely recommend this bed for people of all ages! It's extremely sturdy and I was able to put the entire thing together by myself (it took about 8 hours in total though). If you tighten the screws hard enough, that thing will not budge. I re-tighten them every month or so, but there really isn't any need for it. The loft is quite heavy, but with a bit of effort you can move it around on a tiled or hardwood floor. It's also really good for small rooms because there is actually quite a lot of storage room in the drawers, cabinet and shelves. However, there is a railing on the inside of the loft, so there is a HUGE chance that a stuffed animal or phone might fall through it and under the bed. I've had to crawl under it many times. There's a headboard along the side of it to put a lamp or pictures on, but it's easy to knock things over so I don't recommend putting anything breakable on them. The pull-out desk comes in handy for schoolwork/crafts and the ladder is trustworthy; all and all I think this is a really good bed for those who want a something different and cool with a ton of storage space. :D Since it's not very high off the ground, it's a great alternative for a bunk-type bed with lower ceilings. 06/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Don't be fooled! This bed can be for older girls too! I am 16 years old and I just recently bought this bed. It fits all my needs, I have a small room and now my clothes, and belongings are cleverly stored. The desk is great, I've never had one and boy, did I need one. We did not install the latter or bars because they're not important to the beds structure, and because it gives it an older, more age appropriate feel. I absolutely love my new bed, it's like a whole new room. 06/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Coolest Bed Ever! This bed is the coolest! I absolutly love it! I bought it for my two yr old and she thinks she is so cool because her bed is taller than mommy's! I was very surprised at the quality of the bed. It is incredibly heavy and durable. I'm not afraid to jump right up there with her and read a story. The storage underneath the bed is alot bigger than I imagined from the picture. The "bookshelf" is not a typical bookshelf. It is more like two 2 ft by 2 ft shelves! When they said bookshelf I imagined a shelf 6 inches wide by 2 ft long. The cubie behind the bed has alot of room in too. Since my daughter is only 2 I decided not to use the desk that comes with it. I just stored the pieces and directions away. I decided to use the area where the desk was as a play area for my daughter. I put some pillows and her baby dolls in there and she calls it her princess cave! The area is even big enough for me to crawl in there too. The shelf behind the back of the bed is perfect for all of her "treasures." I put her nightlight and beanie babies up there and they watch her sleep. I ordered the white bed but I was surprised to get it and the pieces of wood that face the front are a metalic silver color which really adds to the bed with the metallic bed rail and ladder. The only flaw that I found is that this does take a long time to put together. It took me almost 6hrs but I think that I feel like I got my monies worth since it is a well put together peice. It is very sturdy. I was also surprised at how well the pieces were packaged. There are little pieces of foam sheets that make the packaging very durable. I was definatly impressed by the bed. Overall I am highly satisfied with this piece. I would definatly recommend it and I would love to have for myself! 02/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this bed I just put this bed together yesterday. It did take about 6 hours but well worth the labor. To make it easier on yourself buy furniture sliders (2 packs of 4) because the bed is heavy and hard to move to put some the the parts together. With the sliders it was easy for me (a women) to move it all around the room :-) I kept the desk out leaving my 6 year old an "L" shaped "Cave" in which we placed his sleeping bag, a few toys and a light. I picked this color so that I could use a black marker to color in any scratches in the years to come. 03/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The BEST choice!!!! This was the best choice we could have made for our 10 year old daughter! She loves it, we love it! I have spent a lot of time reading through the other reviews and completely agree with all the positive comments about the bed. I shopped everywhere (online and in person) and nowhere did I find a bed that fit what we were looking for better than this bed did. Between the cabinet with 2 deep shelves, 2 open shelves and 3 drawers, the storages is AWESOME, and the desk is much bigger than I expected it to be. We do leave it out as our bed is on carpet. As other reviewers commented, it doesn't slide in very well when the bed is placed on carpet, but that didn't worry me much/ My daughter likes to keep supplies and such on top of her desk anyway, so we planned to keep it out. The space where the desk is intended to go is HUGE! I use it to store the many stuffed animal friends she has collected over the years. I also keep a big tub for baby dolls under this area. They are still easy to reach without being all over the room. It was time consuming to put together. My husband and I worked together on it and it took a good part of the day (about 6 hours). While it was intimidating after reading the other reviews that it would take sooooo long to put together, we went for it. There are a lot of pieces and a ton of hardware, but that's what makes the bed so sturdy and well constructed. I say, with complete confidence, that this bed will be with my daughter through her high school years. The instructions are pretty clear. We found them pretty easy to follow. It breaks it down into segments. First you put together the desk, then there are directions for the dresser, etc. I have nothing but positives to say about this bed. I am hopeful that Walmart is still selling it in a few years when I am looking for a new bed for my son :) 04/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our daughters LOVE their new beds! We had been looking for a bed with storage underneath- and this is exactly what we needed. The open shelves and cabinet are MUCH bigger then they appear in the photo. The beds took my husband and I about 3 hours each to put together (we bought two of them). ADVICE: In one of our daughters rooms, the bed had to go the other way- so that the cabinet was up against the wall. We didn't want to lose the cabinet space- so we left out the thin "backing" for the cabinet (it was not stuctural)- so she is able to access the shelves from inside her fort- which she loves- so she can keep books, stuffed animals and other "treasures" in there. In fact- my other daughter liked that so much - we kept the backing off hers too. We have pretty plush carpet- so it was a little hard to get the desks in and out. In the end- we are keeping the desks in storage, and instead put some cloth over the opening- so they just use it as a fort. (otherwise I can only imagine how many times I would hear the desk being shoved in and out!!!) When it comes time for the desks to be used, we will probably either find a way to raise the beds slightly, or, shave a little height off the desks (my husband is very handy) VERY solid construction. The bed does not sit on the wood, but rather a heavy-duty metal frame. I haven't seen my daughters in 3 days- they don't want to leave their rooms! :) Final note: There was free shipping to home- I recommend this v.s site-to-store..because these beds are VERY heavy (each come in 3 boxes, which weight 125-137 lbs each) and I would NOT have wanted to have to put them in and out of a vehicle, and then unload them AGAIN at home! 07/21/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by GREAT VALUE...PERFECT for a TWEEN! My daughter was turning 11 and wanted to update her room. She chose Lime green for the walls and I wanted a functional bed that would accomodate her 12 X 13 room. I have seen similar beds to this one with the pull-out desk for over $1000, so when I saw this advertised for $359.99 I could hardly believe it! I read EVERY review and my daughter LOVED the look of the bed so we decided to go for it. All I can say is...WOW! I put the ENTIRE bed together myself! The directions could not have been more clear and every piece was accounted for. I would have given this 5 stars across the board, but there were two wood screws that did not do much to hold anything together (BUT did not effect the stability of the bed) and a couple of cams that broke (probably my fault for over screwing). Other than that, this bed is AWESOME! Everyone who has seen it LOVES it and my tween's room is the talk of the neighborhood! Overall, I was very impressed with the storage, quality and durability of this product! Even more, my daughter said it was the BEST birthday present EVER!! 08/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Buy Bought this bed to use in my boys room and was quite impressed with the look. Installation took quite a while as expected with the lots of parts. Will advice to lay out all the parts out before starting the installation to make it easy. Its also good to have someone around to assist with the installation. I was suprised with the other comments that the bed does not look strong. On the contrary, this bed looks strong with the metal frame and rails. I also bought and installed the pink loft bed which also came out nice. Another impressive things about the bed is the fact that I can also lay on it, its quite sturdy and can't wait for my son to start using it. 05/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME bed! We got 2 of these beds for my 8yr and 4yr old girls who share a room! My husband put both of them together within a few hours by himself without fuss. Packaged really well so nothing arrived damaged. They are well made and very attractive, not too high off the ground and my girls luv having their own "space" Built in drawers and shelves are great features and especially the top shelf along the bed, great for stuffed animals, dolls, lamp and pictures. Very pleased with purchase and as always, Walmart.com is so easy to shop and site to store free shipping rocks! 10/14/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Bed My son is in love with his room now that he has this bed! My husband spent the whole day putting it together. But he said everything was well packaged and it was easy to put together. I helped at the tail end, but that's the only time he really needed my help. It was a long day but the end result was well worth it. I would definitely recommend this to others. When I first saw this bed they didn't offer it in Espresso. The color matches the Ikea Malm dresser we bought him as well. Reading the reviews from other buyers made it easier to setup and put the bed together. Thanks for the info on the carpets. He does have an area rug, but it's placed beyond the desk, so it's able to roll out with ease. I'll check in a few days and see if the bed has settled in the rug. Thanks Walmart. :-) 03/26/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, But Not For Carpet Great bed, highly recommend except for one minor design flaw: (Would have rated 4.5 - 5) We purchased two (2) of the these beds for our children's rooms. The rooms are carpeted and after a few days the heavy bed/cabinet/drawer unit settles down into the carpet and makes it difficult to roll the desk in and out under the bed. The desk unit is light-weight and rolls easily on top of the carpet. Top of desk is starting to get scratched by rubbing on the top of the opening. They should have included some extra pieces (or some type of "note" or "warning" in the instructions about installations on carpet) to place under the supports to raise the bed up a quarter to a half inch more for installations on carpet. You may want to consider purchasing something from the local hardware store to place under each of the supports to raise the unit slightly. Other than that; very happy with the purchase. 06/13/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by great tween bed My ten year old daughter loves her new bed. It came in three large boxes and was time consuming to put together but was worth it. The bed is sturdy, has great storage space, and even a small shelf by the bed to put alarm clock etc. The bed is perfect for a small bedroom. I would recommend this bed. Be sure to use the site to store option. Worth it to save on the shipping. 07/14/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's so adorable I got this bed for my 2.5 year old. She absolutely loves it. Her bedroom is on the small side so i wanted something that could hold all her stuff, and i got just that. Putting it together was very simple, the steps are very easy to follow and you just make one piece of furniutre at a time. I put the pieces outside her bedroom while i worked on the rest because her bedroom is so small. The only problem with the directions was that on board number 4 step 1 it tells you to put a cam stud on the top left corner when it actually goes two holes to the right. It took about an hour and a half to put together maybe two. It's made very well i don't know what the weight limits are but i holds the two of us no problem. I wish had a bed like that when i was a younger. 11/16/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very good deal I purchased this bed, and found it very easy to assemble. I was a little leary from all the other reviews I had read. My daughter loves it, it is so heavy and sturdy and has lots of room in the drawers and shelves. She is in heaven and I am thankfull for the good deal I made. I would highly recommend this bed. 05/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bed! We bought this for our pre-teen daughter for Christmas. We put it together on Christmas Eve - it took my husband and I about 8 hours. I recommend putting it together where it will permanently be because it is very heavy. This also means that we found it to be very sturdy. Sometimes when you put things like this together, you are able to "shake" the item by grabbing hold of it and pushing and pulling to see how sturdy it is and it moves. This bed, however, does NOT move because it is very sturdy. We love that it has drawers, shelves, and a door on the side with a couple of more shelves. The pull out desk is great and a fair size for a (soon-to-be) teenager. I also like that it is NOT attached to the bed and can be moved anywhere in the room easily as it is on rollers. One of our favorite things is the long shelf running down the back of it. She is able to have a small lamp on there so she can read in bed and not have to climb down to turn out the light, it's a good place for her glasses case so those are nearby, too, and also for a nice row of books and it's definitely more than wide enough for a decent-sized (covered) glass in case she gets thirsty. The bed only needs the top mattress. You will not need a box spring and even if you tried to put one on it, it would then become too high and would be taller than the side rails. So... only the top mattress is needed and the bed frame has nice, sturdy bars underneath that act as a great support for the top mattress. We anticipate she will use this until she goes to college. Once she is older, we may take off the front rail, but for now it's nice to have it there. Most importantly, our daughter LOVES this bed and tells us she can't wait to go to bed every night and that she loves waking up in it. I DO wish one thing... that we could figure out who sells the wire mannequin that is in the background of the product picture. The thing that has a hat and red dress on. It would be nice if everything in the product picture was available for purchase. 01/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING !!!! I am in college and this bed is such a wonderful peice of furniture to have!!!! The Drawers are very spacy. 11/27/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Everything you need to know... Pros: - Space-saving, cool bed kids will love - "Hiding space" behind drawers for kids to play - Good, deep storage space behind the door - Large amount of shelf space - Large drawers - Convenient desk storage when not in use - Strong steel construction for mattress support - Bed is structurally strong Cons: - Takes hours to setup. Instructions are not 100% accurate. Took 6 hours for the first, but the second took a little less than 4. (Yes, I bought two.) - Changing sheets is a pain as outside bars are not removable. I have to reach to the inside and pull the mattress so it stands up and then change the sheets. Or, I just remove the whole mattress. I guess you can also climb in and change them while you're on top. Not too difficult, but takes more effort regardless of how you choose to do it. - Heavy and hard to move. That can be a good thing, but if you feel like changing the location of the bed within your room, you should have some muscle handy. Other Info: - Bed is not designed for desk/storage to be interchangeable. Pieces come with pre-drilled holes, so if you wanted to change them around, you'd have to do some modifications. - From the pictures, it looks like the bed sits on the drawers, but it doesn't. Steel frame sits about one inch above the top of the drawers. Bed is really supported by only four large bolts, one in each end of the rails. The rails are connected by 40+ cross bars separated by roughly 3 inches, so there's good support for the mattress. - Drawers, shelf, and storage closet are all connected to one end of the bed. When moving the bed, you have to be careful when lifting the side that is not connected (desk side). - Shipping boxes are long and heavy. I think about 8ft+ from what I remember. Three boxes per bed; two are long, one is short. Final Comments: Even though there's some inconvenience with changing the sheets, it's all worth it because the kids love their bed. The bed is perfect for small rooms, and I have no regrets whatsoever. The assembly can be a nightmare, so I would suggest you give yourself plenty of time, even it means doing it over several days. I spaced out the job and did about three hours a day after work. Other bedroom sets I looked at costed a lot more for the bed, desk, and dresser. Obviously, the three drawers won't be enough room, but if you have a closet, you can invest in the plastic storage drawers. They may not look the best, but at least they'll be out of sight. All in all, I am extremely satisfied with this bed based on its functional bed/desk combo design and its price. 04/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by More than what I EXPECTED! Great Item! I wasn't sure about buying this bed at first because I thought the desk and dresser would be small but I was very wrong! The amount of storage it has is amazing. I had also read a couple reviews about the actual wood pieces being cheap and breaking easy but those people must have bought a different bed because everything was in great shape and the pieces are thick i dont know why they would say they would break. It took about 4 hours to put everything together but dont let that scare you..the assembly was amazingly simple. The instructions are very easy to follow. Its just a whole lot of bed. It is perfect for my daughter because she has a small room and the bed allows her to have more space because of all the storage underneath. This bed is defiantly worth it and is at a great price. I would recommend this bed not just for younger children but for teenagers as well. 03/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Love Love this bed I bought this bed back in February for my 10 year old son. This bed provides so much and takes up so little space. Time wise this bed took awhile to put together but when it is done it is awesome. I was surprise how sturdy it was ..... My son loves it too .... He thinks it is the coolest bed ever! I am glad we got the dark color also. 05/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tween Storage Loft Bed w/ Desk I was very excited to find this product on Wal-mart.com. My daughter has a small room and needs all the storage we can find. I was having a hard time finding a lower loft bed that would fit under a sloped ceiling. This bed fits perfect and has more storage then I orignally thought. This was a great bed for the price after shopping at many places. It takes time to put together but we did it as a family. I am thinking of buying another for my sons room! 09/11/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Space saving & Unique design We bought TWO of these mid-loft beds for our 7-year old twins (now 8) in August 2009. We bought the white one for our girl and a light pine/honey finish for our boy. I don't see the light/honey colored one now, but I do see a white/pink one that I wish they were selling when I bought---daughter would have loved that! I had researched for HOURS on-line and did not see any other "mid-loft" style bed; only standard loft beds, which are too high, especially for our standard height ceilings. There may have been a couple of others, but they were very expensive. That is why this is SUCH AN EXCELLENT VALUE. We had no issues with delivery or condition upon pick-up. These beds are difficult (why I gave 4 stars for overall), but not impossible to assemble, they have tons of storage space, they look great and are a great bed for a kid to grow up with---though it may not be something they take with them when they move out! I promise that you won't find a MID-loft bed with these dimensions and storage features, that doesn't look like a bed for teeny tiny kids or that doesn't have a huge custom sized price. So, save the time and get it or search "mid-loft bed" and you'll see..... Here are some details for those that like them. ASSEMBLY: My Dear Husband assembled both beds---mostly alone. There was some cursing! The first bed took him about 6-6.5 hours; but the second one took perhaps around 4 hours. The only time I helped, he had an issue with the first top back bed shelf and was trying to put it in upside down (he just needed a 'fresh' perspective)! This bed is MDF, which is strong/heavy, but covered with melamine, as DESCRIBED in the details. You DO have to be careful with a melamine finish----it can scratch and scuff. So can real wood---of course you could refinish real wood. USE: My daughter and son love their beds! And, they are advertised as 'tween' beds, so I think we'll have them quite a long time. The shelves and cupboard storage are great. We bought some fabric bins/boxes for them to store things in the deep cupboard areas. My daughter needs an extra dresser---- she was overstuffing the drawers. I did show/remind both kids that they can't lean on the drawers. They shut smoothly enough, but they are small and the hardware may not be as strong as an expensive all wood dresser. Plenty big enough for shirts/shorts/undies, etc. Or, even some toys/games if you have another dresser to use. They can display things and put books on the top back shelves. And, it's great for a small clock; eliminates the need for a nightstand of course. DESK=FORTRESS!: We set the beds up on wood floors. The desks roll out smoothly enough and two of the wheels lock, but even though they were meant to slide in and out, the fit is just perfect--no extra room. So, we decided to keep the desks out of the space. Otherwise, the bed and desk would bump and ruin the finish. I think it would be even harder to slide the desk in/out on carpet. The bonus here is that the kids have turned the extra space under their beds into a fort of sorts, with blankets, pillows, books, flashlights, etc. The drawback of the desk is that there are no shelves/drawers. BUT THE POINT OF BUYING THIS WAS THAT IT SAVED SPACE! So, we'll let them grow out of the desk and could have to buy small desks in the future that have built in drawers. **** I plan on buying plastic desktop savers to help maintain the finish---especially for the white desk. They still look fine though some 6+ months later, but my kids are careful when doing art on it. MAKING THE BED: Our kids were in standard bunk beds in the same room before we bought these. If you've ever had to deal with bunkbeds and a standard ceiling, you know how hard they are to change, or to tuck your kids in, or deal with a sick kid. Can't tell you how many times I hit my head on the ceiling or came close to hitting the ceiling fixture (hubby too)! It's always an agility exercise and the sheets/blankets always stick out of the slats of the top bunk. Yuck. So, I found it kind of strange and amusing that others find this bed hard to make! I (5'6") can easily reach the 3 corners. I have the kids take the old sheets/blankets off and they help with that difficult 4th corner too, or I just crawl up there (but no hitting head). We did purchase very affordable tempurpedic-type kid mattresses, so they are easier to lift at the corners---lightweight. And, the kids are a perfect height to kiss goodnight; no more hitting our heads on the bottom of the top bunk while kissing the kid on the bottom and no more back problems either! I'm telling you, we loooove these mid-lofts. 04/17/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Contemplating a 2nd I bought this bed several months back (maybe closer to a year) for my 10 year old daughter (now 11). I used site to store, and it came in as expected, but I couldn't fit all three boxes in my SUV, so if you decide to pick it up yourself make sure you have a pickup truck or van to load it into. Then... getting it OUT of my SUV was a pain, there was just me doing this, so those reviewers who said it wasn't that bad weren't trying to do it by themselves. But I'm smarter than your average bear, I just opened the boxes while they were still IN my car and emptied out the pieces one at a time (and stacked them in my garage#. They were in good shape, and because I read the reviews I EXPECTED the pressed wood #seriously someone thought they would get solid wood for $400???#. It took me about 5 hours to get the bed put together well enough to call it quits and let her sleep on it. Unlike SOME beds, that allow separate assembly of the shelves and drawer unit, about the only thing you can leave out #and still get the bed functional) is the desk, the door to the cubby and the individual drawers themselves. My daughter went about a week without drawers because I got busy before I could finish it, but those took me less than 10 minutes to do. My son has a solid wood captain's bed and after 7 years of use and 5 moves the sides of it have started to bow in the center so the support boards fall through and bang around has he tosses and turns in bed at night. I'm seriously considering replacing it and buying a 2nd bed like this one for him. The metal framing for the bed is VERY sturdy! And I suspect, as we move around a lot being a military family, this bed will be easy to take apart and put back together again time and time again! That is very important when you move around a lot like I do, I've put somethings together that did not move well in one piece and was very difficult to take apart to move it. I like this bed for not being too high, my daughter previously had a bunk bed that was so high we could not run the ceiling fan when it got hot. The desk is a little cheap, it would have been improved by putting a shelf or something on the inside for storing things, but it rolls well enough even on our carpet. If you're worried about it there is the option of putting one of those plastic roller mats under it to ease rolling. My biggest complaint is there is no switching it around the ladder goes on the right side and the desk on the left, if this doesn't work out for your room arrangement there is no way to switch it around, unless you're prepared to drill your own holes and jerry-rigging a few things, which I am not. My daughter also complains that things fall off her bed through the metal bars, but luckily it's not too hard to crawl under it and rescue things. My daughter is at the age now where she thinks she's too cool to play under her bed, I've put a couple storage bins under there and we store her off season clothes and bedding there. In order to access the back area it is easier if you pull the desk all the way out first, so if you put the desk up against a wall you are cutting off some additional storage space, or access to the secret clubhouse. On the whole the fact that I am considering purchasing another one after I've owned the first one long enough to judge it properly, should speak volumes to what I think of it. The one my daughter has is the white with pink accents, I am considering the darker one for my son. 03/30/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love this loft bed! I purchased this loft bed for our 5 year old daughter. All said and done, she LOVES it! It was worth the slight difficulty in assembly. Let me offer some advice. As other reviewers commented, this bed takes a long time to assemble and the instructions are not at all clearly written. Having said that, do not let that stop you from purchasing this bed. Just know in advance to have about 6 hours to work and have at least one other person to help. Here's how I think my experience may help... 1. lay out all the pieces, try to figure out which go to which part (bed, "dresser" and desk) and separate them 2. prep all the pieces with the plastic dowels, cams and cam bolts. This can be done without help 3. All you need are a rubber mallet and phillips head screw driver 4. Once all the pieces are prepped, look carefully at the instructions to determine which go together. I found that if we hammered (with rubber mallet) the parts together and then tightened the cams, it went more smoothly. Trial and error, tightening the cams alone didn't really join the pieces... (something maybe obvious to others... lol) 5. Definately have 2 people when assembling. I tried to attach one part alone and cracked it. It did not affect the function of the piece nor can my error be seen, so it worked out fine. But you can't do this alone. 6. I was short 8 cam bolts (listed as part A). It was a weekend and I got a machine at the company. I tried to email them and my email was returned. The quality of the copy on the instructions is poor, so I think I misread the email address. I called on Monday morning and spoke to a very helpful gentelman at Rak Furniture. He sent out my missing parts right away and I had them within 3 days. I just had to wait to put together the desk until I received the parts. Overall, it was a long and difficult (but not impossible) process. And it was worth all the time and effort! The bed is really sturdy and the "underneath" makes a great play house, as my daughter calls it! We love it and with free shipping to home, you can't go wrong! We are completely satisfied with this purchase and would recommend this bed. I gave it an overall 4 stars simply because the instructions were anything but clearly written. I would suggest the manufacturer reconfigure the instructions to be more user friendly. 07/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by As sturdy as it gets! This is a great product, with great value for the money you pay for it. I was a little bit concern after reading the bad reviews about this loft bed, but now, after receiving it and assemblying it with the help of my wife, my conclusion is that they just did it wrong! The bed is as sturdy as it gets, I even tried it myself. Just be humble and patient and let yourself be guided by the instructions STEP BY STEP. I also think this company had been reading these reviews and improving upon them because the instructions are full color with great quality easy to understand and follow, also there are a couple of extra studs and locks, the packaging is robust, I saw some damages on the outside of the box, but in the inside there are a bunch of styrofoams to cushion the hits and protect it, so I received just 1 minor damage on one piece but after assemblying it it didn't matter. Of course is not hard wood, is MDF which is not bad at all, a hard wood product like this would cost 4 to 5 times more. About the warranty for broken or missing part I won't review because I didn't have to use that service. It took about 8 hrs for 2 adults to finish the final assembly. And my daughter just loved it. This loft bed is for a TWIN mattress and it doesn't use further space than that, the drawers,desk and shelves are under the mattress so don't get fooled by the picture and check the specs. Overall, for me it's a 5 star rating and very pleased with my purchase. 12/23/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome Bed I purchased this bed for our 6 year old daughter who was transitioning out of a smaller bed. I looked online at several beds and they were either too big for her room(9x10), or too expensive. I found this one on the Walmart website and was hooked.The majority of reviews were positive and the negative ones didn't seem too bad. My husband put this together mainly by himself as I must admit I have no patience for that sort of thing. The reviews are absolutely correct about how long it takes to put together.It took my husband about 5 hours over 2 days to put together. The only real issue he had was having to install longer screws into the back part of the bed because the screws supplied were too short. Well, my daughter absolutely LOVES this bed. She put all her treasures on the shelf and all her pillows on the bed. We set up the underneath as a hideout and put up a cute curtain for the opening. I also added some fun removable decals to the bed. We did put the desk together and right now we're using it to put extra things on. All in all I must say I am very happy with the bed. It is also a big plus to see my daughter want to go to sleep at night in her "Big girl bed" with no more fuss.The free shipping to home is also an added bonus since the boxes are quite heavy. 08/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Bed!!! My 4 year old daughter loves her new bed! Her dad and I love the amount of storage it offers. She has small room so not having to have a dresser seperately in the room helps give her a lot more space to play. The bed took about 6 hours to put together but it was well worth it and the look on her face when she walked in and saw her "big kid bed" was beyond priceless. would recomend this bed to anyone and with the site-to-store delivery saving us the shipping costs, its a great value! Love it, Love it, Love it!!! 08/06/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a GREAT bed!! This bed is amazing! I couldn't ask for anything more. The dresser in the bed works fantastically, and can hold about 24 folded shirts in one drawer. I have a small dresser, so this prevents over stuffing. The pull out desk doesn't have to be put in, and can be used outside of bed. With desk out, you can crawl in the space. When you crawl in, you not only have that space, but a large space behind the dresser where you can put pillows and stuft animals. I use that as a reading nook, but younger kids can use it as a fort or play area. My 6 foot 2 inch father could easily lay in the right-angle shaped space, so parents can get down and play with their kids. The desk is larger than it looks, and really sturdy. The shelves on the corner can be used as a bookshelf, but you can have three rows of books on them. The can also be used as a CD player, sterio, radio, lamp, or toy holding area. The cabinet is deeper than it looks, which is great for my needs. As a warning for tall people (5'4" and above) if the bed is under a fan, be careful climing up the steps because I am 5'1" and my head is 6 inches away from the fan, but I have a low cieling. The shelves above mattress area work great for holding my old stuft animals, pictures, iPod speaker, and radio. Also very convenient if you are a glasses wearer and need to put you glasses somewear while you rest. It comes in three HEAVY boxes, so get help with that. The instructions are easy to follow, and parts are easily identified. It took my dad four hours to build, so I suggest someone to help you to minimize time. I think the time is worth it. This is an all around sturdy bed, a bit bigger than it looks, but it saves space, so that is good. If you are moving, this bed can disasimble if you take off the matteress, but it will be a lot of work to put it back together. I suggest just partly taking it apart and get large boxes to put it in. Like, keep dresser and desk put together and take apart mattress support and cabinet. I love this bed! I think it works great for all ages and needs. 07/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome loft When we decided to totally redecorate my 18 year old stepdaughter's small bedroom at home, we needed to find a bed that would allow more storage and also accommodate the low ceilings. This loft unit was the perfect solution. It is much more sturdy than I expected and lower than many other lofts I've seen in the stores. It took her and two friends a little over 4 hours to assemble, and they did a great job! They said the mainly pictorial directions were a challenge. She decided not install the front railing, but does use the short ladder. She loves how the dark expresso color contrasts with her newly painted sky blue walls, and is delighted with the long upper shelf to store her phone and iPod at night. The slide-out desk may be used as a vanity area and she has plans for shoes and bags to fill the shelves and cubby. And of course the three drawers will help the overflow from her existing dresser! We are very pleased with our purchase and anticipate this will last her a long time. 08/29/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Strong, Cute, Losta Storage ... Perfect Bed!!! Not sure if my other review got saved, but had to add the pictures. We absolutely love it. Have had the bed 6 months now and it is as good as new. Our 7 yr old is 50lbs and we added the Spa Sensations 6'' Memory Foam Mattress (twin size) on it and both she and I fit comfortably on the bed and yes, it holds an adult very well! I had doubts about the fact it wasn't solid wood, but rather made of MDF, but once it is put together it is very sturdy, strong and heavy. Be sure to build it exactly where you want it to be placed as it is best not to try and move it once it is made as yes, a bolt did break through this one part of the bed in the back where you can't see it, so my husband simply drilled a new hole and patched it. We expect this to last for several years as we are very good at keeping our furniture and things clean, and our daughter is as well. As long as you don't abuse it, or push/move it, I don't see why it won't last for 5 years or more. If you do decide to move, the challenge is to separate the top half from the bottom only and you won't need to fully disassemble if you move homes. Our 20 yr old came home for the summer from college and absolutely loved the bed and now wants one for her college dorm. I highly recommend. Takes about 2 hrs or so to put together. Be sure to lay out all the pieces. Ours shipped site to store and we picked it up. No damages, and all parts and bolts were there. For its price and sturdiness, it is a very very good buy! The only reason I gave it 4 stars was because it isn't solid wood, but it is more affordable than a similar bed we were eyeing at a furniture store. Our 7yr old loves it! We do too! 07/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Tween bed! I bought this loft bed for my 11 year old daughter and she LOVES it! I wasn't sure I was going to be happy with this bed because my daughter is tall and it looked alittle small on the pictures but was I wrong.....it is huge and has a lot of space! Before we got it she had a dresser, desk, and containers stuffed with all her toys. This bed had it ALL! We now only have the bed and a TV stand and she loves the extra room. The display pics do not give it justice. The desk is great and rolls in if she has friends stay over, the shelves are huge and there is extra book shelves by where she sleeps, there is an enclosed storage compartment on the side that we got to hide all her shoes and games, the 3 dresser drawers are a great size and her favorite part is under the loft bed where she has made it her little get away from her little sister to get some reading done!.....its also a great place to hide all the "stuffed animals" that they won't get rid of haha! It does take a really long time to put together but it is soooo worth it at the end! You will need more than one person to put it together . We wanted to save money by getting it shipped to the walmart site and we did, the boxes are heavy but with 2 people its possible....me and my mother lifted them so anyone can...you can save like $114.00 so if you can lift and want to save do it! We are very happy with the bed and the quality of it. It's a perfect bed for ages 3 and older. 03/11/2010
1-30 of 642 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw460
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp