Rated 4 out of 5 by 73 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great BBQ/Smoker Easy to put together and works great! The smaller size saves on charcoal (don't need anywhere near a 5 pound bag) and the metal is much thicker than tin foil as stated in an earlier review. I have had this smoker/BBQ for two years and use it on average 2 to 3 times a week. Just needed a little BBQ paint to touch up some rust, to be expected since it's stored outside all year in Michigan. My wife and I decided we wouldn't need a larger BBQ and have saved a ton by not needing tons of charcoal to heat up some of those "MEGA BBQ's" that we have seen. 04/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value for the Money Overall this grill performed as intended. It keeps temperature well and has the necessary intake and outtake dampers to control to desired temp. A little smoke does travel outside through the main barrel opening. The product was made of quality craftsmanship for the price but needed a little plier tweaking on the barrel lid to provide a flush fit. I believe this could be additionally remedied by adding a strip of high heat, flame retardant seal along the barrel opening to conserve heat inside. I almost flipped when I initially saw this smoker at the wal-mart store because it resembled a large barrel smoker that I've seen at state fairs. Its size makes it perfect for use on an apartment patio or travelling (weighs just under 50 lbs). If you are serious about bbq but lack the space or want your meat for a small family get together, this product is perfect for you. I can't wait to get started this summer! 05/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by This smoker is smaller than I thought it would be, but It works for me and my wife and the small company that we have over. Smoked a brisket the first time. Turned out great. Used a combination of charcoal and Mesquite chucks. It maintained 200 to 250 degress for a 10 hour smoke. With a small fire box you do have to keep a watch on it and add accordingly. 05/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome for the price I bought it in May 09, It works really well you can adjust the air intake wich is the secret for charcoal gilling. I been using it even with snow on the ground. The only shortfall that I see is the ash pan however all you have to do is clean it everytime you use it and you be ok. If you like to BBQ all year long this is the grill for you. 04/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional product My husband and I live in the city, and have been wanting to try a charcoal grill for some time. This grill was easy to assemble, fun to use, and comparable quality to our friends larger charcoal grills. 03/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by good little smoker I bought this small smoker because I have limited space. It has so far proven to be a good purchase. It took about an hour to assemble...tedious but not difficult. The quality of the materials used to make this smoker are what I would have expected for $89 bucks, but everything works and with some regular care and some small modifications I expect it to last a while. As soon as I got it together I loaded the firebox with a chimney of charcoal to break it in and see if it would get to temperature (200 to 250 degrees) and hold it. It did. In the process I managed to burn off some paint, which is to be expected...keep a can of BBQ paint handy... you'll need it. When I actually cooked something it was a pork loin roast I'd had in the freezer for awhile so I decided to throw it on the smoker. I initially used charcoal with a few small hickory chunks just for smoke, but found that the charcoal alone did not maintain temperature for long enough. It actually takes both wood and charcoal to maintain acceptable temps. It also requires considerable attention. Smoking is not a set it and forget it operation. The result is pretty good smoked meat. My loin roast was moist and tender with a perfect smoke ring and great bark. While pork loin is not the ideal BBQ meat it was delicious and the little smoker did a great job. 05/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Grill for the money! The directions were concise and the grill assembled very easily. I have grilled and smoked several items including pork roast, ribs, pork chops, burgers, hotdogs, kabobs, fish, and even ears of corn and pizzas! The size is small enough to not take up much room on our deck, but large enough to accommodate our family of 3 and a couple of friends with out using near as much briquettes as it larger brother grill. The only con I can see is if you have a larger group to cook for, you may need to cook several batches of food and it does not have a warming rack as its big brother. For me that is a small sacrifice for saving space and briquettes. I was able to purchase this grill and they delivered it to my door via Fed-Ex for only $0.97! 07/11/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Buy!! I was given this product as a gift, and BOY DID I HAVE RESERVATIONS! !. Fathers day I cooked 2 Tri Tips and 8 chicken breast, no problem!. Overall this is the best bang for a low budget, of course there are features that could be approved on. I would start by putting expanded metal or a grill with the "bars" closer together in the smoke box (for the charcoal). I have an issue with the coals falling to the bottom.. causing the much needed oxygen to be stifled, and after 2.5 hours the bottom is so full of coals getting the heat over 200 F is a chore. I would also recommend a deflector in the cooking chamber, but you can put a piece of aluminum foil over the bottom of the grill closest to the smoke chamber, poking holes in it. This helps even out the heat in the cooking chamber. For those of you that are having problems with heat- try opening the vents all the way for a bit- more oxygen= more heat (if you have enough fuel). I have smoked with vertical propane and wood smokers, offset wood, and converted propane BBQ's ;) and this one is very good for the money. but by all means.. if you can afford a more expensive one go for it! with a lil patience and a few modifications this is a great product for the money! 06/22/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixed Feelings I purchased this smoker after reading all the reviews. The people who say you cant control temperature have never used a smoker before apparently. I went to my local hardware store, picked up some flat wood stove gasket for .69 cents a foot, glued it to the inside of the smoker box lid, between the smoker box and the barrel, and around the main barrel lid. Works great now. Very little smoke or heat loss. Now for the true trial, this weekend smoking a 12 Lb brisket. Lets see how she goes. 06/30/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by This smoker grill is not a good buy!! I got this item after High hopes of having a good small smoker/pit. Well it certainly meets expectations of small!!!! the firebox is so small you can't even put 5 lbs of charcoal in it!! And the pit itself is made of flimsy material!! I've seen thicker tin foil than this!! Of course having waited 21 days in high hopes of site to store delivery what a disappointment!! Don't waste your money as I did!!! 03/08/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great smoker for the price. We've smoked ribs and a whole pork loin so far and using charcoal and wood chips it works great. Easy to use, easy to clean and works well. If ya line both the firebox and under the grill grate with aluminum foil it cleans up in minutes. NOTE: HOLD THE TEMP AT 250 AND FOOD TAKES ABOUT 1 HOUR PER LB. TO COOK TO 160 DEG 07/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Long Lasting Grill I bought one in 2005 and still works great. Had to get some paint for rust naturally, it was stored outside. Other than that I have smoke ducks and brisket and roasts in this grill. My ex husband got it in the divorce so I am here to buy a new one lol. I grilled all year round with this, rain and snow I used an umbrella! Worth every penny and more. 02/20/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by GREAT LITTLE GRILL I gave it a 4 only because it needs a better ash removal acess. Its just me and the wife now so its the right size even with a couple friends over. Went togather pretty easy and finish is very good. Heavy guage metal should last for years with just a little care. Offset fire box a real plus for slow cooking. Use it almost every day,I think this is the best grill I've owned and I've owned many. 05/15/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 Good product for it's price When I purchased the product, I wasn't expecting a top of the line culinary art work, and it's certainly not, however it does function better than I actually expected it to. When the grill is heated up the hinges on the smoker box lid, as well as the dampers tend to stick a bit, however it's not significant enough to render them non-functional, it just takes a little more force than when the grill is cold. One other drawback is that the damper on the smoker box has nothing to keep coals from falling out of the damper if it were to be fully opened, however it's not an issue when actually using the grill as a smoker. The side tray also has very limited space, so one tray with enough food to actually cover the grill area will need to be set on a side table, however there is enough room for a spatula, basting brush, tongs, bowl of sauce, dry seasoning, and an adult beverage, and even though it's fairly lightly constructed, it's a fairly sturdy little shelf. I did have quite a bit of the cooking grate coating chip off after the first use, however I prefer cast iron cooking grates anyhow. 06/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by It was very easy to put together. Uses very little charcoal. The earlier review and recommendation of using the wood chips was excellent, worked like a charm. My first BBQ was a great success. Used the small smoker on the side to keep meat warm while I finished. Works both ways. Mine did not chip after the first use, but I have the BBQ paint standing by. 07/20/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value I wasn't real good to my old grill and left it out on the deck for 2 years uncovered. It rusted and I needed a replacement. I was looking for a charcoal grill with a side smoker. I found this one and decided to give it a try. It was very easy to put together. I was a little concerned about the small size but there's just two of us and we don't do a lot of entertaining. The temperature is easy to control and it heats up fast. My first cook was venison butterfly chops and they turned out great. Looking forward to smoking a turkey. If you don't need to grill a large quantity at a time I'd recommend this unit. 05/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great smoker and grill! My husband and I were going to buy the bigger smoker/grill but since there's only the two of us we decided to get this one. It's perfect! We grilled on the 4th of July and ended up making tons of food so we wouldn't have to cook all week. He smoked ribs and we grilled chicken, hamburgers, hot dogs and some veggies and everything tasted so great! This weekend we're going to do steaks and more ribs. I see us using this grill a lot! It is a great size and the thermometer on the top is pretty accurate so don't worry about it getting too hot or not hot enough. The damper on top works great for adjusting the temp, too. We used the Bradley Apple Bisquettes that came with it and they made it taste so much better. He slow cooked the ribs and replaced the bisquettes about every 30 minutes for a great smoke flavor. Not overpowering at all! We're very happy with this little smoker/grill and hope it lasts for a real long time! 07/16/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by GREAT LITTLE SMOKER. JUST WIFE & SO I DIDN'T WANT A HUGE SMOKER. WENT TOGETHER FINE. HAVE USED IT 3 TIMES TO SMOKE & MANY TIMES TO GRILL. WORKED GREAT. AS A SMOKER MIXED CHARCOLE & WOOD 50-50 TO SAVE ON WOOD. TASTES GREAT. AS A GRILL EVEN USED THE SMOKER BOX AS A GRILL. FIT 6 LARGE CHICKEN BREASTS ON MAIN GRILL & 2 STEAKS IN SMOKER BOX. WISH IT HAD AN ASH TRAY BUT FOR WHAT YOU GET MORE THAN WORTH THE PRICE. 06/15/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Small smoker Perfect little smoker for my bride and I with enough room when company visits. I seasoned it on the first day. Second day added some charcoal to get things started, put on the hickory wood and about 2 hours later out came a nice rack of baby backs, perfect. 05/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great value for the dollar competetively priced, simple assembly, very easy to use. A-1 purchase, as good as any $200.00 unit. 08/28/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Product Bought this grill because it was small and just what we had been looking for. After only a couple of uses the paint was coming off. Another thing was there is no easy way to clean ashes off it. I would say don't waste your money. But, Wal-Mart did take it back, used. 05/26/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cheap, But? I wasn't expecting the greatest smoker in the world at 90 bucks but I figured that this would be a good entry level unit that I could use to build up my smoking chops with before graduating to a more expensive unit like the Weber Smokey Mountain which seems to get universal acclaim but is $400. Anyway so I got this thing home, built it and did the curing process. The paint on the firebox peeling away in a matter of minutes. I was like, you gotta be kidding me. I resprayed the outside and seasoned it with oil and when I did my first cook at peeled off again. I called Char Broil and told them my dillema and they assured me that this is not a regular occurence. Yeah, right. First and formost the metal in this unit is extremely thin so the there is greater heat transfer to the metal and thus the pain. Second the fire grate is so low that the coals are literall sitting on top of the steel. That and probably cheap paint equal this this peeling in a heartbeat. Aesthetics aside, what worries me is that the steel will eventually weaken to where the bottom will fall out. I finally convinced char broil to send me a new bottom and damper (That peeled too). But before I install that I need to make some changes so as to not have the same thing happen. I am planning on building a charcoal basket out of diamond mesh steel so that the coals are contained and don't lean up against the metal. Second I have to prop that grate a little higher so the coals are not so close to the bottom to begin with. I really don't plan on using the cooking grate in the firebox to cook so I am not concerted about elevating the coals. Another problem is the heat loss on this sucker. It really does lose a lot because of the thin metal but also because of the poor construction. The seams should be tight but they are not so you lose a lot of smoke and heat. I am thinking about getting some stove gasket and putting that one the cooking chamber lid so there is a tighter seal. Hopefully these fixes will improve the durability and performance of this grill 07/11/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Its alright Well lets be honest here... this thing is a durn good deal for bot even $100. The sheet metal ain't like aluminum foil as mentioned in another review, but it ain't any real heavy gauge stuff either. Should last a few years with decent care. Overall it works alright out of the box, but has a few "smoke leaks" in different places. Mainly where the upper and lower halves of the firebox are bolted together, and also the lid on the cookin chamber leaks around it's edges. I welded the firebox seam up, and as for the lid... I'll just get some hi temp seal material. The smoker does get up to a stable temperature quickly, and seems to hold it fine also. Only thing I dont like about it is there aint an ash pan or any way to clean the firebox easily. Overall a good smoker that just needs a few tweaks to become a great smoker. Tip for those who are new to smoking: that cap on top of the smokestack should be wide open at all times... unless you ain't cookin. It's a rain hat, not a damper. The box and/or manual might say it can be used as a damper but that's just not what it was ever meant to be. Control heat and smoke with the firebox damper only. You dont want to trap the smoke in the chamber or you'll get a "creosote cook"... which tastes bad. Smoke should flow freely thru it... just like you dont throttle an engine by it's exhaust, you throttle intake air...Same principle applies here. 04/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great smoker grill for its size and price I actually like it better than the larger char-broil smoker grill my daughter owns; it needs less coal/wood/fuel to achieve the same results. Its compact size is deceptive because it allows a whole lot of food to be cooked, smoked and grilled at one time. Since purchasing this item I have saved tons of charcoal by smoking fish and chickens at the same time and then grilling my steak or chops before those coals are too cool to be viable. I used to use my old grill/smoker almost daily during the season, and, yes, I do smoke foods during the cold months too. Imagine having multiple meals cooking at the same time as you relax with your book or romp with the kids, it's possible with this grill smoker. ENJOY!!! 06/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best little Smoker for the $ Got mine for fathers day Love it well worth $89. 06/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by My adult son put this grill together yesterday for Memorial Day. I love it. 06/01/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice bbq!! I was pretty excited about getting this bbq put together and using it. The firebox that is attached to it works great!! You can even use it as extra cooking space. I have smoked a lot of meat on this bbq already. Does an excellent job smoking! VERY PLEASED!! 03/23/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice smoker for a beginner Bought this for my husband for Christmas on a family member's recommendation. It definitely lived up to our expectations. He's smoked a pork butt, some ribs and a steak so far and it's getting better every time. He struggled a bit with it maintaining the heat at first -- but, of course, that could have something to do with the fact that it's wintertime! It worked well this weekend with the temperature a little warmer, so I know it will be perfect in the summertime. If you're looking to learn how to smoke and don't want to make a huge investment yet, I'd definitely recommend this one. (P.S. Be sure to buy a cover for it! I couldn't find one at Wal-Mart that fit this one, so I went to Lowe's and got a Weber cover; it's a little too big, but it keeps it protected from the elements when we're not using it.) 01/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great value Bought the smoker/grill for use as a smoker. Still trying to figure out the temperature control but this is my first smoker so it is kind of fun! If you want to smoke it easy and have the money. A Bradley might be for you. I like to cook and the challenges that go with it. I do wish the fire box (the small extention of the grill was a bit larger. Cooking thing's that take hour's of smokeing is a battle to keep enough coal's hot to heat the grill. Ash clean out is a bit hard as the whole grill need's to be shifted to clean them out. Would like to see a larger fire box and an ash clean out (Slideing drawer type). That said I do Love this smoker! For the money(Less than 100 dollar's) it can't be beat! 08/20/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by offset smoker this thing was a pain to put together but it is small and fits on my deck i recommend this to a beginner and with a few modifications it should work pretty good 03/27/2010
1-30 of 63 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew304
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp