Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 106 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE the whole line!!! So I first bought the Canopy Mohagony console last year when we got a new 52" Samsung 850 and realized it was too big for our current entert. center. It was an impulse purchase we expected to replace after we had time to shop around for something we liked better. Turns out, we ended up loving the console and no one believed we got it at WalMart! Fast forward 1 year, still love it. Now we are changing a first floor guest room into an office. We decided to go with the desk set in this line. Got the desk/bookshelf/file cabinet combo, plus ordered 2 extra bookshelves. I also got some of the baskets. Below are some of the notes I think would be helpful to others: 1) much of these items are solid wood so they are heavy... be prepared!! 2) these items are easy to put together, the assembly is well thought out 3) there are a few parts that seem a little off-center or don't align perfectly. seems like this may be common so when you call the 800# the #1 selection on the phone line is for replacement parts. they made it easy and fast to get new parts... suprisingly no hassle! 4) the dark baskets in the picture are beautiful and lined... but warning, they will scratch the wood slightly so be sure to put something under them to protect the wood. 5) the measurements in the product description are somewhat confusing. understand that some are the measurements for the assembled item and some are for the item as it ships. this is esp helpful for the bookshelves. Assembled they are 30" wide and 14.5" deep. 6) at the time of my purchase WM had 2 different bookshelves listed and the only apparent difference was 100 bucks. indeed, it appears they were in the process of raising the bookshelf prices from 199 to 299. At 199 I would highly recommend them... any higher and it would be your choice, I personally would not pay more even though I love them. 7) you should also know in advance that the packaged items, esp the bookshelves are large!! I have an 03 MDX and wasn't able to shut the back all the way with both of my back rows down. nothing a little rope and a red flag can't handle, but you're not getting these home in a little sedan! All things considered I absolutely love the set. Great customer service. Lots of compliments. Go for it!! 02/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 Great bookcase at a good price! Carrying the box and putting the bookcase together is definitely a two-person job. It is not that difficult to assemble but the large pieces are a bit much for one person to handle. We had a few problems with the finished product. The hinges were broken in one place but we were able to work around that. Also, the holes for the door knobs did not line up with each other and that really bugged me. I called the company and they were very easy to deal with. They sent us two new doors and we received them within two weeks. They kept us informed via email as to the parts order and shipment. The replacement doors were perfect. They also include a touch-up marker which is very convenient. We bought this bookcase in mahogany to go with our Canopy TV stand. They are very sturdy pieces of furniture and the finishes are gorgeous. There is a seam down the middle of the back of the bookcase, but that would be my only complaint about it. The two pieces look great together in our living room and overall, I am very pleased with this purchase. 12/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bookcase for the price. I bought a pair of these bookcases and the matching tv stand when I moved into my apartment last year. I assembled the bookcases myself, but it would have been simpler with two people. I have not had any problems with scratches and everything still looks good. 03/27/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beware item not as shown! My main "beef" with this item is that it doesn't look the way it is pictured on the site. The back of the bookcase is in 2 pieces - this means that there is a seam running the ENTIRE LENGTH of the bookcase (top to bottom) right up the middle. So if you are using it for anything aside from jamming it 100% full of books (which you really can't do as it won't support the weight) you will be very displeased. The seam is very noticeable and it weakens the item structurally as the 2 back panels are attached via these tiny hinges (which when I unpacked it, were totally disconnected - the screws holding it in were pulled out by the stress of being shipped). The doors didn't line up (when attaching them via the pre-attached hinges). We had to drill new holes to make it work so that the door would actually close. Finally, it was missing a shelf. Nice. The only good news was that I could put it together alone and I'm a 5'6" average female. Very disappointed - way too much $$ for this item. 05/20/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ordered via Site-to-Store, fast shipping to the store and very well packed. My garbage can is now full of styrofoam! Had one of the upper shelf lips cracked, but a simple call to Sauder fixed that issue and a new one is being shipped. Not a single scratch anywhere on the bookcase and it was a SNAP to assemble! I think I spent more time vacuuming off the tiny pieces of styrofoam than actually putting it together... If you are looking for a bookcase that won't break the bank, this is definately the one for you! 06/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very well made. This bookcase is very well made. You can't go wrong with this set. Plenty of room for everything. 02/12/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't Believe the Price! This is the second piece of Canopy furniture I've purchased, and I'm just blown away by the quality. The first piece I purchased was the armoire, and everyday I'm amazed that I paid just a fraction of the cost for a genuine wood - not particle board anywhere - piece of furniture. I'd been looking for some time now for a small, but not too small, dining cabinet to hold extra dishes and such in our small dining area. Although this is a bookcase, it's well-made and versatile enough to fit in quite nicely in the dining area. It now holds several cookbooks, drinking glasses, plates, etc., overflow from the kitchen cabinets, and looks like it's part of the set with our dining table and chairs (also dark colored, but purchased by another manufacturer). You really can't go wrong with this line of furniture, if you're looking for more bang for your buck. It's of great value for the money. I put it together by myself in about 30 minutes time. It by no means looks like an out of the box piece of furniture. I'm planning to add one or two more pieces of the Canopy line to my home. 08/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid, sturdy furniture--easy to assemble I picked up this bookshelf on clearance in my local store for $140. Hurry and check your store today. This piece would be worth the original $249. There wasn't a thing wrong with mine, despite my fears of broken shelves after reading other reviews. Of course I didn't have it shipped to my house which increases the likelihood of damage. All of the comments about ease of assembly did had not convinced me how simple it would be. I've assembled a lot of low-end furniture over the years and this was the easiest, quickest piece I have ever assembled. And it looks like a real piece of furniture-store furniture. It gives my Target bookcases a run for the money for sure but I think it could hold up next to a lot of more expensive pieces. I didn't have the door problems others have experienced either. They are not 100% perfectly aligned (I think one set of hinges is just a centimeter or so higher than the other) but you'd have to really be scrutinizing it to notice. I've got quite a lot of heavy cookbooks on it and it seems quite stable and sturdy. I'm very pleased. 04/03/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Totally disappointed Ordered my first bookshelf in December. I received it and was happy with the appearance but the alignment was a bit off. I went ahead and kept it, thinking it was a fluke and that it would settle into place once I had things on the shelves. This never corrected and when I had to move it slightly, the alignment got worse. Now the doors don't even close. In the meantime, I had ordered another one, hoping it would be better. When I opened the box, numerous pieces were broken. It was all returned and I'm back on the hunt for a better quality bookshelf. 06/28/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointed in entire canopy line I had read the reviews like everyone else on here and selected the Canopy office set seeing as the reviews were mostly positive. I have never bothered to comment on any purchases before but this was such a letdown that I felt I had to write something. Every piece I ordered from the Canopy office set (Desk, Bookcase, and file cabinet) arrived broken, smashed, or so poorly made that the parts did not fit together. For comparison, I also have purchased many put together items from Target from their Avington line. Never once was anything broken, missing or smashed. That's out of five pieces I purchased from Target. I just could not believe that every piece had something wrong with it. Any yes you can order the pieces you need from Sauder but it takes about two weeks for the parts to arrive. Any don't bother trying to call them. They are rude when and if they answer the phone. You will have to fill out a form to order the almost guaranteed broken parts online. So again, a huge let down on this purchase from Walmart. I'm usually one of the people who think the negative reviews are from people expecting too much from the products, but in this case I hardly think that expecting to assemble your purchase is an overly lofty expectation 04/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Functional & Beautiful Shelves! A- Currently I have two of these shelves and one large matching Canopy desk. They are the most beloved furniture pieces in my home as they are not only quite beautiful but also extremely functional. In fact I Adore Canopy furniture so much that next month I shall be purchasing the smaller Canopy desk for my new Office, along with two more shelves and a filing cabinet. For my Master Bedroom I shall also be purchasing two additional shelves as well as two side tables to use for nightstands. When it is all said and done I shall have a total of six of Canopy shelves, two desks * and a filing cabinet in my home. Now It Simply Must Be Obvious That I ADORE Canopy Furniture! The pieces I already own are so beautiful! They look like you paid way more than you actually did and cost far, far less than you would pay in a department store. {* Although the surface of the desks may scratch I've found a way to keep them looking Brand New. My method is in my Review for the Desks.} Specifically About The Last Canopy Shelf I Bought :: It Was A STEAL @ Only $199! Alas two of the shelves arrived damaged. Worried I quickly rang the company directly. (The telephone number is on your Instruction Booklet!) They did not ask anything except the colour of the shelf, the model number and the item numbers of the replacement parts I needed, along with the address to mail them. Took about 10 minutes start to finish. Only TWO Days later the replacement shelves arrived looking Completely Perfect. Canopy is A Superb Company To Deal With IF You Have A Problem! I Definitely Recommend Canopy Shelves To Everybody: The shelves are gorgeous and if you have a problem their Customer Service is 100% Hassle Free... 03/14/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by A very nice piece of furniture I had been looking at the canopy furniture and finally started out with this bookcase. I was very pleasantly surprised to find that it is all wood pieces and not cardboard or the particle board construction. I was able to put it together myself however the door hinges were not even and one of the doors would not close correctly. I had to use spacers to even out the doors, but after doing that it looked perfectly aligned. Usually with more cheaply made bookcases the cardboard has to be re-nailed into place after a few years because it comes loose, but since this has a wood backing that is a part of the sides of the bookcase this will never happen. I highly recommend this product. 02/14/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recommend, but with a * It is tough for me to totally recommend this product because of the experience I had with the assembly. Once put together, the product looks nice and seems relatively stable. You definitely get what you pay for here, though, and I'm not sure how well it will hold up long term. My main complaint, and what leads to my somewhat shotty review, is that the sides and back (four pieces) are shipped attached to each other already with three hinges per section. While this makes this product EXTREMELY easy to put together (30 minutes), it also leads to a number of issues. First, with the jostling of transport, it becomes VERY easy for the screws to be stripped. When my product arrived, five of the nine hinges were completely unattached and stripped. And due to the angles with which the hinges are pre-attached, it is nearly impossible to fix this yourself. I had to call Sauder and explain the situation, and they promptly sent out a replacement part (in 7 to 10 days). So not only do I have all my books, movies and video games lying around my living room floor, now I ALSO have all the pieces of the bookshelf lying around for another week+. It finally arrived, and at least the whole thing was connected. The problem remains though, that even the hinges that stay attached (three screws per) generally have at least one of the screws stripped. So if you try and tighten the screws before you put it together, at least one, sometimes two, just spin. I ran into a problem while attaching the doors because of this, since all three screws were stripped and pulled out of the wood when I attached the door. Luckily, the wood on the door is thick enough that I could just use a couple thicker screws to tighten it. I don't understand why they don't send the pieces separately and let you securely attack them on your own. It would take a little longer to put together, but at least you could be sure everything was secure. Like I said, once together, everything appears to be fine. The product is nice and assembly very easy, but if you get a shipment with unattached hinges, be prepared to wait 7 to 10 days for a replacement piece that might also have the same problem. 10/15/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great seller but NO support from manufacturer Walmart has been great throughout this process. First off, STUDIORTA.com (aka the manufacturer of this product) has a horrible sense of customer service. I guess I should have known when it says right on their website that "we don't deal with the general public." I ordered this product 2 weeks before Christmas, I received 3 days after Christmas and I returned it 6 days later. During that time I emailed STUDIORTA.com 5 times requesting a status of my parts order...it is now January 11th and I have not received one email from them yet. For a $200 bookcase you'd think you'd send me some parts since you messed it up to begin with. Requested parts for this unit as the frame front was damaged, the left door hinges were bent and the upper shelves were all damaged on the front. I took my purchase back to Walmart after receiving the item and they gave me a full refund. I will purchase another of these bookcases as I like the product and it goes with my TV stand. However if you plan to purchase this product don't plan on getting any help from STUDIORTA.com if you have any problems with the finish or need replacement parts because you will be ignored. Thanks Walmart, great product and we will give it another try soon. Hopefully we will both have better luck next time. 01/11/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by poor quality product I was extreemly disappointed in all three of the Canopy Home Office pieces I purchased. The bookshelf came with a large dent and scratches. It was poorly designed and difficult to assemble. The finish is also of poor quality and looks like something you would find at a swap meet or garage sale. I seriously considered returning it for a refund, but simply did not want to mess with hauling it back to the store. Instead, I hid it in the corner of my office. 10/21/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by I did not like the folding book case. When I received it I found it somewhat damaged and the clamps and screws were missing so I had to find my own. It appears to be cheap and I do not like teh appearance. 04/12/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by bookcase damaged It would have been very nice had the color been black as I thought, and that shelf C & E had not been damaged and reglued and stained over. C is the bottom shelf that has the magnets for the doors to attach. because of the damage it does not shut properly and shelf E has a large gash that has been stained over but you can still see. I need C & E to be replaced with new ones. I am not sending the whole thing back but I shouldn't have to pay full price for damaged goods. 07/11/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent choice for the price!!! We purchased 2 of these bookcases, along with the T.V. stand. We were originally going to go with a much more expensive entertainment center, but decided not to spend too much money on one right now since we plan to move in a year. It meets all of my expectations - it looks really pretty. Its exaclty like the pictures look, was fairly easy to put together and much better quality than other furniture items you have to put together. Overall I am very please with the furniture for what we paid for it! 10/27/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by looks nice, but arrived broken One shelf arrived broken. It was replaced by the manufacter after we called them. The shelf looks good but the doors don't line up just right. I am not sure how to fix it but at least they shut tight and keep my little ones out of the bottom shelves! 10/10/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor quality pieces and fit While the product is very well packaged, many of the pieces have defects. When you reorder the pieces with defects, they arrive with defects as well. When you finally have enough satisfactory pieces to assemble the unit, the pieces do not fit well and the poor fitting is glaringly obvious. 10/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great shelf! This shelf was extremely easy to assemble. The sides and back come connected together by hinges, so all you need to do is stand the unit up and place the top and shelves into place. It took me about 20 minutes to assemble without assistance. The unit looks very nice. I have been highly satisfied with the Canopy line in general. 08/27/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by You Get What You Pay For! My husband has always told me "you get what you pay for". With this, it is so true! The price was right for my wallet but cheap is what I got! Looks good from afar, but you get close up and this item was very beat up. I guess it was a good thing they give you one of those touch-up pens. Didn't take back because it was quite the chore to get the thing put together, really didn't want to bother hauling it back after the fact. It will do...for now! 08/23/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bookshelf was extremely easy to put together. Only needed help attaching top to sides. The entire product line is a very good value for the money and this piece looks great in my office. 07/27/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Definitely some issues but luckily worked out. My Canopy bookcase definitely had some issues from the beginning, but all in all we're pretty satisfied. When we unpacked the pieces, the screws holding the main "body" of the bookcase together were all stripped out. It opens like an accordian so take care in unpacking the box so as to not "rack" the large piece. We didn't know this as the directions were the LAST thing that came out of the box. After putting the screws back in and assembling, it was sturdy enough that the stripped screwholes were not an issue. That aside, I am really happy with the product, it is beautiful, love the wood, it's sturdy, and it was EXTREMELY easy to assemble. No tools necessary #except a screwdriver in my case#.Just ordered the matching dresser, so stay tuned, hopefully no issues! 06/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Piece Looks very nice and classy. Love the bottom shelving which has doors!! 04/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful and functional This unit is just as beautiful in person as it is online. The two shelves behind the doors are perfect for storing all those ugly paperbacks of which I always seem to have far too many. The shelves themselves are fat stronger than I had expected. I have one of them stuffed with all of my grad school texts which weigh a ton. The textbooks have lived on the same shelf for over two years and there is no sagging of the shelf whatsoever! I am also happy about the cord management built into the unit because this ha allowed me to house my cable box and DVD player on the bookcase. Some issues other reviewers have mentioned are either not applicable to the piece I received or are attributable to causes other than defect in the bookcase. I have move mine twice (once to relocate in the room and the second because it now resides in front of the plumbing access panel) and have not had a single problem. The doors on mine were perfectly aligned in the original location but where it is now, the floor is definitely not level and this has caused the unit to sit slightly off and the doors are now off as well. This is my house causing the issue, not the quality of the unit. 04/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Easy to put together Very surprised at how easy it was to put together. Looks great. 04/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely LOVE IT! I bought the Bookcase and cupboards and it fit in my MAZDA 626 with the back seats down. It took me longer to carry it up to my 3rd floor condo than it did to put it together! approximately 20 minutes and it was ready! Best piece of furniture I have ever purchased from WAL-MART. I am going back tonight to buy another piece! Absolutely love it!! No I have some where to put my books! and stow away my crafts! I actually purchased this for only $50.00!!! it was on sale in the electronics department on clearance just couldn't resist the temptation and I am oh so glad I purchased it! 03/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! So beautiful and elegant. Very spacious. I also purchsed the Canopy Cornerstone desk that's a match. The color is so rich. So worth it. I received many compliments! 03/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Canopy does it again! I purchased this bookcase to go with the computer cabinet/armoire that I purchased last year. Both pieces are sturdy, well made, and look fantastic. I also appreciate the simplicity of the design, which makes this line of furniture amazingly easy to assemble. The finish on both pieces matches perfectly in spite of the gap between ordering the original cabinet and the newer bookcase. I'm a very cautious shopper and always do a lot of research before spending money, and I'm confident that this is, by far, the best deal out there. 03/06/2012
1-30 of 101 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw386
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp