Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 56 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lives up to the reviews from several vendor sites I checked out reviews on multiple vendor sites before buying @W-mart (best price same unit) and it had the most favorable and least unfavorable user reviews of any portable DVD/CD I considered, including more expensive ones. I've used it for a 2 or 3 months now and I have not had any problems with it doing whatever I've asked it to do using a couple of different software apps. I believe it is the best one I could have purchased for the money or, including some more expensive units based on all their negative reviews. I have been using it with the Gateway Nightsky Netbook. Burning will sap the battery quickly but just playing a DVD seems it only does a little. Burning requires both cables to be plugged in but the one cable plays it just fine. 05/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by small but mighty This is a small unit, but it works great! It was well worth the small amount of money spent! 01/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great with Linux and Nero 4 Linux Greetings, I bought this for my wife's Toshiba Netbook with Ubuntu Natty installed. Works just great! The extra usb power cable isn't needed. Full speed ahead writer to the limit of the media. If you use the Linux OS you can throw away the included M$ disk and do what you already know how to do. And on top of all that - free Site to Store delivery! Thank you Walmart! Works with Linux No installation needed with Linux Works with Linux software Second power cable not needed Low Price Site to Store delivery 09/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by works great with netbook 01/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good basic unit for burning CDs & DVDs I was able to hook up the unit use it almost immediately. USB connectors are included and are stored on the unit. You may need to have two USB ports available that are close together, physically. I already had a version of the included software (Cyberlink) installed for my old internal drive, which is working well with this drive. Seems to work as well as my old internal drive used to at a reasonable cost. 12/10/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice super easy'' i didn't even install the software just plug and play'' i plugged it in and started burning movies easy as that this is a great little unit burns and plays DVD'S'' CD"S it's small and works' no problems at all. i burn allot of movies so when i spilled a little water on my laptop the only thing affected was my DVD player burner' i had to get something fast so this sweet little unit was it so if your looking for a burner that's easy to use this is it and you cant beat the price 02/19/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 Portable Dvd Burner Product doesn't work like I thought it would from advertisement. Information says works great from 1 USB port. It does if you want to only play a dvd! If you want to burn a dvd it takes a lot more power than 1 USB port! 12/31/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great portable DVD burner. This is a great small portable DVD/CD reader/writer. It writes every type of CD and DVD possible. Having some of the fastest read/write speeds, as compared to other products, makes this a far better choice. The only thing that could be improved is the USB cable. It is very short, which makes placing the device on a flat surface while used with a lap top difficult. 09/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome I got this to pair with a new ultra thin laptop after reading good reviews and finding none cheaper. I could not be more pleased. Installed fairly easily. It is super compact-less than the size of two stacked cd cases, and the USB cable clips into the edge of the unit when not in use. It works flawlessly. This is a really well-designed burner for real a bargain price. 09/06/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's great. Just a plug and run operation. It is a perfect take any were device. 03/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by for the price it has been great great price, I like how the USB cord wraps around for easy transportation with for my netbook 03/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great burner! Works great with my netbook! Easy installation. Plug in and go. Burns dvd's fast! I only needed to use one of the cables. Highly recommend! 11/02/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty good but short cord I recently acquired a second hand Gateway LT20 Netbook and needed a DVD Burner for it. This item operates using one port. However the cord is extremely short. While most computers could use this only on one port some computers in extreme cases will require 2 ports to draw the power. Lengthwise Id say the cord is only 5 to 6 inches long at best. So unless you keep everything close by don't count on using this with a USB Extension cord - I tried this and there is not enough power. Have not tried two USB extension cords But Don't want to find out and short the ports out on my laptop. Okay for pepople who are using a computer without a drive and need a quick fix to install programs on devices without a DVD Drive, otherwise........ Find something else with a longer cord and perhaps an AC Adapter. 06/03/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great dvd burner this dvd burner is real good with burning dvds with windows 7 64 bit laptop did not need both usb power cords pluged in 11/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product. Only had this for a short time but love it. Only need one of the usb cables. Have used it to play dvds, burn dvds and cds, works great. Really like the usb cable storage and seems to be well made. 01/05/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by MET EXPECTATIONS The unit is slim and cables fit neatly into the side of the casing. The unit is quiet and performs as expected. I found I did not need to use the power cable. 12/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by dvd burner up and burning easy in 5 minutes,works great with great price. highly recommend 08/06/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I have used this product multiple times and it works flawlessy.One great feature is that its powered by the computer,so no extra cords to deal with. 05/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great price and met all expectations except for the connection line being too short! 04/16/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works I bought this to use on my Linux computer but was unable to get it working (I'm sure it could work on it but I am new to Linux so am unsure of what I need to do to get it working) I did test this on a windows computer with good results... I plugged this into my Nook Color and it looks like there might be away of getting it to work with it (I am using CM9 MicroSD Card) other then that the product looks very nice and fits the look of my stuff... I would recomend this to other people. Thank you 06/20/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by DVD types supported Initially my unit appeared to be bad. After reading some user replies I found one that stated his unit did not work with Fujifilm DVD’s, but did on other DVD brands! I had the same problem. Unit works great along with a great price. 01/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not bad for the money I've tried this on XP and Win 7 machines. Just plug and play. If you already have a burner program on your PC you don't need the software. BUT after you hook yo the drive you may have to reboot your system for it to be recongnized. I've had this on both desktops and Laptops and works with X32 and X64 bit systems. I don't know about MAC?? 11/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Was exactly what I needed..am so happy I got it. My DVD burner had gone out on my laptop and I enjoy making Photo DVDs for my family.That way I can send to them and they can pop into their TV and relive our vacations and times spent together many times over. I had looked at several other external burners, but this one seemed to have everything I was needing and the price was in budget range too. I ordered online and it was here before I knew it...(Ship to store) I had no problem installing it and within a few minutes was making 'photo movies' again...I am very happy and well pleased with my purchase. It is compact enough to carry in your laptop case and the USB cable fits into the case to keep you from misplacing or losing it. 06/06/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great deal, but has issues I love the size and price. The issues are with the enclosures- the paperwork doesn't even tell you how to open the unit to insert a disc, and the software doesn't allow you to burn dvds...even though it's a dvd burner!! I'd to contact the company and they said remove the software that came with the product and replace it with what's on their site, but that didn't work either. I ended up having to download multiple burning software before I found something that actually worked for me. So keep in mind what you want to burn before you buy this. But it is a good product so far. 10/20/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst product in ever brought. took 3 hours to copy and copy didn't work in any players 02/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by DVD Burner Great product. Software ease to use. 06/18/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by good cd player works great 03/02/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It works fine! My DVD drive went out and my computer would not do all the things it used to do. So for $32. I ordered this and It did the job fine. now I can still use my 2006 Compaq P.C. for a while longer. 02/22/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Doesn't work out of the box I bought it to burn videos onto dvdr. You cannot burn dvd's until you go online and purchase The Program for more $ To be able to operate it. To me What a scam should come with it if it says it's a portable DVD Burner. So I Returned it. 01/12/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am satisfied with this product works very well 12/18/2013
1-30 of 49 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew459
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp