Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 83 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brother Laser Printer HL-2275DW I've never owned a Brother printer before - only Canon & HP. I chose this printer over other laser printers for a few reasons. First was size ( 14.5w x 14.2deep x 7" tall ). Second, it had good reviews (4.6 Walmart, 4.2 Amazon). These reviews were for the HL-2270 model which is the same printer without the full toner cartridge- that's the only difference. The HL-2270 has what they call a starter cartridge (est.700 pages) vs the HL-2275 which has the full cartridge TN420 (est. 1200 pages). The other deciding factor was the price of a new toner cartridge. Runs about $32 and less per page cost if you purchase the large capacity cartridge TN450 (est. 2600 pages) & $45. Remember these printed page estimates are manufacturer's estimates using half filled pages; so depending on how much you fill up a page is what determines how many pages you'll get out of a cartridge. I've only owned this printer for 10 days & normally don't like reviews this soon after the puchase but Walmart wanted a review so I will give an honest appraisal. I set it up to be wireless for my laptop and my wife's desktop. I just followed the directions and I didn't need access to the router. It worked the first time for both computers. I was surprised. The next day my laptop wasn't connecting wireless. Not sure why, but I then re-entered the CD software and it started working again. Both computers have been working wirelessly with the printer ever since. It prints fast and good quality prints. I like it a lot as long as it keeps working. It's very easy to connect wireless as long as you follow their directions. For longevity, I will see in a couple of years but for now I would definitely recommend it. 04/18/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Printers Dream! Just going to come right out and say it. This is the best printer you can have and I am talking about 1. Ease of use. 2. Value for the $$buck$$. 3. Replacement toner costs. Right out of the box, just put in the CD-Rom, follow the onscreen steps, it tells you to plug in the printer, it registers and before ya know it. You see "Your hardware is ready for use". On thin I am always weary is replacement toner/ink costs when buying a printer. When I find one that looks good to me, I immediately go to the toner/ink section and get an analysis if replacement cost. I am usually not surprised of the overpriced costs because that printer I was looking at may have cheap in price. It is the long term cost that the manufacturers are getting you. After checking this printer, also the functions such as the duplex option and the toner replacement costs. You will find this is one of the best deals out there. 12/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by a better buy then best buy I picked this printer because of how fast it prints and that it can do duplex printing. I had a little trouble getting the wireless to work. The instructions said to press a button and it would automatically set up within two minutes. It took several tries before I decided to just let it sit. It ended up taking about 7 minutes for the wireless setup to complete. During that time, nothing was obviously happening, so I was thinking it just wasn't working. The printer works well and it is fast. BTW the difference between this model 75 and the model 70 is that the 75 comes with a full toner and the 70 comes with a starter size. Given the cost of a new cartridge, the 75 is a better value. 01/01/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Printer I bought this printer strictly for printing coupons. I was spending way too much money on ink and decided to give this one a try. I have had it for 6 months now and print almost daily (60-100 pages a month) and I have not had to replace the factory toner yet. I have recommended this printer to several people and I will continue to recommend it. 09/29/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Paper is curled! I learned the hard way about this tray fed printer. This printer is really only for non-important prints. The paper is tray fed, heated is generated as your document is being printed (paper will come out warm), while the paper literally moves at a 360 degree angle inside the printer. The end result is a printed paper that is curled. I bought this printer as an upgrade from my old Lexmark. When it printer the sheets came out as flat as they were when they went in. With this Brother HL-2275DW printer the sheets do not come out flat and the both the top and bottom of the sheet are raised about 1 1/2" which is a very noticeable curl. Brother does have a "reduce paper curl" in the options (so it must be an issue). It helps a little but the paper is still very noticeably curled! If you're thinking about this printer for legal papers or for things like resumes choose a different printer unless you literally want to iron your documents after they are printed. The print quality is great but the paper curling is unacceptable. I'm printing on Georgia-Pacific Premium 24 weight paper so it's not like I'm using generic junk paper. 02/22/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great laser printer.....fast, quiet, reliable. I have always owned HP LaserJet's, but decided, due to the significant difference in price, to give Brother a try. Installation was quick and easy.....although I'm not utilizing the wireless capability. I only encountered two minor difficulties. They both resulted in crinkling of envelopes and paper. I called Brother Customer Service and the problems were both resolved within minutes. In my opinion, the Brother HL-2275DW is an excellent B/W laser printer for use in your home or office. 10/01/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Pleased with This Printer I am very pleased with this printer so far. Nov 2, 2013 I purchased a Brother Mono Compact Laser Printer. I received this printer on or around the 8th or 9th, not sure of the date, however, it was faster than I anticipated for "free" shipping. The printer works fabulously, easy set up EXCEPT for setting up wireless operation. Unfortunately, the assistance from customer services was a bit too technical, as I did not understand the terms the c.s. person was using. This printer comes without a USB cable, at least mine did not have one and if you are going to run this printer wireless ...no problem, otherwise you will need to purchase a USB cable. Hopefully it continues to work as it should as I use it more. Again...very pleased. 11/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by should have bought sooner I got tire of buying ink for my printers in years past. Did not take too long to get set up and going, maybe 10 minutes. Nice feature of being able to print directly from iphone with the free brother app. as well as double side printing. Paper tray holds a good amount of paper. Over all am pleased with unit and told co-workers about it as well. 08/30/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellant printer. After hours and days of research, I decided on purchasing the HL-2275 from Walmart rather than any other source for the following reasons; 1) Brother has been building laser printers for a long time and there online assistance is top-notch, not that I needed it. Considering I had never setup a Wireless network before, instructions were clear and complete. and everything worked perfectly the first time with two wireless computers. I'm not the fastest creek in the county, so I read stuff 2 or 3 times. 2) The HL-2275 is the same as last years HL-2270, except the 75 has a FULL toner cartridge (1200 pages) rather than a "starter"cartridge (700 pages) in the 70. Walmart's price delivered, not including the free 500 sheets of paper and 8G flash drive, whipped competitors. 3) Came before the expected delivery date in a factory sealed box. Employee allowed me to open the box and inspect it before I accepted it. Whole process, order to pickup was a 10. 3) Printer appears will built, easy to load, easy to operate, runs quieter than my inkjet, and is really fast, even in duplex printing. Being Wireless,, I can put her anywhere. 4) I have all ready printed some two page up both sides small booklets,, boy is that cool. CONS: Doesn't come with a kitchen sink, running water, or a Butler. HAPPY CAMPER 05/21/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased! I have to say I am very pleased with this product for my needs. That said there are a few things you might want to know before you buy: 1) It is not as noisy as a ink jet but it is probably the most noisy laser printer I have ever heard. This is not something that bothers me however. 2) It only prints black. I knew this going in but some people might not realize this is not a color printer. 3) Compared to other laser printers it is slow. It's still a lot faster than my ink jet was, and much cheaper to use in the long run. Overall this suits my needs perfectly. I have a small home business but I print a LOT of pages and this is really nice. I can load 1/2 a full ream of paper into the printer and it fits beautifully. The refill toner will print 2600 pages for under 50.00 and that's a lot better than having to replace two ink cartridges for almost the same cost that will print 400 pages. The quality is sharp and crystal clear. I am a happy camper! 03/07/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing printer, super fast, excellent quality!! I have no idea why I waited so long to buy a laser printer! I fumbled around with an HP inkjet through college, but now I am in need of a fast printing, and good quality text. I am a CRAZY COUPONER and let me tell you - this prints the clearest, best quality barcodes and text I've ever seen! Prints so quickly, and it's super quiet. Please be aware that the printer comes with a toner that's only about 25% full (I'd assume around 200-250 pages) so just buy one with the printer. I picked up the TN-450 which will print about 2600 pages for only $50. I know it seems way more expensive than an inkjet, but if you add up the savings it is well worth it in the long run. So happy with my printer, and I am glad to have it! Thanks Walmart! 11/05/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Feature-packed, reliable, and the software works! This is my third Brother printer. I have never been disappointed and this one is no exception. With each printer I have been blown away by the Brother printer and networking software. The software simply works. It does what it is supposed to do. It is easy to install. It is well documented and understandable. The print quality is outstanding. These traits ought to be just programming 101. But in other products out there, the other manufacturers just don't get it. I want to solve my print needs, not spend lots of time installing and debugging and configuring. And this printer delivers. To top it off, the printer is highly competitive from a price standpoint. I am very satisfied. 04/12/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good printer I purchased the printer to take the place of another one from Brother. This one had more features that I was interested in using which the other didn't have. I print out my church's bulletin every week which is in landscape setting. It takes two sheets of paper to print each one. I have my format to make four pages total like a book. This printer is great as it's a laser jet instead of inkjet which uses ink instead of toner. The speed of the printer is quick. It would take 25 min. to print out 25 copies on inkjet printer using the duplex feature. It took 7 min. on this printer for the same amount of copies using the duplex feature. It is a black color only which I don't mind at all. I'm still having a little problem getting it hooked up wireless but that will be done soon. Instructions are a little crazy to understand. Brother is the only brand I would advise my friends to get. 03/10/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Laser Printer For The Money Have only used this printer for a few weeks I can only tell you so far it has been working great. I would have gave it 5 stars for ease of use, but setting up the wireless was somewhat difficult and time consuming. I finally figured it out. I downloaded the drivers to my laptop so I can print from anywhere in the house and it took less than 10 minutes and I was printing from three rooms away. For the money I don't think you can buy a better laser printer. Print quality is very good. It also did not hurt that it came with a free 8GB flash drive and a ream of HP paper. 02/22/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK printer Printer was what I expected, easy to hook up with USB cable, getting it set up as wireless wasn't. It took several calls to Brother and about an hour on the phone to get this done, then only to find out it wouldn't work with my IPad, another call, download an App. It cumbersome but I can print now. The documents that come with the printer are poorly written for wireless. Overall I'm happy with it. 01/15/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great budget laser printer 04/30/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Product is excellent but a returned printer I don't usually write a review but this purchase was a disappointment to Walmart quality control. I bought this Brother printer online and picked up in store. When I received it, I can tell the packaging box was used and resealed. Then I took home and opened it, the product wrapping bag is under the printer. All protective strips on printer were off and power cord was loose on the side. I was shock by looking at a returned item and didn't even bother to re-packing well. I have to go through all testings and making sure toner is new. Since I have to use it for work immediately, I didn't return at once. Luckily product is in good shape and working well. 02/25/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little printer for home use I bought this printer to replace an older Dell laser printer. The Dell was not wireless and the toner was very expensive. I decided to go with this Brother printer. I had seen many good reviews of Brother printers and decided to give this one a try. It was very easy to set up and get on my wireless network. The print quality is excellent, and the printer itself is smaller and more compact than my old Dell. So far I love it and the toner for this printer is a fraction of what I was paying before. 11/30/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good printer for overall b&w printing. I ordered the printer on a Saturday and received it on the following Wednesday -- in 4 days -- and a full week before it was scheduled to be delivered. And that was at standard, free, shipping. I had had a Brother electronic typewriter that had served me quite well many years ago so I considered the Brother brand in my research and comparisons. Price seemed good for a laser printer. Plus, a high capacity replacement toner cartridge is available when it needs it -- again, at a reasonable price (especially if comparing the cost of cartridges for ink jet printers.) And it has free phone support for the life of the product -- something my Kodak ink printer lacks! The software installed without a problem in my Dell laptop running Windows 7. Registration on line also went smoothly -- although I seem to recall that I had to scroll down half of the page to get to the relevant typing windows. It may be too soon to give it a proper rating because I've only been using it about 2 weeks now, but so far so good. The Brother HL-2275DW laser printer gives good crisp, clear, high quality print even at the quick print setting of 300 dpi. Normal setting is 600 dpi. Best setting is 1200 dpi. The toner saving setting of 300 dpi looks great -- it's hard to even tell the difference at 600dpi. The print is crisper than an ink jet printer's and the print doesn't readily smeer if you get it wet -- I've tried. Images and photos reproduce quite respectably in half-tones, even at 300dpi. But, of course, in black and white. If you want to print good looking photos you'll need an ink jet printer or a much more expensive laser printer. But if most of what you print is text, laser is the way to go. And this Brother laser is one good way to go. 11/13/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple and Cheap Refills This printer has met expectations and is reliable 11/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great quality, speed and ease of use. 06/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Easy to set up wireless, prints good quality, I have had the printer for approximately a week and so far so good! Walmart's policy for getting the product to the customer is very well organized...They let me know every step in the process of shipping etc...They contacted me as promised...Very good job to Walmart!..Thanks! 07/21/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Install We needed a second, faster printer but didn't want to spend a fortune. This one works great and was ultra easy to hook up. I'm not very good at getting electronics to work and still managed to install this on a wireless network with a minimum amount of fuss and it actually works from every device in the house - something I've not been able to figure out how to set up with the other printer/scanner/copier we have. It prints quckly and clearly. The replacement cartridges are reasonably priced and I'd recommend this one to anyone who asked. 02/04/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Small foot print at a great price and it works. 04/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous! This is an amazing printer. Fast, easy to use, prints back and front. Highly recommend. 08/20/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy set up and use Unit set up very easily, double side printing is fantastic, and it quick and quiet. 08/15/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 Meets expectations of a monochrome laser The good: Setup is easy with a USB cord. Print quality is decent. Prints on both sides. The not-so-good: It doesn't come with a USB cord, so if you can't connect it to your PC wirelessly be ready to shell out a bit more. But that's not the point, the point is you have to make an extra trip to the store or wait an extra day to get it going. They should mention it boldly on the package that it doesn't come with a cord and may not be compatible to all modems/routers. Also the paper doesn't come out as crisp as it goes in! But that's typical of most laser printers, so no complains there. 08/12/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product, good price This is my 3rd HL-22xx product, all 3 working wirelessly, on 3 floors of home (modem in middle). But for value, be sure to get the 2275 and not the 2270 (which some in-store associates will substitute as a "cross-referenced" product). 08/11/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very well made, easy to use product First off, I meant what I said above; Brother is a reputable name in the business, and the particular printer I bought, a Model HL-2275DW Monochrome Laser, was and is very user-friendly. I hasten to add that I elected to use a wired setup, making it considerably easier for me to get things rolling. I did a fair amount of comparison between name brands and models once I'd decided to go to a laser-type printer, and one thing they all seem to have in common is a propensity for giving the end-user a headache when trying to integrate into the network wirelessly. Anyway, I chose the Brother and have had no reason to regret my purchase; it was a good combination of price and quality. The main reason I stopped using inkjet printers was simply because I just didn't do that much printing anymore; comparatively long periods of disuse led to my getting less and less total output from the increasingly expensive ink cartridges, which were literally drying out, including the printhead itself. A laser, on the other hand, using its dry toner, sits ready to go no matter how long between uses; they're known primarily for being a cost-effective tool for an office generating large amounts of printed stuff, but the reverse is also true--the toner cartridge in my particular model is rated for 1,200 pages, and the drum for 12,000, and I'll get the full amount from both no matter how long it takes to do it. I paid a hundred dollars for this printer so I call it a good value all around. I don't print photos at home anymore; there are many good online services that do a fine job at a good price. Bearing in mind that monochrome limits your expression somewhat--to paraphrase Henry Ford: "You can have any color you like as long as it's black & white"--if you're looking for a good, utilitarian printer that will crank out clear, legible copy either by the hour in large quantities or a few at a time over long periods with no worries about an expensive ink cartridge drying up, I highly recommend this printer. 08/03/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far so good; quality printer It is early to fully review this printer but, so far it has done what is expected. I love the 1/2 ream paper tray and it is fast. Print quality is great and I like the back to back feature. I will have to wait to see if I get the 1500 copies promised and how hard it is to put in a new cartridge or tray or whatever. 08/03/2014
1-30 of 82 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew144
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp