See All Reviews
Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size
Brother PE770 Computerized Embroidery Machine with 5 x 7" Hoop Size
$590.86
List Price: $799.97
You Save: $209.11 (26%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 39 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Issues with Operation Manual I spent a couple of days reading and rereading the manual. The illustrations and instructions were clear for bobbin winding, threading, preparing the hoop, and embroidering the builtin designs, letters, and frames. The adjustment, layout, and size instructions were clear. Use of the EM memories, however, has been a challenge. I could not delete a pattern recalled from memory by following the manual. By accident, I discovered the pattern display must be touched to bring up the delete key. I have not been able to stitch a recalled pattern from an EM memory. I have an email request into Brother support for an explanation of how to do this. Since I purchased the PE770 to do labels for a family quilt collection, it is important to be able to create and size and postion alpha string patterns and store them and frames in memories before recalling and stitching. Also important to store them on a flash memory, which I haven't been able to test yet. The PE770 has a nice assortment of builtin designs, alphabets, frames, and borders. As for machine function, the operation and stitch quality is good. But he hoop does not seem to seat as firmly and precisely as I expected. And when the hoop was removed to check bobbin thread and replaced to embroider the same design enlarged with another color thread, the registration was off. Although I don't expect to do this regularly, I was surprised and disappointed with the result. I hope problems with the memories can be resolved, and if so I would give a higher rating. 01/03/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by good machine for the price had a small learning curve after using my PE 200 for years but the manual was quite helpful. Enlarging the pages helped me because I was able to read and understand it easier you need to be aware that the machine counts 2 patterns as one from the USB drive. Spent an hour and a half figuring that out! There is only one hoop and thin material is hard to tighten in it. Bottom line; the machine makes beautiful designs. you can enlarge and decrease them easily. You can also turn them in any direction. I love using it 11/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by works as advertised This machine is easy to use right out of the box. The instructions are clear and easy to follow. there are several websights to get additional patterns for free or low cost. I would recommend this machine to anyone who is starting out with an embroidery machine. There are accessories that will work with this machine that are not very expensive. Over all, I really like this machine 03/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Machine This machine has done everything that I ever expected and then some. I would recommend this Embroidery Machine. 03/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Machine When I purchased my Brother PE770, I had never used an embroidery machine before, although I am an experienced seamstress and quilter. I did my research prior to making the purchase. I have found the machine went above and beyond my expectations. Some have complained about the hoop being difficult to insert. It is only a matter of learning how much pressure you need to insert and remove the hoop. With practice it becomes so easy you don't even realize you are doing it. I have found it is very user friendly, and after receiving the machine and reading the manual once, I was able to produce my first embroidery. Within a few minutes I was able to do my first applique. The applique is what I use my machine the most . It produces professional quality results with minimum effort. While there is limited editing available internally, in order to completely design your own or edit purchased designs, it is really necessary to have an editing software. These can be purchased at low cost (with some being free or offering a free trial basis). The learning curve is not any larger than learning to use any computerized machine. I was producing work for customers with in a week. While this machine is designed for home use, I have built up a rather impressive business in the 2 short years I have owned this machine. While I would love to have a commercial machine, I have decided to purchase another Brother PE770 to add to my business. One week shy of the two year mark and I have put 5.5 million stitches on it. Nini 01/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not for regular sewing Somehow I missed the fact that this was an embroidery-only machine. I wanted one that would also do regular sewing. I believe the value for the $ was excellent, but it wasn't what I wanted. I returned it but felt bad that I hadn't realized what it would do. 05/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not hard to use. This embroidery machine is fantastic. I have not used the flash drive or the card slot yet, but will very soon. I wish the manual explained some things in more detail, but so far I have figured out everything. I am enjoying it, so far, so good. 03/16/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Takes a bit I had never used an embroidery machine. So this was completely foreign to me. When I opened the box and pulled out the machine, I was very pleased to find that basically it looked like the Brother sewing machine I alreasdy own and use. The manual that comes with this machine is pretty easy to understand. But...I am a bit disappointed that I will have to purchase some pricey software to be able to turn my own artwork into DST patterns for download. The use of the flash drive is very easy though, once you remember that the patterns must be in DST format. Bobbin winding is easy, threading is easy, and the machine is pretty self explanitory. I didn't need the manual to get started. Over-all this machine is great for a beginner. I can see I will be using this machine for most all of my sewing projects. 04/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brother PE770 Very good-5x7 frame. Not so good but I live with it: the frame is a little more difficult to insert than my older, more expensive machine. Also not so easy, but very manageable, is the screen. I'm used to a color screen (this one is black & white) & since I'm still getting used to it-I have a little difficulty managing the different features. Other than that I've been totally surprised that I would love this one. 12/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased. My first embroidery machine. I already have a very expensive sewing machine and did not want that feature on an embroidery machine. This is the cheapest machine I could find with embroidery only. I shopped around and read reviews on other brands but ended up buying this one online from walmart because of the right price for my budget. The directions were easy to understand. I am a very visual learner and would have preferred an instructional DVD to come with it, but the guide books were easy to understand. I also wish the design on the screen was more clear and in color to see what you are embroidering. Thankfully, there is a seperate book with the machine that shows every built-in design in color. The touch screen is easy to navigate and easy to enlarge, shrink, rotate, your design. Love the trace feature that outlines, it allows you to make sure your design goes where it needs to and you have the right size hoop before starting. I used the USB port option and had no problem getting some free designs from the brother.com website to load on the machine and use. I bought the other size hoops pretty cheap on amazon that are available since this only comes with the 5x7 size. Overall very pleased with my purchase. 07/13/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Customer service was very helpful This machine was a disappointment because I expected the same quality that I've gotten from the Brother brand in the past. Machines sold on the open market are not the same quality as those sold by authorized dealers. The only thing I really liked was the automatic threader - it works great!! The hoop was difficult to attach, it doesn't use the same size bobbins as other models and I was generally dis-satisfied with the machine. WalMart made it very easy to return it for full refund, so that's the good news. I've since gone to a local sewing store and purchased another brand because nobody in my area carries Brother yet. 10/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Product I love this machine. It has done more than I expected and is easy to use. I would highly recommend this machine! 01/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brother PE-770 This is an amazing machine. It has many useful features like mirror imaging, image rotation, and a 5x7 inch embroidery hoop. I don't recommend this to a beginner because its many features can be overwhelming and maybe a little confusing. The touch screen is very easy to use once you become familiar with all the symbols. 07/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent option! Best option for a 5x7" hoop. Incredible low price. I have been in the look for a bigger hoop, but all other brands are extremely expensive. This is just right! This is my second Brother embroidery machine; I've had another for 10 years now, without any problem. 04/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great embroidery machine for the money I got this embroidery machine about a year ago and didnt know how great it was until a had it awhile...I was a little scared of messing it up so I friend helped me get started. I have friends that have paid way more their machines compliment me on the work I do on it! I have to say to be careful of buying cheap appliques and alphabets from places you dont know about bc they sometimes dont stitch out right...I LOVE Planet Applique and Applique Market also I get fonts from 8 Claws and a Paw. The hoop is sometimes tricky to get out but for the money you can't beat this machine! 03/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Machine has all the features I need. This machine has all the features I was looking for in an embroidery machine including onscreen enlarging and reducing patterns. It reads all my Brother embroidery cards. I can also upload embroidery patterns from a USB memory stick and save them for later retrieval. I love the color change feature that allows me to choose from several popular brands of embroidery thread. The machine is lightweight, super easy to thread, and the LCD panel is user friendly. Overall I think this was a good buy for the price I paid for the machine. 10/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lots of fun! This machine has truly brightened my life. It is so much fun to use once you have mastered the instruction manual. It might have been easier to understand if I was fifty years younger, but I finally figured it out. It is not as much fun as my Goldwing or my Corvette, but I still enjoy using it. I would definately recommend one to my friends, but get a Goldwing first! I may even let my wife use it! 05/03/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Would NOT Reccommend I purchased this machine to upgrade from the SE400 I had. This machine has been NOTHING but trouble since I purchased it. Within the first week of buying it, I had to return it because the bobbin was messed up extremely bad and was unfixable. I recieved my second one, and it has now been 2 weeks and this one too has messed up. I never had any problems out of my SE400. This one has been nothing but trouble... I will be returning this second one and looking in to another brand... 10/13/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Machine I purchased this machine as well as the combo sewing/embroidery machine at the same time. I wasn't sure which one I would get more use out of. I like them both so much that I kept them both. The combo machine sews so beautfully (so much better than my nearly new Singer!) and it's nice to have the option of embroidering small items on that machine too. The only issue I have with both of them is there is no way that I have been able to find (after two months of use) to put a space between the letter embroidery. If I want to do a first and last name, I can't do it in one step. I have to embroider one at a time and the spacing is not always correct doing it this way. It's too bad because that seems like a function that should be standard on these machines. There is nothing in the manuals to help with this either. The manuals are very basic and if you have zero experience you may be a bit lost. Overall, nice machine. Just missing one very basic and much needed feature! 08/12/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by awesome I really like this product. I actually bought it for my sister and she has had nothing but good things to say. 01/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great machine for the computer savy I love this machine because of the flexibility you have in chosing the size and patterns. The USB port is excellent for those of us who love to buy and download designs. The large hoop allows for a variety of sizes. It is not the easiest but if you read the manual all the way through, you will be sure to enjoy this machine. 06/14/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not bad for the price Bobbin is a little touchy and sometimes jams itself. Overall embroidery is excellent. Self threader works half of the time. OK for the price. 03/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't be more pleased. Easy to use and was using downloaded designs the first day. I have been using a very old machine for about a year, so not new to machine embroidery, and loving the larger field and unlimited capabilities possible with the USB connection. Found I had less thread breakage using the slower speed. I use small thread cones and found I needed a standing cone holder since they didn't fit well on the installed thread holder and it corrected a problem of needle breaking with threads not feeding properly, but that was not the fault of the machine, just my choice of thread manufacturer. I've had less than 3 weeks, so can't attest to durabilty, but Brother makes a great little machine hence my purchase. Value was wonderful, at least a $100 cheaper at Walmart than thru my Brother dealer. 12/27/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy Easy to use but there are features I imagined that are not available; multiple lines of text. 02/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT! I absolutely LOVE this machine! It does exactly what I need for my business as I am just starting out! I'm so glad I made this purchase! 10/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Price I have been watching prices for this machine and this was the best price I have found. The machine works great and I am very happy with my purchase. 11/27/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by IRRITATED! I have put wholes in 3 shirts now, b/c of the machine "eating" the shirt. I have tried to find a explanation of why this keeps happening, but I haven't found one yet. If you are looking to embroider small infant/toddler shirts... well GOOD LUCK! I wrestle with this machine trying to get shirts to fit and not bunch up or sew themselves shut. I am very disappointed in this machine. If I could get any kind of idea as to maybe if I am doing something wrong, I might change my mind about it. #but right now, I want to use it as a "boat anchor"# 02/23/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I LOVE THIS MACHINE, BUT THE HOOP IS HARD TO PUT ON, I SENT 2 BACK, AND HOPE THIS ONE IS A GOOD ONE, OVERALL THE MACHINE IS WONDERFUL.SWEET 10/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I purchased this machine for my daughter-in-law to be. She had been using mine but wanted one of her own. She is in love with it. She has created sooo many items with it and she has only just begun. It sews very, very smoothly and very easy to operate. Of course she is one to read the entire book before beginning to use it. (Not like me...i just like to jump in). The only feature she does not have that mine does is that you cannot put multiple images on the design set at once. But of course she sort of got around that and fine tuned her design area. She does plan on purchasing the software for that in the future. But for now she is having a ball....I would highly recommend it to anyone. LOL now my other daughter in law wants one!! 09/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great starter machine I have been very happy with this machine. It is easy to use with a small learning curve and has been a great addition to my office. I recommend this as a starter machine only because the hoop size only goes up to 5x7. It works wonderfully for my needs. If you aren't sure if an embroidery machine is right for you, I recommend this machine. 08/13/2012
1-30 of 36 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew351
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp