See All Reviews
Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine
Brother LX3125E - 14 Stitch Sewing Machine
$79.00
List Price: $99.00
You Save: $20.00 (20%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 38 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 awesome for beginners This is my first sewing machine. The dvd is amazing. The instruction manual, very easy to use. I learned the basics in two hours. I have a lot to learn still but I have managed to recycle my own clothes into different new items and adjust pieces to fit better. By far it is the best hobby-related purchase I’ve ever made and highly recommend it. It is a starter sewing machine so I’m sure that as I learn more, I will probably upgrade to another Brother machine. 10/28/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great starter machine! I own an old Janome/New Home machine but wanted to get something new to learn on. You can't beat the price of this machine and has all the things you need to have when learning how to sew for the first time. The plates are cute as well. I love the fact that you don't need to change the foot when you want to zigzag and the button hole maker is a breeze. It has all the features that you need and when you upgrade you will know all those features because you have them here. The operation manual is a little hard to read but the enclosed DVD makes everything a breeze! I was threaded and sewing in less than a half hour. My only caveat is that this machine is LOUD. My old machine is no where near as loud as this but because of the value and ease of use as well as the great customer support Brother offers I will let that go. Overall even with the noise (!) this is a great value and great for new sewers. 08/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thrilled with this Machine I have owned my machine for about a year now and must say I love it! It does everything I need it to do. I had not touched a sewing machine since I was little girl and so I needed a machine that would be user friendly. The DVD that comes with it helped alot. If you are a visual learner, it's a definite plus. I highly recommend this machine for anyone who wants to learn to sew. I will be buying one for my 9 y/o to learn on. I have purchased several different feet for this machine: ruffler foot, walking foot, rolled hem foot, 1/4" edge guide foot, stitch in the ditch foot and an embroidery foot. The machine has a low-shank, so just make sure to buy feet for a low-shank machine and you'll be fine. I purchased my additional feet from JC penney, Joann Fabric and sewingmachinesplus.com. I use my machine alot... at least a couple times a week and I must say it honestly does everything I need it to do and then some! 12/02/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a fan. After owning several brother machines and some more expensive machines (Husqvarna), I must say that you get what you pay for. Yes, the machine is cute with its interchangeable plates. Yes it does have the stitches that it boasts about. However, the bobbin case is a nightmare! I am a very experienced seamstress, so I know how to load a bobbin and this doggone thing keeps tangling up. My main thread snaps constantly and is apparently getting wrapped up in something on the inside. I will be returning this machine and purchasing a more reliable model. 10/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great beginner's machine! I bought this sewing machine for my daughter. I didn't want to bother with those "toy" machines that only break or don't do a good job. So I found this one for the price that fit our budget. Was a little apprehensive about getting a front-loading bobbin, but it hasn't given us a bit of trouble! She's loving learning to sew on her own machine, and she'll then graduate up to my fancier machine later! 05/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product and DVD! This product is great, I am new to the world of sewing and this product and the DVD are amazing. I purchased curtains in Walmarts clearance section and decided to make one into a shower curtain, I tried using grommets for the holes and it would not work right, so I put in the DVD and was happy to see instructions for button holes! My whole life I was told by all family members who are excellent seamstress that button holes were hard, but not with this machine! Great product! I am attaching two pic one of the shower curtain the other of pillow I made from valances! 04/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE ITTT!!! It's perfect!! Light weight, easy to use, perfect for beginners... and it's cute!! Love the zebra face plate... all at the perfect price, fell well below my budget. 09/05/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible product I'm a fairly experience sewer on a budget. I bought this a while back and have had nothing but problems. The thread snaps, sometimes stitches fine but is black with grease from somewhere in the bobbin case, and I couldn't ever get the tension right. The top side would look fine, but looking on the underside, the thread is in a bunch of loops. Like I said, I have some experience with sewing machines and this is the worst one I have ever used. I bought it to make baby clothes while I was pregnant and ended up with it just sitting on the shelf for the last year. Total waste. 05/27/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by poor I feel that I wasted my money on this machine, it is very noisy and sews poorly. I have tried to set the tension, and no matter what number you set it at, the bobbin thread is still loose. I wish I had never bought this machine. I have an old machine that came from a sewing factory, but is really heavy, I bought this one thinking I would enjoy it much more, because it is light weight and I can move to where ever I want. I'll stick to my old machine, at least it works. 06/12/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Terrible! This machine is horrible. The tread constantly comes undone and gets tangled in the bobbin. If you want to sew anything make sure you've got 3 hours to just mess with this machine to sew a straight line. Terrible. I wouldn't recommend to anyone. 03/28/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by DO NOT FALL FOR THE CUTENESS OF THIS MACHINE!!!! i bought this machine to begin sewing clothes and whatever else i could imagine. i watched the dvd, which was very helpful with learning but when i began sewing the thread became tangled. I re-thread the machine (correctly) and began sewing... not even five minutes later did it become tangled again. I am thinking in my head... is this what people who sew have to deal with? A straight line of stitching that measured about a foot long took me 20 minutes... i honestly had to keep re-threading over and over. I ask my mother (who is an experienced craft and sewer) she said i have threaded correctly and that a quality machine will not do this. so.... all in all... do not buy this machine if you are seriously trying to sew... it is just terrible.. the bobbin case is the BIGGEST problem, not to mention how loud it truly is. is bangs and clanks soo loud my fiance was wondering what i was doing LOL. but now i am stuck with a junk machine and trying to find the reciept so that i can take it back. thank God my fiance bought me a new singer with a computerized screen. BTW. i wouldnt even buy this for a teen or a pre-teen to learn on. how frustrating it was trying to learn on this thing and thinking that i was doing it wrong. (i am 22 years old) :):) 06/05/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tangled bobbin! I felt like I was constantly fixing the the bobbin case. Kept jamming up and get all tangled up in the bobbin case. Also you cannot adjust the speed of the machine and goes way to fast which makes it hard to sew a straight line at times. I returned today. The DVD was very good and useful tho. I think I'll just shell out the money and buy something that won't be so difficult to use. 05/19/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good machine! I used to sew a lot when I younger but haven't done any sewing in quite a few years. My old machine was one of those heavy duty metal things that was great. This one is lightweight, ALL plastic (which I'm not used to), but I was pleasantly surprised to find that it sews great and is easy to use. The DVD is helpful, don't forget to watch it. I bought this as part of a bundle with the carrying case which is, well, very lightweight and kind of cheapish feeling but it works quite well to hold the sewing machine and a few extra things to keep them all together in one place. I kept the bottom styrofoam thing that the sewing machine came in to keep it steady in the case. I would recommend this to anyone who just needs to do some light sewing and mending. 09/08/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by I wouldn't recommend for anybody who sews Where do I even start... The thread breaks constantly. The tension is always screwed up. There is always a tangle somewhere. You will be ecstatic IF you can get 10 good stitches from it. I am not bothered about how loud it is, because i'm too busy praying I can finish a stitch without complication. 01/10/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Even for the price it's a bad buy. I learned to sew on my mom's machine and didn't realize how spoiled this would make me. As an adult I decided to start sewing again and needed a machine. I wasn't sure if I would still enjoy it so I went with an affordable machine. Well I still love sewing but I do not like this machine at all. The tension does not set well and the thread snaps free because of this. Also the bobbin is terrible and creates loops for the thread to tangle in. When working with stretch fabrics for barbie clothes the machine eats the material. I thought it was the way I had the machine set up but my mom looked at it, tweaked a few things and came to the same conclusion...this is a terrible machine. Currently looking for a better one. 09/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! Had a machine given to me by my grandmother and while it is a great machine, it was so complicated to use! Decided I was going to get a new one and bought the brothers. So far I don't have a single bad thing to say about it! I make some clothes for my daughter and it does great! I've used it every single day so far making pillowcase dresses, little bloomers, pants etc and I LOVE IT! 01/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Is a helpful product for starter like me 05/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great machine for in house use This machine does everything that I need it to do with a few extras that I haven't played with yet. Brother is a top notch company. The machine is well made; price is affordable and I like it. 02/08/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great value for beginner I made my machine's value worth the first project was a pikachu costume that was online for about $90, and I only spent at most $20 in materials. I've used heavy fleeces and sewn through posterboard material covered in fleece to achieve a firm upright tail for the costume. I did this after not touching a sewing machine in about a decade. I've only used my mom's sturdy powerhorse Singer prefessional machine. This was delightfully quiet. It's not as powerful, but it does the job. So far it came out of the box w/ the reverse broken, but i'm assuming that's why it was returned to the store/open box to begin with. All in all I'm still keeping the machine because for the $60 that I paid for it, it runs great and it's made it's worth in hemming pants and making baby blankets for my daughter. I'm not a seamstress, just a mom who wants to do a few light jobs throughout the year. Perfect match. As far as the thread tangling up. I had a great deal of it until I googled the problem. This machine is very finicky about the threads being pulled straight to the back. I by habit always sewed with the thread to the left. That change in position of thread ends when starting has elmimated the tangling situation. I sewed light satin onto a thick berber fleece baby blanket w/o rips/tears/thread tangling using the zigzag stitch. only downfall is the reverse not working but oh well, it's still a great machine for the value. 11/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use I'm a beginner sewer and I bought this as my first sewing machine because my friend (beginner as well) recommended it. I love how it's easy to set up and use. I've made multiple projects within days of getting it and I'm very happy with my purchase. 03/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm a new sewer i got this for valentines day gift...i love this machine!! i have never owned a machine before and so glad i own this one. i have sewen new curtain for livingroom and kitchen, a few dresses and pillows and i even did a hem job...i don't wanna stop sewing now!! Anyone who is new to sewing i would get this machine..the instruction in book are great. i had to sew a zipper and did dteps in book and it worked just great!! Now if i could just master patterns..i'm learning !! 03/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by One tough litle machine.. I bought this for my 10 year old granddaughter for Christmas. I have used it twice for small jobs. It sewed through 3 very thick layers of terry cloth very nicely. She has to leave it here until she learns how to use it properly and safely. When it goes home with her, I will very probably get another for myself... 12/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Machine Before this machine, I sewed on a tiny $30 dressmaker and two vintage Singer sewing machines from the 40s and 50s. I finally decided to buy myself a modern, decent sewing machine. I absolutely love this sewing machine. I definitely recommend this to anyone beginning to learn how to sew, its so easy to use. It has the perfect amount of stitches to use, its not too intimidating! As far as tension issues, I've only had two major issues, easily fixable with patience. The screw bobbin case just needed to be adjusted. I've had this machine since the summer of 2010, and its going strong. Great for the price! 02/15/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I bought this machine to start sewing again after not sewing for about 9yrs. At first I was ok beside the fact that it was very loud but i looked past that, then 3mths later the upper thread keep popping and the feeder keeps getting jammed. Now I am in search for another machine I don't think I will ever buy another Brother. I had a Kenmore 12 yrs ago and gave it to my little sister and it is still running 08/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love, Love, Love... This is the perfect sewing machine for all of my needs. I have already saved a bundle on minor repairs on my clothes. My next step is to replace a zipper in a skirt, The instructional DVD makes it look so easy, so far everything else has been. It is very simple to change the thread, bobbin, and the needle, it just takes a minute. This is the perfect machine for beginners. I recommend this machine for everyone who just needs a good basic machine. 08/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Machine I make purses and other stuff with my machine. I love it. I had a machine before this that broke really quick and that was a singer but i love this brother machine 04/03/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not money well spent I bought this machine and returned it two weeks later.. It was so loud and as another reviewer said, it kept on sucking in my upper thread. It just banged so LOUD! I bought a Singer instead but really want to buy a more expensive and quality machine asap. 03/11/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible product! I just recently got this sewing machine as a gift for Christmas. When I got it all set up and started to sew with it, the thread kept getting caught in the bobbin case. I took it back and exchanged it for another one thinking that it was just a defect in the one i received. I got the new one home and it worked perfectly for a while, and then the same problem occurred again. I would not recommend anyone to buy this product! It is junk and not to mention the bobbin case is a disaster! In all of my years of sewing i've never see a bobbin case like the one this one has. I'm going to take this one back, and spend the extra money to get a singer! 01/19/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by I've been sewing since high school. I'm now 67 and have owned several machines. I use mainly for custom fitting jeans and shirts. Let me say this to all the whiners. What did you expect for 80 bucks? You can buy a bicycle for the same price and it will get you where are going but it sure ain't no Harley. This is a good little machine for geneal home use. Hem a few pairs of jeans and it's paid for it self. 02/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is a great machine for beginners who never sewn before. I am very satisfied with the performance of the machine and the disc instruction is very easy to follow. I am definitely contented. 06/15/2011
1-30 of 38 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw283
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp