Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 47 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not as advertised, but good anyway First up, this knife is advertised as having a 9" blade, and that is stated again in bold letters on the box. However, the blade is only 7.25" long, and the serated part is only 6.5" long (see photo). I'm not sure how they get away with the 9" claim. Setting that aside, however, the knife works well and is excellent value. I bought it for cutting crusty home-made bread and except for the blade length it hasn't disappointed me. It is comfortable to use and cuts cleanly. It would be nicer if it had some sort of cover to protect the blade (and fingers) when it is not in use. 02/06/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by We bought this to cut foam to reupholster a chair. Worked just fine. 07/12/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by very covenient :) I just bought it so I can't tell how long it will last. I've been making breads for the past months and had a hard time trying to slice them without having to hold the breads and squeezed them too tight while slicing them. I thought of electric knife so I looked for them on the internet and found the best price at Walmart. So I started reading a lots of reviews from many stores and decided to choose this one and give it a try. It was perfect. It was easy to handle right away....no struggling. It sliced nicely. Then Thanksgiving came, so I used for slicing turkey and it was also perfect :) :) Thanks Walmart. 12/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Used this to cut a foam mattress topper We were told to use an electric knife to cut a foam mattress topper to fit our short queen in our new RV. We were skeptical but for 9 dollars and change we thought it was worth a try. It worked wonderfully. It cut the foam like butter. Have no idea how it works on food, but for foam it is great. 11/09/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 just awful don't bother with this electric knife. i could cut better with my bare hand. huge chunks of whatever you are cutting gets caught between the two blades. sad excuse for an electric knife. 04/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have to admit I purchased this product to fillet fish. I have checked many,many fishing forums and a lot of videos on filleting fish with an electric knife and the black + decker has the highest rating. when you consider the amazing low price at walmart what can you lose,now I need to catch some fish. 05/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by B and D Knife This item works very well and cuts meats nice and easy. 11/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trustworthy name, friendly price Normally, I'd say one gets what they pay for, but being a Black & Decker I was optimistic. With good reason. Cut through a succulent oven-roasted turkey as easily as an overcooked (oops) shoulder roast. Cord length is suitable, blade attach and release easily enough (no hanging up), easy to clean, includes a simple, clear plastic sheath for blade storage. 12/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bought it to cut studiofoam -- it worked great! 03/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It doesn't say filet I live in Arkansas and fish Bull Shoals Lake 3-4 days a week from April 1st until mid-October weather permitting. This is the 3rd season using this knife to filet Catfish, Pan fish, Crappie and Walleye without a problem. If anything ever goes wrong with this knife I will purchase another one. Why pay double or more because another knife says Filet in the name and has a pointed blade when this knife does an excellent job? Good luck fishing—John 04/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by we bought this knife before and it broke down halfway thru carving our turkey. this year, my wife couldnt remember which one we bought last year and bought the same one. well, house full of people smelling turkey for a good hour, took the knife out the box, plugged it in and it didnt even work. i wouldnt purchase this knife again if it was the last electric knife on the planet. black and decker needs to keep making tools and not apliances! 11/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great bread knife!! I've been making my own bread and needed something to help cut thinner slices, it does the trick! 04/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by very good deal Works great cuts straight great valu. Dont like the safety on the trigger. Was hard to operate but am able to remove it easily with pliers. Definetly worth the money. 12/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cut ribs like butter what else can I say except dont spend more these are great! 10/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by On and off trigger switch with safety button The Electric Fillet knife works great . The only problem with the knife is -- trying to push the little button on the side and pull the trigger at the same time is a big problem .Every time you put the knife down to get another fish to fillet ,you have to to push the button in and compress the trigger switch again with fish slime on your hands .This is not a good feature. I ended up holding the button in and the trigger , then I wrapped electrical tape around the trigger to keep it running . This way , I never have to keep pressure on the trigger and my hand does not get fatigued from holding the switch in .Believe me when I say this . After five minutes of running it without the tape , my hand was tired . After I put the tape on , I cleaned 32 fish with ease and my hand was not tired from holding it . If you buy this Electric and use it , you will see what I am talking about . I think that the cheap price of the product is because of this bad feature . Other then that , I love it . In fact , I went and bought another one just in case it breaks . 09/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great knife, no effort needed I didn't use this knife to cut food, but to clean up some spray foam that got out of hand. It couldn't have been easier to put together or operate. I don't know how long the blades will stay sharp, but the motor is plenty for my needs. 06/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I got this electric knife to cut home made bread from my bread machine. It is easy to assemble, operate, control and clean. No more ruined bread slices. Can't wait to use it on meat also. 01/04/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by this is a terrible knife, the blades would not stay in if my life depended in it ! it took me longer with the knife the with a manual one.... just because i had to keep stopping to re insurt the blades... 11/22/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by will buy a different knife The safety switch made it difficult to run the knife as it needed to be activated each time you let up on cutting. I used a pliers to pull out the safety pin. The knife could not even cut bread. Only one of the blades moved. Don't know if pulling the safety out could have caused this problem, but I did not like running the knife with it in. I am going to try and return the knife. 09/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great storage bench We picked up our storage bench on Saturday and it looks great. I can't rate is on durability because I won't know that until we've had it for awhile. Right now we are happy as can be with it. 08/23/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by don't buy this item It seemed like a good deal but doesn't work very well. It might slice bread OK but when trying to cut a cold roast the blades half way down won't stay together and then the knife is useless. It's not only cheap to buy but cheaply made. I'm throwing it out and buying a better product. 01/16/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth the money this item was not worth the money i spent on it. it has several problems such as the trigger did not work and the blades are very hard to insert into the motor or even to take out of the motor. 10/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great! Cuts thru foam like buttah!! 09/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes slicing meat so easy! great cutting tool. I use it for all kinds of meat and cheese. Saves my poor arthritic fingers :) 08/02/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by hard to operate blades are difficult to attach to unit. Switch is not as responsive as it should be. Button must be pressed hard before motor will activate. 07/28/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Piece of junk! Pros: easy to assemble and clean. Cons: could not cut through roast beef the third time I used it. Although the blades are sharp when new, they quickly, and I mean very quickly, dulled. The roast beef has some silver skin on the bottom and this knife could not cut through it. I used all four of my regular slicing knives and all had no trouble at all in cutting through the silver skin. By the third roast beef, it barely cut through the meat and left jagged striations on each slice, not a very presentable appearance. I guess that you get what you pay for. Thankfully, Walmart has a great return policy. 07/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does the job I bought this with the hope that I would be able to cut thin slices of fresh boneless chicken breasts to make jerky. It worked perfectly. Have not had it long enough to test its durability but so far so good. 05/08/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by After Four Knives Failing, I finally got a refund Please do yourself a favor and Do Not buy this knife! I made the mistake of not saving my receipt when I bought it, so had to deal with the manufacturer for warranty repair. I went through four of these, each one dying after slicing a few slices of bread. I never even used it on meat. The longest lasting one was maybe two weeks. They wanted me to send each one back to them, me paying for postage, but I was able to talk them into just sending the cut off plug each time. Finally they consented to a refund. Please save yourself the trouble! 04/23/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointing. It broke after I used it for the third time. The blades would not work although the power was on in the handle. This was a cheap model $13 and I guess I got what I paid for. Very disappointing. 04/07/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good one I bought the Black and decker electric knife for the basic purpose of cutting bread , which i started baking at home in my new bread machine .....it is pretty good for that , other than that i have not used this , price is also very good . 04/05/2012
1-30 of 43 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew221
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp