Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 91 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by a good value The Black & Decker rotary tool was half the price as the Dremel with the same 5 year warranty--a great value. The other review was very helpful because another purchaser said it didn't come with very many accessories, so I bought the Dremel 150 piece accessory kit for about half of what I saw it for elsewhere. Together, they both cost less than a comparable Dremel that included only 20 accessories. Very happy with that. I am using it to trim my dog's nails. I bought one of those nail trimmers being advertised on TV and discovered that it was just a cheap, battery operated rotary tool. The B & D tool was about the same price with no batteries to replace and much better grinding heads. Now I'll use it for a lot of other tasks too with that 150 piece accessory kit. 12/19/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by I wish they would have thought it out a little While this was a smashing deal, considering an equivalent Dremel tool is twice the price, I wish they would have thought it out a bit. About half of the attachments need the smaller collet nuts (3/32"). Not too big a deal, but a little irritating. I've used Dremel rotary tools for about 15 years now. This by far beats my expectations for a rotary tool. High torque, no bog down. Even the low setting is all that's needed for most jobs. And quiet too. The collet is easy to get stuck though. I'm always having to tap the bit out. Dremels, seems the bits come right out. The tool gets a bit warm though after about an hour of use. But, B&D tools are known for that for some reason. Doesn't kill it's life expectancy, AFAIK. I'd recommend it, hands down. And, it's from Black and Decker, so you know it's a quality power tool. 10/04/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Buy it! Excellent tool. Didn't think I'd be saying that about a B&D product these days with some of the garbage they have out there, but they've hit a home run on this one. At 2 amps, this thing has gobs of torque for it's size. Don't have to spin it up nearly as high as my Dremel (1.2A) to get the work done. Threads up top are same as Dremel's so a lot of their attachments will fit. Tool does heat up during hard work, as others have said, so once it starts getting uncomfortable to hold you must shut it off otherwise you'll fry it (I toss mine in the freezer for a while which speeds cooling time). Bits/wheels/etc. that come bundled are cheapo, so be forewarned. Though I never thought I'd care, the cord is soft and pliable even at cold temps. Collet lock is superior to Dremel's (very easy to accidentally engage its button lock while you're running it in tight areas). 12/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by GOOD TOOL NO TOOL ASSESORIES VERY NICE ROTARY TOOL,BETTER THAN MOST,BUT NEEDS SOME ASSESORIES TO GO WITH IT,THE ONE,S YOU GET WITH IT ARE A DOWN GRADE FOR A GREAT TOOL BUT I BOUGHT IT AND WILL HAVE TO BUY A TOOL KIT , A GOOD KIT THAT IS. 01/11/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasantly surprised When a previous tool broke at a time I knew I was going to have more need for it I went shopping for a replacement. I saw the Black & Decker RTX-B which was considerably less expensive than the Dremel model similar to the one that I had. The on-line reviews were excellent, and it had some nice features that my former tool's replacement model did not have even at almost twice the price. I decided to take a chance. I really wanted to pick up one at a store, but none of the stores near me had it in stock. I ordered it on-line for shipment to the store. It came in in about half the estimated time, and worked perfectly. By having the 3 different speeds, that was nice and changing attachments was a breeze. The included storage bag not only stored the tool, but also a full set of attachments that were from my old Dremel unit and which fit this unit. I was very pleasantly surprised and recommend the unit. 09/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value! After purchasing a PediPaws trimmer for my dogs nails, I realized I had made a HUGE mistake. This battery-powered, cheap Dremel knock-off couldn't even stay powered through one nail. It would bog down as you applied pressure. Plus, it couldn't be used for anything else. I wondered if I could have gotten more value with a REAL Dremel (or, any rotary tool). I did with the Black & Decker. For just $5 more than a PediPaws, I got the B&D Rotary tool, then bought a 31-piece Dremel accessory kit (because the B&D didn't include very many attachments) for just 10 additional dollars. It worked beautifully on my dog's nails. At the lowest setting, it's quiet enough that it doesn't startle her, and because it's AC-powered it never bogs down. Plus, I have the flexibility of using it as the tool it was designed to be. Highly recommend it! Especially, if you're a dog owner looking for an alternative to nail clippers. 04/25/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by cheap alternative great cheap alternative to the dremel tool. works just as well, works with most of the dremel accessories. 12/20/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product! I bought one of these 2 years ago for work. I was an electronics mechanic in the ARMY. I used to it to drill and cut swrews out of equpiment that was damaged, or was stuck in place. This thing never seems to die. I liked it so much that I bought a second one for home use. It is worth every penny I spent on it. 05/03/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tool I work as a welder during the day, When it comes to my hobby of carving the Black & Decker RTX three speed has been a tool I would tell anyone "It's worth buying" As well as the good price! 04/04/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beats Dremel! Strong little unit, feels good in the hand and spins like a banshee. Inexpensive and made very well - a rare combination. 08/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for pet nails We have a 115 lb dog that HATES nail trimming. This product was shipped quickly and arrived a week sooner than we expected. BIG dog now has lovely short nails and the sanding discs that come with product do the job perfectly! A GOOD purchase. 07/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by As good as any Dremel For the price you can't beat it. It will perform as good as any Dremel tool. I have owned 3 Dremels and so far this one performs just as good. Highly recommend that everyone buy this tool. 07/07/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Re: Great Device Before purchasing this device, I almost bought the new Dremel 4000. I needed a tool which would allow me to cut rusted bolts from my car. Since most stores only carry Dremel oscilating tools, I almost fell for it. Because I prefer to hold a device in my hand before making the purchase, I was a bit hesitant. What sealed it for me were the recommendations from Dremel users to go with this product. For those of you on the fence as I was, this device does everything the Dremel does, but without the headaches of erratic speeds, noisy motor and high cost (Dremel is at least $50 more). I used it right out the box and absolutely love it! The best part is Dremel's accessories work on it. 07/20/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for a cheap tool My only complaint is that the Dremel attachments don't screw onto the top flush, so it is not useful when using it with the cutting tool or with the jigsaw attachment. It is great to use as a mini drill or with the cut-off wheel attachment and for sanding. The sanding wheels that came with the tool were too big to fit tightly on the piece that they were supose to go on. Luckily I had Dremel sanding wheels and was able to use those. 06/09/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very awesome multi tool I love this tool. I will never go back to Dremel again. More power, quieter, better parts and the locking system is so much better. All around tons better than Dremel 09/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Have tried many rotary tools - like this one the best 11/01/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't do without this tool I now have three of these and am thinking of buying another. It's a great tool for woodworking and metal working. Keep two in the shed and one in the house. 08/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by came in handy Good product value. Unit holds up under heavy use, as I used mine to cut a couple of 2"x5" windows on a computer box with 1/16" thick sheet metal and this product held up very well. I was more concerned about overheating the cutting blade than the rotary tool. The "other" brand name product is much more expensive & I doubt it would perform or hold up any better. 02/21/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better than Dremel This must be the 8th rotary tool we’ve had. It has the best speed control. For best results, clean after using on dry-wall. Will work with all attachments for Dremel. 01/13/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome pet-nailtrimmer I've purchased the product mainly to use it as a nailtrimmer for my dog. No further experience for other purposes but it works fantastic as nail trimmer. The only reason I didn't give the full five stars in overall rating, is that I find the tool rather loud. Otherwise a good product. 11/18/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by I beat the heck out of it... lasted awhile, but... died after about a year. I have to admit, I certainly didn't baby it. If I was pushing it through something and the motor began to bog down, I'd keep right on going. After about 11 months it would only work if you held it a certain way. Even then it would kick on and off randomly. Then it got worse and worse until it spent more time off than on. In the garbage it went. But I am here today, not to bash this product, but to possibly buy another one of the same thing! Their a little cheaper then the name brand Dremels, but atleast as good. 10/03/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by better than dermel!!! I was considering buying a dremel but found this product and i was amazed that it was variable speed, higher top speed and cost a lot less than the dremel. this was exactly what i needed. 09/24/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by This what I wanted. Can't beat the price for a 3 speed drill. I've gone through 1 dremel, 1 sears brand dremel and that's with light work. So I decided to give this a try, figured for $30 which was much cheaper than a real 3 speed dremel drill. From the reviews I've read most have been positive and the negative reviews most complained about the 6 accessories that come with the unit. If you need a dremel type tool, I would give this a try. 01/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very well-made rotary tool I use this tool to power carve. This tool is powerful enough to do the job easily. 08/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 Great Tool!! This is a powerful and helpful tool. I've always wanted a Dremel type tool but never wanted to pay the high cost. The RTX is comparable to Dremels costing three times or more as much. I started using it the day it arrived and it has already found its way to the top of the list of tools I grab when I don't know what I need to get something done. Love it!!! As always shipping was fast and the price on Walmart.com cannot be beat. 02/26/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Product I have only used this for a short time and so far I am impressed with it. It fits nicely in my hands giving me good control. It seems to have plenty of power. I bought it to replace my Dremil which quit running on me. I found out through searching on the Internet that others have had a similar issue. I would have rated it as excellent, but the attachments don't release easily. You have to wiggle them to get them out. Maybe that will change after it has been used more. 10/30/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by miss leading Says it comes with 5 tools. there are 4 sanders and 1 mandrel. Tried to research online what came with it, but couldn't find it anywhere. Shows different tools on box. Can't find out where to buy tools or if Dremel tools will work. 08/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by good product! Bought for dog nails. You have to start out on low setting for dogs to get use to because med-hi level very loud. But very powerful. Low setting takes a little more time to file nails. I have very large German Shepherds. 02/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by BD RTX Excellent product would buy over a dremel again 02/28/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I needed. Dremel accessories attach to it, Fits the flex head, and is quiet. 02/18/2014
1-30 of 84 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw186
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp