Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 221 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Carpet Cleaner! In the past few years, we have rented a carpet cleaner from a local store. We have a dog and boys at our house who track in a lot of "stuff." I decided to check into carpet cleaners yesterday and found the best deal at Walmart. I purchased the cleaner, brought it home and put it together in minutes. The only tool you'll need is a Phillips screwdriver----for one screw to attach the handle. That's all there is to it! I read the instruction book and filled the tank with cleaner/water. In the past 24 hours, I have cleaned most all the carpet in the house and I'm talking about 3600 square feet. There were some old carpet spots and pet stains that are no longer present on the carpet. This is the BEST money you will spend. The carpet cleaner is light weight and very easy to use. I highly recommend this product and plan to use it once a month. My husband stated that we should have bought one of these years ago after the money we've spent to rent one. It's the REAL DEAL! It is well worth the money. I hope you like it as much as we do! 02/16/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thngs you should know BEFORE you Buy! When I went to buy a Deep Cleaner I had a limited Budget & did a lot of review reading. I came across this Deep Cleaner & while I heard many things like leaking and loss of suction I can relate to the Leaking. It DOES Leak, However You NEED to drain the water from it. What Happens is we leave the water sitting in the container & the weight of it is pushing on the nozzles below it causing it to have a unsteady leak. This isn't really Bissels Error, This is us being lazy and Not properly cleaning out the clean/dirty water from the Container. Another thing about the Suction, I think the Biggest problem is that we don't clean our carpet enough with a DRY Vacuum getting up all debris BEFORE using this Deep Cleaner. It isn't made to pick up TONS of hair, Small bits of food, paper etc,.. It's made to pick up minimal amounts of hair & the water it leaves behind. I think what happens is all those debris is messing with the vacuum. Another tip, when your done cleaning take things apart and clean out all the access hair. I've found when leaving it, it dries up and it all begins to stink meaning where ever your Deep Cleaner is, It's going to smell. (We ran into this problem, We were cleaning up 2yr old & dog urine! YUCK!! The smell!) Once again not a Bissel error, we just have to keep up with Proper Maintenance of it. If your not wanting the extra hassle then pay someone to clean your carpet. One other tip to go along with the cleaning, The Hose WILL leak but this is just Gravity, When you are done Pull the hose STRAIGHT UP & let the water drain back in BEFORE doing any cleaning, this would be your first step as you wouldn't want to clean and then drain this dirty water back in there. (If you even use your hose at the same time a long with using the actual deep cleaner it self, I'm always using both because my house is like a war path with these 3 lol (2yr old son, Great Dane Puppy, & Golden Retriever!). Overall, Do I think this Deep Cleaner is worth buying? YES! If you are on a budget, then this Deep Cleaner is FOR YOU! There is a lot of good points about it. Its suction is amazing with proper maintenance, I've had it for 30days and its been used AT LEAST 8times. The hose is an amazing extra, everything is easy to put together upon arrival home, It's VERY EASY & SIMPLE to use - You don't have to be a rocket scientist!, It looks are good, It glides across the floor with ease & It's not Very Loud at all. I give it 4 stars because I do believe bissel could have done a little better job, but I think it was worth the $120 I paid for it and If I can get at least another 2years use out of it I'll be happy. 12/06/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Thought it was a good cleaner I purchased this a year ago and at first thought it was great. It did a decent job for the price (although then I paid $150 for it). After about 6 or so uses, it lost all suction on the floor cleaner. I had it repaired and it worked ok for a little while, though it was never the same. It has now lost ALL suction on the floor cleaner as well as the hand cleaner. I refuse to have it repaired again and now it looks like I have to replace it. 04/03/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy! I love this rug scruber. We had a really bad urine smell because of a dog I had. It took away the smell and left the carpet looking great! Great price and great product! 01/12/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good value with Good results Very pleased with the results of this value priced carpet cleaner. Easy to assemble. Easy to follow instructions. Easy to use. AND DOES A GOOD JOB! We looked at a few different manufacturers with several different models and lots of different features. We decided to go with a well known brand and a reasonable price. We only have large area rugs to clean and this is the perfect machine. Originally we thought we would only use it a couple of times a year. Based on the results and the ease factor, we plan on using it to clean our rugs more often. It definitely paid for itself the first time we used it. 08/25/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVED IT! i recently moved into a rental house. the previous tenents obviously had animals. my sun room smelled like cat or dog urine. it was horrible. i really thought i'd hafta have a professional come clean my carpets! but i went out on a limb and bought this shampooer. It got rid of the animal urine smell!! I was very suprised. I did the whole house with it and my carpets look new and smell fresh! I also have a dog and cat as well, and the attachments come in handy to shampoo my couch! and unlike other shampooers, my carpets werent soaked afterwards. after about an hour tops, they were completely dry! 04/03/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Such a disapointment! I bought this a year ago and used it about 6-8 times the first 3 or 4 times was great. Then had to replace the whole water canister because the bladder leaked. Then had to replace solution despenser, have to pull it apart and clean it the brush and all everytime I use it. Today I pulled it out to use it and it does not spray at all, except the occasional drip and all the water running out the bottom to soak one big puddle on my floor! I understand it wasn't too expensive, but I would have expected it to last more than 6-8 times! Especially after putting $80.00 in new parts! Don't waste your money. Paid $159.97 + $80.00 in parts +over $20.00 S/H parts... not a very good value. 10/04/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth the money I like this cleaner. I have done four rooms with carpet and two with linolium as well as the sofa, and I can really tell that they are clean. It seems to do a really good job. It is easy to use and the drying time is only a couple of hours. I like that I can clean a room when I have a few extra minutes instead of trying to do it all in one day with a rental. The only thing that I would like better would be if the water compartment was larger so that I wouldn't have to empty it so often. 05/12/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by disapointed only real thing good about this item is the brushes. by the second use, it had lost most of the suction and the carpets were sopping wet. the bladder is terrible. it doesnt stay placed and puts dirty water back on the carpet. it pushes the dog hair instead of removing it with the water. the detergent container quit halfway through the second cleaning. no longer mixing the cleaner and the water. uses way too much cleaner even on lower setting. have to change th water far too many times. admitted we have a large carpet area living room, hall and 5 bedrooms. replacing parts , replacing parts, replacing parts. guess where this one is going?..out to the garbage. guess i will get the old hoover fixed, that one worked for 7 years without a problem. just didnt want to take it to the shop with its age, but guess i will. please think about spending a little more and getting a much better product. this little cheap is not cheap in the long or short run. 07/26/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dream Machine Of all the rug shampooer's I have owned in almost my 60 years on this planet I have never and I do mean never had such a completely wonderful machine to use. It's a joy to operate. I can't tell you exactly "how" it does what it does but they finally figured out a way to make shampooing your carpets so easy and effective. I used to have to make several trips to empty the dirty water way before the clean water was gone. With this machine when the clean water is gone it's time to empty the inner bladder of dirty water. It cleans so good my carpets are totally a different color like they were when they were new. With my old cleaner my ears would ring for hours after using it because it was so loud. This machine is so quite I can hear my cell phone ring in the other room. I can't say enough about this carpet shampooer. I love it so much and I haven't even used the attachments yet. I can't wait! I use it everyday because I have a 5 month old black lab puppy. Need I say more! 07/31/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Pump Failure Again! I have had this cleaner approximately 16 months. During that time it worked great when it wasn't broken. About 2 months ago, the pump broke AGAIN! This is a $90 repair, so I am opting not to have it repaired again, and instead I will purchase a different brand of machine. The repairman told me he's not sure why it happens with this machine, but he does see a lot of pump failures with this particular machine. 04/01/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it!! Great Product for the $$$ I bought the Bissel Lightweight Cleaner for $80 and hated it. It didn't clean the carpets at all! I returned it and bought this one. I cleaned the same area I did with the other cleaner and this one got up more dirt!! I have no stains on my carpet now. It has a tool attachment that is easy to use and really works great!! I love this product and would strongly urge you to buy it. It heats the water and has moving brushes! It also has one tank for dirty water and the clean water! In the tank is a bag that you fill up (and it is alot, I did my decent size living room with 1 fill up) and the dirty water gets put in the same tank just on the outside of the bag with the clean water. To rent steamers they are about $40-$50 and you have to return them same day and who knows whose carpet they have been on. After about 3 uses you will have it paid for!!!! 08/16/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't waste your money I have spent more time repairing this carpet cleaner than I have actually spent cleaning my carpet with it. It's a waste of money and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. I'm going to try a Hoover!!! 03/30/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does wonderful job I owned one before and finally wore it out, Had to get another one because of the good job it does will always buy a Bissel 09/16/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT BUY I hate to spend money, especially over $100 on any appliance, but based on the reviews, I went and bought this. It is great. Cleans superiorly. I am talking 2 years of dirt from the walkway to the door to my apartment. I have two sons and my fiance, and they brings in the dirt. Well this knocked that dirt out. I couldnt believe it. On top of that I have had a breakfast table (nothing expensive), and the chairs had cloth on the seats, they were white to begin with. Well I have had it for about 8 years, and the chairs were now brown black. I attempted to clean this too, just doing test runs-IT CLEANED IT! WOW. BUY THIS-you will be happy. 06/28/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dont waste your money! I used this 3 times and it was great. After that, I couldnt get it to work again! To get it serviced is almost the price I paid for it! It is not worth the money and I wish I would have bought a different one. 01/02/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bissell Powersteamer I bought this because I live in a townhouse that was not cleaned well before I moved in. This cleaner pulled so much nasty stuff from the carpet it was amazing (and gross!). I also have two small children who are constantly spilling, and this thing sucks most everything up even if it's been there a couple days. It doesn't work well on red spills but nothing does so that isn't the fault of the cleaner. The only problem I have is the attachment hose doesn't like to stay in its holder, and it's not exactly beautiful, but those are extremely minimal issues compared to how great my carpet looks now! 08/28/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product for cheap I purchased this because I am tired of renting one. I have white carpet and a 2 year old. (need I say more). All of the stains (koolaid, food, etc.) came right up. It was well worth the money!!! 12/19/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor quality I have bought 2 of these steam cleaners, both had the same problem. The motor that drives the beater brush breaks after a few uses. Even thought you can vacuum your floor a couple of times before using this machine, if you have animals it picks up the hair and somehow manages to get in where the belt and motor are and causes the motor to tear up. Once the beater brush stops working this cleaner is useless. The pulley is made of a cheap plastic any kind of friction causes it to melt. Do not waste you money. I bought a cheaper Hoover and it works better. No problems. 12/11/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I read reviews and found this to be the best rated product in the price range I wanted to spend. I just used it for the first time to clean my EXTREMELY dirty berber carpets. It took me several passes over the high traffic areas, but I expected that seeing that berber is known for being difficult to clean. I had my carpets professionally cleaned 6 months ago and it looks just as great as before. I am absolutely satisfied with this product and I can't wait to try it on the seats in my car and anything else I can think of. 05/01/2008
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very surprised. I was surprised with this product. I have always loved Bissell products. However, with this carpet cleaner, I wasn't impressed. NOT SO MUCH AT THE PERFORMANCE of the product, but more the design of the product. I cleaned my carpets and it did really well! The cleaner itself, however, has a few issues I didn't care for. First, you have one tank for the water and another small tank for the cleaner, which uses aLOT of solution. Next, to empty the tank, there is no handle. It's awkward to dump. I actually dropped it one time and poured dirty water all over the toilet and in the floor. OOPs! The last problem I had with the cleaner was that when the handle is laid back so you can remove the tank, the attachment hose is bent to the point that I feel IN TIME it will basically break. Sorry, Bissell! But, in my opinion, this is NOT your best product! 04/28/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by great cleaner i have had this cleaner for a while. i absolutely love it. it cleans sooo well each and every time i use it. i have had other ones and this has to be the best one i have ever had. i love the different settings for the dirtiness of the carbet. the only probelm i have had is the sprayers get clogged to easily but my carpet is still new and it creates fuzz balls each time i clean it but that is how i know it is cleaning great. that is not the cleaners fault. it is easy to clean and i love how it has the seperate places for the water and the soap. i love love love this product 04/11/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Cleaner I ever owned As a mom of 3 children and raising my 3 y.o. grandson our house needs a good carpet cleaner. We also have 4 cats and 1 new puppy we got in Janurary who still has an occasional accident. I was using my mom's bissell apartment size carpet cleaner. It did alright but I had to fill it up way too many times to do 1 room in our house. After Cleaning our basic living area I was tired and decided we needed a carpet cleaner for ourselves. After purchasing this product just 4 days after doing the same carpets I used this one just to see how it did plus the pup had an accident. I couldn't believe my eyes, the carpet looked brand new again. So, I just couldn't leave one spot looking new. I was able to do each room without filling it up so much and it was so easy I felt like I was vaccuming just a little slower though. Stains came up easily and there was so much fur that came out I was shocked. I would recommend this product to everyone. 04/03/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Far, So Good This inexpensive deep cleaner does an excellent job. I primarily bought this as a quick spot cleaner, but wanted an attachment for cleaning upholstery. Cleans stains beautifully and grooms the carpet nicely. Big advantage of this machine over smaller, more compact uprights is the water-rinse only feature...this is one of the main reasons I chose this model. One caveat is it has no heater. Therefore, I'd recommend this machine only if your carpet doesn't get that dirty between cleanings, or if you are like me and want a spot cleaner with a few more bells and whistles. 01/05/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value! After running our regular vac over our capeting, I next ran the Bissell per the directions. I was amazed at the dirt it picked up. It was like I had never ran the vac at all. One stubborn grape drink spot was totally removed. The carpet was brighter and had a fresh clean smell. Before storing the Bissell after use, I reccomend turning the container holding the cleaner so that the outlet is up, to prevent any seeping during storage. Its a great buy and a great carpet cleaner. 12/17/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's very easy to use and the attachments are very helpful. The only downside to it is that if you leave it sitting with dirty water for too long it tends to drip out of the sucktion part on the bottom & the attachment handle does the same thing. If you just empty it as soon as it's filled and not let it sit for too long it's okay. This cleaner gets the job done quite well. And considering the price I think it was a very good purchase. 12/01/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great SteamVac Excellent easy to put together and works lilke a charm. Make sure to get extra solution the one that comes with the vac only does a medium size living room (i squeezed as much as I could). 10/19/2007
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointed I bought this cleaner this week. It went together very easily and the instructions on usage were easy to follow; but, it did an absolutely terrible job. I used the whole bottle of carpet cleaning sample doing a 10 x 10 rug. It just did NOT clean. And, it left my run soaked with water that would just not suck up. I have been drying it for 4 days now, with a heater and fan on it!! 12/21/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Save Your Money I bought this product about a year ago. The brushes do not clean well, the soap dispenser does not deliver the soap at all. Go with a Hoover. 07/28/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome This is a great machine for the money, I almost paid a professional to clean my carpet until i found this bissell on line. 03/19/2008
1-30 of 209 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew292
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp