Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 639 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for carpet, but useless on floors. We've had this vacuum for three years now and it is running just like it were new. The attachments are great, especially the crevice tool and the brush tool (perfect for under furniture and dusty ceiling fan blades). The suction is really good. The height is easily adjustable and great for different rug piles. The belt lasts forever (I have only changed it once about a year ago). The replacement bags are really cheap (about $1 apiece) and they are large and last a long time. They are also very easy to change and much more sanitary than emptying out a canister and watching all that dust fly back into the air. My only complaint since moving to a home with tile instead of carpet is that this vacuum is pretty useless on bare floors. When I try to use it on my tile, it kicks nearly everything back at me and I can feel the dirt hitting my legs. It only sucks up large things on bare floors. I've been sweeping everything to the edges of the room and using the crevice tool to suck it all up. For a carpeted home or one with lots of rugs, this vacuum cannot be beat for the price and performance. But if you need something for bare floors, it's more work than it's worth and a stick vac is probably a better bet. 03/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy!!!! After reading all the reviews, I decided to give this one a try. I just thought if I dont like it, I just take back...no way I am gonna take it back!! It works great!! I tell you: it works the same as the expensive ones (I had 2 vac before and I paid over $200) The only bad thing I could tell about this vac is it doesnt work on bare floor. The reason is because the rottating brush does not stop, what for me is not a problem because I just have bare floor in the kitchen and bathrooms and I have a stick vac that does the job. So if you have bare floor, this is not the vac for you. 04/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST Out There I had purchased a different upright bagless vacuum which turned my carpets black so I read the reviews on this vaccum and decided to give it a go. This is the best vaccuum I have ever owned and you absolutely cannot beat the price. It took all of 5 minutes to have it up and running. I gave this 5 stars because very seldom do we come across such quality products at such a low price. We also got the bissell little green which is a AWESOME Machine too. Both are Must Have's! 03/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by old stuff still works! Having tried the rest,this still works best. 04/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than the bagless. I had purchased the Bissell bagless based on the many good reviews posted on this site. It was a disaster! I have pets and the bagless could not handle the kitty litter dust and fur. It got more dust on the outside of the vacuum than the inside. It seemed to suck up the dirt and redistribute it in tiny pieces all over the carpet. Because I did not have much $$ to spend, and because I got excellent advice online from an article written by a retired vacuum cleaner sales and service store owner, I decided to try this product, the BAGGED version. Problem solved. All the kitty litter dust and fur is completely sucked up into the bag, the filter does not clog and it is clear sailing. it is also easier to put together and is a sturdier product. The bags are really cheap too. I highly recommend this product for anyone with a lot of dirt and dust to pick up and advise the same persons to avoid the bagless version, unless you have a lot of $$ to spend on one of the high-end bagless models, which apparently are the only truly efficient machines. 08/15/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Be sure to KEEP YOUR RECEIPT, & WARRANTY INFO. After reading the reviews on this vacuum I really think people should have waited at least 3-6 months AFTER purchasing this vacuum to leave there reviews. I have purchased & REPLACED this vacuum cleaner 3 times since I purchased it on 10-2-2010. It works amazing for about 3-4 Months and then the Motor will literally "Burn Up". It just one day starts getting "Louder & Louder" and then all of a sudden you will smell the belt burning and the entire bottom of the vacuum gets severely "HOT". I always make sure to keep my receipts and warranty info filed away for the "Just In Case" moments and I suggest anybody considering purchasing this vacuum cleaner "Do The Same". I am on vacuum #3 and just received it less than 2 weeks ago. I originally purchased this model because it is really difficult to find vacuums "With" a "Bag" these days for a resonable (cheap) price. For the price the vacuum cleaner looks great, is light weight and has great suction - "For A While" - But... The hose is flimsy and comes off the holder constantly which is just a pain in the butt, & the hose is also way too short to accomodate the tools when cleaning anything up high, you will literally have to hold the vacuum up or sit it on a chair to reach anything thats not on the floor. When I purchased my vacuum originally it was "Blue" ... 3 Vacuums later they are now "Black"... I really think most people who wrote reviews on this vacuum cleaner wrote them after only using there vacuum a few times and after a few months they will really wish they had waited. I have a small apartment, I vacuum once a week, I am gentle and I take good care of my products, so the only excuse for 3 vacuums burning up is "BAD/CHEAP MOTORS" !!! If your wondering why I just have not purchased a different brand since this one has burned up the same way 3 times my answer is, As long as there is a Warranty I am going to use it to fix or replace what I already paid for. I work hard for my money and whether it is $40 or $400 I believe a manufacturer should be held accountable for there products. I also purchased the extended warranty that kicks in after the 1 Year Manufacturer Warranty expires, for $3.00 it is so worth it when buying this vacuum cleaner. So if you decide to purchase this vacuum, be sure to break down & save the box, packaging materials, the Store Reciept, Owners Manual, & Warranty Information. This way when the motor burns up or the vacuum loses suction or Both you can simply exchange your vacuum for a new one (If it's within Walmarts return policy time limit) or have it repaired under the warranty for free. Good Luck ;) 08/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Would give it 10 stars if they let me! Bought this over 2 years ago because the expensive Oreck I had still wasn't doing the job on the pet hair (have 2 dogs, 3 cats, a rabbit...you get the idea) and I figured for less than $40 what did I have to lose. Well, within a few months of having this I gave the pricey Oreck to my mom for her to have as an "upstairs" vacuum and have used this daily or at least every other day since I bought it. FANTASTIC vacuum. Only 2 things about it I would change would be to make the hose just a tiny bit longer, though it works. Just don't like to have to put the extensions on it and if it was even a few inches longer, would reach the top of the couch without the extension. The other thing is the cord is a bit short, but I finally just stuck an extension cord on it and leave it there all the time. My allergist told me bagless vacuums are horrible for anyone especially allergy sufferers since when you empty the "cup" all of those dust motes and mites get airborne again. This vacuum's bags are really inexpensive and very easy to replace. I go through usually 2 bags a month (as I said I have lots of pets and they SHED!) so you can tell it does a good job of picking things up! I have tile floors in the kitchen and bathroom and I don't have the problem of it not picking things up or kicking them back on me like another reviewer did. I use it in the bathroom to pick up the litter the cats track to the floor outside their box and it has no problem picking that up. 08/30/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not even worth $40 Years ago, I had this vacuum. It was the best vacuum I ever owned. It lasted for many years and worked well. When it finally died I tried other types other vacuums in every price range. None compared to this inexpensive model, so when my last vacuum died I decided to go back to this one. Unfortunately, I am very disappointed with it after only one use. Obviously they have made some changes, and not good ones! It is going back tomorrow. What's wrong with it you ask? The tool hose doesn't stay in the holder when vacuuming. It keep popping out which effects the suction and dirt and dust flies out all over the place every time it does. You constantly have to stop to stick it back in its place and re-vacuum. The suction from the tool hose is very good, but the floor isn't which is more important. I did like the febreeze scented bags and assembly was easy, but the vacuum is cheaply made and poorly engineered. Add two more amps, fix the tool hose attachment, and then add $10 to the cost. It would be worth it! 10/16/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly Recommend For Everyone!! Huge Fan!! I have owned three of these and I love them!! Having dogs, I like to change vacuums every couple of years at least. But they were all still running and I passed them on to poor neighbors who really were desperate for something and felt that they could clean them up or live with the dog smell. I sent my husband to get me a new vacuum once and he came home with some fancy $250 bagless vacuum that didn't work right from day one. First off, I have severe allergies. I can not do bagless vacuums. Then the company told us something was defective and sent us a new part that we had to call and get instructions on how to repair/install ourselves. Then when the cleaner stopped working after six months, they told us the warranty wouldn't cover it as it was used to heavily. I was so mad!! This was not purchased at wal-mart though. I will never buy anything other than a Bissell PowerForce ever again. For the price it is a huge bargain and works great. Simple, pretty easy to clean, and etc.... 05/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for the price. A good lightduty vacuum I bought this to vacuum my rugs and my 2yr old sons room. The rest of the house is hard wood. It has great suction and is light weight. The bags are a decent size. not too small, but not huge either. The bags run about $4 for 3 bags. I went with the bagged over the bagless because of less maintance of the bagged e.g washing the filter . the bend. components. I have 2 full grow Boxer dogs and the vacuum picked up there hair, no problems. The attachments are secure, so they don't fall off when you bump something. There's not alot of attachments, but enough to do wwhat i need. Bottom line is its a sturdy vacuum with a 2yr walmart replacement that was shipped to the store with the total spend being $50. If you want the best, buy a dyson. If you want to do light vacuuming of kids messes and dirt tracked in from the dogs. Get this its tough to beat for the price. i will ammend this after ^ months to give an update on its durablity,etc. 10/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great value Just sold my $300 Oreck (10 yrs old) on Craigslist for $70. Went out and bought this fine piece of machinery for $40+. GREAT deal! Oreck was nice. Had a 4amp motor and pretty sturdy vac, BUT over-priced. This Bissell has a 10amp motor, a lot more suction and very sturdy build quality. Wife loves the hose option. Great for cleaning in between the couch cushions. Also great for cleaning our van! Super easy assembly; only 3 screws and all set. We opted for the bagged vac over the bagless because we have 4 kids who eat lots of pasta. Can't imagine how gross a bagless would get sucking up rice and mac/cheese. Everything would cake to the inside of the bagless container. NASTY! The bagged option keeps all the junk in the bag and we don't have to worry about it. Also bags are $4 for 3. Can't beat that! Will probably change the bag every 3-4 months. In summary, this vac is a great deal. We are very satisfied. Initial quality is A+...not sure what long-term experience will be but I suspect with Bissell's reputation we should be pretty happy. 04/19/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bissell Cleans Better than my $700 Lindhaus Vacuum I am embarrassed to admit that this Bissell PowerForce Vacuum cleans better than my $700 Lindhaus Vacuum. I could cry, knowing I could've bought close to 18 Bissell Vacuums compared to my 1 Lindhaus Vacuum. Don't get me wrong the Lindhaus cleans pretty good, but, the Bissell cleans even better and here is why: Has the strongest suction I've ever seen on a Vacuum. Got so much dirt out of my medium length carpet, that my carpet felt soft and brand new again. My expensive Lindhaus didn't make it feel like that. Can clean a long shag rug, when no other vacuum has been able to. I no longer have to get on my hands and knees picking up all the stuff that my Lindhaus missed on the shag rug. Cleans a very short rug perfectly on the setting just above bare floor setting. It has 5 different height settings. You can't pull it back fast because you can tell it's cleaning so well. That is a sign of good suction. Doesn't make ugly lines in the carpet when vacuuming. Suction on the hose is GREAT. The hose isn't as short as the other reviewers say, it comes with a long extension part to add to make it longer & comes with a two in one dusting brush/upholstery tool (love the two in one, means less tools to get lost) and it has a crevice tool too. Tools also don't fall off the vacuum, they stay put. I actually prefer the shorter cord length, so you are not tripping over extra cord. It's just enough to do a medium sized room. There is also a spot toward the top of the vacuum that you can snap the cord into, so the cord is high enough you don't have to hold the cord or worry about vacuuming over the cord. Love that it is a vacuum that uses bags (no more messy dirt cups to empty). It comes with one bag. Open and make sure the bag is on though. Ours was sitting in there, but we had to attach the bag on it. Has the option of ordering special hypoallergenic bags or regular bags on the Bissell website 12 for $10 with free shipping. The filter on the side is one that you just rinse and let air dry. The lightest weight vacuum I've ever felt. So can be carried up or downstairs easily. 08/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by fantastic! After my expensive ($300) vacuum quit working, my sister bought this one for me. I have had it for four years and due to two small children I use it a few times a day. It works fantastic! I can't believe how inexpensive it is and how great it works. BTW it's so light I can carry it everywhere. 03/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for any use,... home or business!!! Had the same model for many years, never had any problems until it finally broke. The level control for the carpeting height adjustment broke but the motor and suction still going strong. I'm still going to use it for home use. I bought a new one for business use and it is just as good as the old one! The vacuum is very solid construction , a little on the heavy side but very maneuverable and has extra long cord! The only draw back is that you need to buy bags but i have easily lived with that for many years. Before i bought this new one, i wanted to try a bagless model of the same brand and same price range and wound up sending it back!!! It was cheaply made and very lite weight, felt like it was put together by monkeys and suction not very good and every time you emptied the canister of dirt, you had to clean the filters too and it was very time consuming!!! My recommendation is this,... DON'T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE I MADE AND BUY A BAGLESS!!! You will only return it!!! Trust me when i say that you are well better off with this vacuum and so very reliable!!! 12/24/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bissell Powerforce bagged I am very happy with the suction, it picks up very well, and it's price is good. It has a very short cord and would be great for a small mobile home. It's hose is barely long enough to effectively use the tools with. I would rather pay a little more and get a vacuum that has a cord long enough to reach across the room and a hose long enough to use the tools with without picking up the vacuum. 04/14/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Vac/Great Price This was a replacement for the Bissell vacuum (same model) Ive had for 3 yrs. I love this model not only for its price, but for the motor. It may not be fancy or have many attachments, but it has the suction of a more expensive model. Ill surely buy another Bissell again when this one goes out. And the shipping was super fast, thanks again WM. 04/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by better than i expected i purchased this vacuum March 2014, it is now June. i wanted to wait for multiple uses over a few months time before giving a review. first, i have a 3 bedroom home with dark, short, flat carpet with an active little boy and a short (white) haired dog. this is a dog that loves rubbing his body all over my floor right after i vacuum. crazy. anyways, i read alot of reviews and found this one to have the best reviews. i ordered the vacuum online and received it in a few days, it was quick and easy to put together, and i was vacuuming within minutes. i set it on the lowest setting (closest to floor) because my carpet is flat, not shaggy. the vacuum is lightweight and moves effortlessly along the floor. i did not have to go over same area multiple times to get hair up. when it comes to cleaning, i have a touch of OCD, it has to be perfect and specific to my needs, so i am very happy that i could move from room to room in a short amount of time, cover a large area and actually have a clean carpet. i use this vacuum everyday, sometimes 2-3 times a day. it has held up so far. i am very satisfied with this product and yes i do recommend this vacuum. 06/01/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great vacuum, low price I was so skeptical to buy this vacuum considering there are so many higher priced vacuums. I am glad I took the $40 chance. This vacuum is light, it picks items up GREAT, and it is very durable. My friend returned a $300 euro vacuum and had to borrow my $40 bissell while he fought with Europro to have it replaced. I have one of these at my office, one at home, and I bought my parents one for Christmas when their vacuum's belt broke and we could not find a belt. The bags and belts for this vacuum are very easy to find. 03/26/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Economical Light Weight Machine Saying yes to recommending this product to a friend is kind of borderline, but in all fairness I have owned several of this same product. I continue to buy the same machine when it breaks because it is more than affordable, most light-weight machine I can find for the money, and is a bagged upright - I do not like cleaning and emptying a bagless vacuum. When it breaks, it's always the same part - the foot lever that controls the beater lifting on the machine and the locking of the machine handle. This new model is not constructed as well as the older models. The hose for attachments is not as flexible as previous models - machine constantly falls to the ground when using/pulling it. Bissell got real cheap on one of the attachments - it's not even half the size of previous models - using one of my old ones. The hi-low adjustment for the beater bar does not go as low to the carpet as previous models. This model does have a much longer power cord than previous models. 01/07/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Vacuum EVER! After trying several vacuums in my 16 years of marriage, most of which, were expensive, bagless, or fancy, and having NONE of them last longer than a year or two, I decided to go basic. I bought the most SIMPLE, plain vacuum I could find. Which was THIS Bissel Powerforce. That was about 8 years ago. Our rugs are maroon, so you can see every speck of dust, so I've mostly vacuumed every other day all those years. My husband has had to unglog it several times, but every time, it ends up working like brand new. This has been the BEST vacuum I've ever owned. Being too rough with it, (it's tough, so I wasn't careful!) the foot clicker that makes it stand up, or another click to lower it flat, doesn't work anymore. (it still stands, but it'll fall easily now) So I just came here hoping they still have this exact vacuum, and since they do, I'm buying it now. Maybe I'll use the old one upstairs. Sometimes fancy and complicated isn't worth it! All you need is a vacuum, and a hose, and you're good to go, I say! 03/18/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bang for the Buck Kind went through the bagless vacumm faze with very disapointing results - all seemed fine at first but after months of use I found they all came to the same problem. Its easy and wonderful to pop and dump the canister into the trash but in a few months the plastic mess washable screens need cleaning and then the search and cost of replaceing Hepa filters start to mount. after a year or so the screens that you been cleaning dont pop back in so easily or firmlly and leave gaps, which kinda looses its purpose. Anyway I bought this and feel that a few buck a bag is more affordable and timely in the long run. Ran it a few of weeks and it runs and picks up great and the fabreeze bags leave a exta freshness to the sight of your clean carpets. When the time came, changing the bag seemed as easy, as dumping a canister without the puff of dust. So to put in a two words. I'm Happy 02/01/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect for a small apartment. Let me first say that growing up in a large house and with many family members and friends visiting and many pets around, I understand how good a vacuum needs to be to handle all of that. This vacuum will NOT do well with that..well not for long.. But for just myself, in a 650sq ft 1 bedroom apartment, this vacuum does exactly what I need it to do...vacuum and groom the wall to wall carpeting once a week. It is fairly quiet, easy to push and the febreze scented bags are a nice touch. The bagged aspect is great for apartment living as you don't have to go outside to try and empty the canister, shake the filters etc...The suction from the hose is great so I use it with the crevice tool to get the baseboards and crevice my Bissell 3 in 1 stick vac can't reach. There is no dust escaping or being pushed around. So if you have a small apartment and no pets this will be perfect for you at the price. 11/04/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK but not great... Let me start by saying I have frieze carpet and a labrador that sheds. I bought this vacuum bcuz I was tired of the whole bagless vacuum mess. I also wanted something lightweight and didn't really care about any fancy features. I just wanted a simple lightweight bagged vacuum to clean my carpets (I am a no nonsense kinda girl)! Well I tested this Bissell by vacuuming my carpets with it thoroughly. Then I took my clunky, heavy bagless Eureka air speed and went over my floors again to see if the bagless container would pick up any more dirt....and it did....not a ton, but it did, which leads me to believe that over time alot of missed dirt will be building up in my carpet. Bummer, I really wanted this lightweight, bagged Bissell vacuum to be the one for me, but unfortunately it is not. I hope this review helps anyone with a similar carpet and pet situation. 07/21/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Have 2! An LUV THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! These vacuum cleaners are exceptional!!! I bought another one 6 months ago and, just like the first one I love it!!! I put dryer sheets like 2 or 3 on top of the black filter inside the vac. an cover the other filter. It not only picks up everything in site but, it smells great to put a few new ones in an take the old ones out an it's like a new vacuum every time. The hose is nice iot stretches out. Does great on all surfaces I use it on carpets, stair, furniture you name it. I have another one that is about 13 years old was my aunts an still runs strong. I only have one complaint I wish it had a light in the front. I can honestly say these are great machines an the only upright I'll ever own!!! I had a eureka before I hated it bagless an dirty an a lot of machines have the exhaust in the front so dog hair goes flying before you pick it up this one is on the side so unlike other units it doesn't blow the hair around it picks it up LUV IT!!! 02/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I returned a shark for this!!! I really did! I had purchased a shark upright vac at w/m and I just wasn't happy with the suction and hassle of bagless for the price so I thought I'd take my mothers (LOL) advice and try a cheapo. I'm so glad I did, this thing beats the heck out of the shark and if it lives a year I'm happy :) I did have to purchase unscented bags for it when I bought it knowing Id be allergic to the fabreeze thing, which I was. It still has a faint scent of them but I'm okay so far. The bags are cheap even the filtered ones and even cheaper online. I use this daily in a small but dirty apartment (old carpet lots of dust etc) and its been fine. Its not loud, I mean all vacs are, but it is low on sound pitch not high whir that goes thru' walls like the shark had on carpet. My hubby can sleep thru' my using it in another room (we use an air cleaner to sleep by). He could totally hear the shark and other previous vacs. The hose for tools is flexible more so then any vac Ive had, even expensive ones. My extension hose and tools from my old expensive panasonic fit in the port of the hose if I want to say...clean out my car :) The belt is self contained but cover comes off to change (Ive not had too and did suck up a rug once, my fault entirely) But the belt cover keeps it safe from those suck ups I love it. The bottom screws off tho' not as easy as clips on more costly vacs but no big deal. What can I say its easy to push and lift, cheap to keep running and I'm pleasantly surprised. I def' recc'd it for purchase :) 02/07/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great vacuum I brought this vacuum in 2005 and have never regretted it. It has great suction and perfect for stairs. Lightweight makes carrying easy. Unfortunately, it has finally given out (believe me it was well put to use). I am going this evening to purchase another one. 03/09/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I purchase this vacuum to replace the same identical one I had worn out over the years. I noticed the suction isnt anywhere near as good as my old one and also this one doesnt have the light on the base which i found extremely helpful. I was surprised to find the price hadnt change but quickly realized why, and I cant return it because I threw the box out. 11/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Whole Lot of Vacuum for a Small Price This is a terrific little vacuum for just $45. I not only use them at home, but I buy them for my janitors for use at work. I detest bagless vacuums--it is such a hassle to empty and clean the containers. These are tough, durable, inexpensive work horses. I used to buy $300 "professional" vacuums for my janitors, but these vacs outperform and outlive the much more expensive models. And, with the Febreze bags, they even smell good! Five stars all the way! 02/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 9 years My husband and I have owned this vacuum for 9 years now, and couldn't ask for a better vacuum. I am sorry to say that "old trusty" finally broke ( roller snapped), but I am going to Walmart to buy another one. Always had great suction and we have cats, dogs, and kids, not to mention I vacuum my carpet DAILY and it still lasted 9 YEARS. I surely couldn't ask for anything more. 07/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product. I've used this model for the past 12 years and only replaced it once recently when the motor gave out. This is the toughest little vac on the market at a very reasonable price. I have two teenagers that don't care and suck up anything that will fit through the tube and this little vac still keeps chugging along, even after the abuse. It does well on bare floors as well as on carpet. I have a throw rug that a dog loves to roll on and it does great on getting up the hair left behind. Even if you can afford a more expensive brand or model, you need to give this unit a try. Then you can spend the extra money you save on something you would really enjoy! 02/04/2012
1-30 of 582 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew323
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp